Summer Place Hotel

3 stars
30 Olive Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
127 reviews
Aaah huh!

The room did resemble the pictures online and the descriptions that I read seemed accurate,... See full review

  • jhbdiversiter
  • Jul 12, 2013
Great place for what you pay for

So we are pretty broke couple who wanted a small get away to the beach... the location is... See full review

  • Loufa
  • Jun 21, 2013
Affordable guest house style hotel room-located on the Ocean Block of Rehoboth Beach -offers 23 rooms- relatively new- clean- private bath- cable television- telephone- microwave- air conditioning- heat- and refrigerator- Rooms accomodate two or three- with either one king bed- one double bed- two twins or double plus a twin bed- Cots available upon request

Hotel Map

38.7187 -75.0793
Area served
Rehoboth Beach
Nearby airports
New Bedford, (EWB), 19.00, MI, N; Sussex County, (GED), 148.00, MI, S; T. F. Green Airport, (PVD), 12.00, MI, N;
Area description
Downtown, 30 Olive Ave Rehoboth Beach, Delaware 19971 115 MILES FROM PHL

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Summer Place Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Summer Place Hotel Rooms

One Bedroom Condo with full kitc
1 Bedroom Condo with Full Kitchen dishwasher microwave stove refrigerator and all utensils full size futon in living room and one double bed in bedroom Sleeps four or five Approximately 350 square feet Non-Smoking Deposit and Cxl Fees Apply.
standard room One Double Bed
1 Dbl Bed-Private Bath, Cable TV, Microwave, AC, Fridge. Cots Available upon Request. Non-Smoking. Deposit and Cxl Fees Apply.
standard room One King Bed
1 King Bed-Private Bath, Cable TV, Microwave, AC, Fridge. Cots Available upon Request. Non-Smoking. Deposit and Cxl Fees Apply.
standard room One Queen Bed
1 Queen Bed-Private Bath, Cable TV, Microwave, AC, Fridge. Cots Available upon Request. Non-Smoking. Deposit and Cxl Fees Apply.
standard room One Double and one
1 Dbl Bed-1 Twin Bed-Private Bath, Cable TV, Microwave, AC, Fridge. Cots Available upon Request. Non-Smoking. Deposit and Cxl Fees Apply.

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Services
Maid service
Express check in
Express checkout
Parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (127)

Ratings and reviews for Summer Place Hotel

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 127
Amenities:
1.9
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
2.4
Room comfort:
2.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
2.8

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
yogamama72
Business
philadelphia
Aug 17, 2014

wet rugs and smelled like sewage

Room 20 had wet rugs and a strong odor of sewage. My boyfriend debated upon sleeping on the deck or in the car because he felt so nauseated, "I can taste it!" The hotel manager was not available during the night or morning, and we had no way to reach him. The next day we were thrilled to drop off our keys and take a "shower" in the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

cultured pearl was amazing for sushi..gorgeous rooftop patio with fish swimming around

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Couple of newlyweds
Business
Virginia
Aug 15, 2014

Tiny room, gross

If I knew the hotel and room beforehand, I would have saved some money and slept in my car instead. The location is good, but room is not clean, tiny, old and you can hear everything going on in the other rooms next to it. Would not recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Location isn't everything
Business
Delaware
Jul 13, 2014

A waste of money

I reserved a room, but when I got to the place they gave me the room key, we went to the room and someone's belongings were still in there. We went back down to say there was a mistake and the 14 year old maid who had been left in charge had no idea what to do because the owner was at a concert. So she put us in this small, cramped room that was by the side entrance. All night long we couldn't sleep because people were slamming the door shut at all hours of the night. The rooms were so tacky I felt like I was living back in an awful college dorm room. Do yourself a favor, spend a few extra bucks and get a better hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Awesome Abbey
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jun 9, 2014

Great location

The location of the hotel was great! Easy walk to the beach and boardwalk. The room was small and the walls were very thin so you could hear other guests but you get what you pay for! I will be coming back here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
EricWBA
Business
PA
Oct 14, 2013

Summer Place in Rehoboth Beach - AVOID IT!!

I am appalled to think that Orbtz gave this dump 3 stars!!! Walking into the dimmly lit dank smelling "lobby" and talking with the creepy, mean-looking hotel manager was the first hint that this place was not for us. The room was clean but just big enough to fit the queensized bed, 2 night tables, a small wooden chair and a 4-drawer dresser. The bathroom was clean but the towels were at least 100 years old. I could clearly hear every conversation on the second floor when standing in the hallway and I could clearly hear every word of my neighbors conversation while watching the TV in our room. the lobby at night was scary and dark. We left before 8pm and went to a better place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cybercierge
Business
New York, NY
Sep 9, 2013

Buyer Beware!!!

The hotel management is unfriendly. Parking is difficult and he will only let park whoever he chooses. It is arbitrary, we don't know why some people can park in front of the hotel and some don't. He disappears for hours at a time and doesn't answer the phone. The rooms are small and cramped The AC barely works and the towels are more than a little scratchy and they don't look clean. The room also does not look very well clean. Enough said, it is a low price to stay in the area and a good location, very close to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nicola - Pizza & Restaurant. Very affordable, good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jhbdiversiter
Business
Hamilton, MD
Jul 12, 2013

Aaah huh!

The room did resemble the pictures online and the descriptions that I read seemed accurate, "simple, basic, clean". The location of the hotel was good but the size of the room was abit uncomfortable for me. If I had gone alone, I may have tried to get a bigger room to feel safer. (there's nowhere to hide in those rooms! :+)and the walls are close!) But the staff person was nice and we could walk to the beach! Lovely!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Pay alittle more if you can to stay near the beach. Then you don't have to move your car to enjoy the beach, have dinner, see the attractions with finding a place to park or deal with the meters.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
T Pats
Business
Rehobeth, DE
Jun 22, 2013

Great Location, small room

This hotel is affordable with a great location only minutes from the beach. The staff was friendly enough but they seemed really stand offish and talking with them was slightly uncomfortable. The room wasn't anything amazing and entering the shower made you feel like hans solo entering a carbonate bath... very tight. Overall, definitely worth the money if you aren't planning on staying in the room for exorbitant amounts of time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loufa
Business
College Park, MD
Jun 21, 2013

Great place for what you pay for

So we are pretty broke couple who wanted a small get away to the beach... the location is absolutely amazing, right after you step out you can see the beach, so location wise, you can not beat it. Now this is not a hotel as you should not expect to find coffee machine, free breakfast, lobby... but for the price, in my opinion, it is a great deal. However, you need to make sure you spend as little time in as possible because it is quite small and there is no DVD player to watch a movie or something. It has cable TV and wifi so that s good at least. Now, many people complained about dirtiness and bugs. May be we were lucky, but we did not find the place dirty at all, towels and the bed sheets smelled of fresh laundry, they were white and we did not see any stains. No hair was in the bathroom like many mentioned, really nothing to criticize about cleanness...We also did not see any (live or dead) bugs and you need to know that bugs are my phobia but thank God I did not see any. The room was tiny, true, but we do not need any big rooms, so it did not bother us. Also parking is 5$ and that is a great deal because a county pass is 35$, the owner also gladly gave us 10$ worth of quarters because after checkout (at 11 am) we wanted to stay longer and had to park in meter parking. The owner is not chatty but very polite and efficient, if you ask me, and being the kind that we do not want to waste time talking and chatting with receptionists, we liked the way he was. I would definitely go back, my only worry is that we got super lucky and that next time we ll see bugs?! (that s my biggest fear) but for this time, it was awesome and we would definitely go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Thai place that is excellent (can't recall the name but it s the only Thai place around). Also Go Fish, British fish and chips is excellent especially for lunch prices...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
A good bed a must
Business
PA
Jun 3, 2013

Stay inexpensively, comfortably

This is an older establishment with small, but adequate rooms. The price is very fair and representative of what to expect. It appears to be in the process of being spruced up, with painting in progress. It is clean, the beds are comfortable. With solar power, there is instant hot water for your shower. If you're looking for a clean place to lay your head, keep a little food cold and be able to nuke it if you want to, these rooms will certainly satisfy. The owner is an interesting guy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the locally published dining guides.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top