Summer Place Hotel

3 stars
30 Olive Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
127 reviews
Aaah huh!

The room did resemble the pictures online and the descriptions that I read seemed accurate,... See full review

  • jhbdiversiter
  • Jul 12, 2013
Awesome adorable place!

Loved it! No complaints! Perfect location. Going back. See full review

  • dmendez827
  • May 14, 2012
Affordable guesthouse-style hotel near Rehoboth Beach and downtown

Summer Place Hotel is an intimate inn with 23 rooms, including four one-bedroom condo-style rooms, steps away from downtown Rehoboth Beach, the boardwalk, and the beach.

Highlights
  • Near the Rehoboth Beach boardwalk
  • Complimentary morning coffee
  • Group rates, cash, and multi-night-stay discounts
Rooms

The 23 guest rooms offer private bath, cable television, telephone, microwave, air conditioning, heating, and refrigerator. Rooms accommodate two or three people, with choice of one king bed, one double bed, or double plus a twin bed. Four one-bedroom condos are available and come equipped with full kitchen (dishwasher, microwave, stove, refrigerator, and all utensils), full-size futon in living room and one double bed in bedroom. Condos sleep four or five. Cots are available upon request.

Features

Summer Place Hotel in Rehoboth Beach is an easy walk to downtown shops and restaurants as well as the boardwalk and beach. Offers the quiet simplicity of a traditional guesthouse, with complimentary morning coffee and a common porch where guests can relax.

Transportation
  • Salisbury-Ocean City Regional Airport (52.6 mi/84.7 km)
  • Baltimore-Washington International Airport (111 mi/178.6 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Midway Speedway Park (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Cape Henlopen State Park (11.3 mi/18.2 km)
  • DiscoverSea Shipwreck Museum (18.7 mi/30.1 km)
  • Jolly Roger Amusement Park (24.8 mi/39.9 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Summer Place Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Summer Place Hotel Rooms

One Bedroom Condo with full kitc
1 Bedroom Condo with Full Kitchen dishwasher microwave stove refrigerator and all utensils full size futon in living room and one double bed in bedroom Sleeps four or five Approximately 350 square feet Non-Smoking Deposit and Cxl Fees Apply.
standard room One Double Bed
1 Dbl Bed-Private Bath, Cable TV, Microwave, AC, Fridge. Cots Available upon Request. Non-Smoking. Deposit and Cxl Fees Apply.
standard room One King Bed
1 King Bed-Private Bath, Cable TV, Microwave, AC, Fridge. Cots Available upon Request. Non-Smoking. Deposit and Cxl Fees Apply.
standard room One Queen Bed
1 Queen Bed-Private Bath, Cable TV, Microwave, AC, Fridge. Cots Available upon Request. Non-Smoking. Deposit and Cxl Fees Apply.
standard room One Double and one
1 Dbl Bed-1 Twin Bed-Private Bath, Cable TV, Microwave, AC, Fridge. Cots Available upon Request. Non-Smoking. Deposit and Cxl Fees Apply.

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Services
Maid service
Express check in
Express checkout
Parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (127)

Ratings and reviews for Summer Place Hotel

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
1.9
Room cleanliness:
2.4
Hotel staff:
2.4
Room comfort:
2.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
2.7

45% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nikki D
Business
Silver Spring MD
Aug 2, 2009

Umm...NO!

Rehoboth Beach is one of my favorites as far as traveling goes, however Summer Place was just bad!!! The innkeeper is very unfriendly and just creepy(Bates Motel Norman), the hallways smell like a trash can in the heat, and the room was no more than 50 square feet. A double bed and 18 inches on either side! That is what you get! An air conditioner that spews moldy air and disgusting carpet. My bare feet got no where near that floor! The bathroom was tiny and dark, and the tub drained very slow so showers actually turned into baths. The door lock didn't work right and there were extension cords for the lights, only half worked though. I am no princess but I felt more comfortable camping two weeks earlier. Really, don't ignore this, don't stay there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 12, 2010

It was horrible

It was VERY dirty, the furniture in the room was too old and also dirty. My cover smelled like fish and I did not get any room service at all. On top of it,the front desk person came 30 min before check out time to see whether I was getting ready to leave!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Angry customer
Business
Boyds, MD
May 30, 2011

The worst hotel I have stayed in

I have been visiting Rehoboth and Bethany beach since I was a little girl. Every year we go in the summer. We have stayed in different hotels and have never ever had an unpleasant experience. We usually go during 4th of July but this year we decided to go a bit earlier during Memorial Day weekend. The only hotel that had rooms available was this one. We paid $170 per night. The experince at Summer Place hotel was TERRIBLE. The rooms are incredible small. The walls are paper thin because you could honestly hear people walk in the other rooms, including the one above us and you could hear the bed squeak. We couldn't find the hotel and everytime we called for directions voicemail came on. No one ever answered the phone. When we got there, there was no one at the front desk. Even when we were to check out, we left the keys at the front desk because there was no one to help us. Parking was a nightmare. It was $15 dollars per day but then you couldn't get your car out because you were blocked by cars of other guests staying in the same hotel. When we finally saw someone at the front desk, we asked 3 times for maid service and even had our "maid service" sticker outside our door but in the 2 days we stayed there no one ever came to clean our room. Our "front desk" person who was never at the front desk but always in his room next to us watching "The office" as loud as he could. All of this plus the bugs in our room and the hallway makes for a horrible, horrible hotel. Too pricey for such an unpleasant place. Maybe next time we'll book through another website because it is obvious that you don't do your research because selecting your hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Triat
Business
PA
Sep 26, 2011

Dumpster

Hotel was smelling like a wet dog, very moist and dark every where. The lobby was so dark you couldn`t sse anything. i had to turn the light on though the hotel was open. The room was so small and very smelly and all the lights , fridge , microwave, tv and airconditioner were unplugged.There was no closet, just a couple of hangers on a rail next to the bed. One had to duck to get into the bed.The lock on the door was scary flimsy and not impressive at all. In short, don`t go there, it is a dump and $199 for a two night stay is very highly overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Philly d
Business
San Diego
May 15, 2012

Don't do it

The WORST hotel experience ever. I couldn't even stay there. It was gross, dirty, smelly. Cable was disconnected, the was mold all over the bathroom, hairs in the bed. I could go on and on by I already wasted enough time with this hotel. It is a shame I had to give it one star, I would have preferred zero. I ended up sleeping in my car because I couldnt bring myself to spend the night. Don't go here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Beahie
Business
Manchester, MD
Jul 4, 2012

Yuck!

The staff was not friendly, parking was ridiculous and if you wanted to park at the hotel, you could only do so with a small car since it wad actually underneath the deck of the hotel, and over the sidewalk, AND you had to pay daily for it. The room was filthy, with lots of dust built up in the corners of the ceilings, as well as the floors. The window AC leaked water onto the floor. I wold not walk on the floor without shoes, I even made the kids wear flip flops in the shower. I was even more anxious about the beds, but we did not get bed bugs or such. This place was in good proximity to the beach, but not worth it. This place is screaming for common sense TLC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Truth tellers
Business
Brooklyn, Ny
Jul 8, 2012

Filthy, run down, and overpriced

Dirty bedspread and linen, a/c that didn't work to cool a tiny room, dust all over -- no excuse for this level of neglect. We've stayed in plenty of small hotels that were "bare bones" and comfortable -- this is not one of them. Could not even spend one night in this mess.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Truth tellers
Business
Brooklyn, Ny
Jul 8, 2012

its a dump

This place is a rundown dump! It's more like a soccer tourist hostel than a beach guesthouse. You can do much better for $190 per night in Rehoboth, folks - keep looking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very nice grocery store down the block: "Dinah Lingo's Grocery".

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
T Law
Business
Wisconsin
Jul 8, 2012

Run!

This was the worst hotel I have ever been to in my life. The fact that it is rated 3 stars is unimaginable. There was hair in the bathroom, very poor air conditioning, stained linens, parking for $15 that you get parked in by other guests, old furnishings... It is worth $50 a night and is reminiscent of a youth hostel in Europe. I want my $200 back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JAS93
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 18, 2012

Great Location ...but

This place is filthy.... hair in the toilet and the shower...dirty window blinds...dirty floor...broken furniture ....this place is a dump...but close to the beach...the towels provided were stained and old looking...this place is really gross...I had to clean the entire place with bleach ..would not walk barefoot on the floor...would not sleep under the covers on the bed...bought my own sheets placed them on top of the bedding..annoying 18 year old kids..party central next door...WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

BEACH IS CLOSE..AND BOARDWALK...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top