Summer Place Hotel

3 stars
30 Olive Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
127 reviews
Aaah huh!

The room did resemble the pictures online and the descriptions that I read seemed accurate,... See full review

  • jhbdiversiter
  • Jul 12, 2013
Great place for what you pay for

So we are pretty broke couple who wanted a small get away to the beach... the location is... See full review

  • Loufa
  • Jun 21, 2013
Affordable guesthouse-style hotel near Rehoboth Beach and downtown

Summer Place Hotel is an intimate inn with 23 rooms, including four one-bedroom condo-style rooms, steps away from downtown Rehoboth Beach, the boardwalk, and the beach.

Highlights
  • Near the Rehoboth Beach boardwalk
  • Complimentary morning coffee
  • Group rates, cash, and multi-night-stay discounts
Rooms

The 23 guest rooms offer private bath, cable television, telephone, microwave, air conditioning, heating, and refrigerator. Rooms accommodate two or three people, with choice of one king bed, one double bed, or double plus a twin bed. Four one-bedroom condos are available and come equipped with full kitchen (dishwasher, microwave, stove, refrigerator, and all utensils), full-size futon in living room and one double bed in bedroom. Condos sleep four or five. Cots are available upon request.

Features

Summer Place Hotel in Rehoboth Beach is an easy walk to downtown shops and restaurants as well as the boardwalk and beach. Offers the quiet simplicity of a traditional guesthouse, with complimentary morning coffee and a common porch where guests can relax.

Transportation
  • Salisbury-Ocean City Regional Airport (52.6 mi/84.7 km)
  • Baltimore-Washington International Airport (111 mi/178.6 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Midway Speedway Park (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Cape Henlopen State Park (11.3 mi/18.2 km)
  • DiscoverSea Shipwreck Museum (18.7 mi/30.1 km)
  • Jolly Roger Amusement Park (24.8 mi/39.9 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Summer Place Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Summer Place Hotel Rooms

One Bedroom Condo with full kitc
1 Bedroom Condo with Full Kitchen dishwasher microwave stove refrigerator and all utensils full size futon in living room and one double bed in bedroom Sleeps four or five Approximately 350 square feet Non-Smoking Deposit and Cxl Fees Apply.
standard room One Double Bed
1 Dbl Bed-Private Bath, Cable TV, Microwave, AC, Fridge. Cots Available upon Request. Non-Smoking. Deposit and Cxl Fees Apply.
standard room One King Bed
1 King Bed-Private Bath, Cable TV, Microwave, AC, Fridge. Cots Available upon Request. Non-Smoking. Deposit and Cxl Fees Apply.
standard room One Queen Bed
1 Queen Bed-Private Bath, Cable TV, Microwave, AC, Fridge. Cots Available upon Request. Non-Smoking. Deposit and Cxl Fees Apply.
standard room One Double and one
1 Dbl Bed-1 Twin Bed-Private Bath, Cable TV, Microwave, AC, Fridge. Cots Available upon Request. Non-Smoking. Deposit and Cxl Fees Apply.

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Services
Maid service
Express check in
Express checkout
Parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (127)

Ratings and reviews for Summer Place Hotel

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
1.9
Room cleanliness:
2.4
Hotel staff:
2.4
Room comfort:
2.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
2.7

45% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dmendez827
Business
Washington, DC
May 14, 2012

Awesome adorable place!

Loved it! No complaints! Perfect location. Going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jul 15, 2009

Pleasantly surprised

Two blocks from the beach, I enjoyed a comfortable room with an incredible mattress on the bed, adequate kitchen appliances and conveniences, a good shower in a quiet setting. This for a price that was at least half what other area hotels were charging AND I was there in peak season! After I booked, I read some of the terrible reviews and started to panic. I brought my own sheets, towels and cleaning supplies and frankly expected the worst. I was overwhelmingly surprised by how clean and comfortable the room was. The bed was more comfortable than my own at home (and mine was not cheap and its only about 2 years old). I rented a "condo unit"-really a small apartment-mainly because I wanted the option to eat some of my meals in the room and it worked out great. The rooms are small, but very comfortable for one or two The only minor complaint would be the very thin mattress on the futon in the living room. It served quite well as a sofa to watch TV, knit or read but when I had guests for one overnight, they put the mattress on the floor to make it more comfortable for sleeping. Four adults would probably not be comfortable here for more than a night or two unless they used it as a sleeping space only. I will definitely be back next year. For the complainers I would suggest that they book their next room at the bigger hotels just up the street so they can have room service, a fabulous lobby and a bill 2-3 times more than you'll pay at Summer Place for the same comfort, convenience and charm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Longo's Market a block and a half up First Avenue has a great selection of prepared foods, pastries, fresh fruit and almost anything you might have forgotten at good prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Simba
Business
DC
Sep 2, 2011

Cheap and Close to the Beach

It's a dive but close to the beach. I didn't get bed bugs, but wouldn't have been suprised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Conch Island has live bands and big buck hunter.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
beavertown,pa
Jul 28, 2010

i'm greatfull

well,i read alot of complaning,i want everyone to know i was very very happy,the owner was nice to me and my son!!i haven't been able to every take my kids anywhere on a trip,thanks to the cheep prices i got to go away with my son his frist time every at the beach!!it was a very clean room,it was small,but why do you need a big room the only thing you do shower and sleep in it!the parking is tight,but it must be the only way to do it or it would be differnt,alot of biching,if you want 5stars pay for 5 stars!!i was parked in but it wasnt owner fault the peoples number was right on the dsah and those rude people a old couple wouldn't move their car...for me!any how i give it a five stars because i got to take my son to the beach and have a great faimly trip thank you to summer place hotel!!![...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

it was so close to the beach boardwalk and downtown stores the beaches are clean,and the town was really peacefull setting!loved it

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jul 26, 2011

Simply Perfect

I really do have a special place in my heard for the Summer Place. I know its nothing fancy. But the people there are so very nice and its perfect for the beach... comfy clean beds showers! I know its not fancy by any means but its really quaint and lovely!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Loads of great bars and restaurants! All locally owned and friendly. Fabulous gluten free food all around town!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 3, 2008

Nice Location and Value

The Summer Place Hotel in Rehoboth Beach, DE was a very pleasant experience. Very convenient to downtown shopping, restaurants and the beach. Its an older hotel but nice and comfortable to stay. The value was excellent. We would definately make a return visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 14, 2007

Very relaxed stay

The Summer Place hotel was very relaxed and comfortable. The room was small, though had everything that we needed.The bathroom very roomy. We liked the fact it was so close to the beach, only one block. Comfortable nights sleeping. As planned, didn't spend lots of time in the room,was great for our trip. The price was fantastic, made it so affordable that you could even make another trip for what you saved from others. The hotel staff very friendly and informative. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to any dining and shopping you want. Shopping outlets within a couple of miles. The boardwalk great for morning walks or to sit by and enjoy the ocean activity.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 22, 2007

Cheap but clean

Great value for money and wonderful location close to the beach and the tourist area. Room was small but clean. Not your normal US hotel more like an old-fashioned bed and breakfast. No amenities in the hotel except a small fridge and microwave but, because it is so close to everything, you can find anything you need just a short walk away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BeachBabe44
Business
Wilmington DE
May 16, 2012

Love Rehoboth

fantastic location right at the top of the boardwalk & just a block or so from rehoboth ave (shopping / food / etc). the owner was real laid back - maid service if you want it - all the rooms are non-smoking. the room itself was pretty small but who cares....all you do there is sleep & shower. didn't want to go home & the price for two nights was less than one night at hotels on the next block. will definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

go to claws crab house.....their happy hour is from noon to 6pm with $2.50 / drinks (beer & liquor) and amazing $5 appetizers.......best clams i've had in a long time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mstre
Business
DC
May 29, 2012

Friendly, but minimal

Be careful...even though the reservation machine online says they run your card when you check in, they actually run it when you make your reservation. Very friendly and helpful owner, amazing location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top