$90 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 23, 2014 Check-out: Jul 24, 2014

Summer Place Hotel

3 stars
30 Olive Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
201 reviews
Aaah huh!

The room did resemble the pictures online and the descriptions that I read seemed accurate,... See full review

  • jhbdiversiter
  • Jul 12, 2013
Great place for what you pay for

So we are pretty broke couple who wanted a small get away to the beach... the location is... See full review

  • Loufa
  • Jun 21, 2013
Affordable guesthouse-style hotel near Rehoboth Beach and downtown

Summer Place Hotel is an intimate inn with 23 rooms, including four one-bedroom condo-style rooms, steps away from downtown Rehoboth Beach, the boardwalk, and the beach.

Highlights
  • Near the Rehoboth Beach boardwalk
  • Complimentary morning coffee
  • Group rates, cash, and multi-night-stay discounts
Rooms

The 23 guest rooms offer private bath, cable television, telephone, microwave, air conditioning, heating, and refrigerator. Rooms accommodate two or three people, with choice of one king bed, one double bed, or double plus a twin bed. Four one-bedroom condos are available and come equipped with full kitchen (dishwasher, microwave, stove, refrigerator, and all utensils), full-size futon in living room and one double bed in bedroom. Condos sleep four or five. Cots are available upon request.

Features

Summer Place Hotel in Rehoboth Beach is an easy walk to downtown shops and restaurants as well as the boardwalk and beach. Offers the quiet simplicity of a traditional guesthouse, with complimentary morning coffee and a common porch where guests can relax.

Transportation
  • Salisbury-Ocean City Regional Airport (52.6 mi/84.7 km)
  • Baltimore-Washington International Airport (111 mi/178.6 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Midway Speedway Park (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Cape Henlopen State Park (11.3 mi/18.2 km)
  • DiscoverSea Shipwreck Museum (18.7 mi/30.1 km)
  • Jolly Roger Amusement Park (24.8 mi/39.9 km)

Summer Place Hotel Rooms

One Bedroom Condo with full kitc
One Bedroom Condo with full kitchen
standard room One Double and one
standard room One Double and one Twin
standard room One Double Bed
standard room One Double Bed
standard room One King Bed
standard room One King Bed
standard room One Queen Bed
standard room One Queen Bed

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Services
Maid service
Express check in
Express checkout
Parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Summer Place Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.7187 -75.0793
Area served
Rehoboth Beach
Nearby airports
New Bedford, (EWB), 19.00, MI, N; T. F. Green Airport, (PVD), 12.00, MI, N;
Area description
Downtown, 30 Olive Ave Rehoboth Beach, Delaware 19971 115 MILES FROM PHL

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (201)

Ratings and reviews for Summer Place Hotel

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
201 out of 201
Amenities:
1.9
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
2.5
Room comfort:
2.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
2.9

49% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
lancaster, pa
Mar 10, 2011

Hostel

The room was small with 2 beds in it. Barely any room to walk around. When walking up the stairs to get to the room the place reminds you of a hostel in the movies, or even better when you get to the hallways you get the feeling you are in the movie "the shinning" the whole time we were waiting for the 2 little girls to be standing in the hallway. Overall would not go back to this place unless nowhere else had and rooms avaiable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KT the Jazz Whisperer
Newark, Delaware
Oct 18, 2010

Location is great, parking is an issue

The room was functional, reminded me of a small college dorm room. Location was great. Parking can be an issue, but walking distance to just about everything we wanted to do in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Just about everything was a short walk from Summer Place.

Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 18, 2010

like a youth hostel

The room was small and outdated, which was no huge deal. The beds did not have bed bugs. There were dirty towels still in the room, and some clean ones. The room itself was not very clean, but the sheets had been washed and ironed. The walls and floors were thin and let in quite a bit of noise. The lock at the door was questionable but there was a second slide lock that boosted the security to an acceptable level. The staff was brusque but not mean. Overall, our accomodations were sufficient to give us a good night's sleep, which is all we really needed. It reminded me of a youth hostel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 18, 2010

like a youth hostel

The room was small and outdated, which was no huge deal. The beds did not have bed bugs. There were dirty towels still in the room, and some clean ones. The room itself was not very clean, but the sheets had been washed and ironed. The walls and floors were thin and let in quite a bit of noise. The lock at the door was questionable but there was a second slide lock that boosted the security to an acceptable level. The staff was brusque but not mean. Overall, our accomodations were sufficient to give us a good night's sleep, which is all we really needed. It reminded me of a youth hostel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KT the Jazz Whisperer
Newark, Delaware
Oct 18, 2010

Location is great, parking is an issue

The room was functional, reminded me of a small college dorm room. Location was great. Parking can be an issue, but walking distance to just about everything we wanted to do in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Just about everything was a short walk from Summer Place.

Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington DC
Sep 7, 2010

Great location

the room was tiny. we heard the entrance door smacked every time someone entered the hotel. there was no parking for us near the hotel. it was disappointing. the location was great though. 5 minutes walk from the beach and all the entertainment. i would not recommend this hotel for a family vacation. i would definitely recommend it for a young couple.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

beach boardwalk nearby

Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington DC
Sep 7, 2010

Great location

the room was tiny. we heard the entrance door smacked every time someone entered the hotel. there was no parking for us near the hotel. it was disappointing. the location was great though. 5 minutes walk from the beach and all the entertainment. i would not recommend this hotel for a family vacation. i would definitely recommend it for a young couple.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

beach boardwalk nearby

Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Horsham, PA
Aug 28, 2010

You've got to be kidding!

The room I was to initially have was on the 3rd floor. I can't do steps all that well especially when I have to carry my own luggage. I was immediately offered a room on the ground floor. Which was good. However, I have never stayed in such a small room. Not even when I stayed in a $34 per night hotel. The room was clean but the mattress was either very old or very cheap since it sagged in the center. The towels were so rough they felt line dryed without assistance of a fabric softener. When I needed an additional towel, since the maid never showed up to remake up the room, it was still damp so that I hung it on the back of the door to dry overnight. The security lock was only a simple slide and it was out of alignment and therefore useless. Parking was additional which was not included in the online description. The only really good thing about this hotel is its location. I think that a lot could be done with this building but I doubt the present owner will bother. I was very glad I was only staying there for 2 nights. At $85 per night if it had not been so close to the beach it would have been a total rip-off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Basics are only a short walk. For the extreme shopper you need to drive, but finding places is very easy.

Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Virginia
Aug 28, 2010

It's good.

The bed was comfortable, the staff very friendly and responsive. The walls were so thin I could hear some one in the next room as if they were in mine. The towels were not soft but I liked the "green" approach of the hotel. I felt safe and the location was great. Overall it is a funky place to stay (I had to pay to park) but I liked it and would go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

You can ride your bicycle on the boardwalk before 10am.

Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Horsham, PA
Aug 28, 2010

You've got to be kidding!

The room I was to initially have was on the 3rd floor. I can't do steps all that well especially when I have to carry my own luggage. I was immediately offered a room on the ground floor. Which was good. However, I have never stayed in such a small room. Not even when I stayed in a $34 per night hotel. The room was clean but the mattress was either very old or very cheap since it sagged in the center. The towels were so rough they felt line dryed without assistance of a fabric softener. When I needed an additional towel, since the maid never showed up to remake up the room, it was still damp so that I hung it on the back of the door to dry overnight. The security lock was only a simple slide and it was out of alignment and therefore useless. Parking was additional which was not included in the online description. The only really good thing about this hotel is its location. I think that a lot could be done with this building but I doubt the present owner will bother. I was very glad I was only staying there for 2 nights. At $85 per night if it had not been so close to the beach it would have been a total rip-off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Basics are only a short walk. For the extreme shopper you need to drive, but finding places is very easy.

Back to menu Return to top