Summer Place Hotel

3 stars
30 Olive Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
201 reviews
Aaah huh!

The room did resemble the pictures online and the descriptions that I read seemed accurate,... See full review

  • jhbdiversiter
  • Jul 12, 2013
Great place for what you pay for

So we are pretty broke couple who wanted a small get away to the beach... the location is... See full review

  • Loufa
  • Jun 21, 2013
Affordable guesthouse-style hotel near Rehoboth Beach and downtown

Summer Place Hotel is an intimate inn with 23 rooms, including four one-bedroom condo-style rooms, steps away from downtown Rehoboth Beach, the boardwalk, and the beach.

Highlights
  • Near the Rehoboth Beach boardwalk
  • Complimentary morning coffee
  • Group rates, cash, and multi-night-stay discounts
Rooms

The 23 guest rooms offer private bath, cable television, telephone, microwave, air conditioning, heating, and refrigerator. Rooms accommodate two or three people, with choice of one king bed, one double bed, or double plus a twin bed. Four one-bedroom condos are available and come equipped with full kitchen (dishwasher, microwave, stove, refrigerator, and all utensils), full-size futon in living room and one double bed in bedroom. Condos sleep four or five. Cots are available upon request.

Features

Summer Place Hotel in Rehoboth Beach is an easy walk to downtown shops and restaurants as well as the boardwalk and beach. Offers the quiet simplicity of a traditional guesthouse, with complimentary morning coffee and a common porch where guests can relax.

Transportation
  • Salisbury-Ocean City Regional Airport (52.6 mi/84.7 km)
  • Baltimore-Washington International Airport (111 mi/178.6 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Midway Speedway Park (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Cape Henlopen State Park (11.3 mi/18.2 km)
  • DiscoverSea Shipwreck Museum (18.7 mi/30.1 km)
  • Jolly Roger Amusement Park (24.8 mi/39.9 km)

Summer Place Hotel Rooms

One Bedroom Condo with full kitc
One Bedroom Condo with full kitchen
standard room One Double and one
standard room One Double and one Twin
standard room One Double Bed
standard room One Double Bed
standard room One King Bed
standard room One King Bed
standard room One Queen Bed
standard room One Queen Bed

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Services
Maid service
Express check in
Express checkout
Parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable

Hotel Map

38.7187 -75.0793
Area served
Rehoboth Beach
Nearby airports
New Bedford, (EWB), 19.00, MI, N; T. F. Green Airport, (PVD), 12.00, MI, N;
Area description
Downtown, 30 Olive Ave Rehoboth Beach, Delaware 19971 115 MILES FROM PHL

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (201)

Ratings and reviews for Summer Place Hotel

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
201 out of 201
Amenities:
1.9
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
2.5
Room comfort:
2.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
2.9

49% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
York, PA
Jun 29, 2011

Awesome location, clean, cheap

Awesome location! One block to boardwalk and beach. Three blocks to Rehoboth Ave. Room was small but had everything we needed, AC, refrigerator, bathroom and beds. Very basic, but we went to go to the beach and spend time on the beach, so room worked out very well. Nice porch on second floor to sit and enjoy drinks at night. Not the Hilton, but not $400 a night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dos Locos food and service was awesome! Highly recommend the crab mountain!

Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
York, PA
Jun 29, 2011

Awesome location, clean, cheap

Awesome location! One block to boardwalk and beach. Three blocks to Rehoboth Ave. Room was small but had everything we needed, AC, refrigerator, bathroom and beds. Very basic, but we went to go to the beach and spend time on the beach, so room worked out very well. Nice porch on second floor to sit and enjoy drinks at night. Not the Hilton, but not $400 a night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dos Locos food and service was awesome! Highly recommend the crab mountain!

Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mukilteo, WA
Jun 6, 2011

Nice location, nice beach town

Nice spacious room with separate bedroom. range, microwave, dishwasher, laundry all in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Hotel is 1 block to beach.Try Finns for great seafood with a good beer and wine selections. Dogfish Head Brew Pub is a must if you like well crafted beers.

Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mukilteo, WA
Jun 6, 2011

Nice location, nice beach town

Nice spacious room with separate bedroom. range, microwave, dishwasher, laundry all in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Hotel is 1 block to beach.Try Finns for great seafood with a good beer and wine selections. Dogfish Head Brew Pub is a must if you like well crafted beers.

Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Angry customer
Boyds, MD
May 30, 2011

The worst hotel I have stayed in

I have been visiting Rehoboth and Bethany beach since I was a little girl. Every year we go in the summer. We have stayed in different hotels and have never ever had an unpleasant experience. We usually go during 4th of July but this year we decided to go a bit earlier during Memorial Day weekend. The only hotel that had rooms available was this one. We paid $170 per night. The experince at Summer Place hotel was TERRIBLE. The rooms are incredible small. The walls are paper thin because you could honestly hear people walk in the other rooms, including the one above us and you could hear the bed squeak. We couldn't find the hotel and everytime we called for directions voicemail came on. No one ever answered the phone. When we got there, there was no one at the front desk. Even when we were to check out, we left the keys at the front desk because there was no one to help us. Parking was a nightmare. It was $15 dollars per day but then you couldn't get your car out because you were blocked by cars of other guests staying in the same hotel. When we finally saw someone at the front desk, we asked 3 times for maid service and even had our "maid service" sticker outside our door but in the 2 days we stayed there no one ever came to clean our room. Our "front desk" person who was never at the front desk but always in his room next to us watching "The office" as loud as he could. All of this plus the bugs in our room and the hallway makes for a horrible, horrible hotel. Too pricey for such an unpleasant place. Maybe next time we'll book through another website because it is obvious that you don't do your research because selecting your hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Food Fan
Bowie, MD
Apr 17, 2011

Summer Hovel Hotel More like it!

I was in town to house hunt (successfully) and also attend a party. The location of the hotel couldn't be beat --- a block from the ocean and three blocks from Rehoboth Avenue. Other than that, the carpets were dirty, the place reaked of cigarette smoke, and there was little or no sound insulation. I guess you get what you pay for and the room was cheap!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Avenue is great for shopping and dining!

Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed But OK ... :D
Columbia, MD
Apr 17, 2011

Just Couldn't Do It

Not easily identifiable from street. Walked into front door, looked around, and left. Smelly and gave us the creeps (like we'd end up in ziploc bags) or something. Just couldn't do it. We were not looking for 5-star. It was a day trip and all we wanted was a room for the day to use as a pit stop, in case it rained, etc. Walked a short distance further and found an acceptable room for a tad (not much) more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Food Fan
Bowie, MD
Apr 17, 2011

Summer Hovel Hotel More like it!

I was in town to house hunt (successfully) and also attend a party. The location of the hotel couldn't be beat --- a block from the ocean and three blocks from Rehoboth Avenue. Other than that, the carpets were dirty, the place reaked of cigarette smoke, and there was little or no sound insulation. I guess you get what you pay for and the room was cheap!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Avenue is great for shopping and dining!

Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed But OK ... :D
Columbia, MD
Apr 17, 2011

Just Couldn't Do It

Not easily identifiable from street. Walked into front door, looked around, and left. Smelly and gave us the creeps (like we'd end up in ziploc bags) or something. Just couldn't do it. We were not looking for 5-star. It was a day trip and all we wanted was a room for the day to use as a pit stop, in case it rained, etc. Walked a short distance further and found an acceptable room for a tad (not much) more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
lancaster, pa
Mar 10, 2011

Hostel

The room was small with 2 beds in it. Barely any room to walk around. When walking up the stairs to get to the room the place reminds you of a hostel in the movies, or even better when you get to the hallways you get the feeling you are in the movie "the shinning" the whole time we were waiting for the 2 little girls to be standing in the hallway. Overall would not go back to this place unless nowhere else had and rooms avaiable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top