Summer Place Hotel

3 stars
30 Olive Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
127 reviews
Aaah huh!

The room did resemble the pictures online and the descriptions that I read seemed accurate,... See full review

  • jhbdiversiter
  • Jul 12, 2013
Great place for what you pay for

So we are pretty broke couple who wanted a small get away to the beach... the location is... See full review

  • Loufa
  • Jun 21, 2013
Affordable guesthouse-style hotel near Rehoboth Beach and downtown

Summer Place Hotel is an intimate inn with 23 rooms, including four one-bedroom condo-style rooms, steps away from downtown Rehoboth Beach, the boardwalk, and the beach.

Highlights
  • Near the Rehoboth Beach boardwalk
  • Complimentary morning coffee
  • Group rates, cash, and multi-night-stay discounts
Rooms

The 23 guest rooms offer private bath, cable television, telephone, microwave, air conditioning, heating, and refrigerator. Rooms accommodate two or three people, with choice of one king bed, one double bed, or double plus a twin bed. Four one-bedroom condos are available and come equipped with full kitchen (dishwasher, microwave, stove, refrigerator, and all utensils), full-size futon in living room and one double bed in bedroom. Condos sleep four or five. Cots are available upon request.

Features

Summer Place Hotel in Rehoboth Beach is an easy walk to downtown shops and restaurants as well as the boardwalk and beach. Offers the quiet simplicity of a traditional guesthouse, with complimentary morning coffee and a common porch where guests can relax.

Transportation
  • Salisbury-Ocean City Regional Airport (52.6 mi/84.7 km)
  • Baltimore-Washington International Airport (111 mi/178.6 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Midway Speedway Park (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Cape Henlopen State Park (11.3 mi/18.2 km)
  • DiscoverSea Shipwreck Museum (18.7 mi/30.1 km)
  • Jolly Roger Amusement Park (24.8 mi/39.9 km)

Hotel Map

38.7187 -75.0793
Area served
Rehoboth Beach
Nearby airports
New Bedford, (EWB), 19.00, MI, N; Sussex County, (GED), 148.00, MI, S; T. F. Green Airport, (PVD), 12.00, MI, N;
Area description
Downtown, 30 Olive Ave Rehoboth Beach, Delaware 19971 115 MILES FROM PHL

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Summer Place Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Summer Place Hotel Rooms

One Bedroom Condo with full kitc
1 Bedroom Condo with Full Kitchen dishwasher microwave stove refrigerator and all utensils full size futon in living room and one double bed in bedroom Sleeps four or five Approximately 350 square feet Non-Smoking Deposit and Cxl Fees Apply.
standard room One Double Bed
1 Dbl Bed-Private Bath, Cable TV, Microwave, AC, Fridge. Cots Available upon Request. Non-Smoking. Deposit and Cxl Fees Apply.
standard room One King Bed
1 King Bed-Private Bath, Cable TV, Microwave, AC, Fridge. Cots Available upon Request. Non-Smoking. Deposit and Cxl Fees Apply.
standard room One Queen Bed
1 Queen Bed-Private Bath, Cable TV, Microwave, AC, Fridge. Cots Available upon Request. Non-Smoking. Deposit and Cxl Fees Apply.
standard room One Double and one
1 Dbl Bed-1 Twin Bed-Private Bath, Cable TV, Microwave, AC, Fridge. Cots Available upon Request. Non-Smoking. Deposit and Cxl Fees Apply.

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Services
Maid service
Express check in
Express checkout
Parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (127)

Ratings and reviews for Summer Place Hotel

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
1.9
Room cleanliness:
2.4
Hotel staff:
2.4
Room comfort:
2.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
2.7

45% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nort east, md
Aug 24, 2010

The Dirty Hotel

The place was desperately in need of updating. The futon bed was horrible and the place was in need of a severe cleaning. The stove was greasy and the floors had not been cleaned. Payment for parking was not advertised and we had to park a block away. Location was good because we were 1 block from the beach....but that was the only positive. Would not stay there again. Would rather sleep in my car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MD
Aug 17, 2010

Diamond in the Rough

The location could not be better! One block from the beach, two blocks from the main shopping street. This is what makes it a diamond in the rough. There is so much that can be done to make this place better and I hope the new owner will take the time and money to do so. Our main complaints have to do with the quality of the cleaning. The room had a funny smell and it also looked like the shower needed some detail work. We bought a can of Lysol to take care of the smell. We did not feel comfortable eating in the room, although we were equipped with cereal and bowls to take care of breakfast. Beggars can't be picky though. We booked this room a couple of days before and we were happy to be at the beach. We did not spend much time in the room. The owner should look for a new cleaning staff to keep up with the wear and tear over the busy summer months. We have stayed in better and we have stayed in worse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Impalablue
Business
Baltimore, MD
Aug 16, 2010

Great location, clean.

This is a clean, comfortable beach place. Nothing fancy but it does have a nice deck around it and the staff is friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Aug 11, 2010

No frills, great location

If you need a cheap place to grab some shut eye and shower in between hours at the beach, couldn't beat the location. If you need room service and your pillow fluffed for you, look elsewhere. Perfect for our last minute trip for a night or two.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Cots are not worth the extra cost, deflated overnight and I paid to sleep on the floor in the end.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Beach, FL
Aug 7, 2010

Grossly over priced

We went shopping on the boardwalk, and enjoyed the night life in Rehoboth and Dewey Beach. My trip was great due to the location, but the hotel left much to be desired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Decent shopping withing walking distance. Rehoboth boardwalk is right around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
beavertown,pa
Jul 28, 2010

i'm greatfull

well,i read alot of complaning,i want everyone to know i was very very happy,the owner was nice to me and my son!!i haven't been able to every take my kids anywhere on a trip,thanks to the cheep prices i got to go away with my son his frist time every at the beach!!it was a very clean room,it was small,but why do you need a big room the only thing you do shower and sleep in it!the parking is tight,but it must be the only way to do it or it would be differnt,alot of biching,if you want 5stars pay for 5 stars!!i was parked in but it wasnt owner fault the peoples number was right on the dsah and those rude people a old couple wouldn't move their car...for me!any how i give it a five stars because i got to take my son to the beach and have a great faimly trip thank you to summer place hotel!!![...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

it was so close to the beach boardwalk and downtown stores the beaches are clean,and the town was really peacefull setting!loved it

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Upstate NY
Jul 26, 2010

Look around

Hotel had no parking lot. Hotel furnished parking permit for the street but had to park 4 blocks away. Rooms were very small and not up to date.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
seattle, wa
Jul 21, 2010

Just a place to crash

We were in Rehoboth for a wedding and this was one of the last places w/ availability. If you're looking for a place to crash for a weekend, this is your place. But you might not want to crash their during the high season as they charge $150/night and it's not worth more than $80/night. I've been to motels that were cheaper and cleaner. The rooms were not clean - everything was covered in dust and our quilt had brown stains on them (you can guess what this looked like). The internet worked for a few hours; and, when it stopped working, the owner told us that if "you can't get it to work, I can't get it to work." Obviously he made no effort to call the internet company. Needless to say, we spent very little time in the room and will not be returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Jul 20, 2010

Summer Place Hotel

This is the worst hotel (???) I have ever experienced. It started out as a house, got chopped up and called a hotel. Our room was so small we could barely move. Everything smelled damp and old. There was so little parking space, we had to leave a paper on the dashboard with our cell phone number. When we got blocked in by cars in back of us, we had to call the cell of the car blocking us and ask them to move so we could get out. There was no hair dryer, I went to the front desk to ask if one was available, no one was at the desk, no one answered the phone, no response at all. The tv was ancient, the one "dresser" was beat up pressed wood probably purchased from Kmart about 20 years ago, no closet (just a wire rack with hangers above the "dresser" so no long pants could be hung without getting wrinkled) and no insulation - we could hear every time a phone rang in anyone's room. I would NEVER stay there again and give it a minus five stars. If that's not possible, just rate it a zero!!!! Al Mickler

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't stay there - there are too many other places that are decent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phila, PA
Jul 16, 2010

Good for storage, but no more!

When we arived (8 pm) not one was there for an hour. After calling multiple times, owner hangup on me, saying that he was asleep already... do you need to know anything else about this hotel?! ))

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top