$63 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Summer Place Hotel

3 stars
30 Olive Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
126 reviews
Aaah huh!

The room did resemble the pictures online and the descriptions that I read seemed accurate,... See full review

  • jhbdiversiter
  • Jul 12, 2013
Great place for what you pay for

So we are pretty broke couple who wanted a small get away to the beach... the location is... See full review

  • Loufa
  • Jun 21, 2013
Affordable guesthouse-style hotel near Rehoboth Beach and downtown

Summer Place Hotel is an intimate inn with 23 rooms, including four one-bedroom condo-style rooms, steps away from downtown Rehoboth Beach, the boardwalk, and the beach.

Highlights
  • Near the Rehoboth Beach boardwalk
  • Complimentary morning coffee
  • Group rates, cash, and multi-night-stay discounts
Rooms

The 23 guest rooms offer private bath, cable television, telephone, microwave, air conditioning, heating, and refrigerator. Rooms accommodate two or three people, with choice of one king bed, one double bed, or double plus a twin bed. Four one-bedroom condos are available and come equipped with full kitchen (dishwasher, microwave, stove, refrigerator, and all utensils), full-size futon in living room and one double bed in bedroom. Condos sleep four or five. Cots are available upon request.

Features

Summer Place Hotel in Rehoboth Beach is an easy walk to downtown shops and restaurants as well as the boardwalk and beach. Offers the quiet simplicity of a traditional guesthouse, with complimentary morning coffee and a common porch where guests can relax.

Transportation
  • Salisbury-Ocean City Regional Airport (52.6 mi/84.7 km)
  • Baltimore-Washington International Airport (111 mi/178.6 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Midway Speedway Park (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Cape Henlopen State Park (11.3 mi/18.2 km)
  • DiscoverSea Shipwreck Museum (18.7 mi/30.1 km)
  • Jolly Roger Amusement Park (24.8 mi/39.9 km)

Hotel Map

38.7187 -75.0793
Area served
Rehoboth Beach
Nearby airports
New Bedford, (EWB), 19.00, MI, N; T. F. Green Airport, (PVD), 12.00, MI, N;
Area description
Downtown, 30 Olive Ave Rehoboth Beach, Delaware 19971 115 MILES FROM PHL

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Summer Place Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Summer Place Hotel Rooms

One Bedroom Condo with full kitc
One Bedroom Condo with full kitchen
standard room One Double and one
standard room One Double and one Twin
standard room One Double Bed
standard room One Double Bed
standard room One King Bed
standard room One King Bed
standard room One Queen Bed
standard room One Queen Bed

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Services
Maid service
Express check in
Express checkout
Parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (126)

Ratings and reviews for Summer Place Hotel

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
126 out of 126
Amenities:
1.9
Room cleanliness:
2.4
Hotel staff:
2.4
Room comfort:
2.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
2.8

45% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
lanham, md
Aug 1, 2011

Summer WASTE hotel!!

decided to take a last minute day trip and picked the summer place hotel because it was inexpensive and close to the beach. knowing we were only going to sleep there for one night and spend most of our time at the beach we figured even if it wasnt great we would be ok. We were wrong! as soon as we walked in the front door it smelled awful. the room was disgusting. i was afraid to let my daughter touch anything. nothing was plugged in. we had to plug in and turn on the air unit and tv, and the cable box just hung from the bottom of the tv it looked like it could crash down at any time. also the rooms were able to join but only locked by a cheap slide lock. we didnt feel safe at all. we decided we couldnt stay there but of course there were signs everywhere saying "no refunds" because im sure once people step foot in there they want to leave. when i went back to the front desk, the man wouldnt even look at me when i told him how gross it was. dont stay here! we ended up losing the 100 we spent on the room and payed another 200 for a nice place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore, MD
Jul 26, 2011

Simply Perfect

I really do have a special place in my heard for the Summer Place. I know its nothing fancy. But the people there are so very nice and its perfect for the beach... comfy clean beds showers! I know its not fancy by any means but its really quaint and lovely!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Loads of great bars and restaurants! All locally owned and friendly. Fabulous gluten free food all around town!

Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York City
Jul 25, 2011

Adequate

This hotel is sufficient if you're just looking for something cheap and close to the beach. The rooms are small but clean. There are no real perks or amenities to the place. It worked out for our needs, however, as we were simply visiting friends who were entertaining in a well-appointed rental home nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
lewistown pa
Jul 18, 2011

Don't stay here.

the staff did not want to be bothered. the room was small and dirty. the bathroom had hair in the shower, and mildew on the shower curtain. The toilet did not flush, and you had to park 4 blocks from the hotel. The only good part was it's a block from the beach and cheap, but you get what you pay for. nesx time i will cough up the extra dollars and stay some place else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
college grad student
Bethesda Md
Jul 15, 2011

The bad and the dirty ugly stinky place

I would not reccomend this place to an enemy! Discusting , dark ,dirty , smelly & moldy! A dump of a place! Worst nightmare ! Service is unfriendly and not pleasant ! Owner is the front desk operator, Who obviously does not want to be there ! No customer service service whatsoever.. Bad reputation in the area! No parking! Misrepresented in description! 1br condo is maybe 200sq ft! Beaware!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
York, PA
Jul 14, 2011

Great location

For the price the room was slightly better than we expected. We spent very little time there, coming in late and hitting the beach early. I wouldn't recommend it for families. It was fine for a couple and has a nice balcony that we had lunch on one aftenoon. We were pleased that it had a small fridge. I didn't want to hang my clothes up as the hangers and the rack looked really dirty. Location and price made it worthwhile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
PA
Jul 13, 2011

Affordable and functional

Went for the beach and local attractions - not to sleep. The room was small, but very clean and comfortable. The price was quite good for it's proximity to the beach (2 minute walk!) and the staff was very cooperative and quite pleasant... very easy to work with. Very well suited for our needs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Glen Mills, PA
Jul 6, 2011

Convenient Location

We just needed an inexpensive place to stay that was close to my daughter's condo on the Boardwalk. This worked out fine. We were able to walk to her condo (too small for all of us). The rental was small but clean and the bed was fine. Private bath also small but good. There is a nice deck on the street side for sitting and watching the people go by. Great for a couple that needs a place to sleep and who is not planning to spend their vacataion in the room. There was a $5.00 charge to park the car under the deck which was well worth it. Be sure you understand the other option for free parking. You will have to park a few blocks away so the $5.00 per day was better for us. Enjoy your vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The best place to eat dinner is the Big Fish on RT 1. We also had a great meal at the Blue Parrot (may not be right name - Parrot is right) which is on the main street into town last block.

Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
York, PA
Jun 29, 2011

Awesome location, clean, cheap

Awesome location! One block to boardwalk and beach. Three blocks to Rehoboth Ave. Room was small but had everything we needed, AC, refrigerator, bathroom and beds. Very basic, but we went to go to the beach and spend time on the beach, so room worked out very well. Nice porch on second floor to sit and enjoy drinks at night. Not the Hilton, but not $400 a night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dos Locos food and service was awesome! Highly recommend the crab mountain!

Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mukilteo, WA
Jun 6, 2011

Nice location, nice beach town

Nice spacious room with separate bedroom. range, microwave, dishwasher, laundry all in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Hotel is 1 block to beach.Try Finns for great seafood with a good beer and wine selections. Dogfish Head Brew Pub is a must if you like well crafted beers.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search