$45 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2014 Check-out: Apr 22, 2014

Summer Place Hotel

3 stars
30 Olive Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
121 reviews
Aaah huh!

The room did resemble the pictures online and the descriptions that I read seemed accurate,... See full review

  • jhbdiversiter
  • Jul 12, 2013
Great place for what you pay for

So we are pretty broke couple who wanted a small get away to the beach... the location is... See full review

  • Loufa
  • Jun 21, 2013
Affordable guesthouse-style hotel near Rehoboth Beach and downtown

Summer Place Hotel is an intimate inn with 23 rooms, including four one-bedroom condo-style rooms, steps away from downtown Rehoboth Beach, the boardwalk, and the beach.

Highlights
  • Near the Rehoboth Beach boardwalk
  • Complimentary morning coffee
  • Group rates, cash, and multi-night-stay discounts
Rooms

The 23 guest rooms offer private bath, cable television, telephone, microwave, air conditioning, heating, and refrigerator. Rooms accommodate two or three people, with choice of one king bed, one double bed, or double plus a twin bed. Four one-bedroom condos are available and come equipped with full kitchen (dishwasher, microwave, stove, refrigerator, and all utensils), full-size futon in living room and one double bed in bedroom. Condos sleep four or five. Cots are available upon request.

Features

Summer Place Hotel in Rehoboth Beach is an easy walk to downtown shops and restaurants as well as the boardwalk and beach. Offers the quiet simplicity of a traditional guesthouse, with complimentary morning coffee and a common porch where guests can relax.

Transportation
  • Salisbury-Ocean City Regional Airport (52.6 mi/84.7 km)
  • Baltimore-Washington International Airport (111 mi/178.6 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Midway Speedway Park (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Cape Henlopen State Park (11.3 mi/18.2 km)
  • DiscoverSea Shipwreck Museum (18.7 mi/30.1 km)
  • Jolly Roger Amusement Park (24.8 mi/39.9 km)

Summer Place Hotel Rooms

One Bedroom Condo with full kitc
One Bedroom Condo with full kitchen
standard room One Double and one
standard room One Double and one Twin
standard room One Double Bed
standard room One Double Bed
standard room One King Bed
standard room One King Bed
standard room One Queen Bed
standard room One Queen Bed

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Services
Maid service
Express check in
Express checkout
Parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Summer Place Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.7187 -75.0793
Area served
Rehoboth Beach
Nearby airports
New Bedford, (EWB), 19.00, MI, N; T. F. Green Airport, (PVD), 12.00, MI, N;
Area description
Downtown, 30 Olive Ave Rehoboth Beach, Delaware 19971 115 MILES FROM PHL

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (121)

Ratings and reviews for Summer Place Hotel

Overall score

2.3 / 5
121 out of 121
Amenities:
1.9
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
2.4
Room comfort:
2.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
2.8

46% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Doughboy002200
NJ
Jul 11, 2009

Don't Stay Here

This Hotel Billed us on the day we booked. It did not say anything about it. When we called the hotel they said tough and no refunds. They were very rude to my wife when she called them. We were going to pay cash and had to call credit card company to cancel payment. They will bill you when you book. Be careful as it does not say that on the web site!!! We did not stay there. We also spent 1.5 hours on the phone with hotel and Orbitz but hotel did not refund our money and we had to call credit card company to stop payment. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Scottsdale AZ
Jul 11, 2009

Great price and location

Walking distance to beach. Only negative was parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

2
LollaFan
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 9, 2009

Exactly what you pay for

The hotel is exactly what you pay for, a bed and a shower. Unfortunately, the bed isn't comfortable and the shower alternates between scalding hot and freezing cold. The room isn't dirty, but it's not clean either. Its very small, but big enough for a couple to both get ready semi-comfortably. If you're looking for a cheap room very close to the beach and have low standards, this is perfect. If you're looking for any perks at all, look somewhere else. Good ---- - great location, close to the beach and everything else you'd want to do - cheap - nice, but strange staff - AC Bad ---- - small - not very clean - TV has about 12 channels although it says it has 60 - no extra perks at all - uncomfortable bed - strange smell in halls - inconsistent water temperature My girlfriend is extraordinarily clean and picky. She wasn't thrilled, but we made the most of it. And like I said, if you set your expectations low, the price and location pretty much even out the negatives. - bad parking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pop-pops Donuts is a MUST for breakfast. Hobos on Baltimore is great for vegetarians with all organic ingredients and many options.

Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

2
SBvirginia
Manassas, VA
Jul 1, 2009

Convenient But Sparse

The hotel was slightly less than expected. I knew that it was going to be just a basic room, but it was literally like a dorm room. It even had a door refrigerator and microwave sitting on the floor. The air conditioning unit was sealed on the wall with duct tape and the lighting wires ran up the walls to the fixture. The room was tiny and on the 3rd floor (no elevator). However, it was on the first sea block so the location could not be better. It was like camping, but indoors. Depending on your traveler type, I would recommend this location for those who just want a place to sleep and shower. Also, the parking situation was dicey and the hotel owner wasn't all that friendly or informative. Bring towels and sheets from home and this will make it more comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a small grocery store on the next block which was very convenient.

Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

1
T from Philly
Philadelphia
Jun 30, 2009

Great Location, horrible service

We spent a lot of time out on the boardwalk and beach. The rooms were just barely clean enough. Hair in the shower, not very nice overall. The worst part - BED BUGS. I got bit probably 30 times and it was definitely bedbugs. The staff was unfriendly. Stay here for the location and price, but BRING YOUR OWN SHEETS!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is an awesome market called grub just up the street. Great rare foods for those who get tired of eating out.

Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Harley Couple
Edgewood, Maryland
Jun 27, 2009

A Great Little Place to Stay

A pleasant experience. A quiet Old-Time atmosphere. After reading many negative reviews, We were plesantly surprised when we finally got there. The manager made accomodations for my partically disabled wife, and my motorcycle. Being only a block away from the Atlantic Ocean was great too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Leave your car parked and walk to many destinations.

Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Tom & Vicki
York, PA
Jun 22, 2009

If all you want is what you paid for...

Creepy Innkeeper, scary doorbell, lobby like a funeral parlor! But if you want more, go pay more than double to have features you don't even need! If you love who you're with and you love the beach, it's a great bargain. I'd stay again! Parking is a nightmare to find. The 10" TV looks like a big flat screen if you hold it in front of the mirror! If you are watching TV at the beach, you need to get a life anyway. We loved our stay! Just expect the worst, and you'll be pleasantly surprised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

4
dendog
baltimore
Jun 13, 2009

close to beach small rooms no extras

Half a block from the beach ffor $ is nice. Parking is a little strange so worth getting 40$parking pass..cash deposit but get it back later getting good spot at night so can goto boardwalk without ppaying expensive meters. Orbits said checkout at noon and they kicked us out at 11 very upsetting since we didn't get there until midnight so wanted to sleep in late! It was resturant week so I got a 3 course meal including stuffed lobster for 30$ at "blue" good food!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
newark, DE
May 26, 2009

Good place tp sleep

We went just to hangout down at the beach. WE only used the room to shower and sleep. So it did the job. We mostly stayed out while down there. no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For breakfast in there is a new doughnut shop called Pop Pops. They make your doughnuts to order so you get them hot. Must try!

Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Altoona, PA
May 3, 2009

OK Place 2 Stay

Great location and price, nothing fancy, sort of like a college dorm, with a private bath. If you're looking for something fancy, forget it. Would definitely stay there again, during the beach off season. Since I was going to Georgetown, the lack of off street parking was a little annoying, other than that, I had no problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Beach, Boardwalk 1 block away, main blvd. with shops and reastaurants, 2 blocks away. No need to drive to get to where things are happening.

Back to menu Return to top