Summer Place Hotel

3 stars
30 Olive Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
127 reviews
Aaah huh!

The room did resemble the pictures online and the descriptions that I read seemed accurate,... See full review

  • jhbdiversiter
  • Jul 12, 2013
Awesome adorable place!

Loved it! No complaints! Perfect location. Going back. See full review

  • dmendez827
  • May 14, 2012
Affordable guesthouse-style hotel near Rehoboth Beach and downtown

Summer Place Hotel is an intimate inn with 23 rooms, including four one-bedroom condo-style rooms, steps away from downtown Rehoboth Beach, the boardwalk, and the beach.

Highlights
  • Near the Rehoboth Beach boardwalk
  • Complimentary morning coffee
  • Group rates, cash, and multi-night-stay discounts
Rooms

The 23 guest rooms offer private bath, cable television, telephone, microwave, air conditioning, heating, and refrigerator. Rooms accommodate two or three people, with choice of one king bed, one double bed, or double plus a twin bed. Four one-bedroom condos are available and come equipped with full kitchen (dishwasher, microwave, stove, refrigerator, and all utensils), full-size futon in living room and one double bed in bedroom. Condos sleep four or five. Cots are available upon request.

Features

Summer Place Hotel in Rehoboth Beach is an easy walk to downtown shops and restaurants as well as the boardwalk and beach. Offers the quiet simplicity of a traditional guesthouse, with complimentary morning coffee and a common porch where guests can relax.

Transportation
  • Salisbury-Ocean City Regional Airport (52.6 mi/84.7 km)
  • Baltimore-Washington International Airport (111 mi/178.6 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Midway Speedway Park (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Cape Henlopen State Park (11.3 mi/18.2 km)
  • DiscoverSea Shipwreck Museum (18.7 mi/30.1 km)
  • Jolly Roger Amusement Park (24.8 mi/39.9 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Summer Place Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Summer Place Hotel Rooms

One Bedroom Condo with full kitc
1 Bedroom Condo with Full Kitchen dishwasher microwave stove refrigerator and all utensils full size futon in living room and one double bed in bedroom Sleeps four or five Approximately 350 square feet Non-Smoking Deposit and Cxl Fees Apply.
standard room One Double Bed
1 Dbl Bed-Private Bath, Cable TV, Microwave, AC, Fridge. Cots Available upon Request. Non-Smoking. Deposit and Cxl Fees Apply.
standard room One King Bed
1 King Bed-Private Bath, Cable TV, Microwave, AC, Fridge. Cots Available upon Request. Non-Smoking. Deposit and Cxl Fees Apply.
standard room One Queen Bed
1 Queen Bed-Private Bath, Cable TV, Microwave, AC, Fridge. Cots Available upon Request. Non-Smoking. Deposit and Cxl Fees Apply.
standard room One Double and one
1 Dbl Bed-1 Twin Bed-Private Bath, Cable TV, Microwave, AC, Fridge. Cots Available upon Request. Non-Smoking. Deposit and Cxl Fees Apply.

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Services
Maid service
Express check in
Express checkout
Parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (127)

Ratings and reviews for Summer Place Hotel

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
1.9
Room cleanliness:
2.4
Hotel staff:
2.4
Room comfort:
2.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
2.7

45% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alexandria, VA
Apr 26, 2010

eh...

Staff was very laid back. Room was not very clean. Great location for the price, but NOT a "luxury" accomodation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to the beach and shopping. Convenient drive to outlets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jackpot Jackie
Business
Memphis TN
Feb 14, 2010

Beach blessing

To be honest, this was a very good hotel. I arrived late in the evening yet the owner was very pleasant and likable, the room was small yet quaint. The only problem I had was there was a little mildew in the refridge from being unplugged and it only had a tiny space heater to heat the entire room. The room itself was very CLEAN and very neat the bathroom was spotless!! It was so quaint that it made the mildew and cold almost nonexistant. I really enjoyed the atmosphere of this hotel. I would definetly return there without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is right near the boardwalk and right in the midst of town! you are near EVERYTHING! It's in a great location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
precarious77
Business
Annapolis MD
Sep 20, 2009

What a disappointment

The room was horribly musty with the smell of a dog. Our sheets were dirty and very gritty. We looked for the owner for hours - there was a note on the desk to call his cell phone if he was not present. We called for 3 hours. He finally walked in the door. He said it was probably sand from the comforter and handed us the sheets and said we could change them ourselves but that was all he could do. The room only fit the bed. If they were going to offer larger bed sizes you should be able to walk around the bed! There was a huge price discrepancy comparing to what we paid with orbits and what is listed on the website. Should have been a great get away and instead I just wanted to get home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Sep 7, 2009

PLEASE DON'T GO THERE!!

I came through the doors and knew right away that I wasn't going to be please with my experience. Dirty, dark, decor was horrible...nothing exciting!! This is not a hotel, this is not an Inn, this is not a B&B...I don't know what this is. Owner is rude and unprofessional! This place is dirty...hair in my sheets! Not like a random hair...hair like someone had slept in these sheets and they weren't washed!! My towels were stained and that just creeping me out. Being kind of scared of unfriendly owner guy I didn't call him at 11pm when I noticed my gross sheets I instead slept on my one clean towel...that's how grossed out I was!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Sep 5, 2009

Great location, not so accommodations

Fair experience for a last minute Labor day get away. Hotel's in a great location for the price, but it is lacking in cleanliness and any other sort of amenities. I did not see the "relatively newness" mentioned in Orbitz description. Room did not feel clean at all and the sheets were extremely scratchy. Parking is included, but it's either in a hard to find "city, non-metered" spot for free or a $10 spot by the building that requires you to "tandem" park and leave your cell number for when another car needs to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Claws crabhouse is a great little seafood place approximately 5 blocks from the hotel. Great food at great prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Labow
Business
Zionsville, Pa
Aug 30, 2009

Good Location

This hotel was average at best. The was no parking lot, rooms were small, and the shower was narrow. On a positive note, the water in the shower had a good stream, better than any other hotel on the coast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mom-mom the great
Business
colora MD
Aug 25, 2009

location was great

The hotel was close to the beach Had great weather had a balcony porch you could sit on at night able to walk to the board walk and to different resturants The robin hood resturant was great and not that expensive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you have young children the amusement part of the board walk was great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Her grandpa
Business
Staten Island, NY
Aug 21, 2009

no frills but prime location

This hotel is one block away from the beach and boardwalk and just a 3 or 5 minute walk from all the shopping and dining on Rehoboth Ave. There are also restaurants, grocery stores, etc. on 1st St. Parking is an issue--they gave me a transferable permit to use for parking in the neighborhood, but in August the closest spot I found was five blocks away from the hotel, so I just didn't move my car again until check out. The street is quiet but the walls are thin, so you might overhear your neighbors in the next room. But if all you're looking for is an air-conditioned room and fridge with all the attractions of the shore right outside, this will do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kennett Square, Pa
Aug 19, 2009

What was I thinking!!!!

It was not a very positive experience, would not spend the money I did, would prefer spending more more next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Summer Place Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal
Aug 3, 2009

Average if you don't have low budget

Nice location, we spent all our time outside. The owner is not very welcoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach! and tanger outlets for taxfree shopping!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top