$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Super 8 Newark DE

2 stars
268 East Main Street, Newark, DE 19711
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.2
out of 5
12 reviews
Decent hotel for the price

Hotel was in a really good spot and was cheap but was not very nice but would definitely stay there... See full review

  • Mogul Brian
  • Oct 5, 2014
Fantastic Location for the Price

Check-in was smooth & check out was easy. See full review

  • Hovdriver
  • Jun 21, 2010
The Super 8 Motel located on East Main Street in the heart of Newark, DE is within walking distance to the University of Delaware. Whether coming to town for an event at the Bob Carpenter Center, a fun filled weekend at Dover Downs or a visiting the campus for DelaWorld or Decision Days, we have accommodations to meet your needs. While you are here visit any of the famous restaurants in Historic Newark or any of the sites Delaware is popular for. Choose any of our newly renovated rooms with either 1 King bed or 2 Double Beds including a 25 Inch TV and over 70 Cable channels to enjoy. We feature free Super Start Plus Breakfast Daily and a Complimentary USA Today Newspaper. Also all rooms offer free High Speed Wireless Internet Access, Hairdryers, and AM-FM Alarm Clock Radio, Cots, Cribs, Coffee Maker, Microwave and Refrigerators are all available upon request. Pets permitted with fee.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Super 8 Newark DE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Dining
Vending machines
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Delaware Stadium: 1.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
01:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (12)

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 Newark DE

Overall score

1.8 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 12
Amenities:
1.8
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2.3
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
2.3

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 Newark DE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lauren MD
Business
Bear, Delaware
Dec 3, 2012

Ehh..

It was okay for the night. The heater didn't work, the fridge didn't work, their plumbing was not very good, and the first thing I experienced when walking into the room was a woman screaming and cursing out a man. But it was tolerable for the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Newark DE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lizzy Mags
Business
Rochester, NY
Jul 19, 2011

Great location, terrible hotel

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in late June. I'll preface this review by saying we are low key, and always stay at low price hotels when traveling. It doesn't take too much to impress us as long as the room is clean and decent. This hotel, however, was the worst we have been in. The location of this hotel is great if you are planning on visiting the University or Main St. Their website says the rooms have been renovated recently but I saw no sign of that. The shower was dingy, the sheets had stains, and the walls are very thin. When checking in it took 10 minutes to get someone to come to the desk! The continental breakfast was just donuts. The location was fantastic, but I can't say it made up for the room or the service. The service may be better during their busy periods, but I wouldn't count on it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Deer Park Tavern!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Newark DE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
aaudette
Business
Rhode Island
Mar 15, 2010

Inexpensive lodging

Inexpensive 2 star hotel, maybe closer to 1 star. Located right on Main Street. Room was okay, largely because it was newly refurbished. "Breakfast" was a few old stale donuts and a bag of bagels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Homegrown Cafe, Deer Park Inn, Iron Hill Brewery not to be missed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Newark DE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
angelaabsolut
Business
Wilmington, De
Feb 17, 2010

Never Again!

Upon arrival, the floor of our room was covered with rock salt, was freezing and had no remote control. There is no heat or heat lamp in the ice cold bathroom and no screen in the window. The large front window was unlocked and the screen semi-popped, very easy access for anyone to enter. The lamp by the door was plugged in with no bulb, the mini fridge did not get cold and spoiled our food. There was what appeared to be blood stains all over the mattress, the manager was unsure if the ice machine was working and the coffee machine was filthy and missing the main part. The best I can say is the the staff was friendly and helpful about getting me a remote even though we made at least 4 trips to the office to find a remote that worked with the tv. NEVER AGAIN!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Although there are multitudes of great restaurants on the same street, we discovered a place called Pizza U that delivers, food is great and priced reasonably, just remind them to pack napkins and condiments if you plan on eating in the motel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Newark DE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
florida
Aug 1, 2009

super8 newark de

great room, great location outside I95 area and within downtoun Newark DE a college town. Breakfast non existent, no coffee etc, poorly managed.Otherwise everything fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Newark DE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 30, 2007

Worst stay ever

This was the worst stay I have ever experienced. When I received a key from the staff, I went into a room that was already occupied. I have yet to get an apology from the staff person. The rooms were dingy with a very funny smell. I would not recommend this place to someone I disliked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top