$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 4, 2014 Check-out: Oct 5, 2014

Washington Plaza Hotel

3 stars
10 Thomas Circle, Washington, DC 20009
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
430 reviews
Great location for sightseeing.

Comfortable and convenient for sightseeing, quiet room and value for the money. See full review

  • The real Merrill
  • Aug 28, 2014
Enjoyable stay

We only spent one night but I have to say that staff were the friendliest I've seen in a long time.... See full review

  • HappyHappy14
  • Aug 9, 2014
A modern hotel with a landscaped outdoor pool, meeting space

The Washington Plaza Hotel offers a convenient location between the White House and bustling Dupont Circle for both leisure and business travelers.  The hotel has a large, landscaped outdoor pool.  Guests appreciate the relaxed, casual ambience throughout the hotel. A number of restaurants are nearby, and the hotel has a restaurant and lounge for those who prefer to stay in for the night.

Highlights
  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • Garage parking
Rooms
Each of the 340 rooms and suites features modern decor, warm colors and sleek lines. Junior suites have a large guest room with sitting area. Relax in the room with a movie, room service from the No. Ten Restaurant, and high-speed Internet access (fees apply). Single, double, triple or quad occupancy rooms include coffee maker, iron and ironing board, alarm clock and hairdryer.
Features
The outdoor pool lures guests during the humid D.C. summer, with plenty of lounge chairs and poolside dining. Keep up your workout routine at the fitness center. Visit the hotel's full-service No. Ten Thomas Restaurant, where guests dine on American cuisine. Sit by the fireplace and enjoy a nightcap at The International, an on-site lounge. There is 12,000 square feet of meeting space with catering service and audio-visual equipment available.
Transportation
  • Farragut North Metro stop (0.4 miles)
  • Regan National Airport (4 miles)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 miles)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • The White House (0.6 mi/ 0.9 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • The National Mall (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Washington Monument (1.1 mi/ 1.8 km)
  • Georgetown (1.5 mi/ 2.5 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.6 mi/ 2.6 km)
  • World War II Memorial (1.7 mi/ 2 km)
  • Library of Congress (1.9 mi/ 3.1 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (2 mi/ 2.4 km)
Business
  • 12,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Business center
Policies and fees

  • The hotel charges $25 USD per day plus 18% tax for Self parking and $30 USD per day plus 18% tax for Valet Parking.
  • The outdoor pool will open on 24 May 2014.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.9061 -77.031
Area served
Ronald Reagan National Airport DCA 4.5 mi, Dulles Int'l Airport IAD 27.5 mi, Bureau of Engraving 1 mi, Fords Theater 1.5 mi, MCI Center 0.8 mi, Baltimore Washington Intl BWI 31.5 mi
Nearby airports
Washington Dulles Intl. (IAD) 27 MI , Washington Ronald Reagan (DCA) 4 MI
Area description
Ronald Reagan National Airport DCA 4.5 mi, Dulles Int'l Airport IAD 27.5 mi, Bureau of Engraving 1 mi, Fords Theater 1.5 mi, MCI Center 0.8 mi, Baltimore Washington Intl BWI 31.5 mi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Washington Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Washington Plaza Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room accommodations for single, double, or triple occupancy include coffee maker, iron and ironing board, alarm clock and hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.8 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.9 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1 mi
  • National Archives: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.1 mi
  • Newseum: 1.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Howard University: 1.2 mi

Dining

international lounge
The keynote of the international is the feeling of grown-up glamour and sophistication that reigned throughout the Kennedy years - the golden age of All-American-Style; full of promise and ambition. This is not Austin Powers or Warhol Pop. Think Babe Paley; think dressed up, crisp clothed jet-setters and kings of commerce enjoying a classic champagne cocktail, nibbling an elegant snack, while engaging in intense flirtation and conversation into the wee hours - after all one can always stay over.
No. 10 Thomas
No. 10 Thomas offers Contemporary American cuisine and the perfect ambience for any meal. Watch the "Early birds" at Logan Circle in the morning, sunbathers taking a dip in our pool after lunch, or the sunset over National City Christian Church in the evening. Sip a Glass of Champagne or enjoy a cocktail by candle light on our Poolside terrace and make a wish while counting the shooting stars over Washington D.C.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (430)

Ratings and reviews for Washington Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
430 out of 430
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
VA
Jan 10, 2011

Great location, great hotel

Although the room was small, it was nicely appointed and the bed was really comfortable. Updated bathroom with fresh white tile and a bright, new shower. Restaurant on-site had a good dinner menu. Very convenient to downtown DC and a good rate for the season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to my business location and very convenient to metro.

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KNEE HIGH
WARREN, OHIO
Aug 3, 2012

GREAT PLACE TO STAY

This hotel is close to almost all of the attractions. You are within 2 miles of all of them. If you don't want to walk , take a cab. it's the easiest way to get around DC. The staff at the hotel are all very friendly. The room was big, very clean and the beds are very comfortable with great pillows. I would stay here again anytime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Agatha
Crumlin
Jul 15, 2012

Great hotel, great location

excellent hotel perfectly positioned for viewing the sites in Washington. Staff were friendly and helpful and it was be only place in America where I got a proper pot of tea. Good-sized rooms and they were well appointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Meals in the hotel were both good and good value.

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Angie012
philadelphia
Oct 3, 2011

Friendly staff and great bargain

The staff is incredibly accomodating and location along with room was a very reasonable price. I have stayed at the so called reasonable hotels all over with status and I received the best treatment here with no status to wave. Also, free wifi for the price I paid for my stay- you can't beat that. Next time I come to DC- i will be sure to stay here again! Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 24, 2011

Lovely service and clean, inviting rooms

From check-in, to the odd question here and there, to check-out, the staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and attractive, with a large, well-lit bathroom - great for reading in the tub! And the hotel was just a few short blocks to the Metro and the Mall. A great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Note: If you are a vegetarian, the dining options are limited in both the lounge and the restaurant.

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 7, 2008

Enjoyable visit

The Washington Plaza hotel was comfortable and the room was very nice. Large Bathroom area and nice walk-in closet for suitcases and hang-up clothing. The bathroom were dated but very clean and functional. The location of the hotel was okay. It's a nice hike to the Washington Monument, Lincoln Memorial, Nat'l Archives and Capital but closer to the White House. For oversized vehicles like Suburbans or Tahoe's the parking can be a little inconvenient due to a small area to be placed and they don't reserved this area for the larger vehicles. For example when you pull into the parking area smaller cars can park on both levels but larger cars only have about 35-45 parking spots and you have to exit through the entrance and run down a valet to open the gates. If a valet is not available the inside workers are no help. Your stuck. For what you use a hotel for in D.C. it is quite nice and you don't drive much anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Not too far from the White House but quite a hike to the Capital, National Archives. It's not too far from several good restaurants and for a good cheap breakfast try, Au Bon Pain.The Hotel is at the corner of M Street and 14th Street

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JDubya
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 28, 2012

Excellent value for the area

The hotel is in a great location that is walking distance to the metro, DuPont, numerous shops and places to eat, and Embassy Row. Well worth the money, especially considering the area. My only complaint is the lack of coffee in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Prairie, Texas
Feb 7, 2011

Great Service at the Washington Plaza

I picked this hotel knowing nothing about it. I mainly chose it because it was located close to the seminar host hotel. From the guys who helped me in with my luggage, to the sweet lady ([...]) who brought my room service order at 11pm, every person in this hotel was not only polite, but just so NICE (with one exception, being the lady in the gift shop on Sunday morning - she didn't address me upon entering or ask if I needed help). I spoke to the restaurant manager once - he called concerned that I didn't eat much and asked if there was anything wrong with the food. There wasn't at all, but I have NEVER had a manager ask me that, nor be concerned as he was. Speaking of food, the menu was interesting and everything I ordered tasted great. I will be returning to DC with my family within the year, and we will most definitely stay at the Washington Plaza again. And also, the hotel was immaculately clean. I would add a food vending machine. I get a little snack-y late at night. Also, it the room had first-run movies, I would have bought several, I'm sure, because I had some downtime. But still, the hotel was perfect for me and my needs. I was extremely impressed. Thanks for a great stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jemimanjum
NY,NY
Sep 20, 2010

It was great!!

it is a great location!! We stayed double standard room, and it has big bathroom! We enjoyed so much!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
winchester VA
Nov 4, 2009

confortable and clean stay

it was very short, but parked my car with no problems, very nice attention at the front desk, very confortable bed and an impecable bathroom!! Great hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

make sure to call the restaurants first, in DC is not like other world cities that you can eat dinner at 10 or 11pm. For example Secquoias closes the kitchen at 9pm!!! Amazing.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search