$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

Washington Plaza Hotel

3 stars
10 Thomas Circle, Washington, DC 20009
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
635 reviews
Great place for the price

Beds were comfortable, everything was modern, swimming pool was great. See full review

  • tourist1991
  • Jun 23, 2014
Awesome hotel

Love this place!!! It is a great hotel. Great Price! Great Location!!! See full review

  • DC Future
  • Jun 2, 2014
A modern hotel with a landscaped outdoor pool, meeting space

The Washington Plaza Hotel offers a convenient location between the White House and bustling Dupont Circle for both leisure and business travelers.  The hotel has a large, landscaped outdoor pool.  Guests appreciate the relaxed, casual ambience throughout the hotel. A number of restaurants are nearby, and the hotel has a restaurant and lounge for those who prefer to stay in for the night.

Highlights
  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • Garage parking
Rooms
Each of the 340 rooms and suites features modern decor, warm colors and sleek lines. Junior suites have a large guest room with sitting area. Relax in the room with a movie, room service from the No. Ten Restaurant, and high-speed Internet access (fees apply). Single, double, triple or quad occupancy rooms include coffee maker, iron and ironing board, alarm clock and hairdryer.
Features
The outdoor pool lures guests during the humid D.C. summer, with plenty of lounge chairs and poolside dining. Keep up your workout routine at the fitness center. Visit the hotel's full-service No. Ten Thomas Restaurant, where guests dine on American cuisine. Sit by the fireplace and enjoy a nightcap at The International, an on-site lounge. There is 12,000 square feet of meeting space with catering service and audio-visual equipment available.
Transportation
  • Farragut North Metro stop (0.4 miles)
  • Regan National Airport (4 miles)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 miles)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • The White House (0.6 mi/ 0.9 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • The National Mall (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Washington Monument (1.1 mi/ 1.8 km)
  • Georgetown (1.5 mi/ 2.5 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.6 mi/ 2.6 km)
  • World War II Memorial (1.7 mi/ 2 km)
  • Library of Congress (1.9 mi/ 3.1 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (2 mi/ 2.4 km)
Business
  • 12,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Business center
Policies and fees

  • The hotel charges $25 USD per day plus 18% tax for Self parking and $30 USD per day plus 18% tax for Valet Parking.
  • The outdoor pool will open on 24 May 2014.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.9061 -77.031
Area served
Ronald Reagan National Airport DCA 4.5 mi, Dulles Int'l Airport IAD 27.5 mi, Bureau of Engraving 1 mi, Fords Theater 1.5 mi, MCI Center 0.8 mi, Baltimore Washington Intl BWI 31.5 mi
Nearby airports
Washington Dulles Intl. (IAD) 27 MI , Washington Ronald Reagan (DCA) 4 MI
Area description
Ronald Reagan National Airport DCA 4.5 mi, Dulles Int'l Airport IAD 27.5 mi, Bureau of Engraving 1 mi, Fords Theater 1.5 mi, MCI Center 0.8 mi, Baltimore Washington Intl BWI 31.5 mi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Washington Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Washington Plaza Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room accommodations for single, double, or triple occupancy include coffee maker, iron and ironing board, alarm clock and hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.8 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.9 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1 mi
  • National Archives: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.1 mi
  • Newseum: 1.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Howard University: 1.2 mi

Dining

international lounge
The keynote of the international is the feeling of grown-up glamour and sophistication that reigned throughout the Kennedy years - the golden age of All-American-Style; full of promise and ambition. This is not Austin Powers or Warhol Pop. Think Babe Paley; think dressed up, crisp clothed jet-setters and kings of commerce enjoying a classic champagne cocktail, nibbling an elegant snack, while engaging in intense flirtation and conversation into the wee hours - after all one can always stay over.
No. 10 Thomas
No. 10 Thomas offers Contemporary American cuisine and the perfect ambience for any meal. Watch the "Early birds" at Logan Circle in the morning, sunbathers taking a dip in our pool after lunch, or the sunset over National City Christian Church in the evening. Sip a Glass of Champagne or enjoy a cocktail by candle light on our Poolside terrace and make a wish while counting the shooting stars over Washington D.C.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (635)

Ratings and reviews for Washington Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
635 out of 635
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Grand Rapids Michigan
May 4, 2011

Great Hotel and Staff

This hotel was friendly and knowledgeable. They made our DC experience great! I would recommend this to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ottawa, ON, Canada
Apr 11, 2011

Nice Hotel in Washington D.C.

We spent two nights at the Washington Plaza and thoroughly enjoyed our stay: courteous staff, very clean and comfortable accommodation and great restaurant for breakfast. We will definitely stay there again when in D.C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
StephAA
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 7, 2013

Amazing weekend trip

My boyfriend and I wanted to do a quick get away to DC for the weekend. We decided that if we could find a good deal we would stay in the city. It didn't take us long to find the Washington plaza. The location was absolutely perfect. We were able to walk to all of the attractions we wanted to and the night life was amazing. The hotel staff was very accommodating and helpful with our many questions. We plan on traveling to DC again soon and we won't be looking to stay anywhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Unsatified Traveler
Southern Virginia
Mar 3, 2014

Sincere Staff...

Excellent experience. Always use this hotel when in DC. The staff is amazing. Location can't be beat. Only concern are those guests who feel the need to smoke on their balconies. Had to keep door closed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Berti
Bronx. NY
Oct 12, 2009

It doesn't get any better

exelent, that is all i can say

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Nov 25, 2009

Outstanding deal

We were there strictly for vacation. While not perfect, the location is very good. It was about a 6 block walk (downhill) to the Metro station. There were always cabs available if we wanted one. The hotel restaurant was very good - not a huge menu - and worked out great when the weather turned against us. There is a growing area for restaurants, shops, and a Whole Foods just about 4 blocks away on P street. The staff could not have been nicer, especially in the restaurant. The bar is quiet but well appointed. The hotel is apparently into a floor-by-floor renovation. While I did not see the new rooms myself, my wife said that they were very nice. If you are the kind of person who needs to be surrounded by fabulous decor and trendy rooms, this may not be for you however. The lobby area, while absolutely spotless, was a stylistic mish-mash from several different decades. The rooms, again, absolutely spotless, were not overly large and had some unusual decorating choices. But this was all very minor to me. Cleanliness and good service are what I need from a hotel and this one had both. There is a fitness center but I did not partake. There is a large pool with a huge surrounding deck area but it was closed for the season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

U street is the happening new spot in town. It is a combination of nightclubs, theaters, and restaurants mostly aimed at the 35 and younger crowd.

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Madison, Wi.
Jan 25, 2011

Great place to stay.

Central location for doing the tourist things. Close to the Metro. Staff was very friendly. Nice rooms. I asked staff to recommend nearby restaurants and bars. Several within walking distance were a real good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stoney's bar and another restaurant (the name escapes me) are real close. Friendly crowd and a lot of fun.

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LARRY S.
FT MYERS, FL
May 28, 2009

Real nice place to relax..

After a long rainy day of sightseeing The Washington Plaza Hotel was the perfect place to unwind. The interior was clean and the room was bigger than I thought. The location was great and I'm sure the pool would have been nice to swim in if it wasn't for the weather. The staff was really pleasant from check in to the check out. They even held our bags for us after check out so we could sight see some more. The food was great too espeacially the pizza. I would stay here again for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
COlover
KS
Oct 28, 2012

Quickly planned trip

This hotel was in a great location, the staff was wonderful, restaurant was good. The room was quiet and clean. There was nothing I would have changed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miller Place
Aug 24, 2008

WONDERFUL WEEKEND

The location was easily located by car, and then close to the metro for sightseeing. The staff was wonderful and very professional. On a previous trip, I left a suit in the lobby while checking out and didnt realize it until weeks later. I called the hotel, they had saved the suit, were very helpful, and mailed it back to me. I would reccomend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the metro at Mcpherson, it is two blocks away and you can access the city

Back to menu Return to top