$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 25, 2014

Washington Plaza Hotel

3 stars
10 Thomas Circle, Washington, DC 20009
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
437 reviews
Great for the price and location!

This hotel was in an excellent location! The staff was extremely friendly! What a great value! See full review

  • Ashla Eliza
  • Oct 22, 2014
Great location for sightseeing.

Comfortable and convenient for sightseeing, quiet room and value for the money. See full review

  • The real Merrill
  • Aug 28, 2014
A modern hotel with a landscaped outdoor pool, meeting space

The Washington Plaza Hotel offers a convenient location between the White House and bustling Dupont Circle for both leisure and business travelers.  The hotel has a large, landscaped outdoor pool.  Guests appreciate the relaxed, casual ambience throughout the hotel. A number of restaurants are nearby, and the hotel has a restaurant and lounge for those who prefer to stay in for the night.

Highlights
  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • Garage parking
Rooms
Each of the 340 rooms and suites features modern decor, warm colors and sleek lines. Junior suites have a large guest room with sitting area. Relax in the room with a movie, room service from the No. Ten Restaurant, and high-speed Internet access (fees apply). Single, double, triple or quad occupancy rooms include coffee maker, iron and ironing board, alarm clock and hairdryer.
Features
The outdoor pool lures guests during the humid D.C. summer, with plenty of lounge chairs and poolside dining. Keep up your workout routine at the fitness center. Visit the hotel's full-service No. Ten Thomas Restaurant, where guests dine on American cuisine. Sit by the fireplace and enjoy a nightcap at The International, an on-site lounge. There is 12,000 square feet of meeting space with catering service and audio-visual equipment available.
Transportation
  • Farragut North Metro stop (0.4 miles)
  • Regan National Airport (4 miles)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 miles)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • The White House (0.6 mi/ 0.9 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • The National Mall (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Washington Monument (1.1 mi/ 1.8 km)
  • Georgetown (1.5 mi/ 2.5 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.6 mi/ 2.6 km)
  • World War II Memorial (1.7 mi/ 2 km)
  • Library of Congress (1.9 mi/ 3.1 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (2 mi/ 2.4 km)
Business
  • 12,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Business center
Policies and fees

  • The hotel charges $25 USD per day plus 18% tax for Self parking and $30 USD per day plus 18% tax for Valet Parking.
  • The outdoor pool will open on 24 May 2014.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.9061 -77.031
Area served
Ronald Reagan National Airport DCA 4.5 mi, Dulles Int'l Airport IAD 27.5 mi, Bureau of Engraving 1 mi, Fords Theater 1.5 mi, MCI Center 0.8 mi, Baltimore Washington Intl BWI 31.5 mi
Nearby airports
Washington Dulles Intl. (IAD) 27 MI , Washington Ronald Reagan (DCA) 4 MI
Area description
Ronald Reagan National Airport DCA 4.5 mi, Dulles Int'l Airport IAD 27.5 mi, Bureau of Engraving 1 mi, Fords Theater 1.5 mi, MCI Center 0.8 mi, Baltimore Washington Intl BWI 31.5 mi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Washington Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Washington Plaza Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room accommodations for single, double, or triple occupancy include coffee maker, iron and ironing board, alarm clock and hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.8 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.9 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1 mi
  • National Archives: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.1 mi
  • Newseum: 1.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Howard University: 1.2 mi

Dining

international lounge
The keynote of the international is the feeling of grown-up glamour and sophistication that reigned throughout the Kennedy years - the golden age of All-American-Style; full of promise and ambition. This is not Austin Powers or Warhol Pop. Think Babe Paley; think dressed up, crisp clothed jet-setters and kings of commerce enjoying a classic champagne cocktail, nibbling an elegant snack, while engaging in intense flirtation and conversation into the wee hours - after all one can always stay over.
No. 10 Thomas
No. 10 Thomas offers Contemporary American cuisine and the perfect ambience for any meal. Watch the "Early birds" at Logan Circle in the morning, sunbathers taking a dip in our pool after lunch, or the sunset over National City Christian Church in the evening. Sip a Glass of Champagne or enjoy a cocktail by candle light on our Poolside terrace and make a wish while counting the shooting stars over Washington D.C.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (437)

Ratings and reviews for Washington Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 437
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Solo Travelor
Business
St. Louis, MO
Sep 1, 2014

wonderful stay

Loved the location, price, and friendliness of the staff. Very good internet access. Only problem was the position of the TV. Could only watch from the bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Very diverse neighborhood from homeless beggers to the extremely wealthy. It would seem that caution is needed but people moved around with a strong sense of safety.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Unsatified Traveler
Business
Southern Virginia
Mar 3, 2014

Sincere Staff...

Excellent experience. Always use this hotel when in DC. The staff is amazing. Location can't be beat. Only concern are those guests who feel the need to smoke on their balconies. Had to keep door closed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelBliss
Business
New York
Aug 13, 2013

Great staff!

For years, I had stayed at a competitor hotel that was taken over by a commolerate and ruined. They became snobby and referred to the place where I had stayed as one of their "cheaper properties" where they refused me a bottle of water. My thousands of rewards points still made me "unworthy." Thankfully, I found this gem! The staff is wonderful! They are friendly, cheerful, and professional! The room was super comfortable and the bed made for great sleeping! The only drawback is its less than convenient location. The area is quite nice but, unfortunately, it is not ideal for tourist attractions. It's not that far away, though, and the price does reflect the situation. I still got around without a hassle. STAY HERE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hngdwmn
Business
Philadelphia
Feb 11, 2013

Great place to weekend

Fantastic area- quiet, accessible to everything, close to 3 metro stops. Very accomodating staff- let us check in early, check out late, and kept our bags for us. Our room had a balcony too, which was nice. I would stay there again without question.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Becalala
Business
New Jersey
Feb 8, 2013

OK Experience - Charged Unecessarily

My partner and I ventured to DC to explore as she has never been there before - we had a decent stay, location was OK as it did take a while to walk to the main attractions. When we pulled up to the hotel, we wanted to check in and then take the car and explore the city - the bellman strictly allowed only 10 minutes of idling the car until he would charge us a fee. The room was clean, but a bit small but expected for a city hotel. The most inconvenient experience happened after we checked out and found a charge mysteriously show up on my bank account. They decided to, without reason, charge for 4 days of parking, even though we parked the car at a public lot. I called up the hotel and they said that the woman who checked us out remembers having a conversation with me about the parking charge - which was completely false. We said we were checking out and there was absolutely no mention of further charges incurred during our stay - she wished me a good day and we were on our way. Completely unprofessional and felt like a scam to be charged for parking when we didn't even park at the hotel at ALL during our stay! For all those who are staying here, remember to check your bank accounts after you leave!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Amazing Korean place - un-touristy and great happy hour slightly north of the Dupoint Circle area on the main drag.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DC Travelers 2012
Business
New Hampshire
Oct 30, 2012

Awesome Stay for the Price

We bought a flight + hotel deal and I could not believe how much hotel we got for the price! The staff was awesome, the housekeepers were awesome, the location was awesome, the whole stay was awesome! The staff went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and I will definitely stay there again - as well as recommend it to my friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The DC Mall, Museums, White House and Monuments were all within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FrancoAmericanCPL
Business
Mpls/France
Aug 1, 2012

Has a pool!!!

I was leery of staying at the Washington Plaza Hotel: a friend had warned me of a bedbug issue the hotel had a couple years ago. That appears to have been taken care of. I was also concerned because of other reviews, in which people complained about size of the rooms and noise. The rooms are smaller than what many suburban Americans will be used to; but they are quite standard for rooms in a large urban areas, such as DC, NYC, SF, etc. The noise is a different issue: if one's room faces Thomas Circle, one will get noise--this is a big, traffic-filled, noisy city. But the AC unit and some earplugs will soon cancel that all out. I couldn't hear the people in the rooms next door, except when their baby cried in the morning. Again, I think ear plugs will take care of it. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of the Dupont Circle and U Street corridor. So, it is great for things to do in the evening. It's not a far walk from the White House and the Mall either. The best thing about this hotel is the pool though. After a long, hot day, walking throughout the streets, museums, and monuments of DC, it was so nice to go and take a dip in the pool, and relax poolside. In fact, my partner and I stayed at a much pricier boutique hotel on Dupont Circle for a couple of nights and much preferred this one, even if it did lack a fitness room, because of the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

17th ST north of Massachusetts AVE has a lot of gay-friendly restaurants and bars; the U-Street Corridor has many nice, cheap restaurants and an interesting vibe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tingleguts
Business
New York, NY, USA
Sep 11, 2011

Friendly, clean, nicely done, easy

I like easy going but nicely done hotels. The staff here was remarkably friendly. The decor is reasonably fresh, everything was clean. I left my room at daylight and when I returned in the evening my shades had been drawn. After checking out I realized I'd left a valuable in my room that was irreplaceable so I called and they cheerfully collected it. When I returned to pick it up the assistant who had collected it for me tried to refuse a tip. I've stayed here maybe five times and I always feel welcome and taken care of. My one wish is that the restaurant and bar were active. Sometimes I like to take a drink in the lounge of a hotel because I often meet interesting people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

When in DC there are two perhaps unexpected places I like to visit for dining or drinks. One is Lauriol Plaza on 18th and T Streets NW. Great Mexican/Cuban fare. Surprisingly upscale architecture and decor. Extremely friendly staff. The food is reliably good. Not stuffy at all and not supposed to be. I've eaten dinner at Laurioul Plaza back to back with the mayor of DC; the restaurant is a local mainstay. A great place to have German and Belgian beer is The Saloon at 12th and U Street NW. Fantastic character. The staff is remarkably welcoming and the food is better than average. The owner, Commy, is a passionate philanthropist and supports some amazing causes especially Habitat for Humanity and organizations helping build schools in underdeveloped or disaster-stricken international areas. I lived in this neighborhood for several years and spent many evenings meeting interesting locals at The Saloon. Cool thing, if you support one of their charities-of-interest they might just paint your name on a brick to say thanks. Mine is in the back and my name is misspelled but the feeling is still great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top