$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Washington Plaza Hotel

3 stars
10 Thomas Circle, Washington, DC 20009
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
443 reviews
Very nice stay

over the Thanksgiving weekend. Indeed, quite nice. See full review

  • MollyMalone
  • Dec 9, 2014
business trip

Great short stay. Downtown closer to everything. Great staff. See full review

  • Short stay 2000
  • Nov 23, 2014
A modern hotel with a landscaped outdoor pool, meeting space

The Washington Plaza Hotel offers a convenient location between the White House and bustling Dupont Circle for both leisure and business travelers.  The hotel has a large, landscaped outdoor pool.  Guests appreciate the relaxed, casual ambience throughout the hotel. A number of restaurants are nearby, and the hotel has a restaurant and lounge for those who prefer to stay in for the night.

Highlights
  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • Garage parking
Rooms
Each of the 340 rooms and suites features modern decor, warm colors and sleek lines. Junior suites have a large guest room with sitting area. Relax in the room with a movie, room service from the No. Ten Restaurant, and high-speed Internet access (fees apply). Single, double, triple or quad occupancy rooms include coffee maker, iron and ironing board, alarm clock and hairdryer.
Features
The outdoor pool lures guests during the humid D.C. summer, with plenty of lounge chairs and poolside dining. Keep up your workout routine at the fitness center. Visit the hotel's full-service No. Ten Thomas Restaurant, where guests dine on American cuisine. Sit by the fireplace and enjoy a nightcap at The International, an on-site lounge. There is 12,000 square feet of meeting space with catering service and audio-visual equipment available.
Transportation
  • Farragut North Metro stop (0.4 miles)
  • Regan National Airport (4 miles)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 miles)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • The White House (0.6 mi/ 0.9 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • The National Mall (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Washington Monument (1.1 mi/ 1.8 km)
  • Georgetown (1.5 mi/ 2.5 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.6 mi/ 2.6 km)
  • World War II Memorial (1.7 mi/ 2 km)
  • Library of Congress (1.9 mi/ 3.1 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (2 mi/ 2.4 km)
Business
  • 12,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Business center
Policies and fees

  • The hotel charges $25 USD per day plus 18% tax for Self parking and $30 USD per day plus 18% tax for Valet Parking.
  • The outdoor pool will open on 24 May 2014.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Washington Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Washington Plaza Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room accommodations for single, double, or triple occupancy include coffee maker, iron and ironing board, alarm clock and hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.8 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.9 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1 mi
  • National Archives: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.1 mi
  • Newseum: 1.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Howard University: 1.2 mi

Dining

international lounge
The keynote of the international is the feeling of grown-up glamour and sophistication that reigned throughout the Kennedy years - the golden age of All-American-Style; full of promise and ambition. This is not Austin Powers or Warhol Pop. Think Babe Paley; think dressed up, crisp clothed jet-setters and kings of commerce enjoying a classic champagne cocktail, nibbling an elegant snack, while engaging in intense flirtation and conversation into the wee hours - after all one can always stay over.
No. 10 Thomas
No. 10 Thomas offers Contemporary American cuisine and the perfect ambience for any meal. Watch the "Early birds" at Logan Circle in the morning, sunbathers taking a dip in our pool after lunch, or the sunset over National City Christian Church in the evening. Sip a Glass of Champagne or enjoy a cocktail by candle light on our Poolside terrace and make a wish while counting the shooting stars over Washington D.C.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (443)

Ratings and reviews for Washington Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
443 out of 443
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Joy T.
Business
Tennessee
Jan 14, 2013

Waste of Money

When I first get in my room, the room was hot, it feels like the heater is on. Opened the door from the balcony so the cool air can come in, but it gets too noisy outside, being on the 2nd floor so I shut the door, a couple of minutes later I was sweating, so I checked the temperature, it was 80 deg. Had the maintenance guy come and check and he only turned off and turned on the temp but it's still not working. He told me that it is like this in every room, the A/C is not working. So I called front desk and told them that it is very hot here in the room I am sweating and can't breathe. She told me to just open the windows and let the cool air come in, so I told her that it will make the room cooler but I can't sleep also because of the noises from outside. She then told me that she cannot do anything about it because even if she will transfer me to a different room, it's still gonna be the same temperature because the A/C is not working. I was like, are u kidding me? I paid $170 for this room and you just now tell me there is no A/C? Don't even waste your money on this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Robert Travel
Business
Texas
Oct 8, 2013

Not as advertised

No airport shuttle. No complimentary breakfast. The place is under construction. The pool is not ready. The main entrance not ready. It feels like you are walking into a job site. Homeless folks are at every corner. Tiny rooms. Price is not a bargain for what you get. Not satisfied. Checked out first night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Paulsc
Business
San Diego
Oct 17, 2013

Under Construction, no Disclosure

The hotel is under construction, I had ear plugs in my room for the jackhammers working on the pool. Old, tired place, the gym was 6 exercise bikes and a few loose weights. Should have disclosed construction prior to booking. Bad situation on all counts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Goldsboro, N.C.
May 30, 2009

Pitiful

Their web site states they have covered parking, and while they do, what they fail to mention is that the deck is owned by another entity and they soak you for nightly fees and valet parking fees. The staff were not professional to any degree. The Bell-Hop actually stuck out his hand and wanted his tip before the luggage hit the floor, this was a first for me. I will not recommend this establishment to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norcross, GA
Jun 10, 2008

My review of Washington Plaza Hotel

the hotel room looked small, dirty, and smelled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Myrtle Beach SC
Jan 6, 2010

Deflated

Before I even checked in they were trying to extract money from me. Firstly they said my vehicle was too tall and would have to pay over $30 a day valet parking. I later checked their parking. My vehicle was two inches lower than the limit and three vehicle already in the parking were taller than mine. When confronted with this the night manager apologised and said we would not be charged. At check out even after this was explained still charged. Everything is designed to rip more money off you with no consideration as to how they can make your stay better. I would not stay there again if they paid me. I have never made a complaint against a hotel before and I travel commercially all the time. This hotel is the equal worst I have ever stayed at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Do not stay there

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Penny C
Business
New York, New York
Jul 16, 2014

Not worth the money

Below average accommodations. Needs improvement in cleanliness. Parking is cheaper one block away. Facilities are lacking. Only good aspect was location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CTan
Business
Richmond, VA
Dec 29, 2011

Unfriendly staff and non-functioning amenities

We stayed at the hotel for a couple of nights after Christmas. When we arrived at the hotel, since we were not sure where the parking area was, we stopped the car at the front of the hotel to go in and ask. Minutes later, we heard the bell hop screaming across the hotel lobby from the front door asking if we were going to move the car, which to me was very rude and embarrassing. When we got to the room, we decided to get some soda from the vending area only to find that there was no vending machine available. When we called downstairs, the front desk agent told us that they no longer offer vending service (even though they have an area designated for vending) and that we had to go to the gift store to buy the soda. However, the gift store was only opened for a couple of hours a day. Hence, we had to walk to the CVS across the street to get the snacks and soda. Finally, this hotel advertise free wireless internet service. However, when we got to the room, we were not able to connect to the internet per instructions provided. We tried using three different system (iPad, iPhone and laptop) and none worked. When we called the help desk, we were told that a technician will call us back on my cell but no one ever did. For some reason, when we get back to the hotel later that night, the internet was working. The rest of our stay was pretty much the same experience, e.g. cleaning staff who was not very friendly, front desk agent who did not seemed to care about our stay, etc. All in all, it was definitely an underwhelming experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Good Stuff burger place. It was the best burger I have ever had.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RML1
Business
Plainview,NY
Jul 23, 2012

Disappointing was an understatement!

The best that can be said is that it was a good location...after that downhill. Room was just ok--bathroom was tiny...Although confirmed for a rollaway bed--they don't have any. Someone should at least be aware of that before showing it on the confirmation. That wasn't the worst part...since we were 3 adults with only 2 beds this presented a real problem. But NOBODY cared...the front desk clerks just shrugged. When we asked about another room-sorry we're booked. So for $300 a night we took turns sleeping on the floor. Needless to say...never going back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
crippled mom of many
Business
Chapel Hill, NC
Jul 29, 2012

Staff needs help

Was placed, wheelchair and all, in a room that was for all intents and purposes inaccessible. If I had a larger chair, or was less adept at maneuvering the chair I would not have been able to enter the room. When I left, the valet helped everyone except me into their cars. I had $20 waiting in my pocket for anyone who would help lift my chair in, but no one showed up. Three cars with no disabled people received lots of attention. Told me a lot about the place I stayed, and it wasn't good. Bigotry in any form is ugly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Good food, and excellent service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top