$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 11, 2014 Check-out: Jul 12, 2014

Washington Plaza Hotel

3 stars
10 Thomas Circle, Washington, DC 20009
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
635 reviews
Great place for the price

Beds were comfortable, everything was modern, swimming pool was great. See full review

  • tourist1991
  • Jun 23, 2014
Awesome hotel

Love this place!!! It is a great hotel. Great Price! Great Location!!! See full review

  • DC Future
  • Jun 2, 2014
A modern hotel with a landscaped outdoor pool, meeting space

The Washington Plaza Hotel offers a convenient location between the White House and bustling Dupont Circle for both leisure and business travelers.  The hotel has a large, landscaped outdoor pool.  Guests appreciate the relaxed, casual ambience throughout the hotel. A number of restaurants are nearby, and the hotel has a restaurant and lounge for those who prefer to stay in for the night.

Highlights
  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • Garage parking
Rooms
Each of the 340 rooms and suites features modern decor, warm colors and sleek lines. Junior suites have a large guest room with sitting area. Relax in the room with a movie, room service from the No. Ten Restaurant, and high-speed Internet access (fees apply). Single, double, triple or quad occupancy rooms include coffee maker, iron and ironing board, alarm clock and hairdryer.
Features
The outdoor pool lures guests during the humid D.C. summer, with plenty of lounge chairs and poolside dining. Keep up your workout routine at the fitness center. Visit the hotel's full-service No. Ten Thomas Restaurant, where guests dine on American cuisine. Sit by the fireplace and enjoy a nightcap at The International, an on-site lounge. There is 12,000 square feet of meeting space with catering service and audio-visual equipment available.
Transportation
  • Farragut North Metro stop (0.4 miles)
  • Regan National Airport (4 miles)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 miles)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • The White House (0.6 mi/ 0.9 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • The National Mall (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Washington Monument (1.1 mi/ 1.8 km)
  • Georgetown (1.5 mi/ 2.5 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.6 mi/ 2.6 km)
  • World War II Memorial (1.7 mi/ 2 km)
  • Library of Congress (1.9 mi/ 3.1 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (2 mi/ 2.4 km)
Business
  • 12,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Business center
Policies and fees

  • The hotel charges $25 USD per day plus 18% tax for Self parking and $30 USD per day plus 18% tax for Valet Parking.
  • The outdoor pool will open on 24 May 2014.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Washington Plaza Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room accommodations for single, double, or triple occupancy include coffee maker, iron and ironing board, alarm clock and hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Washington Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.9061 -77.031
Area served
Ronald Reagan National Airport DCA 4.5 mi, Dulles Int'l Airport IAD 27.5 mi, Bureau of Engraving 1 mi, Fords Theater 1.5 mi, MCI Center 0.8 mi, Baltimore Washington Intl BWI 31.5 mi
Nearby airports
Washington Dulles Intl. (IAD) 27 MI , Washington Ronald Reagan (DCA) 4 MI
Area description
Ronald Reagan National Airport DCA 4.5 mi, Dulles Int'l Airport IAD 27.5 mi, Bureau of Engraving 1 mi, Fords Theater 1.5 mi, MCI Center 0.8 mi, Baltimore Washington Intl BWI 31.5 mi

Nearby points of interest

  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.8 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.9 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1 mi
  • National Archives: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.1 mi
  • Newseum: 1.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Howard University: 1.2 mi

Dining

international lounge
The keynote of the international is the feeling of grown-up glamour and sophistication that reigned throughout the Kennedy years - the golden age of All-American-Style; full of promise and ambition. This is not Austin Powers or Warhol Pop. Think Babe Paley; think dressed up, crisp clothed jet-setters and kings of commerce enjoying a classic champagne cocktail, nibbling an elegant snack, while engaging in intense flirtation and conversation into the wee hours - after all one can always stay over.
No. 10 Thomas
No. 10 Thomas offers Contemporary American cuisine and the perfect ambience for any meal. Watch the "Early birds" at Logan Circle in the morning, sunbathers taking a dip in our pool after lunch, or the sunset over National City Christian Church in the evening. Sip a Glass of Champagne or enjoy a cocktail by candle light on our Poolside terrace and make a wish while counting the shooting stars over Washington D.C.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (635)

Ratings and reviews for Washington Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
635 out of 635
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveled lots
Business
VT
Feb 13, 2013

Excellent Stay

Great location-two blocks from the Metro. Very helpful staff, newly renovated-comfortable, beautifully decorated rooms. And a great price on the web through a discount travel site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vlad D
Odessa, Ukraine
Jan 17, 2012

Great value in Washington, DC

I have really enjoyed my stay at Washington Plaza hotel. The price was much lower than in other places at the same area. And location is perfect: just couple blocs away from the McPherson square metro stop, and generally within walking distance to downtown. Also, ever colorful Dupont circle area is very close. Room was spacious and clean. Both check-in and check-out were fast. I would highly recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dupont circle area is just blocs away and offers a great variety of international cuisine and wonderful atmosphere.

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miller Place
Aug 24, 2008

WONDERFUL WEEKEND

The location was easily located by car, and then close to the metro for sightseeing. The staff was wonderful and very professional. On a previous trip, I left a suit in the lobby while checking out and didnt realize it until weeks later. I called the hotel, they had saved the suit, were very helpful, and mailed it back to me. I would reccomend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the metro at Mcpherson, it is two blocks away and you can access the city

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
D and E
Mission Viejo, CA
Aug 21, 2010

Could not ask for better

We were in DC for a week of sightseeing, and needed an affordable hotel convienint to all the sights. The Washington Plaza Hotel went far above being just a convenient place to stay; it was a real treat to stay there. From the moment we checked in until we left, we were treated as true guests, rather than just customers. The staff was friendly and attentive, and I noticed they treated all their guests this way, regardless of age or attire. For example, they did not hesitate to hail a taxi for us at 5 am in the rain, and sent an engineer to our room immedately when the key card lock seemed to be acting up (sure enough it was the unit, not me, and after they fixed it we had no further problems). Another thing that impressed me was the complimentary bottled water and newspaper, where most hotels make you "opt out" if you don't want to be charged for them. Although we did not make use of the outdoor pool, it looked very nice for swimming or lounging, and many guests obviously thought so, as it was well attended. We had a corner room on the 9th floor facing Thomas Circle. It was very quiet, with just a hint of traffic noise at peak times (could hear cars when they honked, but not loud enough to bother a light sleeper like me). The room was spacious and clean, with pleanty of closet, drawer, and desk space. If you are going to DC it is likely you will do a lot of walking, and many of the major sights are within walking distance (the White House, the museums along the Mall, DuPont Circle, Chinatown). The McPherson Square Metro station is only two short blocks away, and the DC Metro will get you anywhere else you need to go. Having stayed in many hotels around the world, I can tell you that we have not been treated better than we were at the Washington Plaza. As far as I'm concerned, it is the best hotel value for dollar in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Two blocks down 14th street to the Metro Blue and Yellow lines. Get to know the DC metro as it will take you within walking distance of anywhere in DC in just a few minutes. Fare machines can be confusing and have outdated prices, and some entrance gates work different than others, so take a "pratice run" if you are going to depend on the Metro for a time-sensitive trip.

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver
Dec 9, 2008

Comfortable Business Hotel

I found that it was nice to relax at the end of the day and had all the necessities for business. Very comfortable and quiet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Waltham
Dec 27, 2008

Comfortable and convinient

Washington Plaza Hotel was very nice and comfortable. It is situated so that you can easily reach most attractions of Washington by feet. There is also a metrorail station so that you can easily get to remote suburbs of Washington. Though the hotel was still in renovation mode the services did not disturb us at all and cleaning personel was very intelligent and polite. I believe it's the best ratio for quality and money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great chinese salad bar in the closest block to hotel - convenient and inexpensive.

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Weston
Dec 28, 2008

great location

very comfortable and clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

CVC nearby

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Palm Bay, Florida
Aug 31, 2010

This was an excellent hotel.

We had a very good time and would highly recommend this hotel for convenience of location, rate and friendlyness of clientell

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Need to be in shape for walking distance, otherwise take a cab

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sanunes
Business
Sao Paulo - São Paulo, Brazil
Feb 13, 2012

Great stay.

I had a really great time at the hotel. I think other users will enjoy it too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Black cat

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oregon
Jan 17, 2011

Good, clean, reasonably priced

First time stay at the Washington Plaza. It was clean and reasonably priced and central to the location of meetings I needed to attend. $5 to $10 cab fare everywhere i needed to get to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top