$115 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2014 Check-out: May 12, 2014

Washington Plaza Hotel

3 stars
10 Thomas Circle, Washington, DC 20009
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
405 reviews
Great experience!

Stayed there for a whole week and they were amazing. The staff were great and very polite. Overall,... See full review

  • Someone123456
  • Mar 30, 2014
Sincere Staff...

Excellent experience. Always use this hotel when in DC. The staff is amazing. Location can't be... See full review

  • Unsatified Traveler
  • Mar 3, 2014
A modern hotel with a landscaped outdoor pool, meeting space

The Washington Plaza Hotel offers a convenient location between the White House and bustling Dupont Circle for both leisure and business travelers.  The hotel has a large, landscaped outdoor pool.  Guests appreciate the relaxed, casual ambience throughout the hotel. A number of restaurants are nearby, and the hotel has a restaurant and lounge for those who prefer to stay in for the night.

Highlights
  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • Garage parking
Rooms

Each of the 340 rooms and suites features modern decor, warm colors and sleek lines. Junior suites have a large guest room with sitting area. Relax in the room with a movie, room service from the No. Ten Restaurant, and high-speed Internet access (fees apply). Single, double, triple or quad occupancy rooms include coffee maker, iron and ironing board, alarm clock and hairdryer.

Features

The outdoor pool lures guests during the humid D.C. summer, with plenty of lounge chairs and poolside dining. Keep up your workout routine at the fitness center. Visit the hotel's full-service No. Ten Thomas Restaurant, where guests dine on American cuisine. Sit by the fireplace and enjoy a nightcap at The International, an on-site lounge. There is 12,000 square feet of meeting space with catering service and audio-visual equipment available.

Transportation
  • Farragut North Metro stop (0.4 miles)
  • Regan National Airport (4 miles)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 miles)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • The White House (0.6 mi/ 0.9 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • The National Mall (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Washington Monument (1.1 mi/ 1.8 km)
  • Georgetown (1.5 mi/ 2.5 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.6 mi/ 2.6 km)
  • World War II Memorial (1.7 mi/ 2 km)
  • Library of Congress (1.9 mi/ 3.1 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (2 mi/ 2.4 km)
Business
  • 12,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Business center
Policies and fees

The hotel charges $25 USD per day plus 18% tax for Self parking and $30 USD per day plus 18% tax for Valet Parking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Washington Plaza Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room accommodations for single, double, or triple occupancy include coffee maker, iron and ironing board, alarm clock and hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Washington Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.9061 -77.031
Area served
Ronald Reagan National Airport DCA 4.5 mi, Dulles Int'l Airport IAD 27.5 mi, Bureau of Engraving 1 mi, Fords Theater 1.5 mi, MCI Center 0.8 mi, Baltimore Washington Intl BWI 31.5 mi
Nearby airports
Washington Dulles Intl. (IAD) 27 MI , Washington Ronald Reagan (DCA) 4 MI
Area description
Ronald Reagan National Airport DCA 4.5 mi, Dulles Int'l Airport IAD 27.5 mi, Bureau of Engraving 1 mi, Fords Theater 1.5 mi, MCI Center 0.8 mi, Baltimore Washington Intl BWI 31.5 mi

Nearby points of interest

  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.8 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.9 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1 mi
  • National Archives: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.1 mi
  • Newseum: 1.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Howard University: 1.2 mi

Dining

international lounge
The keynote of the international is the feeling of grown-up glamour and sophistication that reigned throughout the Kennedy years - the golden age of All-American-Style; full of promise and ambition. This is not Austin Powers or Warhol Pop. Think Babe Paley; think dressed up, crisp clothed jet-setters and kings of commerce enjoying a classic champagne cocktail, nibbling an elegant snack, while engaging in intense flirtation and conversation into the wee hours - after all one can always stay over.
No. 10 Thomas
No. 10 Thomas offers Contemporary American cuisine and the perfect ambience for any meal. Watch the "Early birds" at Logan Circle in the morning, sunbathers taking a dip in our pool after lunch, or the sunset over National City Christian Church in the evening. Sip a Glass of Champagne or enjoy a cocktail by candle light on our Poolside terrace and make a wish while counting the shooting stars over Washington D.C.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (405)

Ratings and reviews for Washington Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
405 out of 405
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Rehoboth Beach ,De
Jan 25, 2010

DC Trip

Great hotel!! Stayed here before....Staff was extremely helpful! Will stay here again.......Thanks for a great weekend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
USA
Oct 12, 2008

Great Restaurant

We had dinner in their restaurant every evening. The food was wonderful as was the service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We used the Metro and found it very convenient.

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
piki
Business
Menlo Park, CA, USA
Sep 10, 2011

Great deal

Great hotel, great value. Rooms are small. Apart from that, everything superb

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Plains Archaeologist
Business
Bismarck, North Dakota
Nov 6, 2010

Great rate, great staff!

The Plaza was wonderfully located between Dupont Circle and the Mall, with a Metro station just blocks away. The staff was fabulous in getting last minute details worked out so my presentation the next morning went smoothly. The room was clean and spacious - in a neighborhood that was safe with plenty of restaurants within a few blocks. I will definitely be staying here when I return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Whether your taste is for American, Ethyopian, or somewhere in between you will find it within three to five blocks of this hotel! The staff provided a great list of restaurants within walking distance and a price scale so you aren't surprised. Overall prices of the nearby restaurants are reasonable - what I pay usually in restaurants in the Plains states!

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Cape Cod, MA.
Dec 5, 2010

Great Location

Love the location. Third time I've stayed here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
KNEE HIGH
WARREN, OHIO
Aug 3, 2012

GREAT PLACE TO STAY

This hotel is close to almost all of the attractions. You are within 2 miles of all of them. If you don't want to walk , take a cab. it's the easiest way to get around DC. The staff at the hotel are all very friendly. The room was big, very clean and the beds are very comfortable with great pillows. I would stay here again anytime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Agatha
Crumlin
Jul 15, 2012

Great hotel, great location

excellent hotel perfectly positioned for viewing the sites in Washington. Staff were friendly and helpful and it was be only place in America where I got a proper pot of tea. Good-sized rooms and they were well appointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Meals in the hotel were both good and good value.

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 7, 2008

Enjoyable visit

The Washington Plaza hotel was comfortable and the room was very nice. Large Bathroom area and nice walk-in closet for suitcases and hang-up clothing. The bathroom were dated but very clean and functional. The location of the hotel was okay. It's a nice hike to the Washington Monument, Lincoln Memorial, Nat'l Archives and Capital but closer to the White House. For oversized vehicles like Suburbans or Tahoe's the parking can be a little inconvenient due to a small area to be placed and they don't reserved this area for the larger vehicles. For example when you pull into the parking area smaller cars can park on both levels but larger cars only have about 35-45 parking spots and you have to exit through the entrance and run down a valet to open the gates. If a valet is not available the inside workers are no help. Your stuck. For what you use a hotel for in D.C. it is quite nice and you don't drive much anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Not too far from the White House but quite a hike to the Capital, National Archives. It's not too far from several good restaurants and for a good cheap breakfast try, Au Bon Pain.The Hotel is at the corner of M Street and 14th Street

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Raleigh, NC
May 24, 2011

great hotel

This hotel was a wonderful surprise. We chose it because of location and price ([...]had a deal). It is in a nice area in downtown. Close to many attractions (including convention center). 5 blocks from the metro (only inconvenience, it would be better a little bit closer). Rooms were very nicely decorated, modern, clean and attractive. Staff was extremely helpful and nice. Breakfast buffet was reasonably priced and very good. And the outdoor pool, in the main lobby, was like an oasis in the middle of the urban jungle. Highly recommend this hotel. Many others that were more expensive did not look as good, at least from the outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Angie012
philadelphia
Oct 3, 2011

Friendly staff and great bargain

The staff is incredibly accomodating and location along with room was a very reasonable price. I have stayed at the so called reasonable hotels all over with status and I received the best treatment here with no status to wave. Also, free wifi for the price I paid for my stay- you can't beat that. Next time I come to DC- i will be sure to stay here again! Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top