$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Washington Plaza Hotel

3 stars
10 Thomas Circle, Washington, DC 20009
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
443 reviews
Very nice stay

over the Thanksgiving weekend. Indeed, quite nice. See full review

  • MollyMalone
  • Dec 9, 2014
business trip

Great short stay. Downtown closer to everything. Great staff. See full review

  • Short stay 2000
  • Nov 23, 2014
A modern hotel with a landscaped outdoor pool, meeting space

The Washington Plaza Hotel offers a convenient location between the White House and bustling Dupont Circle for both leisure and business travelers.  The hotel has a large, landscaped outdoor pool.  Guests appreciate the relaxed, casual ambience throughout the hotel. A number of restaurants are nearby, and the hotel has a restaurant and lounge for those who prefer to stay in for the night.

Highlights
  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • Garage parking
Rooms
Each of the 340 rooms and suites features modern decor, warm colors and sleek lines. Junior suites have a large guest room with sitting area. Relax in the room with a movie, room service from the No. Ten Restaurant, and high-speed Internet access (fees apply). Single, double, triple or quad occupancy rooms include coffee maker, iron and ironing board, alarm clock and hairdryer.
Features
The outdoor pool lures guests during the humid D.C. summer, with plenty of lounge chairs and poolside dining. Keep up your workout routine at the fitness center. Visit the hotel's full-service No. Ten Thomas Restaurant, where guests dine on American cuisine. Sit by the fireplace and enjoy a nightcap at The International, an on-site lounge. There is 12,000 square feet of meeting space with catering service and audio-visual equipment available.
Transportation
  • Farragut North Metro stop (0.4 miles)
  • Regan National Airport (4 miles)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 miles)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • The White House (0.6 mi/ 0.9 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • The National Mall (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Washington Monument (1.1 mi/ 1.8 km)
  • Georgetown (1.5 mi/ 2.5 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.6 mi/ 2.6 km)
  • World War II Memorial (1.7 mi/ 2 km)
  • Library of Congress (1.9 mi/ 3.1 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (2 mi/ 2.4 km)
Business
  • 12,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Business center
Policies and fees

  • The hotel charges $25 USD per day plus 18% tax for Self parking and $30 USD per day plus 18% tax for Valet Parking.
  • The outdoor pool will open on 24 May 2014.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Washington Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Washington Plaza Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room accommodations for single, double, or triple occupancy include coffee maker, iron and ironing board, alarm clock and hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.8 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.9 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1 mi
  • National Archives: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.1 mi
  • Newseum: 1.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Howard University: 1.2 mi

Dining

international lounge
The keynote of the international is the feeling of grown-up glamour and sophistication that reigned throughout the Kennedy years - the golden age of All-American-Style; full of promise and ambition. This is not Austin Powers or Warhol Pop. Think Babe Paley; think dressed up, crisp clothed jet-setters and kings of commerce enjoying a classic champagne cocktail, nibbling an elegant snack, while engaging in intense flirtation and conversation into the wee hours - after all one can always stay over.
No. 10 Thomas
No. 10 Thomas offers Contemporary American cuisine and the perfect ambience for any meal. Watch the "Early birds" at Logan Circle in the morning, sunbathers taking a dip in our pool after lunch, or the sunset over National City Christian Church in the evening. Sip a Glass of Champagne or enjoy a cocktail by candle light on our Poolside terrace and make a wish while counting the shooting stars over Washington D.C.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (443)

Ratings and reviews for Washington Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
443 out of 443
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
narin
Business
new york, NY
Jul 24, 2013

Not the best deal

We were excited about having a hotel with outdoor pool for our stay in DC during summer. The pool is very small and very packed, so we really didn't take an advantage of that. The hotel is extremely family friendly. There were kids everywhere, loud and moving around. I guess it is not the best deal for a couple stay. In addition, the room walls are paper thin. We were able to hear everything on our floor. The kids started playing soccer on our hallway at 8am. They advertised the gym, but the gym is only 4 or 5 treadmills. I think it is a good deal for families with kids because nobody would complain about the noise since every room has couple kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

P Street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lori C
Business
Ohio
Jul 15, 2013

Washington Plaza

This hotel was the perfect choice for our weekend getaway. It was within walking distance from stores, points of attractions, restaurants, etc. Loved it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rev Jeff
Business
Fredericksburg, Va
Jun 17, 2013

Father's Day Weekend

The location was good in that there are lots of little cafes and shops in the area. The room was exactly what we thought it would be, a hotel room. The staff at the Washington Plaza Hotel is what really set this hotel apart from others. They were very helpful and everyone did their best to make sure we were pampered. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
msague
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Jun 17, 2013

Great hotel

The hotel is about 4 blocks from the Mc Pherson Metro station so it's very convenient. Also it's on the 14th Street Restaurant and theater area so you can walk to some of the best restaurants in the city. The room had a nice size. It was very clean. The beds were very comfortable. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants like Le Diplomate, B Too, and Etto are a few blocks away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
deedeedina
Business
georgia
Jun 16, 2013

in for one night

Excellent price; room clean, perfect for two average size people. (worked fine for us) The shower is very small in the room we had; but clean. Toilet draw weak; but works. Overall clean and staff very nice. Beautiful pool area. Close to many places of interest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to metro or just foot traffic; easy access

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SanDiego Traveller
Business
San Diego
Jun 15, 2013

Rude staff

I have called to cancelled my first night's stay due to plane problem. When I arrive on the second morning, I inquired whether the cancellation was in effect. the staff told me that it is not in the system and it is too late to do anything. Their attitude was rude and non-constructive. The hotel price was also very expensive for its value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Wallers
Business
Bolton UK
Jun 5, 2013

Fantastic 4 day stay in DC

First time in DC for a holiday break, we chose the hotel from the Internet and wasn't disappointed everything was what we expected, the room was upgraded at no extra cost, breakfast was varied and food was an exellent standard, staff where helpfull and friendly. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, great stay would book this again if we go back to DC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Booked the Big Red Bus for 48 hours free river trip included plus free entry to Madam Tousards an excellent way to see Washington DC you can hop on and off at all the sites buses every 20 minutes

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dint
Business
Redmond, WA
Jun 3, 2013

Check-in

The Front Desk Attendant went out of his way to find a room for my request to check-in very, very early. couldn't have been happier or more appreciative ! !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RuthNYC
Business
New York City
May 20, 2013

Great hotel

My husband and I stayed here for three nights. We came to D.C. for my nephew's graduation. I have no complaints. My room was smallish but adequate for our needs. It was very quiet and very clean. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Breakfast in the dining room was delicious. The outdoor swimming is an added bonus. And if you forget your laptop, the business center has free internet and printing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Upstate Ken
Business
Corning, NY
May 19, 2013

Overall good experience

The only complaints were that the pool was not open and the size of the room. Apparenetly, they only open the pool on Saturdays. That would have been nice to know ahead of time. And our single-queen room was very tight, especially the bathroom. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the location of the hotel was convenient to what we wanted to do. We would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top