$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Washington Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 10 Thomas Circle, Washington, DC 20009

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Washington Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
473 out of 473
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bert
Business
N/A
Apr 14, 2015

Decent value

Good location, clean. Wireless internet included but basically worked only intermittently at best and VERY slow. Breakfast at hotel very pricey for what you get. If you don't need reliable internet - good value for location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
caleb0504
Business
dallas, TX
Jan 5, 2014

pretty good

very convenient. rooms are small though. close to places you may want to see etc

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

close to good restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Dec 26, 2007

ok, I guess

The staff was not particularly pleasant at the front desk, and it was a very low volume time (couple of days before and after Christmas), so they weren't stressed. The room was small and tidy and functional and fine for a high school band trip to Washington sort of room, but not particularly appealing to an adult. Location is good and room was quiet, again, hotel was maybe 20% occupied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Go Redhawks
Business
Cincinnati OH
May 4, 2009

Pretty Good for Such Short Notice

Attended the Frozen Four - I booked a Staurday stay on Firday afternoon - price was excellent and the room was clean and very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

24 hour CVS close by

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jimmyd
Business
vallejo, ca
Jun 29, 2009

reasonably good value

staff was very friendly and helpful. room was basic room, nothing fancy, clean. TV was pretty small. bedside lamps need an increase in wattage for reading. hotel food was overpriced for value - not impressed with food. lots! of sirens but those don't bother me and it's part of living in the city - can't control those. pool was very nice with enough chairs, towels, umbrellas ... attentive lifeguards. DO NOT order the Papa Joes Pizza (flyer in room, delivered to hotel). absolutely the worse pizza i've ever had, including frozen (and i'm not that picky). they should be embarrassed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Washington Monument Tickets - rather than get up very early, stand in line for 1-2 hours to purchase them (and quite possibly miss out), go online and order them for next day at time slot you want and then pickup at will-call. verrryyyy nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 20, 2009

G. location, ameneties, bar pricey, rm s

Sleep, pool, brkfast, no dvd player in rm. bad view. Old hotel but decent, clean and staff was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We were in good location, but still a hike on foot. Would recommend Potbelly's for good inexpensive food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lizette
Business
Chicago
Nov 12, 2011

Neither quiet nor safe

I chose the hotel for its convenience. Its good that I was only staying one night as the room was quite small and the carpet was dirty. At night it was quiet but the next morning noise from the mechanical equipment on the adjacent roof blasted into the room. It's a good thing I hadn't planned to sleep in. Warning: at some point during the day intruders entered my colleague's room at the hotel, used her bed, left the TV on, and stole her nightgown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JohnDoe2012
Business
San Francisco , CA
Jan 22, 2012

Where are the electrical outlets in the renovated rooms?

I have stayed this before and I noticed that they refurbished the rooms. That's fine, but they forgoit one thing: electrical outlets! There are a couple which are blocked by the massive furniture. Unless you climb under the bed or table, reach behind the wall board and unplug a lamp to plug in your coffee maker, you have no outlets! I had to use the plug in the bathroom to charge my iphone. Who designed these rooms? That person should be made to send a day or two there to make him/her aware of his/her flawed design. Other that that, the hotel is OK...no frills...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

They open breakfast late! 6:60am... If you have an early flight, forget about eating at the hotel. Also, our group was having a drink at midnight when the night manager asked us to leave as they were going to clean up the bar... Do not expect too much from dining at this hotel as will not get much...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
N Ha
Business
Omaha, NE
Apr 16, 2012

Washington Plaza Hotel

In as much as I thought the stay was pleasant and the staff helpful, there were three areas that needed improvement. 1. The cable/satellite TV was horrible. The programs would freeze or stations that were supposed to be covered were not. 2. When asking for directions at the front desk, the person gave inaccurate descriptions thus making my travel time less than ideal. 3. The wait staff at the hotel's restaurant were very inattentive. I always had to ask for refills on coffee and water. Otherwise, the hotel was clean and presentable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BillP3205
Business
Columbus, NC
Apr 25, 2012

Good location

3 blocks from the nearest Metro. Newspaper provided every day

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Metro is close

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top