$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Washington Plaza Hotel

3 stars
10 Thomas Circle, Washington, DC 20009
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
641 reviews
Great place for the price

Beds were comfortable, everything was modern, swimming pool was great. See full review

  • tourist1991
  • Jun 23, 2014
Awesome hotel

Love this place!!! It is a great hotel. Great Price! Great Location!!! See full review

  • DC Future
  • Jun 2, 2014
A modern hotel with a landscaped outdoor pool, meeting space

The Washington Plaza Hotel offers a convenient location between the White House and bustling Dupont Circle for both leisure and business travelers.  The hotel has a large, landscaped outdoor pool.  Guests appreciate the relaxed, casual ambience throughout the hotel. A number of restaurants are nearby, and the hotel has a restaurant and lounge for those who prefer to stay in for the night.

Highlights
  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • Garage parking
Rooms
Each of the 340 rooms and suites features modern decor, warm colors and sleek lines. Junior suites have a large guest room with sitting area. Relax in the room with a movie, room service from the No. Ten Restaurant, and high-speed Internet access (fees apply). Single, double, triple or quad occupancy rooms include coffee maker, iron and ironing board, alarm clock and hairdryer.
Features
The outdoor pool lures guests during the humid D.C. summer, with plenty of lounge chairs and poolside dining. Keep up your workout routine at the fitness center. Visit the hotel's full-service No. Ten Thomas Restaurant, where guests dine on American cuisine. Sit by the fireplace and enjoy a nightcap at The International, an on-site lounge. There is 12,000 square feet of meeting space with catering service and audio-visual equipment available.
Transportation
  • Farragut North Metro stop (0.4 miles)
  • Regan National Airport (4 miles)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 miles)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • The White House (0.6 mi/ 0.9 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • The National Mall (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Washington Monument (1.1 mi/ 1.8 km)
  • Georgetown (1.5 mi/ 2.5 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.6 mi/ 2.6 km)
  • World War II Memorial (1.7 mi/ 2 km)
  • Library of Congress (1.9 mi/ 3.1 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (2 mi/ 2.4 km)
Business
  • 12,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Business center
Policies and fees

  • The hotel charges $25 USD per day plus 18% tax for Self parking and $30 USD per day plus 18% tax for Valet Parking.
  • The outdoor pool will open on 24 May 2014.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.9061 -77.031
Area served
Ronald Reagan National Airport DCA 4.5 mi, Dulles Int'l Airport IAD 27.5 mi, Bureau of Engraving 1 mi, Fords Theater 1.5 mi, MCI Center 0.8 mi, Baltimore Washington Intl BWI 31.5 mi
Nearby airports
Washington Dulles Intl. (IAD) 27 MI , Washington Ronald Reagan (DCA) 4 MI
Area description
Ronald Reagan National Airport DCA 4.5 mi, Dulles Int'l Airport IAD 27.5 mi, Bureau of Engraving 1 mi, Fords Theater 1.5 mi, MCI Center 0.8 mi, Baltimore Washington Intl BWI 31.5 mi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Washington Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Washington Plaza Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room accommodations for single, double, or triple occupancy include coffee maker, iron and ironing board, alarm clock and hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.8 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.9 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1 mi
  • National Archives: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.1 mi
  • Newseum: 1.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Howard University: 1.2 mi

Dining

international lounge
The keynote of the international is the feeling of grown-up glamour and sophistication that reigned throughout the Kennedy years - the golden age of All-American-Style; full of promise and ambition. This is not Austin Powers or Warhol Pop. Think Babe Paley; think dressed up, crisp clothed jet-setters and kings of commerce enjoying a classic champagne cocktail, nibbling an elegant snack, while engaging in intense flirtation and conversation into the wee hours - after all one can always stay over.
No. 10 Thomas
No. 10 Thomas offers Contemporary American cuisine and the perfect ambience for any meal. Watch the "Early birds" at Logan Circle in the morning, sunbathers taking a dip in our pool after lunch, or the sunset over National City Christian Church in the evening. Sip a Glass of Champagne or enjoy a cocktail by candle light on our Poolside terrace and make a wish while counting the shooting stars over Washington D.C.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (641)

Ratings and reviews for Washington Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
641 out of 641
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KSully
Chicago, IL
Jul 5, 2010

A bit overpriced, but great pool.

Location is great and staff were friendly. The food at the hotel is really great and great value for hotel food. The internet was not working for the majority of the stay and the movies on demand did not work the entire time we were there. The rooms that have not been renovated were fairly spartan and dorm-like, so we upgraded. The upgraded rooms are a bit better, but they should invest in more comfortable beds and pillows. The pool and pool bar were quite fun and relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Whole Foods down a few blocks. Great if you want to save a bit of cash on food.

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KSully
Chicago, IL
Jul 5, 2010

A bit overpriced, but great pool.

Location is great and staff were friendly. The food at the hotel is really great and great value for hotel food. The internet was not working for the majority of the stay and the movies on demand did not work the entire time we were there. The rooms that have not been renovated were fairly spartan and dorm-like, so we upgraded. The upgraded rooms are a bit better, but they should invest in more comfortable beds and pillows. The pool and pool bar were quite fun and relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Whole Foods down a few blocks. Great if you want to save a bit of cash on food.

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 3, 2010

Worth paying extra for a renovated room

I booked a "standard" room (knowing it would be in the unrenovated section) because I was traveling on business and that room fit my budget. The room I got was tiny, which would have been fine for me as a solo traveler, except that there was no wireless signal available in that room. The wireless technician confirmed there was nothing he could do, so the hotel moved me to their only available room, which happened to be on one of the renovated floors. What a difference! Not only was the wireless connection 100% better, but the room was bigger and much better furnished. If there's not that much of a price difference between "standard" and "superior" rooms, I definitely recommend going with superior.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

If you have a choice, I recommend using the pool during the daytime, when families with children are out touring the city. In the evening it becomes too crowded to do more than just bob up and down.

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 3, 2010

Worth paying extra for a renovated room

I booked a "standard" room (knowing it would be in the unrenovated section) because I was traveling on business and that room fit my budget. The room I got was tiny, which would have been fine for me as a solo traveler, except that there was no wireless signal available in that room. The wireless technician confirmed there was nothing he could do, so the hotel moved me to their only available room, which happened to be on one of the renovated floors. What a difference! Not only was the wireless connection 100% better, but the room was bigger and much better furnished. If there's not that much of a price difference between "standard" and "superior" rooms, I definitely recommend going with superior.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

If you have a choice, I recommend using the pool during the daytime, when families with children are out touring the city. In the evening it becomes too crowded to do more than just bob up and down.

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Orleans
Jun 28, 2010

Nice Hotel 5 Blocks from The Mall

Good value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Bring comfortable shoes. Most attractions are within walking distance.

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Orleans
Jun 28, 2010

Nice Hotel 5 Blocks from The Mall

Good value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Bring comfortable shoes. Most attractions are within walking distance.

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
One Hot Chick
Uniontown PA
Jun 22, 2010

Perfect Location, Great Hotel

We absolutley loved this hotel, it was located in a great spot and it was just wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
One Hot Chick
Uniontown PA
Jun 22, 2010

Perfect Location, Great Hotel

We absolutley loved this hotel, it was located in a great spot and it was just wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
lansdale, pa
Jun 21, 2010

unbeatable location, great week end

will stay there again. great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

city center

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
Jun 21, 2010

Great weekend stay!

I loved the hotel and it's location. The pool was great for sunbathing and cocktails. It was close to the areas I frequent while in DC. I would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top