$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

Washington Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 10 Thomas Circle, Washington, DC 20009

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Washington Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
471 out of 471
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, nc
May 17, 2010

Terrible

Was in town to see the capital. The original room we were given was on the third floor. It had a mildew smell that was overpowering and wasn't clean. We complained to the staff and recieved another room on the sixth floor. We entered the room and it was like we were in another hotel, clean, updated, didn't smell. Apparently the first three floors are shabby and floors 4 thru 9 are reserved for upper class. Also you would assume that parking at the hotel was free but that's not the case here. We were never informed of this and were slapped with a 50 dollar bill for parking at checkout. All in all a terrible experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of bars and restuarants nearby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rita Traveler
Business
Diamond Bar, CA
May 9, 2010

Excellent location, excellent service

Great location to see all the highlights of Washington D.C. Felt very safe there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kevin986
Business
Seattle
Apr 16, 2010

Good value in great location

This hotel has a great location, relatively close to the Metro, and the White House. There are plenty of restaurants in the area, and it's a safe neighborhood to be walking around anytime of the day or night. The hotel's common areas, the restaurant, bar, and lobby are modern and clean. However the room my wife and I had could use a makeover. The furniture was from the early 80's. The room was a single king bed "suite", basically two standard rooms with a wall removed. A very odd layout with the TV on a low dresser that divided the sleeping area from the couch. Overall it was a very good value, almost 30% less than other hotels in the same area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Apr 8, 2010

just okay

The hotel was convenient a d clean. Some of the staff were curtious and helpful, but a few were a little curt. The atmosphere was rather cold, as opposed to friendly and quaint.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

No decent coffee in hotel to bring to room. Breakfast was expensive, and it was a fairly long walk to find a decent place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Musiclady5
Business
Chagrin Falls, OH
Apr 6, 2010

Wonderful place to stay in Washington DC

I was priveledged to bring my 11-yr-old grandaughter to Washington for her first visit. We wanted someplace close to the sights because we brought our bikes to ride everywhere. This was just exactly the right place for us! The location is close to the attractions, the room was large, clean and quiet, with a lovely balcony overlooking the pool. Our only glitch was when the wind blew the balcony door shut, and we got locked out! The staff was very nice about coming up to let us back in the room! The only drawback to the location was the very heavy traffic on Thomas Circle during rush hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JnMonterey
Business
Monterey, CA
Apr 3, 2010

Very short stay

[...]Once my fights were moved to Sunday, I called the hotel to make the change, they let me know I needed to get [...] to do it. [...] It took the staff a while to find me, and then a manager had to come do some kind of "manager majic" at the computer to get me into my room. Everyone was nice, they were all great. I finally got to my room, beautiful room, and that's about it. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Apr 1, 2010

Great hotel

This hotel was very nice and very clean. The room may have been a little bit small for some but was perfect for us. Many amenities and a great location...not far from the White House and Dupont Circle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wilmington, DE
Apr 1, 2010

It was okay

The location of this hotel was good, being only a few blocks from all of the tourist attractions. The hotel itself was okay. The walls are pretty thin so it was easy to hear other rooms. The hotel was fairly clean, but very Spartan. The room was somewhat small and had the feel of a college dorm room. I thought the price was a little steep for what we got, but I can't say it was a bad experience. I would probably pick a different hotel next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ashburn, VA
Mar 29, 2010

Nice get-away

The service was fantastic, the only thing was I now know that I would not ever like to stay in a room by the elevators.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Butte, MT
Mar 21, 2010

"good location, tired feet"

Within 5 blocks of 2 different metro locations, and walking distance from several great restaurants. Staff is very helpful with providing directions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

wear comfy shoes, cause you do a lot of walking around DC

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top