$112 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 15, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

Washington Plaza Hotel

3 stars
10 Thomas Circle, Washington, DC 20009
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
639 reviews
Great place for the price

Beds were comfortable, everything was modern, swimming pool was great. See full review

  • tourist1991
  • Jun 23, 2014
Awesome hotel

Love this place!!! It is a great hotel. Great Price! Great Location!!! See full review

  • DC Future
  • Jun 2, 2014
A modern hotel with a landscaped outdoor pool, meeting space

The Washington Plaza Hotel offers a convenient location between the White House and bustling Dupont Circle for both leisure and business travelers.  The hotel has a large, landscaped outdoor pool.  Guests appreciate the relaxed, casual ambience throughout the hotel. A number of restaurants are nearby, and the hotel has a restaurant and lounge for those who prefer to stay in for the night.

Highlights
  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • Garage parking
Rooms
Each of the 340 rooms and suites features modern decor, warm colors and sleek lines. Junior suites have a large guest room with sitting area. Relax in the room with a movie, room service from the No. Ten Restaurant, and high-speed Internet access (fees apply). Single, double, triple or quad occupancy rooms include coffee maker, iron and ironing board, alarm clock and hairdryer.
Features
The outdoor pool lures guests during the humid D.C. summer, with plenty of lounge chairs and poolside dining. Keep up your workout routine at the fitness center. Visit the hotel's full-service No. Ten Thomas Restaurant, where guests dine on American cuisine. Sit by the fireplace and enjoy a nightcap at The International, an on-site lounge. There is 12,000 square feet of meeting space with catering service and audio-visual equipment available.
Transportation
  • Farragut North Metro stop (0.4 miles)
  • Regan National Airport (4 miles)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 miles)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • The White House (0.6 mi/ 0.9 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • The National Mall (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Washington Monument (1.1 mi/ 1.8 km)
  • Georgetown (1.5 mi/ 2.5 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.6 mi/ 2.6 km)
  • World War II Memorial (1.7 mi/ 2 km)
  • Library of Congress (1.9 mi/ 3.1 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (2 mi/ 2.4 km)
Business
  • 12,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Business center
Policies and fees

  • The hotel charges $25 USD per day plus 18% tax for Self parking and $30 USD per day plus 18% tax for Valet Parking.
  • The outdoor pool will open on 24 May 2014.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Washington Plaza Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room accommodations for single, double, or triple occupancy include coffee maker, iron and ironing board, alarm clock and hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Washington Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.9061 -77.031
Area served
Ronald Reagan National Airport DCA 4.5 mi, Dulles Int'l Airport IAD 27.5 mi, Bureau of Engraving 1 mi, Fords Theater 1.5 mi, MCI Center 0.8 mi, Baltimore Washington Intl BWI 31.5 mi
Nearby airports
Washington Dulles Intl. (IAD) 27 MI , Washington Ronald Reagan (DCA) 4 MI
Area description
Ronald Reagan National Airport DCA 4.5 mi, Dulles Int'l Airport IAD 27.5 mi, Bureau of Engraving 1 mi, Fords Theater 1.5 mi, MCI Center 0.8 mi, Baltimore Washington Intl BWI 31.5 mi

Nearby points of interest

  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.8 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.9 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1 mi
  • National Archives: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.1 mi
  • Newseum: 1.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Howard University: 1.2 mi

Dining

international lounge
The keynote of the international is the feeling of grown-up glamour and sophistication that reigned throughout the Kennedy years - the golden age of All-American-Style; full of promise and ambition. This is not Austin Powers or Warhol Pop. Think Babe Paley; think dressed up, crisp clothed jet-setters and kings of commerce enjoying a classic champagne cocktail, nibbling an elegant snack, while engaging in intense flirtation and conversation into the wee hours - after all one can always stay over.
No. 10 Thomas
No. 10 Thomas offers Contemporary American cuisine and the perfect ambience for any meal. Watch the "Early birds" at Logan Circle in the morning, sunbathers taking a dip in our pool after lunch, or the sunset over National City Christian Church in the evening. Sip a Glass of Champagne or enjoy a cocktail by candle light on our Poolside terrace and make a wish while counting the shooting stars over Washington D.C.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (639)

Ratings and reviews for Washington Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
639 out of 639
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Raleigh, NC
May 24, 2011

great hotel

This hotel was a wonderful surprise. We chose it because of location and price ([...]had a deal). It is in a nice area in downtown. Close to many attractions (including convention center). 5 blocks from the metro (only inconvenience, it would be better a little bit closer). Rooms were very nicely decorated, modern, clean and attractive. Staff was extremely helpful and nice. Breakfast buffet was reasonably priced and very good. And the outdoor pool, in the main lobby, was like an oasis in the middle of the urban jungle. Highly recommend this hotel. Many others that were more expensive did not look as good, at least from the outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Angie012
philadelphia
Oct 3, 2011

Friendly staff and great bargain

The staff is incredibly accomodating and location along with room was a very reasonable price. I have stayed at the so called reasonable hotels all over with status and I received the best treatment here with no status to wave. Also, free wifi for the price I paid for my stay- you can't beat that. Next time I come to DC- i will be sure to stay here again! Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JDubya
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 28, 2012

Excellent value for the area

The hotel is in a great location that is walking distance to the metro, DuPont, numerous shops and places to eat, and Embassy Row. Well worth the money, especially considering the area. My only complaint is the lack of coffee in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Oct 12, 2008

Modern Amenities

The Washington Plaza Hotel provided a comfortable and easy stay in Washington, D.C. We enjoyed the room cleanliness and modern amenities. I would recommend the hotel for anyone looking for good quality for the amount you spend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

DuPoint Circle is just a short walk from the Washington Plaza Hotel, where numerous restaurants and bars are located.

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Nov 19, 2007

Convenient

The Washington Plaza offers good value for the money. Clean, pleasant and onsite, indoor parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

White House, Museums, Metro, Dupont area

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Prairie, Texas
Feb 7, 2011

Great Service at the Washington Plaza

I picked this hotel knowing nothing about it. I mainly chose it because it was located close to the seminar host hotel. From the guys who helped me in with my luggage, to the sweet lady ([...]) who brought my room service order at 11pm, every person in this hotel was not only polite, but just so NICE (with one exception, being the lady in the gift shop on Sunday morning - she didn't address me upon entering or ask if I needed help). I spoke to the restaurant manager once - he called concerned that I didn't eat much and asked if there was anything wrong with the food. There wasn't at all, but I have NEVER had a manager ask me that, nor be concerned as he was. Speaking of food, the menu was interesting and everything I ordered tasted great. I will be returning to DC with my family within the year, and we will most definitely stay at the Washington Plaza again. And also, the hotel was immaculately clean. I would add a food vending machine. I get a little snack-y late at night. Also, it the room had first-run movies, I would have bought several, I'm sure, because I had some downtime. But still, the hotel was perfect for me and my needs. I was extremely impressed. Thanks for a great stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 29, 2008

Outstanding Staff

This was my first stay at the Washington Plaza and I was finally meeting face-to-face with my Over-the-InterNet love. Obviously, I wanted the experience to be delightful for both of us, and the gracious and courteous staff of the hotel truly helped make our first few nights together a memorable experience. I had checked in early since my lady friend was arriving on an evening flight from Scotland. From my initial contact with the parking valet and doorman, through the registration staff (who, by the way, directed me to a fantastic florist for the necessary dozen roses), to all of the restaraunt staff, the service was impecable. I had lived in the Washington, D.C. area many years ago and was frankly a little leery of the location of the hotel. To my amazement, the entire section of the city has undergone a marvelous (almost miraculous) transformation. What had been a blighted, downtrodden, high-crime area is now a place where anyone can feel comfortable strolling the surrounding streets. My Scottish lassie is now back in Glasgow. She, too, had nothing but compliments for the staff who made her feel warmly welcomed for her first Washington visit. I might add that she returned to Scotland with one more ring on her finger than she had when she arrived - we are now engaged and looking for a wedding in Glasgow sometime near Christmas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Spy Musuem and Union Station.

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jemimanjum
NY,NY
Sep 20, 2010

It was great!!

it is a great location!! We stayed double standard room, and it has big bathroom! We enjoyed so much!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
winchester VA
Nov 4, 2009

confortable and clean stay

it was very short, but parked my car with no problems, very nice attention at the front desk, very confortable bed and an impecable bathroom!! Great hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

make sure to call the restaurants first, in DC is not like other world cities that you can eat dinner at 10 or 11pm. For example Secquoias closes the kitchen at 9pm!!! Amazing.

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jemimanjum
NY,NY
Sep 20, 2010

It was great!!

it is a great location!! We stayed double standard room, and it has big bathroom! We enjoyed so much!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top