$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 4, 2014

Washington Plaza Hotel

3 stars
10 Thomas Circle, Washington, DC 20009
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
430 reviews
Great location for sightseeing.

Comfortable and convenient for sightseeing, quiet room and value for the money. See full review

  • The real Merrill
  • Aug 28, 2014
Enjoyable stay

We only spent one night but I have to say that staff were the friendliest I've seen in a long time.... See full review

  • HappyHappy14
  • Aug 9, 2014
A modern hotel with a landscaped outdoor pool, meeting space

The Washington Plaza Hotel offers a convenient location between the White House and bustling Dupont Circle for both leisure and business travelers.  The hotel has a large, landscaped outdoor pool.  Guests appreciate the relaxed, casual ambience throughout the hotel. A number of restaurants are nearby, and the hotel has a restaurant and lounge for those who prefer to stay in for the night.

Highlights
  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • Garage parking
Rooms
Each of the 340 rooms and suites features modern decor, warm colors and sleek lines. Junior suites have a large guest room with sitting area. Relax in the room with a movie, room service from the No. Ten Restaurant, and high-speed Internet access (fees apply). Single, double, triple or quad occupancy rooms include coffee maker, iron and ironing board, alarm clock and hairdryer.
Features
The outdoor pool lures guests during the humid D.C. summer, with plenty of lounge chairs and poolside dining. Keep up your workout routine at the fitness center. Visit the hotel's full-service No. Ten Thomas Restaurant, where guests dine on American cuisine. Sit by the fireplace and enjoy a nightcap at The International, an on-site lounge. There is 12,000 square feet of meeting space with catering service and audio-visual equipment available.
Transportation
  • Farragut North Metro stop (0.4 miles)
  • Regan National Airport (4 miles)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 miles)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • The White House (0.6 mi/ 0.9 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • The National Mall (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Washington Monument (1.1 mi/ 1.8 km)
  • Georgetown (1.5 mi/ 2.5 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.6 mi/ 2.6 km)
  • World War II Memorial (1.7 mi/ 2 km)
  • Library of Congress (1.9 mi/ 3.1 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (2 mi/ 2.4 km)
Business
  • 12,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Business center
Policies and fees

  • The hotel charges $25 USD per day plus 18% tax for Self parking and $30 USD per day plus 18% tax for Valet Parking.
  • The outdoor pool will open on 24 May 2014.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.9061 -77.031
Area served
Ronald Reagan National Airport DCA 4.5 mi, Dulles Int'l Airport IAD 27.5 mi, Bureau of Engraving 1 mi, Fords Theater 1.5 mi, MCI Center 0.8 mi, Baltimore Washington Intl BWI 31.5 mi
Nearby airports
Washington Dulles Intl. (IAD) 27 MI , Washington Ronald Reagan (DCA) 4 MI
Area description
Ronald Reagan National Airport DCA 4.5 mi, Dulles Int'l Airport IAD 27.5 mi, Bureau of Engraving 1 mi, Fords Theater 1.5 mi, MCI Center 0.8 mi, Baltimore Washington Intl BWI 31.5 mi

Washington Plaza Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room accommodations for single, double, or triple occupancy include coffee maker, iron and ironing board, alarm clock and hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.8 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.9 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1 mi
  • National Archives: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.1 mi
  • Newseum: 1.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Howard University: 1.2 mi

Dining

international lounge
The keynote of the international is the feeling of grown-up glamour and sophistication that reigned throughout the Kennedy years - the golden age of All-American-Style; full of promise and ambition. This is not Austin Powers or Warhol Pop. Think Babe Paley; think dressed up, crisp clothed jet-setters and kings of commerce enjoying a classic champagne cocktail, nibbling an elegant snack, while engaging in intense flirtation and conversation into the wee hours - after all one can always stay over.
No. 10 Thomas
No. 10 Thomas offers Contemporary American cuisine and the perfect ambience for any meal. Watch the "Early birds" at Logan Circle in the morning, sunbathers taking a dip in our pool after lunch, or the sunset over National City Christian Church in the evening. Sip a Glass of Champagne or enjoy a cocktail by candle light on our Poolside terrace and make a wish while counting the shooting stars over Washington D.C.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (430)

Ratings and reviews for Washington Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
430 out of 430
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DC Visitor from VA
Front Royal, VA
Jul 30, 2012

Nice weekend Getaway

I stayed in DC for the first time over the weekend. It was a great value for the price I paid. The rooms were comfortable. Though they were not huge, the bathroom was a very good size in comparison to the size of the room. The downside to the bathroom was a lack of counter space. It was very nice to have a private balcony that overlooked the pool and parts of the city. The hotel also provided free water bottles and the rooms had a decent size fridge in them. Parking at the hotel was expensive, at $25 to park myself and $30 for valet parking, but it was convenient to have my car right there and safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
metheist
Arizona, USA
Mar 27, 2012

Washington Plaza

I quite enjoyed my stay at the Washington Plaza. The hotel staff (everyone, in every department) were very friendly and courteous. The room was clean. The doors are set slightly off the hallway so you do not get a lot of hall noise--either that or everyone who stayed in the hotel were mature and quiet. Computer center user-friendly. A friend ate at the restaurant and liked it. The free wi-fi was nice, but there were some glitches with it--even in the business center. The hotel was half a mile from my conference and an easy walk, fast food and fine-dining with easy access, as were several coffee shops. The street we were on was also quiet in the evening. OH, there was one negative. The cable TV channels--other than sports, which was fine, the channels were all political, or else bizarre channels like the History Channel. A few girly channels like HGTV, Bravo, Food Network, would be nice--please :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had a lovely dinner at the Fire and Sage restaurant at the Marriott Hotel (H &12th)--about $25 each.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
McKinney
Dallas, Tx
Jul 16, 2014

DC Vacation

Our room was very clean. The bathroom was good size. The room had a safe which was very much needed since I had my laptop with me. Fridge in the room was a bonus. It was not a far walk to the national mall. We walked all around that city and back to the hotel. Although we didn't get time to use it, the pool area seemed pretty happening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 14, 2010

Plain, clean, comfy, somewhat noisy

They were the cheapest offering then. Decor is very plain at the lobby and the room is very sparse. The bathroom was far too small, but it was clean. The king size bed was a winner, though slightly too soft. Internet access was free, but extremely slow. We gave up using it after a little while. Cable TV was also breaking up. The other big problem was the background noise. There was a constant hum and the noise from the corridor clear as day light.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
weary trtaveler
Business
Hampton, SC
Jul 9, 2010

great room...great location

easy access to Metro..good food and nightlife within walking distance

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ALND
VB VA
Jul 20, 2009

Excellent value

Excellent location for all amenities. Staff very helpfull and courteous. Overall pleasent stay, would highly recommend staying at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tomlinbarry
Ireland
Aug 21, 2014

Great City Location

Stayed for three nights mid August 2014.Great location, short walk downtown and to the metro. Decor a bit dated but we felt it added to the overall ambience. Very welcoming and helpful staff, excellent bell boys, welcoming and charming receptionist, fabulous bar staff and a very good housemaid service. Bar food (snacks) were good but did not try the restaurant. It was great to have the pool in the late evening sunshine after a long day sightseeing. Car parking was a bit pricey at $25 a night but otherwise highly recommended. Tom and Linda - Ireland

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Oyster dive, just a five minute walk, great atmosphere with helpful staff and a fab menu. Mid range pricewise.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveler 48
New York, NY, USA
Apr 2, 2013

Wonderful hotel

We have stayed at Washington Plaza a few times, the location is great just a few blocks to McPherson Square,(where the metro will take you right to smithsonian and the mall) walkable to Dupont Circle abut 5 - 10 minutes, there are plenty of coffee shops etc. nearby. Rooms are clean and spacious, the pool is a nice treat in th summer. Overall a wonderful hotel. On one stay I forgot a suit in the lobby when we were packing for home. I didn't discover it missing until I was looking to wear it again. Finally I called the hotel, not expecting anything, but they had kept it and then sent it to my home. Service is great, and there is underground parking. Most recently we arrived at noon, and was able to park the car and keep it there overnight until 6pm the next night, for the one day hotel rate. Quite remarkable for a city hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 13, 2011

Beat the heat in the pool!

I really enjoyed the Washington Plaza Hotel for it's reasonable rates and the huge pool, which I cooled down in when the DC temps got into triple digits. Most of the usual places I stay were at least twice the price on this trip and for a very reasonable rate I had a clean, comfortable room in the heart of DC. The WPH's pool area is massive, which is a rarity in DC. I will definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
XY ZH
Cleveland,OH
Jan 2, 2013

Nice stay

clean room, helpful staff, safe surroundings, wasking distance to White house an most attractions. about 20 min drive(taxi) to DCA airport. about 3 min walk to Metro station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search