$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 19, 2015 Check-out: Jun 20, 2015

Washington Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 10 Thomas Circle, Washington, DC 20009

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Washington Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
502 out of 502
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KDIvey
Business
baltimore
Jan 23, 2015

Pleasant Surprise

I used to live near this hotel a long time ago. I frequently walked past it, but had no reason to go in. The price listed last weekend was ridiculously cheap so I thought I'd give it a try as it is very conveniently located to downtown. The Washington Plaza rooms and staff were much nicer than I expected given the low price and the age of the hotel. I had no complaints and no issues. I would rate it higher than the official 3 stars. I will probably stay here again, perhaps when the pool is open in the summer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Post Pub - super old school bar a blessed relief to all the super pricey, trendy places that have opened in DC over the last few years.

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bart B.
Business
Westfield
Feb 4, 2015

Solo Vacation trip

liked the doorman, enjoyed the free Washington Post, and the 2 bottles of water each evening, Full service restaurant and room service. 5 star stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The city Bikes are across the street. CVS on the corner. Restaurants in walking distance. less than 2 miles from major museums.

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gabriela C.
Business
KEARNY
Mar 9, 2015

Close to everything!!!

Best thing for me was location. The room was immaculate. Had complimentary coffee and water in room. The staff was very friendly and polite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tafuna T.
Business
Billings
Mar 16, 2015

Great Business Trip

Excellent hotel staff.. Very helpful & Cheerful. Close walk to the capital for and all the museum,,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
William M.
Business
Northwich
Apr 19, 2015

Excellent Accomodation

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, and it was a very relaxing stay. We arrived shortly after check in opened - and we were offered a Queen Room (which we booked) with a walk-in shower... we accepted and checked in with ease. The reception staff were friendly. Our room was located on the 5th floor at the end of the hall over looking the pool. The room was comfortable and well appointed. I've stayed in a lot of hotels in the last few years but this bed has definitely got to be one of the most comfortable! We kept the do not disturb sign on the door whenever we were in the room as the housekeepers start quite early and then come back again for a turn down service in the evening, so I would keep the door sign on if you don't want this. We flipped the sign over when we went out and the room was serviced while we were out on both days. Location is great, apart from a taxi to & from Union Station we actually walked everywhere we needed to go, Lincoln memorial, Smithsonians, Dupont Circle - even Georgetown! Washington is a great city for walking after all. We ate breakfast in the hotel one morning, continental which was good - cereal, juice, pastries and muffins. There was also a greater selection for a higher price and a menu for a-la-carte options. We ordered room service one of the evenings, which was very easy and tasty to boot. Also a courtesy call to check how the food was is also a great touch. Check out was simple and the friendly doormen called round a taxi - there seems to always be a couple of cabs waiting at the end of the driveway. Overall a very pleasant stay at a great hotel, lovely attention to detail that points to the fact that they know what they're doing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sha10
Business
N/A
Apr 21, 2015

Romantic getaway

Nice hotel, great location. Beautiful area to go for a romantic walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Midget mac
Business
Washington, D.C.
Dec 9, 2014

The Hook Up

Love the friendly staff. Great place for an afternoon romp.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Blacksburg,VA
Dec 24, 2010

A great hotel

It is a great experience.The service is good and the price is cheap.It is $79 for a room every night!I will choose Washington Plaza next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
doublebeauty
Business
NY
May 26, 2009

100 times better than I expetcted!

Loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
D and E
Business
Mission Viejo, CA
Aug 21, 2010

Could not ask for better

We were in DC for a week of sightseeing, and needed an affordable hotel convienint to all the sights. The Washington Plaza Hotel went far above being just a convenient place to stay; it was a real treat to stay there. From the moment we checked in until we left, we were treated as true guests, rather than just customers. The staff was friendly and attentive, and I noticed they treated all their guests this way, regardless of age or attire. For example, they did not hesitate to hail a taxi for us at 5 am in the rain, and sent an engineer to our room immedately when the key card lock seemed to be acting up (sure enough it was the unit, not me, and after they fixed it we had no further problems). Another thing that impressed me was the complimentary bottled water and newspaper, where most hotels make you "opt out" if you don't want to be charged for them. Although we did not make use of the outdoor pool, it looked very nice for swimming or lounging, and many guests obviously thought so, as it was well attended. We had a corner room on the 9th floor facing Thomas Circle. It was very quiet, with just a hint of traffic noise at peak times (could hear cars when they honked, but not loud enough to bother a light sleeper like me). The room was spacious and clean, with pleanty of closet, drawer, and desk space. If you are going to DC it is likely you will do a lot of walking, and many of the major sights are within walking distance (the White House, the museums along the Mall, DuPont Circle, Chinatown). The McPherson Square Metro station is only two short blocks away, and the DC Metro will get you anywhere else you need to go. Having stayed in many hotels around the world, I can tell you that we have not been treated better than we were at the Washington Plaza. As far as I'm concerned, it is the best hotel value for dollar in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Two blocks down 14th street to the Metro Blue and Yellow lines. Get to know the DC metro as it will take you within walking distance of anywhere in DC in just a few minutes. Fare machines can be confusing and have outdated prices, and some entrance gates work different than others, so take a "pratice run" if you are going to depend on the Metro for a time-sensitive trip.

Back to menu Return to top