$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Washington Plaza Hotel

3 stars
10 Thomas Circle, Washington, DC 20009
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
443 reviews
Very nice stay

over the Thanksgiving weekend. Indeed, quite nice. See full review

  • MollyMalone
  • Dec 9, 2014
business trip

Great short stay. Downtown closer to everything. Great staff. See full review

  • Short stay 2000
  • Nov 23, 2014
A modern hotel with a landscaped outdoor pool, meeting space

The Washington Plaza Hotel offers a convenient location between the White House and bustling Dupont Circle for both leisure and business travelers.  The hotel has a large, landscaped outdoor pool.  Guests appreciate the relaxed, casual ambience throughout the hotel. A number of restaurants are nearby, and the hotel has a restaurant and lounge for those who prefer to stay in for the night.

Highlights
  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • Garage parking
Rooms
Each of the 340 rooms and suites features modern decor, warm colors and sleek lines. Junior suites have a large guest room with sitting area. Relax in the room with a movie, room service from the No. Ten Restaurant, and high-speed Internet access (fees apply). Single, double, triple or quad occupancy rooms include coffee maker, iron and ironing board, alarm clock and hairdryer.
Features
The outdoor pool lures guests during the humid D.C. summer, with plenty of lounge chairs and poolside dining. Keep up your workout routine at the fitness center. Visit the hotel's full-service No. Ten Thomas Restaurant, where guests dine on American cuisine. Sit by the fireplace and enjoy a nightcap at The International, an on-site lounge. There is 12,000 square feet of meeting space with catering service and audio-visual equipment available.
Transportation
  • Farragut North Metro stop (0.4 miles)
  • Regan National Airport (4 miles)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 miles)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • The White House (0.6 mi/ 0.9 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • The National Mall (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Washington Monument (1.1 mi/ 1.8 km)
  • Georgetown (1.5 mi/ 2.5 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.6 mi/ 2.6 km)
  • World War II Memorial (1.7 mi/ 2 km)
  • Library of Congress (1.9 mi/ 3.1 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (2 mi/ 2.4 km)
Business
  • 12,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Business center
Policies and fees

  • The hotel charges $25 USD per day plus 18% tax for Self parking and $30 USD per day plus 18% tax for Valet Parking.
  • The outdoor pool will open on 24 May 2014.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Washington Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Washington Plaza Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room accommodations for single, double, or triple occupancy include coffee maker, iron and ironing board, alarm clock and hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.8 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.9 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1 mi
  • National Archives: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.1 mi
  • Newseum: 1.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Howard University: 1.2 mi

Dining

international lounge
The keynote of the international is the feeling of grown-up glamour and sophistication that reigned throughout the Kennedy years - the golden age of All-American-Style; full of promise and ambition. This is not Austin Powers or Warhol Pop. Think Babe Paley; think dressed up, crisp clothed jet-setters and kings of commerce enjoying a classic champagne cocktail, nibbling an elegant snack, while engaging in intense flirtation and conversation into the wee hours - after all one can always stay over.
No. 10 Thomas
No. 10 Thomas offers Contemporary American cuisine and the perfect ambience for any meal. Watch the "Early birds" at Logan Circle in the morning, sunbathers taking a dip in our pool after lunch, or the sunset over National City Christian Church in the evening. Sip a Glass of Champagne or enjoy a cocktail by candle light on our Poolside terrace and make a wish while counting the shooting stars over Washington D.C.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (443)

Ratings and reviews for Washington Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 443
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dad in madison
Business
San Jose, CA
Nov 30, 2014

Good location

Close to white house and key federal facilities. Good view and cost effective

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JopoF
Business
Indiana
Oct 29, 2014

Great Hotel and Staff

Friendly staff, clean rooms and a great location. And, it had an outside ground level pool which would be great with kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Many restaurants within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Len O
Business
Fort Wayne, IN
Aug 29, 2014

Would stay there again.

The hotel was located about half a mile from the White House. My wife and I and a grandson stayed for four nights and went out each day to see the sights. The hotel was about 0.6 mile from the White House (as the crow flies), about a 15 minute walk. It is about 1.6 miles from the capitol and 1.2 miles from the Washington Monument and 1.6 miles from the Lincoln Memorial. We walked to each and visited other sites along the way. There was a Metro station about 3-4 blocks away. The staff was friendly and helpful. They have what appears to be a very nice dining room, but we didn't eat there. A bit pricey for our budget. The room was clean and comfortable. Our grandson loved the pool. There are many restaurants within a few blocks. Most are fast food places that we felt had good food served very quickly for the most part. They were sandwich and salad places with some other foods on the menu. We didn't go to any of them during the heavy traffic parts of the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RAJANE
Business
Dublin, CA
Aug 14, 2014

Great option if you want to stay close to major attractions

If you want to stay close to attractions and not pay a fortune this is a great place. Good rooms and service. You have to walk about a mile but if the weather cooperates, it's very convenient. Taxi to the mall is $10-$15 depending upon location so that is an option if the weather is bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk to the mall. The Smithsonian museums are incredible. Depending upon how much time you have, you can spend from a couple of hours to a day at each one.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HappyHappy14
Business
New York
Aug 9, 2014

Enjoyable stay

We only spent one night but I have to say that staff were the friendliest I've seen in a long time. I was a little worried because I'd read a few negative reviews but I didn't encounter a single problem. Check in/ check out was a breeze and the self parking system was easy to use. We were able to keep our car there until 6pm the day we checked out. My room was superb and everything was as it should be. We didn't use the pool but the pool area was attractive. Didn't get to try the restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The White House was a short walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PScottM
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 21, 2014

Excellent summer weekend

Booked a room for the weekend. Spent the whole time at the pool, which was well maintained. The staff at the bar/restaurant were very accommodating. Will definitely go back in the future

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great sushi place across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wmendoza9158
Business
l.a. ca
Jul 10, 2014

ok

It was ok for its price. I took my own beer n snacks to the lounge n the manager approached me in a disrespectful way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patsy Lee
Business
Washington DC
Jun 1, 2014

Clean n comfortable stay

Looks New n clean with sufficient amenities nearby. Check in n out fast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Florida Traveler to NY
Business
Boca Raton, Florida
Dec 24, 2013

Friendly staff

The hotel is very clean, conveniently located. The staff very welcoming and friendly. I was traveling to NY with my family. At check out they surprised us witha a gift for my 3 yr old. They asked her to pick a gift under the Christmas tree, that was priceless and special from them. Very nice touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FromTheDistrict
Business
San Diego, CA
Sep 21, 2013

Washington Plaza

Overall great experience for the money! I would stay there again when in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top