$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Washington Plaza Hotel

3 stars
10 Thomas Circle, Washington, DC 20009
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
443 reviews
Very nice stay

over the Thanksgiving weekend. Indeed, quite nice. See full review

  • MollyMalone
  • Dec 9, 2014
business trip

Great short stay. Downtown closer to everything. Great staff. See full review

  • Short stay 2000
  • Nov 23, 2014
A modern hotel with a landscaped outdoor pool, meeting space

The Washington Plaza Hotel offers a convenient location between the White House and bustling Dupont Circle for both leisure and business travelers.  The hotel has a large, landscaped outdoor pool.  Guests appreciate the relaxed, casual ambience throughout the hotel. A number of restaurants are nearby, and the hotel has a restaurant and lounge for those who prefer to stay in for the night.

Highlights
  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • Garage parking
Rooms
Each of the 340 rooms and suites features modern decor, warm colors and sleek lines. Junior suites have a large guest room with sitting area. Relax in the room with a movie, room service from the No. Ten Restaurant, and high-speed Internet access (fees apply). Single, double, triple or quad occupancy rooms include coffee maker, iron and ironing board, alarm clock and hairdryer.
Features
The outdoor pool lures guests during the humid D.C. summer, with plenty of lounge chairs and poolside dining. Keep up your workout routine at the fitness center. Visit the hotel's full-service No. Ten Thomas Restaurant, where guests dine on American cuisine. Sit by the fireplace and enjoy a nightcap at The International, an on-site lounge. There is 12,000 square feet of meeting space with catering service and audio-visual equipment available.
Transportation
  • Farragut North Metro stop (0.4 miles)
  • Regan National Airport (4 miles)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 miles)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • The White House (0.6 mi/ 0.9 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • The National Mall (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Washington Monument (1.1 mi/ 1.8 km)
  • Georgetown (1.5 mi/ 2.5 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.6 mi/ 2.6 km)
  • World War II Memorial (1.7 mi/ 2 km)
  • Library of Congress (1.9 mi/ 3.1 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (2 mi/ 2.4 km)
Business
  • 12,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Business center
Policies and fees

  • The hotel charges $25 USD per day plus 18% tax for Self parking and $30 USD per day plus 18% tax for Valet Parking.
  • The outdoor pool will open on 24 May 2014.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Washington Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Washington Plaza Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room accommodations for single, double, or triple occupancy include coffee maker, iron and ironing board, alarm clock and hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.8 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.9 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1 mi
  • National Archives: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.1 mi
  • Newseum: 1.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Howard University: 1.2 mi

Dining

international lounge
The keynote of the international is the feeling of grown-up glamour and sophistication that reigned throughout the Kennedy years - the golden age of All-American-Style; full of promise and ambition. This is not Austin Powers or Warhol Pop. Think Babe Paley; think dressed up, crisp clothed jet-setters and kings of commerce enjoying a classic champagne cocktail, nibbling an elegant snack, while engaging in intense flirtation and conversation into the wee hours - after all one can always stay over.
No. 10 Thomas
No. 10 Thomas offers Contemporary American cuisine and the perfect ambience for any meal. Watch the "Early birds" at Logan Circle in the morning, sunbathers taking a dip in our pool after lunch, or the sunset over National City Christian Church in the evening. Sip a Glass of Champagne or enjoy a cocktail by candle light on our Poolside terrace and make a wish while counting the shooting stars over Washington D.C.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (443)

Ratings and reviews for Washington Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
138 out of 443
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MollyMalone
Business
Boston
Dec 9, 2014

Very nice stay

over the Thanksgiving weekend. Indeed, quite nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Monika g
Business
New york
Sep 22, 2014

Great hotel

Clean room, good staff and central location, everything in a nut shell!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The real Merrill
Business
Wheelersburg OH
Aug 28, 2014

Great location for sightseeing.

Comfortable and convenient for sightseeing, quiet room and value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Assuming you are abled bodied, the hotel garage is a great place to leave the car. The Big Bus is good for overview and transportation to the attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tomlinbarry
Business
Ireland
Aug 21, 2014

Great City Location

Stayed for three nights mid August 2014.Great location, short walk downtown and to the metro. Decor a bit dated but we felt it added to the overall ambience. Very welcoming and helpful staff, excellent bell boys, welcoming and charming receptionist, fabulous bar staff and a very good housemaid service. Bar food (snacks) were good but did not try the restaurant. It was great to have the pool in the late evening sunshine after a long day sightseeing. Car parking was a bit pricey at $25 a night but otherwise highly recommended. Tom and Linda - Ireland

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Oyster dive, just a five minute walk, great atmosphere with helpful staff and a fab menu. Mid range pricewise.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wonderninja
Business
Buffalo, NY
Aug 13, 2014

Great Location, nice pool, okay hotel

Check in was easy, staff was friendly. We were 'upgraded' to a balcony room overlooking the pool but if I had the option again I would take a regular room preferably on the back of the hotel. Seemed like a lot noise came through the balcony door and with it being located on a traffic circle I found it difficult to sleep. Lots of horns and sirens early (5am) in the morning and the staff rearranged the pool chairs at 6am. Room was one of the smallest I've ever stayed in and seemed sparsely furnished to make room for the balcony door. Full sized bed, No dresser, just two drawers in each night stand. Location is very convenient: close walk/bike to downtown and the sights but also a couple blocks to a local area so there is a grocery store, casual restaurants, liquor store and pharmacy close. Metro stations are also a few blocks for longer adventures. Pool was nice and clean for cooling off in the August heat but if I was going any time other than summer I may choose a different location. I'm usually pretty satisfied as long as my room is clean (yes), convenient (yes), and comfortable (sort of) but We originally booked the Residence Inn but got bumped and relocated to the Washington Plaza so it may have led to some of my disappointment. We were traveling with friends and would have liked an area to get together in the evenings. Nice enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Whole Foods has a breakfast bar in the morning with hot and cold options. As a couple we had a healthy breakfast for $15-20 which pretty reasonable for DC.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gears Up
Business
Chesapeake, VA
Aug 3, 2014

The Perfect Launching Point

Great room, location close to most attractions. Parking lot maneuvering was a bit tight but adequate

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

plenty of dining spots that run entire cost regime. Max variety in cuisine and some within walking distance, others short. Point is, you're in DC, you get find anything you want!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cruzegrl3
Business
Eastchester, NY
Jul 21, 2014

Weekend getaway

We enjoyed our stay from the minute we checked in until the time we checked out.The staff was pleasant the pool was GREAT and the room was clean and comfortable.The hotel is also about a 5 minute walk to metro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
McKinney
Business
Dallas, Tx
Jul 16, 2014

DC Vacation

Our room was very clean. The bathroom was good size. The room had a safe which was very much needed since I had my laptop with me. Fridge in the room was a bonus. It was not a far walk to the national mall. We walked all around that city and back to the hotel. Although we didn't get time to use it, the pool area seemed pretty happening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Penny C
Business
New York, New York
Jul 16, 2014

Not worth the money

Below average accommodations. Needs improvement in cleanliness. Parking is cheaper one block away. Facilities are lacking. Only good aspect was location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DD in Colorado
Business
Colorado
Jun 12, 2014

Good place to stay when you're visiting Washington DC

The staff was really great. They allowed me to park my car in their basement parking lot to 6 PM the day we signed out. This was really helpful. The bed was a bit uncomfortable. No king-size beds at least not that we had. What would give it four stars would be to have a courtesy breakfast in the morning like many of the other hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top