$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Washington Plaza Hotel

3 stars
10 Thomas Circle, Washington, DC 20009
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
440 reviews
Great for the price and location!

This hotel was in an excellent location! The staff was extremely friendly! What a great value! See full review

  • Ashla Eliza
  • Oct 22, 2014
Great location for sightseeing.

Comfortable and convenient for sightseeing, quiet room and value for the money. See full review

  • The real Merrill
  • Aug 28, 2014
The Washington Plaza Hotel is ideally located in the heart of Washington DC. It is the perfect hotel for your next conference, special event or sightseeing weekend. This spacious hotel features 340 guestrooms, tastefully appointed with modern furnishings. Our guests enjoy one of the city's nicest outdoor swimming pools, covered parking, a fitness center, same day valet service, 24-hour in-room dining, cable TV with in-room movies, gift shop, in-house audio visual services, in-room coffee makers, and complete catering services.
Note: the outdoor pool will open on Saturday, May 24th, 2014.

Hotel Map

38.9061 -77.031
Area served
Ronald Reagan National Airport DCA 4.5 mi, Dulles Int'l Airport IAD 27.5 mi, Bureau of Engraving 1 mi, Fords Theater 1.5 mi, MCI Center 0.8 mi, Baltimore Washington Intl BWI 31.5 mi
Nearby airports
Washington Dulles Intl. (IAD) 27 MI , Washington Ronald Reagan (DCA) 4 MI
Area description
Ronald Reagan National Airport DCA 4.5 mi, Dulles Int'l Airport IAD 27.5 mi, Bureau of Engraving 1 mi, Fords Theater 1.5 mi, MCI Center 0.8 mi, Baltimore Washington Intl BWI 31.5 mi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Washington Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Washington Plaza Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room accommodations for single, double, or triple occupancy include coffee maker, iron and ironing board, alarm clock and hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.8 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.9 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1 mi
  • National Archives: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.1 mi
  • Newseum: 1.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Howard University: 1.2 mi

Dining

international lounge
The keynote of the international is the feeling of grown-up glamour and sophistication that reigned throughout the Kennedy years - the golden age of All-American-Style; full of promise and ambition. This is not Austin Powers or Warhol Pop. Think Babe Paley; think dressed up, crisp clothed jet-setters and kings of commerce enjoying a classic champagne cocktail, nibbling an elegant snack, while engaging in intense flirtation and conversation into the wee hours - after all one can always stay over.
No. 10 Thomas
No. 10 Thomas offers Contemporary American cuisine and the perfect ambience for any meal. Watch the "Early birds" at Logan Circle in the morning, sunbathers taking a dip in our pool after lunch, or the sunset over National City Christian Church in the evening. Sip a Glass of Champagne or enjoy a cocktail by candle light on our Poolside terrace and make a wish while counting the shooting stars over Washington D.C.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (440)

Ratings and reviews for Washington Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
440 out of 440
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JorgeV.
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 1, 2014

Great Holidays Vacation

The Hotel has a very convenient location, close to the Subway, Mall and Museums. We left the car in the hotel garage during the day and used public transportation. The staff is very helpful, polite and professional. We would like a little more dairy options in the basic breakfast buffet, like plain sliced cheese and yogurt. Overall, because of the quality and convenient rates, this hotel offers top value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Restaurant La Limeña. Great peruvian food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Unsatified Traveler
Business
Southern Virginia
Mar 3, 2014

Sincere Staff...

Excellent experience. Always use this hotel when in DC. The staff is amazing. Location can't be beat. Only concern are those guests who feel the need to smoke on their balconies. Had to keep door closed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Someone123456
Business
Chicago
Mar 30, 2014

Great experience!

Stayed there for a whole week and they were amazing. The staff were great and very polite. Overall, I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 7, 2008

Enjoyable visit

The Washington Plaza hotel was comfortable and the room was very nice. Large Bathroom area and nice walk-in closet for suitcases and hang-up clothing. The bathroom were dated but very clean and functional. The location of the hotel was okay. It's a nice hike to the Washington Monument, Lincoln Memorial, Nat'l Archives and Capital but closer to the White House. For oversized vehicles like Suburbans or Tahoe's the parking can be a little inconvenient due to a small area to be placed and they don't reserved this area for the larger vehicles. For example when you pull into the parking area smaller cars can park on both levels but larger cars only have about 35-45 parking spots and you have to exit through the entrance and run down a valet to open the gates. If a valet is not available the inside workers are no help. Your stuck. For what you use a hotel for in D.C. it is quite nice and you don't drive much anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Not too far from the White House but quite a hike to the Capital, National Archives. It's not too far from several good restaurants and for a good cheap breakfast try, Au Bon Pain.The Hotel is at the corner of M Street and 14th Street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
doublebeauty
Business
NY
May 26, 2009

100 times better than I expetcted!

Loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LARRY S.
Business
FT MYERS, FL
May 28, 2009

Real nice place to relax..

After a long rainy day of sightseeing The Washington Plaza Hotel was the perfect place to unwind. The interior was clean and the room was bigger than I thought. The location was great and I'm sure the pool would have been nice to swim in if it wasn't for the weather. The staff was really pleasant from check in to the check out. They even held our bags for us after check out so we could sight see some more. The food was great too espeacially the pizza. I would stay here again for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Claudia & Joseph
Business
Arizona
Oct 15, 2009

Washington Plaza Hotel: The best!

The staff was very friendly. The location was perfect. Only a few minutes from Regan Ntl airport. Within walking distance to so many landmarks. We walked to the walk house from the hotel. The restaurant was great and the service was first class. We are defenetely staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a walk to the white house. You get to see washington and enjoy the weather. It is amazing to see all the historic buildings.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
D and E
Business
Mission Viejo, CA
Aug 21, 2010

Could not ask for better

We were in DC for a week of sightseeing, and needed an affordable hotel convienint to all the sights. The Washington Plaza Hotel went far above being just a convenient place to stay; it was a real treat to stay there. From the moment we checked in until we left, we were treated as true guests, rather than just customers. The staff was friendly and attentive, and I noticed they treated all their guests this way, regardless of age or attire. For example, they did not hesitate to hail a taxi for us at 5 am in the rain, and sent an engineer to our room immedately when the key card lock seemed to be acting up (sure enough it was the unit, not me, and after they fixed it we had no further problems). Another thing that impressed me was the complimentary bottled water and newspaper, where most hotels make you "opt out" if you don't want to be charged for them. Although we did not make use of the outdoor pool, it looked very nice for swimming or lounging, and many guests obviously thought so, as it was well attended. We had a corner room on the 9th floor facing Thomas Circle. It was very quiet, with just a hint of traffic noise at peak times (could hear cars when they honked, but not loud enough to bother a light sleeper like me). The room was spacious and clean, with pleanty of closet, drawer, and desk space. If you are going to DC it is likely you will do a lot of walking, and many of the major sights are within walking distance (the White House, the museums along the Mall, DuPont Circle, Chinatown). The McPherson Square Metro station is only two short blocks away, and the DC Metro will get you anywhere else you need to go. Having stayed in many hotels around the world, I can tell you that we have not been treated better than we were at the Washington Plaza. As far as I'm concerned, it is the best hotel value for dollar in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Two blocks down 14th street to the Metro Blue and Yellow lines. Get to know the DC metro as it will take you within walking distance of anywhere in DC in just a few minutes. Fare machines can be confusing and have outdated prices, and some entrance gates work different than others, so take a "pratice run" if you are going to depend on the Metro for a time-sensitive trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Blacksburg,VA
Dec 24, 2010

A great hotel

It is a great experience.The service is good and the price is cheap.It is $79 for a room every night!I will choose Washington Plaza next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sun Devil
Business
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Nov 9, 2011

Great hotel for business stay

It is a great location for getting around the downtown area. Tha staff are very friendly and accommodating. The room was very nicely appointed, elegant but not showy. I would stay at the Washington Plaza any time I visit the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

DC Coast restaurant is one of the best seafood resataurants I have eaten at.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top