$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Washington Plaza Hotel

3 stars
10 Thomas Circle, Washington, DC 20009
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
642 reviews
Great place for the price

Beds were comfortable, everything was modern, swimming pool was great. See full review

  • tourist1991
  • Jun 23, 2014
Awesome hotel

Love this place!!! It is a great hotel. Great Price! Great Location!!! See full review

  • DC Future
  • Jun 2, 2014
A modern hotel with a landscaped outdoor pool, meeting space

The Washington Plaza Hotel offers a convenient location between the White House and bustling Dupont Circle for both leisure and business travelers.  The hotel has a large, landscaped outdoor pool.  Guests appreciate the relaxed, casual ambience throughout the hotel. A number of restaurants are nearby, and the hotel has a restaurant and lounge for those who prefer to stay in for the night.

Highlights
  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • Garage parking
Rooms
Each of the 340 rooms and suites features modern decor, warm colors and sleek lines. Junior suites have a large guest room with sitting area. Relax in the room with a movie, room service from the No. Ten Restaurant, and high-speed Internet access (fees apply). Single, double, triple or quad occupancy rooms include coffee maker, iron and ironing board, alarm clock and hairdryer.
Features
The outdoor pool lures guests during the humid D.C. summer, with plenty of lounge chairs and poolside dining. Keep up your workout routine at the fitness center. Visit the hotel's full-service No. Ten Thomas Restaurant, where guests dine on American cuisine. Sit by the fireplace and enjoy a nightcap at The International, an on-site lounge. There is 12,000 square feet of meeting space with catering service and audio-visual equipment available.
Transportation
  • Farragut North Metro stop (0.4 miles)
  • Regan National Airport (4 miles)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 miles)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • The White House (0.6 mi/ 0.9 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • The National Mall (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Washington Monument (1.1 mi/ 1.8 km)
  • Georgetown (1.5 mi/ 2.5 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.6 mi/ 2.6 km)
  • World War II Memorial (1.7 mi/ 2 km)
  • Library of Congress (1.9 mi/ 3.1 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (2 mi/ 2.4 km)
Business
  • 12,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Business center
Policies and fees

  • The hotel charges $25 USD per day plus 18% tax for Self parking and $30 USD per day plus 18% tax for Valet Parking.
  • The outdoor pool will open on 24 May 2014.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.9061 -77.031
Area served
Ronald Reagan National Airport DCA 4.5 mi, Dulles Int'l Airport IAD 27.5 mi, Bureau of Engraving 1 mi, Fords Theater 1.5 mi, MCI Center 0.8 mi, Baltimore Washington Intl BWI 31.5 mi
Nearby airports
Washington Dulles Intl. (IAD) 27 MI , Washington Ronald Reagan (DCA) 4 MI
Area description
Ronald Reagan National Airport DCA 4.5 mi, Dulles Int'l Airport IAD 27.5 mi, Bureau of Engraving 1 mi, Fords Theater 1.5 mi, MCI Center 0.8 mi, Baltimore Washington Intl BWI 31.5 mi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Washington Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Washington Plaza Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room accommodations for single, double, or triple occupancy include coffee maker, iron and ironing board, alarm clock and hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.8 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.9 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1 mi
  • National Archives: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.1 mi
  • Newseum: 1.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Howard University: 1.2 mi

Dining

international lounge
The keynote of the international is the feeling of grown-up glamour and sophistication that reigned throughout the Kennedy years - the golden age of All-American-Style; full of promise and ambition. This is not Austin Powers or Warhol Pop. Think Babe Paley; think dressed up, crisp clothed jet-setters and kings of commerce enjoying a classic champagne cocktail, nibbling an elegant snack, while engaging in intense flirtation and conversation into the wee hours - after all one can always stay over.
No. 10 Thomas
No. 10 Thomas offers Contemporary American cuisine and the perfect ambience for any meal. Watch the "Early birds" at Logan Circle in the morning, sunbathers taking a dip in our pool after lunch, or the sunset over National City Christian Church in the evening. Sip a Glass of Champagne or enjoy a cocktail by candle light on our Poolside terrace and make a wish while counting the shooting stars over Washington D.C.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (642)

Ratings and reviews for Washington Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
642 out of 642
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wilmington, DE
Aug 3, 2010

Excellent facility

The most courteous, accommodating staff I've ever met while travelling (and that includes cruises). It started from the time we pulled up and were greeted by the valets, to the bellmen, to the restaurant staff, and the folks at the front desk. The bellman told us, it's all about the service. He meant it! Kudos to the staff at Washington Plaza Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Massaoequa, NY
Jul 26, 2010

:)

Used the pool and tried to see some of the city sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Massaoequa, NY
Jul 26, 2010

:)

Used the pool and tried to see some of the city sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
UCMEINDC
Business
Washington DC
Jul 26, 2010

Central location, clean, services OK

Needed to make business arrangements in the area. Negatives: Room service in the hallway noisy (very loud). Blocked on a daily basis my door not allowing me to enter my room. Very unfriendly when I cleaning leadies to remove things, after kindly asked them to free my door to my room (vaccuum cleaner and cleaning trolly etc.). The same the next day. Roomservice goes screaming through the hall, knocking very loud and several times on the door daily around 5- 5.30 pm. Billing statement was wrong (two days parking plus taxes extra on bill), correction took 15-20 minutes. Had to free someone in basement, allowing her to leave the fitness area, the door was not opening from both sides. After 10 minutes it opened. Wake up call was not provided as requested. Positives: Food in bar, restaurant and room service, excellent. Clean room, updated design, clean bathroom, nice swimming pool, free wireless internet, generally friendly personel at reception Room had relatively large bathroom, seperate wc and shower. Good air conditioning (was up in the 100oF!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
UCMEINDC
Business
Washington DC
Jul 26, 2010

Central location, clean, services OK

Needed to make business arrangements in the area. Negatives: Room service in the hallway noisy (very loud). Blocked on a daily basis my door not allowing me to enter my room. Very unfriendly when I cleaning leadies to remove things, after kindly asked them to free my door to my room (vaccuum cleaner and cleaning trolly etc.). The same the next day. Roomservice goes screaming through the hall, knocking very loud and several times on the door daily around 5- 5.30 pm. Billing statement was wrong (two days parking plus taxes extra on bill), correction took 15-20 minutes. Had to free someone in basement, allowing her to leave the fitness area, the door was not opening from both sides. After 10 minutes it opened. Wake up call was not provided as requested. Positives: Food in bar, restaurant and room service, excellent. Clean room, updated design, clean bathroom, nice swimming pool, free wireless internet, generally friendly personel at reception Room had relatively large bathroom, seperate wc and shower. Good air conditioning (was up in the 100oF!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
St Louis, MO
Jul 23, 2010

Met all of our expectations

Convention Center was in walking distance. The room was very adequate with a comfortable queen bed, a desk, a safe for our computer & jewelry. Internet access from the room was good. Maid service was excellent, even a turn down service in the evening (included a bottle of water left and closed curtains for us). Does not have a small fridge if that is what you need (we didn't). Would be nice if had an exhaust fan in bathroom but seems like few hotel rooms do. The hotel is definitely on the upscale side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
St Louis, MO
Jul 23, 2010

Met all of our expectations

Convention Center was in walking distance. The room was very adequate with a comfortable queen bed, a desk, a safe for our computer & jewelry. Internet access from the room was good. Maid service was excellent, even a turn down service in the evening (included a bottle of water left and closed curtains for us). Does not have a small fridge if that is what you need (we didn't). Would be nice if had an exhaust fan in bathroom but seems like few hotel rooms do. The hotel is definitely on the upscale side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Radford, VA
Jul 19, 2010

Off street entrance makes check-in easy!

I would have given this a 5 star rating, but the rooms were not very insulated from outside noise. Plus, we were looking forward to being able to sleep in a little bit as check out was not until noon, but we were awoken at 7:30 a.m. to the noise of drills, hammers, etc. from remodeling the rooms near us. THAT WAS VERY DISAPPOINTING. I think the staff should have warned us that this could happen and have left us to make a decision as to where in the hotel we would have liked to stay. We would stay again though,it is a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

We were there to attend a World Team Tennis match and it was less than a 10 minute cab ride to the City Center. Pennsylvania Ave and many of the museums are very close by.

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Radford, VA
Jul 19, 2010

Off street entrance makes check-in easy!

I would have given this a 5 star rating, but the rooms were not very insulated from outside noise. Plus, we were looking forward to being able to sleep in a little bit as check out was not until noon, but we were awoken at 7:30 a.m. to the noise of drills, hammers, etc. from remodeling the rooms near us. THAT WAS VERY DISAPPOINTING. I think the staff should have warned us that this could happen and have left us to make a decision as to where in the hotel we would have liked to stay. We would stay again though,it is a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

We were there to attend a World Team Tennis match and it was less than a 10 minute cab ride to the City Center. Pennsylvania Ave and many of the museums are very close by.

Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
oxus
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 17, 2010

Greate place to stay

Greate location, greate pool, friendly personal

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top