$91 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 30, 2015 Check-out: Jan 31, 2015

Washington Court Hotel

4 stars
525 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
470 reviews
Trip

hotel was in a good location . Not far from main attractions . Toom We're decente and clean. Very... See full review

  • Rose B.
  • Jan 20, 2015
Amazibg trip and hotel

Hotel was clean, staff were nice, amazing service. Will definitely go back! See full review

  • DC.486
  • Jan 15, 2015
A chic, conveniently located D.C. hotel with views of the U.S. Capitol.

The glass entrance opens into a grand lobby filled with rich red and maroon hues, dark wood and natural light. The hotel is two blocks from Union Station's shopping, dining and transportation, three blocks from the U.S. Capitol, and a 10-minute walk from the National Mall. Rooms feature trendy decor, an ergonomic workspace, Italian marble bathrooms, and views of the Capitol, the Washington skyline, or the hotel's glass atrium. Stop by the hotel's Federal City Bar to grab a drink and some tasty bar fare or head to Bistro 525 for a more formal meal.

Highlights
  • Located near Union Station, the U.S. Capitol and the National Mall
  • Views of the U.S. Capitol from many rooms
  • More than 18,000 square feet of function space
  • High-speed Internet (costs $10.99 USD per 24 hours)
Location

The hotel is conveniently located between downtown D.C. and Capitol Hill. It is steps from Union Station shopping, dining, Metro and Amtrak. The U.S. Capitol is three blocks away. All rooms have high-speed Internet (fees apply).

Rooms

Spacious, chic rooms and suites have views of the U.S. Capitol, the Washington skyline or the hotel's glass atrium. An ergonomic chair and desk, along with high-speed Internet access (fees apply) provide guests with a healthy workspace. Modern art, LCD televisions, modern furniture and marble bathrooms contribute to the comfortable and stylish accommodations. Business travelers appreciate the two-line phones and daily newspapers.

Features

The location near downtown D.C. and tourist attractions draws business and leisure travelers. Guests appreciate the large spaces and natural lighting not always found in the city. Play a game of billiards at the on-site Federal City Bar, the perfect spot to go for happy hour and pub fare. Bistro 525 offers breakfast, lunch and dinner in a more formal setting. The fitness center has plenty of cardio equipment and weights.

Transportation
  • Union Station Metro and Train (9 minutes walking)
  • Reagan National Airport (15 minutes)
  • Dulles Washington International Airport (45 minutes)
Attractions
  • Union Station (0.3 mi/ 0.48 km)
  • U.S. Capitol (0.4 mi/ 0.64 km)
  • National Building Museum (0.4 mi/ 0.64 km)
  • Verizon Center (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Newseum (.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • U.S. Botanical Garden (.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • International Spy Museum (0.7 mi/ 1.13 km)
Business
  • Business center (fees apply)
  • More than 18,000 square feet of business space
  • Up-to-date audiovisual equipment
  • Two-line phones

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Washington Court Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Washington Court Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
Newly remodeled and beautifully appointed spacious guestroom with a King bed and spectacular views of the US Capitol Building (on request only), Washington sky line or the hotel's inner glass atrium. Room features a small sitting area with lounge chair & ottoman, comfortable workspace with an executive desk, high-speed Internet access and two-line telephone and an entertainment center with cable television with on-demand movies and games. There is a luxurious, oversized Italian marble bathroom with brass appointments, and another two-line telephone.
Deluxe Double Room
Newly remodeled and beautifully appointed spacious guestroom with two double beds and spectacular views of the US Capitol Building (on request only), Washington sky line or the hotel's inner glass atrium. Room features a small sitting area with lounge chair & ottoman, comfortable workspace with an executive desk, high-speed Internet access and two-line telephone and an entertainment center with cable television with on-demand movies and games. There is a luxurious, oversized Italian marble bathroom with brass appointments, and another two-line telephone.
Executive Room
Newly remodeled with spectacular upgraded decor that features a King bed; spacious sitting area with sofa; lounge chair and ottoman; book collection and other personal touches and an entertainment center with 27inches cable television with on-demand movies and games. Business travelers will enjoy a comfortable work space with an executive desk with high-speed internet access and a two-line telephone. Luxurious and expansive Italian marble bath with brass appointments; and another two-line telephone. Considered our top-of-the-line non-suite accommodations with many featuring breathtaking views of the US Capitol Building. Smoking rooms available upon request. 425 Square feet.
Deluxe Queen
321 square foot elegantly appointed guest room with one Queen bed; comfortable work space with an executive desk; high-speed internet access and two-line telephone and an entertainment center with 37 inch LCD television with on-demand movies and games. Luxurious, Italian marble bathroom.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • National Postal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Union Station: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.3 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.4 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Union Station: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.3 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.4 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.6 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • National Archives: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • National Mall: 0.7 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.9 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 1 mi
  • National Theatre: 1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.1 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
With more than 18,000 square feet of flexible function space, The Washington Court Hotel is the most "meeting friendly" independent luxury hotel on Capital Hill. The hotel has served as the site of some of the city's most memorable business meetings and social occasions. The hotel's largest ballroom graciously accommodates up to 550 guests, and its meeting space is easily configured for up to eighteen breakout rooms. Additional gathering-related features include two executive boardrooms, the sky-lit Atrium Ballroom (perfect for special occasions), state-of-the-art A/V services, and exquisite cuisine and invaluable assistance from a dedicated team of experienced meeting professionals. No matter what the gathering, you will be "The Top of the Hill" at the Washington Court Hotel.

Dining

Federal City Bar
The Federal City Bar is the premiere place to unwind with a refreshing beverage, a fine cigar, a game of billiards, and the company of friends (old and new), in addition to exceptional service. The Federal City Bar features all your favorite cocktails, fine wines (by the bottle or glass), domestic and imported beers, and a vast assortment of classic martinis. The adjacent Club Room offers a smoker-friendly environment, with an extensive collection of premium cigars and top-quality billiards equipment. The Federal City Bar...where good nights are made on Capitol Hill.
Bistro 525
The Bistro 525 is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner - seven days a week. This distinctive dining establishment offers a variety of settings...from the "open" surroundings of the atrium lobby...to a more intimate, private area in the main dining room. Regardless of their seating preference, guests of the Bistro 525 enjoy exceptional cuisine and professional, attentive service. In the morning, choose a light continental breakfast, an extravagant omelet, or anything in between. At lunch, our weekday buffet offers a fast, fresh, and affordable option for people "on the go" (in addition to our customary luncheon menu). The dinner menu features a variety of steaks, seafood, pasta, and more...all skillfully prepared with the freshest, finest ingredients.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (470)

Ratings and reviews for Washington Court Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
143 out of 470
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Susinovoa91
Business
virginia beach, va
Mar 26, 2012

Not satisfied

Was supposed to check in @ 4:00, got there at 4:50 to let me know the room "wasnt ready". I had to wait till 6pm! Not to mention the lady had a bad attitude! It was a surprise for my significant other, so i had to tell him that we were in Washington DC (we drove from Virginia), blind folded the whole trip... so basically my surprise was ruined plus it was raining. Oh and the valet parking people that are supposed to help you with your bags, NO...they never appeared or even opened the door for us. Once i got to my room, i was dissapointed at the views. I'd called to make sure i get a room with a good view (city view or capitol view) they had assured me i'd get it and NO. my view was the top of a roof and a tall building, i couldnt even see the street. Not fun at all. Not worth what i paid AT ALL!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travelin' Momma
Business
Baltimore, MD
Mar 22, 2010

Not all it should have been

My husband and I take weekends away from the kids in DC every couple months so we are relatively frequent hotel guests. When we checked in, it was pretty easy and efficient and the property is really nice looking. In our room, the counter in the bathroom by the sink had rings and had obviously not been wiped down. Other than that, the room was clean and in nice shape. We had a wonderful restful evening but checking out the next day really ruined the experience for us. When checking out, there was some woman complaining about housekeeping disturbing her to the front desk staff. We stood there for at least 15 minutes while all 3 desk clerks dealt with the looney chick who would not stop complaining. The line waiting to check out grew to several guests and the desk clerks made no effort to help anyone else until those of us on line started speaking over the idiot complaining lady and voicing our impatience. When my husband and I finally were helped by a clerk, we told the female desk clerk that we were unhappy that we had to wait 15 minutes to check out and that it seemed all three clerks didn't need to deal with one guest while leaving a line of people waiting. She made the lame excuse "Well he (the other clerk) was using my computer" and then scratched behind her ear with her middle finger. Yea, same to you Washington Court Hotel. They don't deserve 4 stars. We won't be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stoneham, MA
Apr 26, 2010

Be sure to take jumping cables with you!

Car battery jumping cables that is. Except a very convenient location unfortunately I can't say anything good about this hotel. On arrival we did not get the room which we booked. We wanted a room with 2 beds but we got one. When complained about it the manager on duty simply said that what we booked on line and pre-paid was not promised. When we wanted to move to another hotel because of that, this hotel would not give us our money back. When leaving the hotel our car could not start - the battery was dead. Parking the car the valet must have left the door open or a light on inside. The hotel had some kind of battery to attempt restarting of our car but it was not charged so it did not work and they did not have any jumping cables. I was asking hotel guests and finally found someone who had jumping cables and was willing to help us. Because of that we were delayed over 2 hours on our final day and we could not see anything planned as we could not stop our car that soon with its empty battery. Immediately on our return home I went to have the battery evaluated and it needed to be replaced. I sent the bill and complaint letter by email to the hotel. I resent it 4 times as well as once by postal service with confirm receipt and so far, a month later, I did not get any response from the hotel. There were also other problems though minor and not worth mentioning here. So if you still want to stay there be sure to take your car battery jumping cables with you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

The Monuments by night tour was great!!! The double-decker sightseeing tour not worth the money. Most of the time is spent at stops on tickets sale.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travelin'Woman
Business
Wasingont, DC
May 10, 2013

Didn't get what I paid for!

Surly reception when we checked in, lack of amenities, and mold in the bathtub combined to make this hotel, coming in at a little less then $400, a huge disappointment and a terrible "deal". When our reservation wasn't found, the reception desk made it seem like we were trying to get aWay with something, and gave no information until they passed over our keys after 25 minutes. I don't expect a bargain in DC, but I do expect what I pay for, and I didn't get it this time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Washington Rob
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 2, 2014

Great Location from Union Station- Not so great rooms

Pros- Location to Capital & Union Station. Excellent lobby Cons- Far from most major museums Rooms are outdated and run down. 10 internet fee, 46 dollars for parking, no free coffee. Low Water pressure, AC broken, wood door for wallway room. Suggestion: WCH should spend less on the lobby and more on the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maine
Nov 1, 2010

Disappointment!

We arrived at the Washington Court around 2 pm and were told that our room would be available in 45 minutes. We were told to sit in the lobby with our bags until then. After an hour, we started asking every 15 minutes for our room and were always told it was almost ready. Finally at 4:30, after a call from our cell phone to the hotel management, we got a key to a room. We would have happily adjusted to the wait if we had been treated with an apology and assistance with bag storage so that we could have left for a while. That was just the beginning. We were disappointed to find that our "KING DELUXE" room was on the 3rd floor (the beginning of the hotel room floors) with a view of an airshaft. We'd hate to see what a non-deluxe room looks like. The bathroom was spacious but lacked soap and glasses, and the shower was impossible to regulate (for temperature). THe final blow was before we left on Sunday night for the airport....we ate a light meal in the hotel and 6 hours later (on the plane), my husband had a violent attack of food poisoning (from a crab soup, we are sure!@) and spent the next 24 hours vomiting, etc....including on the airplane. The location is great, especially for mall events, but we cannot discount the details listed above. We will not be returning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great place for walking to the capitol, national mall, or Union Station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sight seer
Business
Rogers
Nov 7, 2010

Dissatisfied

The hotel was Not as advertised! There are no smoking rooms...not even "on request" like their website proclaimed. There was also Not "oversized marble bath, comfortable working are or a small sitting area with lounge chair and ottoman." Our room; in fact, had one office chair and that was all. Also, internet access is available, but only for a price. In addition, the hotel advertised, "unwind with a refreshing beverage, a fine cigar, a game of billards..." Unfortunatly, the billards table was a disaster and there was no place to purchase or enjoy a fine cigar. Unless you felt like sitting outside on a bench. Finally, reserving a room in advance means nothing. You will be put in whatever space is available. We reserved a King room, but were not given a king room. When we informed the desk of the problem, no action was taken. The Only good things we can share is that the door men where very nice, and the hotel was close to the things we wanted to see while visiting DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go tho Union Station for your meals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chattanooga, TN
Jun 30, 2010

Good location

This was a combination business/pleasure trip. I liked the convenient location -- about 2 blocks from Union Station and 4 blocks from the US Capitol and The Mall. When we travel the hotel is basically a place to sleep & eat breakfast. We look for something clean and convenient more than luxury and amenities. We didn't miss not having a pool, but you might if you're traveling with kids. Also, if you're trying to be thrifty, especially with kids, walk the 2 blocks to the food court in Union Station for breakfast and/or lunch. (However, I loved the French Toast at breakfast and pork chop I had the evening we ate dinner at the hotel restaurant!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The regular tour of the US Capitol was disappointing; you only see 2 rooms -- the dome & the hall of statues -- and are ushered through like a herd of cattle (one herd of many in the same room!). Plan ahead: contact your representative to request a staff-led tour and to reserve tickets for the gallery of the House or Senate if they are in session. You'll have a much more satisfying and educational experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, Ga
Nov 29, 2010

Nothing to write home about

The hotel itself was nice but there were a few things that I didn't like. The parking situation was ridiculous! To park with the hotel was $43 per day, the garages in the area were $40 or more for overnight. There is street parking in front of the hotel but be prepared to wake up at 6:30 am to put $10 worth of change (which only covers about 3hrs) in the meter to avoid getting one or more $25 parking tickets. The other thing I didn't like was the fact that there was no microwave available for guest use, though the bartender was nice enough to go to the back and heat our food once. On a positive note the staff was very friendly and the rooms were clean and spacious and the bed was comfortable. The location of the hotel was a good and convenient one, especially if you want be in the downtown area. Overall, I would not stay here again only because I feel like I could receive the same for a least expensive amount.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Guy who goes places
Business
Richmond, va
Dec 26, 2013

Good room good price

It was a good sized room nice condition. Bathroom was a little older. Great location. No option for self parking on site of hotel. Expensive valet or park away from hotel in downtown DC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Verizon center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top