$96 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Washington Court Hotel

4 stars
525 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
458 reviews
Awesome

It was a great experience overall. Awesome hotel, awesome amenities, clean, and great staff. See full review

  • Kash
  • Dec 20, 2014
Nice place

It was a nice place. Got a very cheap price during the Thanksgiving. See full review

  • Nealds007
  • Dec 8, 2014
A chic, conveniently located D.C. hotel with views of the U.S. Capitol.

The glass entrance opens into a grand lobby filled with rich red and maroon hues, dark wood and natural light. The hotel is two blocks from Union Station's shopping, dining and transportation, three blocks from the U.S. Capitol, and a 10-minute walk from the National Mall. Rooms feature trendy decor, an ergonomic workspace, Italian marble bathrooms, and views of the Capitol, the Washington skyline, or the hotel's glass atrium. Stop by the hotel's Federal City Bar to grab a drink and some tasty bar fare or head to Bistro 525 for a more formal meal.

Highlights
  • Located near Union Station, the U.S. Capitol and the National Mall
  • Views of the U.S. Capitol from many rooms
  • More than 18,000 square feet of function space
  • High-speed Internet (costs $10.99 USD per 24 hours)
Location

The hotel is conveniently located between downtown D.C. and Capitol Hill. It is steps from Union Station shopping, dining, Metro and Amtrak. The U.S. Capitol is three blocks away. All rooms have high-speed Internet (fees apply).

Rooms

Spacious, chic rooms and suites have views of the U.S. Capitol, the Washington skyline or the hotel's glass atrium. An ergonomic chair and desk, along with high-speed Internet access (fees apply) provide guests with a healthy workspace. Modern art, LCD televisions, modern furniture and marble bathrooms contribute to the comfortable and stylish accommodations. Business travelers appreciate the two-line phones and daily newspapers.

Features

The location near downtown D.C. and tourist attractions draws business and leisure travelers. Guests appreciate the large spaces and natural lighting not always found in the city. Play a game of billiards at the on-site Federal City Bar, the perfect spot to go for happy hour and pub fare. Bistro 525 offers breakfast, lunch and dinner in a more formal setting. The fitness center has plenty of cardio equipment and weights.

Transportation
  • Union Station Metro and Train (9 minutes walking)
  • Reagan National Airport (15 minutes)
  • Dulles Washington International Airport (45 minutes)
Attractions
  • Union Station (0.3 mi/ 0.48 km)
  • U.S. Capitol (0.4 mi/ 0.64 km)
  • National Building Museum (0.4 mi/ 0.64 km)
  • Verizon Center (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Newseum (.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • U.S. Botanical Garden (.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • International Spy Museum (0.7 mi/ 1.13 km)
Business
  • Business center (fees apply)
  • More than 18,000 square feet of business space
  • Up-to-date audiovisual equipment
  • Two-line phones

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Washington Court Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Washington Court Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double Room
Newly remodeled and beautifully appointed spacious guestroom with two double beds and spectacular views of the US Capitol Building (on request only), Washington sky line or the hotel's inner glass atrium. Room features a small sitting area with lounge chair & ottoman, comfortable workspace with an executive desk, high-speed Internet access and two-line telephone and an entertainment center with cable television with on-demand movies and games. There is a luxurious, oversized Italian marble bathroom with brass appointments, and another two-line telephone. Smoking rooms are available on request.
Executive Room
Newly remodeled with spectacular upgraded decor that features a King bed; spacious sitting area with sofa; lounge chair and ottoman; book collection and other personal touches and an entertainment center with 27inches cable television with on-demand movies and games. Business travelers will enjoy a comfortable work space with an executive desk with high-speed internet access and a two-line telephone. Luxurious and expansive Italian marble bath with brass appointments; and another two-line telephone. Considered our top-of-the-line non suite accommodations with many featuring breathtaking views of the US Capitol Building. Smoking rooms available upon request. 425 Square feet.
Deluxe Room
Newly remodeled and beautifully appointed spacious guestroom with a King bed and spectacular views of the US Capitol Building (on request only), Washington sky line or the hotel's inner glass atrium. Room features a small sitting area with lounge chair & ottoman, comfortable workspace with an executive desk, high-speed Internet access and two-line telephone and an entertainment center with cable television with on-demand movies and games. There is a luxurious, oversized Italian marble bathroom with brass appointments, and another two-line telephone. Smoking rooms are available on request.
Deluxe Queen
321 square foot elegantly appointed guest room with one Queen bed; comfortable work space with an executive desk; high-speed internet access and two-line telephone and an entertainment center with 37 inch LCD television with on-demand movies and games. Luxurious, Italian marble bathroom.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • National Postal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Union Station: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.3 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.4 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Union Station: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.3 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.4 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.6 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • National Archives: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • National Mall: 0.7 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.9 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 1 mi
  • National Theatre: 1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.1 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi

Dining

Federal City Bar
The Federal City Bar is the premiere place to unwind with a refreshing beverage, a fine cigar, a game of billiards, and the company of friends (old and new), in addition to exceptional service. The Federal City Bar features all your favorite cocktails, fine wines (by the bottle or glass), domestic and imported beers, and a vast assortment of classic martinis. The adjacent Club Room offers a smoker-friendly environment, with an extensive collection of premium cigars and top-quality billiards equipment. The Federal City Bar...where good nights are made on Capitol Hill.
Bistro 525
The Bistro 525 is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner - seven days a week. This distinctive dining establishment offers a variety of settings...from the "open" surroundings of the atrium lobby...to a more intimate, private area in the main dining room. Regardless of their seating preference, guests of the Bistro 525 enjoy exceptional cuisine and professional, attentive service. In the morning, choose a light continental breakfast, an extravagant omelet, or anything in between. At lunch, our weekday buffet offers a fast, fresh, and affordable option for people "on the go" (in addition to our customary luncheon menu). The dinner menu features a variety of steaks, seafood, pasta, and more...all skillfully prepared with the freshest, finest ingredients.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
With more than 18,000 square feet of flexible function space, The Washington Court Hotel is the most "meeting friendly" independent luxury hotel on Capital Hill. The hotel has served as the site of some of the city's most memorable business meetings and social occasions. The hotel's largest ballroom graciously accommodates up to 550 guests, and its meeting space is easily configured for up to eighteen breakout rooms. Additional gathering-related features include two executive boardrooms, the sky-lit Atrium Ballroom (perfect for special occasions), state-of-the-art A/V services, and exquisite cuisine and invaluable assistance from a dedicated team of experienced meeting professionals. No matter what the gathering, you will be "The Top of the Hill" at the Washington Court Hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (458)

Ratings and reviews for Washington Court Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
458 out of 458
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Aug 18, 2009

Great location for touring

My husband and i drove to Washington, DC for the first time and found the hotel location to be perfect. We stayed for 2 nights to enjoy sight seeing/touring. If you are driving to DC, please note that parking regulations cease at around 6:30pm or 7pm Friday night through Saturday and Sunday. If you arrive early on Friday you will need to feed the meter (There is only a two hour parking limit). There are other locations where you can park your car but it may be a little pricey for a day. Since we arrived early on Friday like at 1pm we left our car with the hotel for about 6 hours and they gave us a discount where we only paid $18 dollars as opposed $24:) Our check in was at 4pm and we were able to check in once we arrived to drop off our things which was another plus:)After we picked up the car and the parking regulations were no longer in effect we found a parking spot right in front of the hotel. The hotel was very close to various locations. We were two blocks away from Union Station where there are many shops and places to eat. It was also a walking distance from Capitol Hill where we started our tour through "The Mall". The staff were very friendly at the hotel and the rooms were very nice and clean. After our long walk however it would have been nice to relax by a pool which this hotel did not have. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to tour the Museums. All museums are free on the Mall. You can also go to Union station were you will find quick bites or dinner as well as shopping (clothes, Jewelry, shoes etc). The National Zoo was very nice but you will need to drive about 17 minutes from the Hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
El Hippopotamus
Business
Detroit, MI
Aug 19, 2010

Decent Hotel Close to the Capitol

My stay at the Washington Court Hotel was a decent experience. The rooms were clean and newly renovated. Comfy bed with a view of the Capitol building. Some things to note though. First, the plumbing has some quirks. The showers will lose pressure a few times while taking a shower. No temperature change, just the pressure. Also, make sure you've printed everything you need to before leaving home. Their "business center" charges for computer time ($10 for 10 minutes!) and to print! Definitely a shocker after staying mostly at Courtyard by Marriot hotels where this is free. The other weird thing was the flat screen HD TV's in the rooms. They're HD but all the channels are analog (not HD). So, overall a decent hotel with a pretty good location, 2 blocks from Union Station (the Metro subway is excellent and a real time saver) and 3 blocks from the Capitol. Note that the entrance to Union Station and the nearby Postal museum seems to be a hang-out for the area homeless after dark. Nobody gave me any problems but it's something to be aware of if you're traveling alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Visit the memorials in Washington after dark. It's a totally different experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Liz Weekend Traveler
Business
New York
Apr 12, 2010

Overnight Stay

The location of this hotel was great for our stay. Walking distance from the Capitol and Naitional Mall, Starbucks accross the street, restaurants within walking distance. We only stayed overnight and the accomodations were average. We arrived early and were greeted by friendly staff who quickly helped us check our bags and took care of parking our car. The overnight parking was $34 and convienent for us - they do allow for in and out if need be. We were able to pre-register for our room so that it would be ready after the check-in time of 4pm. At registration we were advised that our reservation was for 1 king bed listing 2 adults which was not the case. [...]This turned out not to be a problem and we did in fact get the appropriate room. The room was adequate & clean, however the bed side lights were not in working order. The in room coffee machine may have been useful if cups were provided. All in all was worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Juan, PR
Jul 9, 2009

Not as good as expected

Even though we paid in advance, upon registration we were told our room was only for 1 night and next day we would have to move to another room. Hotel didn't offer anything for the incovenience of having to pack again next day even though we asked. The concierge was not very helpful when asked for information about places to eat and other general information. There is no pool and no free wireless internet anywhere in the hotel. For the cost and this being a luxury hotel I sure expected better service and amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CollegeKid1234
Business
Chapel Hill, NC
Jul 27, 2014

Works if you don't want wifi

I will say right off the bat that there is NO wifi in the rooms. This is a HUGE draw back and no only that but they tell you there is complementary wifi while reserving, which is misleading because that is only in the lobby. This hotel would have been great expect for the fact they mislead you and then on top of that they have THE WORST staff at the reception desk. Everyone else is very nice but the reception staff are just awful. Everything else was great expect for the hotel staff and misleading wifi advertising.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AngiedAngel
Business
Indonesia
Aug 13, 2014

Ok for value

Nice hotel in a good location. Close walking distance to Capitol Hill, can walk to national mall center, but a little far. Very basic amenities for this type of hotel. No room slippers available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carolartbeat
Business
Nyc
Aug 30, 2014

Needs tweaking

Can't beat location for proximity to National Gallery. But air conditioner didn't work nor did Keurig coffee maker and restaurant was closed. I was prepared for it to be my new favorite in DC, but needs work. Also they charge for wi-fi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Real near Union Station

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
urbanexplorer
Business
new york, ny
Oct 6, 2014

free upgrade

expensive parking probably not worth it. OK location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 20, 2007

A great place to be close to the capitol

The Washington Court Hotel was a very comfortable place to stay at. The pillows and mattress was super soft and fluffy. Dining wise, I had to walk to the Metro station (there's a mall within) to get some good food which is only 10 min away by foot. Food around the hotel was so-so. The staff were moody bunch of people. Especially at the front desk. I asked simple questions like where is the Metro station and there was attitude along with the answer. I also called ahead of time to get directions from the airport to the hotel and were also given some attitude (as if the question was a pain to answer). Overall, I would recommend this hotel only for the view and comfortableness. If you have no tolerance for rudeness than this is definitely not the place to stay. It was way too pricey for service that was shabby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a shopping center in the Metro station. There is a pretty good food court within and a variety of stores ranging from miscellaneous items (souvenirs) to clothes and such. Corner bakery was my favorite!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Aug 8, 2007

Better choices nearby

The Washington Court Hotel is within walking distance of the Metro and the Capitol/Capital Mall. It is also near a homeless shelter and soup kitchen, and my children were frightened when a man followed us making crude comments and gestures on the first morning of our trip. The room was small but pretty. It had not been cleaned very well before we arrived (there was trash on the floor under the armoir, we were there a week and the beds were made but the room was not vacuumed ever). The bathroom was a very large with a television (that was not connected to the cable outlet on the wall behind it) and a phone. The sink had a large crack in it (but it functioned). The fan did not work in the bathroom. Everytime someone took a shower, if the bathroom door was left open afterward, the smoke alarm would go off. I contacted the hotel staff about it. It must happen often because when I called the desk clerk about the alarm, the clerk immediately asked if someone had used the shower. When I explained that the fan did not work, she had maintanence call me. They promised they would come that morning and fixed the fan. It never was fixed. We had the alarm go off several times during our stay...very irritating. The restaurant in the hotel was wonderful, with excellant service and cuisine. I expected better cleanliness and service from a four star hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Starbucks is right across the street and a few blocks away at First and Constitution is the Capitol Cafe. It is mostly frequented by people working around the Capitol and was my families favorite place for breakfast and lunch. They have a wide variety of fresh buffet and deli-style choices at reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top