$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Washington Court Hotel

4 stars
View map of 525 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Washington Court Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
480 out of 480
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 1, 2010

Nice facility with inconsistent service

This is an attractive hotel that offers nice rooms at a very reasonable price. Close to Union Station and the Capitol. A number of nice restaurants within walking distance. The service leaves much to be desired, however. Not enough staff. This must be how they keep the prices so reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chris & Meagan
Business
Portsmouth, VA
Jun 23, 2009

High expectations, a little let down.

This hotel, for being what is described as a "premier 4-star luxury hotel," is quite a let down. I booked this hotel, seeing its description, and figured it was perfect for a romantic weekend getaway for me and my significant other. I was slightly mistaken. If you get nothing else out of this review, please note this... Do not get there before the 4pm check-in. You will not be helped. Or perhaps you will be rudely turned away. In either situation it is not pleasant. The registration staff is impolite and far from accommodating. The best part about this stay were the doormen. They seemed like I could ask them anything about the city they would know just where it was. They were extremely helpful and with out a doubt the most enjoyable thing about this hotel. The rooms were small, but the bathroom was massive, taking up 1/2 of the rooms space. Amenities included the basics (shampoo, soap, coffee maker, etc.). One thing that was good is their location. It's 2 blocks from Union Station and 3 from the Capitol. Everything you could need or want to go see is within walking distance / a short metro ride. All in all, I would only recommend it to those on business trips. It really didn't live up to its description.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walks to the National Mall and Union Station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Melbourne,FL
May 18, 2009

The good,the bad, and the ugly

The desk clerk was not friendly at all. I had requested a mini-fridge before we arrived and apparently it was not noted on my reservation. It didn't arrive in a timely manner so I had to call down to the front desk to remind them. The room we had was a big disappointment in that it faced the atrium and there was construction going on outside our window the whole time we were there. The doormen were friendly and very helpful. The breakfast buffet was overly priced for the quality of the food. We ordered room service one morning and the food and service were excellent. Other meals were purchased elsewhere. The location was great being so close to the Capitol and other landmarks. Don't know if I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The mall in Pengagon City is well worth the short drive from this hotel. Union Station was a bit of a disappointment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Mar 25, 2010

Good location and value

The staff was friendly however the room should have been cleaner. You could also hear a lot of noise through the doors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Family in the City
Business
New York, NY
Apr 5, 2010

Relatively new rooms, close to Union Stn

The hotel staff do not act like they are in a 4Star hotel. I checked in early and picked up my room key around 6:00pm. When I try to open the door, the key don't work. I went downstairs and the staff at the front desk checked my keys saying they should work. So I went to my room again. This time the key worked but the room was occupied! I went back to the front desk and this time they told me that they gave me the wrong keys and the wrong room number. The rooms are relatively new and clean. It's a great location if you want to be close to Union Station. There is very little choices on everything in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you know what the Power Pass or Visitng Pass covers before you purchase it online. It is not as useful as one might think. Parking is expensive in the Capital Hill hotels if you plan on driving to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 25, 2008

Very convenient.

This hotel was very convenient to the Capitol Hill area and Union Station. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were there at a slow time of year and the bar and kitchen were closed. They were only serving a buffet breakfast that was not wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Capitol, the Washington Mall and the Smithsonian are about a mile walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CollegeKid1234
Business
Chapel Hill, NC
Jul 27, 2014

Works if you don't want wifi

I will say right off the bat that there is NO wifi in the rooms. This is a HUGE draw back and no only that but they tell you there is complementary wifi while reserving, which is misleading because that is only in the lobby. This hotel would have been great expect for the fact they mislead you and then on top of that they have THE WORST staff at the reception desk. Everyone else is very nice but the reception staff are just awful. Everything else was great expect for the hotel staff and misleading wifi advertising.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AngiedAngel
Business
Indonesia
Aug 13, 2014

Ok for value

Nice hotel in a good location. Close walking distance to Capitol Hill, can walk to national mall center, but a little far. Very basic amenities for this type of hotel. No room slippers available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carolartbeat
Business
Nyc
Aug 30, 2014

Needs tweaking

Can't beat location for proximity to National Gallery. But air conditioner didn't work nor did Keurig coffee maker and restaurant was closed. I was prepared for it to be my new favorite in DC, but needs work. Also they charge for wi-fi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Real near Union Station

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
urbanexplorer
Business
new york, ny
Oct 6, 2014

free upgrade

expensive parking probably not worth it. OK location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top