$197 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 24, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

Washington Court Hotel

4 stars
View map of 525 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Washington Court Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
475 out of 475
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa
Nov 15, 2010

Parking charges are exorbitant

The hotel was quite good but i was amazed at the parking fees. The total parking fees i paid almost equal to the hotel booking fees and this was never conveyed to me during the booking by [...] or by the hotel folks.Moreover the bathroom wasn't so clean and there were bits of paper on the floor. Only good thing about the hotel was the proximity to the Capitol hill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Guy on the go
Business
Connecticut
Nov 15, 2010

Yes it was nice, but...

The location of this hotel is nice when visiting the Capitol. It is a bit of a walk to the museums on the mall, remember it is 2 miles to the Lincoln Mem. from where the hotel is located. There was no microwave or refrigerator in the room and our coffee maker was a single cup type with paper cup, not what I would consider for a 4 start hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk to Union Station provides many dining choices from fast food in the lower level to superb dining in the mezzanine

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Oct 25, 2010

Started off bad

The hotel is in a great location; however, what should have been a 15 minute trip from the airport took two hours due to google maps had us going on a one-way street. Unfortunately it took three calls to the hotel for someone to understand where we were and how we should get there. We were on the other side of New Jersey and nobody could tell us that. Not many reasonably priced restaurants around the location (Kelly's and Quizinos was good). I don't remember the parking fee being listed in the hotel information when I signed up ($43.00 overnight).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Aug 18, 2009

Great location for touring

My husband and i drove to Washington, DC for the first time and found the hotel location to be perfect. We stayed for 2 nights to enjoy sight seeing/touring. If you are driving to DC, please note that parking regulations cease at around 6:30pm or 7pm Friday night through Saturday and Sunday. If you arrive early on Friday you will need to feed the meter (There is only a two hour parking limit). There are other locations where you can park your car but it may be a little pricey for a day. Since we arrived early on Friday like at 1pm we left our car with the hotel for about 6 hours and they gave us a discount where we only paid $18 dollars as opposed $24:) Our check in was at 4pm and we were able to check in once we arrived to drop off our things which was another plus:)After we picked up the car and the parking regulations were no longer in effect we found a parking spot right in front of the hotel. The hotel was very close to various locations. We were two blocks away from Union Station where there are many shops and places to eat. It was also a walking distance from Capitol Hill where we started our tour through "The Mall". The staff were very friendly at the hotel and the rooms were very nice and clean. After our long walk however it would have been nice to relax by a pool which this hotel did not have. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to tour the Museums. All museums are free on the Mall. You can also go to Union station were you will find quick bites or dinner as well as shopping (clothes, Jewelry, shoes etc). The National Zoo was very nice but you will need to drive about 17 minutes from the Hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
El Hippopotamus
Business
Detroit, MI
Aug 19, 2010

Decent Hotel Close to the Capitol

My stay at the Washington Court Hotel was a decent experience. The rooms were clean and newly renovated. Comfy bed with a view of the Capitol building. Some things to note though. First, the plumbing has some quirks. The showers will lose pressure a few times while taking a shower. No temperature change, just the pressure. Also, make sure you've printed everything you need to before leaving home. Their "business center" charges for computer time ($10 for 10 minutes!) and to print! Definitely a shocker after staying mostly at Courtyard by Marriot hotels where this is free. The other weird thing was the flat screen HD TV's in the rooms. They're HD but all the channels are analog (not HD). So, overall a decent hotel with a pretty good location, 2 blocks from Union Station (the Metro subway is excellent and a real time saver) and 3 blocks from the Capitol. Note that the entrance to Union Station and the nearby Postal museum seems to be a hang-out for the area homeless after dark. Nobody gave me any problems but it's something to be aware of if you're traveling alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Visit the memorials in Washington after dark. It's a totally different experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
smoothfur
Business
Alabama
Jun 7, 2009

Great location

Unfortunately we found out that a Parlor Room - 1 sofa bed is exactly that, no bed, just a sofa bed. They upgraded us to a Queen Size bed, but the room was extremely small so I had to pay an extra $223.00 (including tax)over and above the room rate agreed to for a room with a king sized bed (They call it an Executive King). The room was nice, but the maid service was not very good they did not dust or vacuum and more often than not they did not replenish the toiletries or the coffee,tea, or cups in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 14, 2007

My review of Washington Court Hotel

Terrific location right in the heart of DC. Easy walk to restaurants and attractions. The only negative we encountered was at check-in where we learned that the two rooms we booked were 9 floors apart and a somewhat surly clerk basically told us to take it or leave it. Our experience with everyone else in the hotel was more than positive. We will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Juan, PR
Jul 9, 2009

Not as good as expected

Even though we paid in advance, upon registration we were told our room was only for 1 night and next day we would have to move to another room. Hotel didn't offer anything for the incovenience of having to pack again next day even though we asked. The concierge was not very helpful when asked for information about places to eat and other general information. There is no pool and no free wireless internet anywhere in the hotel. For the cost and this being a luxury hotel I sure expected better service and amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Liz Weekend Traveler
Business
New York
Apr 12, 2010

Overnight Stay

The location of this hotel was great for our stay. Walking distance from the Capitol and Naitional Mall, Starbucks accross the street, restaurants within walking distance. We only stayed overnight and the accomodations were average. We arrived early and were greeted by friendly staff who quickly helped us check our bags and took care of parking our car. The overnight parking was $34 and convienent for us - they do allow for in and out if need be. We were able to pre-register for our room so that it would be ready after the check-in time of 4pm. At registration we were advised that our reservation was for 1 king bed listing 2 adults which was not the case. [...]This turned out not to be a problem and we did in fact get the appropriate room. The room was adequate & clean, however the bed side lights were not in working order. The in room coffee machine may have been useful if cups were provided. All in all was worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 1, 2010

Nice facility with inconsistent service

This is an attractive hotel that offers nice rooms at a very reasonable price. Close to Union Station and the Capitol. A number of nice restaurants within walking distance. The service leaves much to be desired, however. Not enough staff. This must be how they keep the prices so reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top