$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 5, 2014

Washington Court Hotel

4 stars
525 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
441 reviews
Great room

Staff was very helpful and nice. Rooms were clean and very nice . Great location up the block from... See full review

  • Qb finest
  • Aug 25, 2014
Family Overnight

Wonderful experience! Very friendly staff, clean, great service. They even agreed to allow us to... See full review

  • The G Clan
  • Aug 17, 2014
A chic, conveniently located D.C. hotel with views of the U.S. Capitol.

The glass entrance opens into a grand lobby filled with rich red and maroon hues, dark wood and natural light. The hotel is two blocks from Union Station's shopping, dining and transportation, three blocks from the U.S. Capitol, and a 10-minute walk from the National Mall. Rooms feature trendy decor, an ergonomic workspace, Italian marble bathrooms, and views of the Capitol, the Washington skyline, or the hotel's glass atrium. Stop by the hotel's Federal City Bar to grab a drink and some tasty bar fare or head to Bistro 525 for a more formal meal.

Highlights
  • Located near Union Station, the U.S. Capitol and the National Mall
  • Views of the U.S. Capitol from many rooms
  • More than 18,000 square feet of function space
  • High-speed Internet (costs $10.99 USD per 24 hours)
Location

The hotel is conveniently located between downtown D.C. and Capitol Hill. It is steps from Union Station shopping, dining, Metro and Amtrak. The U.S. Capitol is three blocks away. All rooms have high-speed Internet (fees apply).

Rooms

Spacious, chic rooms and suites have views of the U.S. Capitol, the Washington skyline or the hotel's glass atrium. An ergonomic chair and desk, along with high-speed Internet access (fees apply) provide guests with a healthy workspace. Modern art, LCD televisions, modern furniture and marble bathrooms contribute to the comfortable and stylish accommodations. Business travelers appreciate the two-line phones and daily newspapers.

Features

The location near downtown D.C. and tourist attractions draws business and leisure travelers. Guests appreciate the large spaces and natural lighting not always found in the city. Play a game of billiards at the on-site Federal City Bar, the perfect spot to go for happy hour and pub fare. Bistro 525 offers breakfast, lunch and dinner in a more formal setting. The fitness center has plenty of cardio equipment and weights.

Transportation
  • Union Station Metro and Train (9 minutes walking)
  • Reagan National Airport (15 minutes)
  • Dulles Washington International Airport (45 minutes)
Attractions
  • Union Station (0.3 mi/ 0.48 km)
  • U.S. Capitol (0.4 mi/ 0.64 km)
  • National Building Museum (0.4 mi/ 0.64 km)
  • Verizon Center (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Newseum (.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • U.S. Botanical Garden (.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • International Spy Museum (0.7 mi/ 1.13 km)
Business
  • Business center (fees apply)
  • More than 18,000 square feet of business space
  • Up-to-date audiovisual equipment
  • Two-line phones

Hotel Map

38.8968 -77.0112
Area served
Washington, D.C.
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport Washington Dulles International Airport
Area description
The Washington Court Hotel is located in the distinctive Capitol Hill neighborhood only three blocks from the U.S. Capitol Building and 2 blocks from historic Union Station. Within a five-minute walk from the hotel is the U.S. Capitol Building, which is part of the National Mall...home to dozens of renowned monuments and museums. Less than 2 blocks away is historic Union Station, offering an impressive variety of shopping, dining, entertainment and transportation alternatives. The proximity from Union Station, the site of Metro, Amtrak and MARC stations provides easy and affordable transit to area airports and other cities, and makes arrival, departure and sight-seeing virtually hassle-free.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Washington Court Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Washington Court Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double Room
Newly remodeled and beautifully appointed spacious guestroom with two double beds and spectacular views of the US Capitol Building (on request only), Washington sky line or the hotel's inner glass atrium. Room features a small sitting area with lounge chair & ottoman, comfortable workspace with an executive desk, high-speed Internet access and two-line telephone and an entertainment center with cable television with on-demand movies and games. There is a luxurious, oversized Italian marble bathroom with brass appointments, and another two-line telephone. Smoking rooms are available on request.
Executive Room
Newly remodeled with spectacular upgraded decor that features a King bed; spacious sitting area with sofa; lounge chair and ottoman; book collection and other personal touches and an entertainment center with 27inches cable television with on-demand movies and games. Business travelers will enjoy a comfortable work space with an executive desk with high-speed internet access and a two-line telephone. Luxurious and expansive Italian marble bath with brass appointments; and another two-line telephone. Considered our top-of-the-line non suite accommodations with many featuring breathtaking views of the US Capitol Building. Smoking rooms available upon request. 425 Square feet.
Deluxe Room
Newly remodeled and beautifully appointed spacious guestroom with a King bed and spectacular views of the US Capitol Building (on request only), Washington sky line or the hotel's inner glass atrium. Room features a small sitting area with lounge chair & ottoman, comfortable workspace with an executive desk, high-speed Internet access and two-line telephone and an entertainment center with cable television with on-demand movies and games. There is a luxurious, oversized Italian marble bathroom with brass appointments, and another two-line telephone. Smoking rooms are available on request.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • National Postal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Union Station: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.3 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.4 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Union Station: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.3 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.4 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.6 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • National Archives: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • National Mall: 0.7 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.9 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 1 mi
  • National Theatre: 1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.1 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi

Dining

Federal City Bar
The Federal City Bar is the premiere place to unwind with a refreshing beverage, a fine cigar, a game of billiards, and the company of friends (old and new), in addition to exceptional service. The Federal City Bar features all your favorite cocktails, fine wines (by the bottle or glass), domestic and imported beers, and a vast assortment of classic martinis. The adjacent Club Room offers a smoker-friendly environment, with an extensive collection of premium cigars and top-quality billiards equipment. The Federal City Bar...where good nights are made on Capitol Hill.
Bistro 525
The Bistro 525 is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner - seven days a week. This distinctive dining establishment offers a variety of settings...from the "open" surroundings of the atrium lobby...to a more intimate, private area in the main dining room. Regardless of their seating preference, guests of the Bistro 525 enjoy exceptional cuisine and professional, attentive service. In the morning, choose a light continental breakfast, an extravagant omelet, or anything in between. At lunch, our weekday buffet offers a fast, fresh, and affordable option for people "on the go" (in addition to our customary luncheon menu). The dinner menu features a variety of steaks, seafood, pasta, and more...all skillfully prepared with the freshest, finest ingredients.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
With more than 18,000 square feet of flexible function space, The Washington Court Hotel is the most "meeting friendly" independent luxury hotel on Capital Hill. The hotel has served as the site of some of the city's most memorable business meetings and social occasions. The hotel's largest ballroom graciously accommodates up to 550 guests, and its meeting space is easily configured for up to eighteen breakout rooms. Additional gathering-related features include two executive boardrooms, the sky-lit Atrium Ballroom (perfect for special occasions), state-of-the-art A/V services, and exquisite cuisine and invaluable assistance from a dedicated team of experienced meeting professionals. No matter what the gathering, you will be "The Top of the Hill" at the Washington Court Hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (441)

Ratings and reviews for Washington Court Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
441 out of 441
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lorrin
Los Angles
Mar 30, 2013

Close to Union Station has some visitor advantages, some disadvantages

Not having been to Washington DC in 25 years, I wasn't sure what the best location would be for a Spring break vacation with our grandson. I chose the Washington Court because it is close to Union Station and the Capitol building (and related congressional buildings plus the Supreme Court & Library of Congress). The Union Station location was good because we picked up our hop on/hop off tour there. Although we planned to use the subway, we never did but Union Station would have been good for that too. We didn't have time to visit all the nearby sites we had planned to visit but our Union Station location did not appear to be the best with respect to being close to many of DC's visitor attractions. I don't think it's a big deal if you're using a tour or the subway but it's out of the way for a lot of walking. There don't appear to be a lot of nearby restaurants either. The staff was great. Friendly, competent. The room was ok. Reasonably spacious and well appointed. The bathtub had a big repaired ding in it and the drain was very slow. The breakfast buffet was ok but nothing special. The room cost was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Interactive Flight Simulator ride at the Air & Space Museum is great for the kids. We have the non-interactive simulator at our California Science Center in Los Angeles (which is also available at the Museum) but the interactive is much better and more popular. Hint: do not go on it right after lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gov employee on Vacation
Miami, FL
Dec 19, 2013

Great location and great value

The location of the hotel is awesome a short walk from Union Station is a plus. Union Station has a good eating options and is over 100 years old. There is also a Walmart that just open a short walk away for anything that you forgot. The Capitol and the Mall is less than a mile away. I was worried about the safety of the area because someone mentioned a homeless shelter nearby but my family felt extremely safe the whole time. The room was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a great breakfast, lunch or dinner the The Corner Bakery is awesome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Jul 12, 2009

good location and enough comfort

We took one night for rest after a concert of Elton John. A room was quiet and clean, staff was very helpful and friendly. Capitol hill was in easy walking distance, as well as Union Station. Location is the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
Aug 8, 2007

Better choices nearby

The Washington Court Hotel is within walking distance of the Metro and the Capitol/Capital Mall. It is also near a homeless shelter and soup kitchen, and my children were frightened when a man followed us making crude comments and gestures on the first morning of our trip. The room was small but pretty. It had not been cleaned very well before we arrived (there was trash on the floor under the armoir, we were there a week and the beds were made but the room was not vacuumed ever). The bathroom was a very large with a television (that was not connected to the cable outlet on the wall behind it) and a phone. The sink had a large crack in it (but it functioned). The fan did not work in the bathroom. Everytime someone took a shower, if the bathroom door was left open afterward, the smoke alarm would go off. I contacted the hotel staff about it. It must happen often because when I called the desk clerk about the alarm, the clerk immediately asked if someone had used the shower. When I explained that the fan did not work, she had maintanence call me. They promised they would come that morning and fixed the fan. It never was fixed. We had the alarm go off several times during our stay...very irritating. The restaurant in the hotel was wonderful, with excellant service and cuisine. I expected better cleanliness and service from a four star hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Starbucks is right across the street and a few blocks away at First and Constitution is the Capitol Cafe. It is mostly frequented by people working around the Capitol and was my families favorite place for breakfast and lunch. They have a wide variety of fresh buffet and deli-style choices at reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
May 25, 2009

Incredible service

I've stayed there twice - I have never met such a helpful staff. They make you feel like you're at home!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It's a great location - right next door to Union Station where you can eat, shop or pick up public transportion and the tour busses. A great view of the Capitol right outside of the hotel. A 10 minute walk to the Capitol.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B Mommy
Sumter, South Carolina
Feb 27, 2012

Most Awesome Birthday Present Ever!!!

My daughter and I took a two-day jaunt to Washington, D.C. to visit the Smithsonian Museums for her 22nd birthday present. She took care of all of the logistics and found that the Washington Court Hotel met our major needs of price and location. Once we arrived, we also found that they had an outstanding staff and lovely, immaculate rooms as well. We enjoyed ourselves thoroughly and found that the time spent at the hotel was the perfect conclusion to our Museum adventures. We will definitely recommend this establishment to our friends, and we will stay here again when we return in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elnora
Oakland, CA
Sep 4, 2007

overall, I'm satisfied

I think I got a good deal. The hotel is 2 blocks to Union Station, 3 blocks to the US Capitol and not very far from the Smithsonian Museums. The lobby is impressive and there is a restaurant where one can also place orders for room service. The room is very spacious and so is the bathroom. There is ample closet space. My only complaint is that there was work being done directly below my room and I heard pounding at 6:30 AM. Also, I had problem retrieving my voice mail message, but the concierge helped me retrieve it from her set because the password in the room wasn't working. I will certainly stay here again the next time I am in DC and will recommend it to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a nice Irish restaurant a block away. The Postal Museum is a block away and it has a brewery which serves good food. The Union Station has restaurants in addition to the lower level which is the train station and the food court. There are also nice shops where I found nice gifts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Long Island, NY
Aug 20, 2009

Great getaway to DC

This was our 2nd anniversary getaway weekend, and we couldn't have chosen a better hotel! A beautiful location, excellent, knowledgeable staff, and a wonderful room were highlights of the trip. We had breakfast at the Bistro the first morning--tasty but pricey, to the tune of nearly $20 for the buffet for one person (who eats that much??), but we discovered a great grill across the street near Starbucks that serves breakfast hot and fast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

On weekends, parking is free on the street, which is where we ended up. Just be sure to park with the hotel if you're staying a weekday or 2--it ends up being cheaper than feeding all those quarters to the hungry DC meters!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MJdavey
Palo Alto, CA, USA
Aug 11, 2014

Great Location

This hotel is in a very good location to see the sights of DC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 21, 2007

Great amenities

The Washington Court Hotel had a good variety of amenities. There was a restaurant, a bar, a gym, and a pool table. A lot of activities you can try when you want to hang out at the hotel. The staff is very friendly and the service is great. The bar is connected to the pool table and there are 30 inch LCD's to watch sports or movies attached to the wall. Go and check it out, it is a great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Near by, about two blocks there is a dining/shoping plaza. You can choice from a variety of places to Dine and shop. I ate at a restaurant called the TAI CHILI. The food is somewhat spicy but taste great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search