$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Washington Court Hotel

4 stars
525 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
455 reviews
Nice place

It was a nice place. Got a very cheap price during the Thanksgiving. See full review

  • Nealds007
  • Dec 8, 2014
Great spot for family weekend visit

This hotel is in a great location to experience the Washington mall area. We just parked the car... See full review

  • Cathoward
  • Nov 30, 2014
A chic, conveniently located D.C. hotel with views of the U.S. Capitol.

The glass entrance opens into a grand lobby filled with rich red and maroon hues, dark wood and natural light. The hotel is two blocks from Union Station's shopping, dining and transportation, three blocks from the U.S. Capitol, and a 10-minute walk from the National Mall. Rooms feature trendy decor, an ergonomic workspace, Italian marble bathrooms, and views of the Capitol, the Washington skyline, or the hotel's glass atrium. Stop by the hotel's Federal City Bar to grab a drink and some tasty bar fare or head to Bistro 525 for a more formal meal.

Highlights
  • Located near Union Station, the U.S. Capitol and the National Mall
  • Views of the U.S. Capitol from many rooms
  • More than 18,000 square feet of function space
  • High-speed Internet (costs $10.99 USD per 24 hours)
Location

The hotel is conveniently located between downtown D.C. and Capitol Hill. It is steps from Union Station shopping, dining, Metro and Amtrak. The U.S. Capitol is three blocks away. All rooms have high-speed Internet (fees apply).

Rooms

Spacious, chic rooms and suites have views of the U.S. Capitol, the Washington skyline or the hotel's glass atrium. An ergonomic chair and desk, along with high-speed Internet access (fees apply) provide guests with a healthy workspace. Modern art, LCD televisions, modern furniture and marble bathrooms contribute to the comfortable and stylish accommodations. Business travelers appreciate the two-line phones and daily newspapers.

Features

The location near downtown D.C. and tourist attractions draws business and leisure travelers. Guests appreciate the large spaces and natural lighting not always found in the city. Play a game of billiards at the on-site Federal City Bar, the perfect spot to go for happy hour and pub fare. Bistro 525 offers breakfast, lunch and dinner in a more formal setting. The fitness center has plenty of cardio equipment and weights.

Transportation
  • Union Station Metro and Train (9 minutes walking)
  • Reagan National Airport (15 minutes)
  • Dulles Washington International Airport (45 minutes)
Attractions
  • Union Station (0.3 mi/ 0.48 km)
  • U.S. Capitol (0.4 mi/ 0.64 km)
  • National Building Museum (0.4 mi/ 0.64 km)
  • Verizon Center (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Newseum (.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • U.S. Botanical Garden (.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • International Spy Museum (0.7 mi/ 1.13 km)
Business
  • Business center (fees apply)
  • More than 18,000 square feet of business space
  • Up-to-date audiovisual equipment
  • Two-line phones

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Washington Court Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Washington Court Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double Room
Newly remodeled and beautifully appointed spacious guestroom with two double beds and spectacular views of the US Capitol Building (on request only), Washington sky line or the hotel's inner glass atrium. Room features a small sitting area with lounge chair & ottoman, comfortable workspace with an executive desk, high-speed Internet access and two-line telephone and an entertainment center with cable television with on-demand movies and games. There is a luxurious, oversized Italian marble bathroom with brass appointments, and another two-line telephone. Smoking rooms are available on request.
Executive Room
Newly remodeled with spectacular upgraded decor that features a King bed; spacious sitting area with sofa; lounge chair and ottoman; book collection and other personal touches and an entertainment center with 27inches cable television with on-demand movies and games. Business travelers will enjoy a comfortable work space with an executive desk with high-speed internet access and a two-line telephone. Luxurious and expansive Italian marble bath with brass appointments; and another two-line telephone. Considered our top-of-the-line non suite accommodations with many featuring breathtaking views of the US Capitol Building. Smoking rooms available upon request. 425 Square feet.
Deluxe Room
Newly remodeled and beautifully appointed spacious guestroom with a King bed and spectacular views of the US Capitol Building (on request only), Washington sky line or the hotel's inner glass atrium. Room features a small sitting area with lounge chair & ottoman, comfortable workspace with an executive desk, high-speed Internet access and two-line telephone and an entertainment center with cable television with on-demand movies and games. There is a luxurious, oversized Italian marble bathroom with brass appointments, and another two-line telephone. Smoking rooms are available on request.
Deluxe Queen
321 square foot elegantly appointed guest room with one Queen bed; comfortable work space with an executive desk; high-speed internet access and two-line telephone and an entertainment center with 37 inch LCD television with on-demand movies and games. Luxurious, Italian marble bathroom.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • National Postal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Union Station: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.3 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.4 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Union Station: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.3 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.4 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.6 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • National Archives: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • National Mall: 0.7 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.9 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 1 mi
  • National Theatre: 1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.1 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi

Dining

Federal City Bar
The Federal City Bar is the premiere place to unwind with a refreshing beverage, a fine cigar, a game of billiards, and the company of friends (old and new), in addition to exceptional service. The Federal City Bar features all your favorite cocktails, fine wines (by the bottle or glass), domestic and imported beers, and a vast assortment of classic martinis. The adjacent Club Room offers a smoker-friendly environment, with an extensive collection of premium cigars and top-quality billiards equipment. The Federal City Bar...where good nights are made on Capitol Hill.
Bistro 525
The Bistro 525 is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner - seven days a week. This distinctive dining establishment offers a variety of settings...from the "open" surroundings of the atrium lobby...to a more intimate, private area in the main dining room. Regardless of their seating preference, guests of the Bistro 525 enjoy exceptional cuisine and professional, attentive service. In the morning, choose a light continental breakfast, an extravagant omelet, or anything in between. At lunch, our weekday buffet offers a fast, fresh, and affordable option for people "on the go" (in addition to our customary luncheon menu). The dinner menu features a variety of steaks, seafood, pasta, and more...all skillfully prepared with the freshest, finest ingredients.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
With more than 18,000 square feet of flexible function space, The Washington Court Hotel is the most "meeting friendly" independent luxury hotel on Capital Hill. The hotel has served as the site of some of the city's most memorable business meetings and social occasions. The hotel's largest ballroom graciously accommodates up to 550 guests, and its meeting space is easily configured for up to eighteen breakout rooms. Additional gathering-related features include two executive boardrooms, the sky-lit Atrium Ballroom (perfect for special occasions), state-of-the-art A/V services, and exquisite cuisine and invaluable assistance from a dedicated team of experienced meeting professionals. No matter what the gathering, you will be "The Top of the Hill" at the Washington Court Hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (455)

Ratings and reviews for Washington Court Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
455 out of 455
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
I heart SF
PA
Dec 29, 2012

Awesome

I will definitely stay again! Very nice hotel! Staff was nice, and the hotel itself was really good. Also, it is very close to the Union station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Susinovoa91
Business
virginia beach, va
Mar 26, 2012

Not satisfied

Was supposed to check in @ 4:00, got there at 4:50 to let me know the room "wasnt ready". I had to wait till 6pm! Not to mention the lady had a bad attitude! It was a surprise for my significant other, so i had to tell him that we were in Washington DC (we drove from Virginia), blind folded the whole trip... so basically my surprise was ruined plus it was raining. Oh and the valet parking people that are supposed to help you with your bags, NO...they never appeared or even opened the door for us. Once i got to my room, i was dissapointed at the views. I'd called to make sure i get a room with a good view (city view or capitol view) they had assured me i'd get it and NO. my view was the top of a roof and a tall building, i couldnt even see the street. Not fun at all. Not worth what i paid AT ALL!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WorldMama
Business
Charlottesville, Virginia
Jan 9, 2014

Hope for the homeless?

The hotel was lovely, but strangely empty. It was spacious, had a great view of the capitol, but we seemed to be the only ones in the lobby most of the times that we passed through. When our family returned from seeing museums and tried to walk home at night, we learned part of the reason why: it's surrounded by large numbers of pitiful homeless people. There is a homeless education center just 2 blocks away, and we walked our little kids down the sidewalk past perhaps 50 homeless people. It was sad, and a genuinely educational experience - just not the one that we expected for our family trip to see the D.C. museums. Also, there was a bachelor party RIGHT next door ALL NIGHT with pounding music, carousing, cursing, and "unsavory" activities . . . we can't fault the hotel for that (although it seems that some staff HAD to have known) because we didn't call, simply because we wanted to avoid conflict as the only other people on the floor. (We used the tv to drown out the noise and covered our heads with pillows). I would never stay here again. Too bad - it is a pretty and refurbished hotel. It would make a GREAT homeless shelter , which DC obviously needs. . .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Richard Morgan
Business
South Glens Falls, NY
Jul 9, 2009

Orbitz should drop this Hotel

Upon arrival, we were told we cancelled June 22nd. They insisted that Orbitz cancelled; we informed them the previous day we rec'd a letter from Orbitz telling us to enjoy our trip. Manager appeared and supposedly called Orbitz, slammed the phone and said Orbitz did not cancel. Original staff said we overbooked, we always overbook; we took everyone else first. So here we are in Washington at a peak travel time, with no room, and no rooms available. Finally they booked not in another hotel, but in Gailludet University way out of our destination area and not convenient at all for what we had planned. We were not prepared to pay to stay in a dorm room. The University told us we had to be out by 11oclock; we returned to Washington Court the third day and our reserved room was not ready until 7:30 that evening. We spent the entire day on the streets of Washington, DC . The entire trip, because of the hotel's way of booking apparently and its rude staff, was a fiasco. We will never book again at that hotel and after several years of using Orbitz, are hesitant to book ever again with Orbitz. Even so, you should be aware that this hotel should be taken from your hotel list. We feel that we could be compensated to some degree for the many taxi fares to and from the University dorm room to downtown DC and all other expenses which we would not have incurred should your hotel honored our reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York,
Jul 11, 2010

Poor management

It took them an hour and four phone calls to [...] to find our reservation. Then at 3:00 AM someone opened our door with a key card and just walked in!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travelin' Momma
Business
Baltimore, MD
Mar 22, 2010

Not all it should have been

My husband and I take weekends away from the kids in DC every couple months so we are relatively frequent hotel guests. When we checked in, it was pretty easy and efficient and the property is really nice looking. In our room, the counter in the bathroom by the sink had rings and had obviously not been wiped down. Other than that, the room was clean and in nice shape. We had a wonderful restful evening but checking out the next day really ruined the experience for us. When checking out, there was some woman complaining about housekeeping disturbing her to the front desk staff. We stood there for at least 15 minutes while all 3 desk clerks dealt with the looney chick who would not stop complaining. The line waiting to check out grew to several guests and the desk clerks made no effort to help anyone else until those of us on line started speaking over the idiot complaining lady and voicing our impatience. When my husband and I finally were helped by a clerk, we told the female desk clerk that we were unhappy that we had to wait 15 minutes to check out and that it seemed all three clerks didn't need to deal with one guest while leaving a line of people waiting. She made the lame excuse "Well he (the other clerk) was using my computer" and then scratched behind her ear with her middle finger. Yea, same to you Washington Court Hotel. They don't deserve 4 stars. We won't be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Edie M.
Business
Connecticut
Aug 12, 2009

DIRTY! valet parking theives!

I booked two rooms well in advance, each with two double beds, adjacent if possible. I was spending a night in DC with my family of six plus a friend of my son on our way home from the beach. We arrived at 3p and were told rooms would be ready at 3:15, then 4pm. At 4pm we were asked to accept two different style rooms 3 floors apart which I did. One room had large stains (appeared to be blood) on carpet and the other had unflushed dirty toilet and smelled very strongly of smoke (my daughter has asthma). We asked to switch rooms and were told one could be switched, but not the smokey one. Several hours and complaints later that room was switched too. My daughters went to get in bed and the sheets were full of pubic hairs and makeup stains. Housekeeping came and advocated for my children and by midnight they had a clean room (third one they had been in!) When we picked up our cars from the $34 per night valet parking the next day, money that was left closed up in the console of one car (stupid mistake $140 of teenagers cashed paycheck)was stolen. Got my payment to the hotel refunded but not stolen cash. My only positive comment is great location close to mall. We really enjoyed the botanical garden and national art gallery.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stoneham, MA
Apr 26, 2010

Be sure to take jumping cables with you!

Car battery jumping cables that is. Except a very convenient location unfortunately I can't say anything good about this hotel. On arrival we did not get the room which we booked. We wanted a room with 2 beds but we got one. When complained about it the manager on duty simply said that what we booked on line and pre-paid was not promised. When we wanted to move to another hotel because of that, this hotel would not give us our money back. When leaving the hotel our car could not start - the battery was dead. Parking the car the valet must have left the door open or a light on inside. The hotel had some kind of battery to attempt restarting of our car but it was not charged so it did not work and they did not have any jumping cables. I was asking hotel guests and finally found someone who had jumping cables and was willing to help us. Because of that we were delayed over 2 hours on our final day and we could not see anything planned as we could not stop our car that soon with its empty battery. Immediately on our return home I went to have the battery evaluated and it needed to be replaced. I sent the bill and complaint letter by email to the hotel. I resent it 4 times as well as once by postal service with confirm receipt and so far, a month later, I did not get any response from the hotel. There were also other problems though minor and not worth mentioning here. So if you still want to stay there be sure to take your car battery jumping cables with you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

The Monuments by night tour was great!!! The double-decker sightseeing tour not worth the money. Most of the time is spent at stops on tickets sale.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Nov 1, 2010

I would not stay here again

The location was perfect; however, that is the best thing I can say about this hotel. Oh, and the doormen were wonderful! They were friendly, courteous and extremely helpful. When we arrived at the hotel, the man at the check in desk barely acknowledged us. No "Welcome to Washington," or "Welcome to our hotel," or anything resembling friendliness or courtesy. The morning after we arrived, we went to have breakfast, and that ordeal lasted over 90 minutes -- most of it just waiting for service! No waiter ever approached our table! It took WAY over 30 minutes just to get coffee, never mind a menu or service. I asked two servers for coffee, and they never brought any to us. We did eventually get our food and it rated maybe one star. I would never stay at this hotel again. Like I said before, the doormen were super. It's a sad state of affairs when the doormen are the nicest people in your establishment. There is a Hyatt right down the street, and I would almost certainly stay there next time I go to DC. The morning of our departure, we wanted to go on line to check our airline departure info, and the hotel wanted money just to go on line! The amount of money I paid for the room, the web should have been free!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
crestny
Business
Long Island, New York, USA
Feb 27, 2012

over rated

Not very clean, rooms need some work, restaurant is guesing game, they open it or not as they wish (same goes for bufet breakfast) internet at rooms not free and slow most expensive parking I have seen in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bulilit
Business
philadelphia. pa
May 15, 2012

mom's day getaway

upon check in on 12/11 everything was going alright until we got to the room. our reservation was for 2 double beds but instead was given one big bed. we transferred one floor up. when we started using the bathroom the shower tub was not draining properly so water accummulated while taking a shower. the toilet did not flush well either. had to flush 3-4 times before it got clean. following morning we tried to use the ice machine and the soda machine on the floor but they were not working. had to to go 1 floor down to get ice and soda. the hotel room rate we got was good but we did not expect parking to be so expensive. $43 for overnight parking and $30 daily flat rate per sign outside the hotel. we got charged $86 for 2 day parking which should not have been if you follow the parking sign outside the hotel. the reason given by the staff is the $30 daily flat rate is for conventions only which to me is questionable because nowhere on the parking rate sign does it say "convention rate" only. the only good thing about the hotel in my opinion is the location and the staff. also there is free wifi down the lobby but not in the rooms. there is a $9.95/day charge. definitely not going back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top