$108 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

Washington Court Hotel

4 stars
525 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
713 reviews
location

Great location for walking to many major site in DC. also staff was very helpful and courteous. See full review

  • ENKNJ
  • Jul 21, 2014
What a perfect experience

We took our 11 year old grandson for a birthday trip. The hotel location was fabulous -- close... See full review

  • Gabbijake
  • Jul 3, 2014
A chic, conveniently located D.C. hotel with views of the U.S. Capitol.

The glass entrance opens into a grand lobby filled with rich red and maroon hues, dark wood and natural light. The hotel is two blocks from Union Station's shopping, dining and transportation, three blocks from the U.S. Capitol, and a 10-minute walk from the National Mall. Rooms feature trendy decor, an ergonomic workspace, Italian marble bathrooms, and views of the Capitol, the Washington skyline, or the hotel's glass atrium. Stop by the hotel's Federal City Bar to grab a drink and some tasty bar fare or head to Bistro 525 for a more formal meal.

Highlights
  • Located near Union Station, the U.S. Capitol and the National Mall
  • Views of the U.S. Capitol from many rooms
  • More than 18,000 square feet of function space
  • High-speed Internet (costs $10.99 USD per 24 hours)
Location

The hotel is conveniently located between downtown D.C. and Capitol Hill. It is steps from Union Station shopping, dining, Metro and Amtrak. The U.S. Capitol is three blocks away. All rooms have high-speed Internet (fees apply).

Rooms

Spacious, chic rooms and suites have views of the U.S. Capitol, the Washington skyline or the hotel's glass atrium. An ergonomic chair and desk, along with high-speed Internet access (fees apply) provide guests with a healthy workspace. Modern art, LCD televisions, modern furniture and marble bathrooms contribute to the comfortable and stylish accommodations. Business travelers appreciate the two-line phones and daily newspapers.

Features

The location near downtown D.C. and tourist attractions draws business and leisure travelers. Guests appreciate the large spaces and natural lighting not always found in the city. Play a game of billiards at the on-site Federal City Bar, the perfect spot to go for happy hour and pub fare. Bistro 525 offers breakfast, lunch and dinner in a more formal setting. The fitness center has plenty of cardio equipment and weights.

Transportation
  • Union Station Metro and Train (9 minutes walking)
  • Reagan National Airport (15 minutes)
  • Dulles Washington International Airport (45 minutes)
Attractions
  • Union Station (0.3 mi/ 0.48 km)
  • U.S. Capitol (0.4 mi/ 0.64 km)
  • National Building Museum (0.4 mi/ 0.64 km)
  • Verizon Center (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Newseum (.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • U.S. Botanical Garden (.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • International Spy Museum (0.7 mi/ 1.13 km)
Business
  • Business center (fees apply)
  • More than 18,000 square feet of business space
  • Up-to-date audiovisual equipment
  • Two-line phones

Washington Court Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double Room
Newly remodeled and beautifully appointed spacious guestroom with two double beds and spectacular views of the US Capitol Building (on request only), Washington sky line or the hotel's inner glass atrium. Room features a small sitting area with lounge chair & ottoman, comfortable workspace with an executive desk, high-speed Internet access and two-line telephone and an entertainment center with cable television with on-demand movies and games. There is a luxurious, oversized Italian marble bathroom with brass appointments, and another two-line telephone. Smoking rooms are available on request.
Executive Room
Newly remodeled with spectacular upgraded decor that features a King bed; spacious sitting area with sofa; lounge chair and ottoman; book collection and other personal touches and an entertainment center with 27inches cable television with on-demand movies and games. Business travelers will enjoy a comfortable work space with an executive desk with high-speed internet access and a two-line telephone. Luxurious and expansive Italian marble bath with brass appointments; and another two-line telephone. Considered our top-of-the-line non suite accommodations with many featuring breathtaking views of the US Capitol Building. Smoking rooms available upon request. 425 Square feet.
Deluxe Room
Newly remodeled and beautifully appointed spacious guestroom with a King bed and spectacular views of the US Capitol Building (on request only), Washington sky line or the hotel's inner glass atrium. Room features a small sitting area with lounge chair & ottoman, comfortable workspace with an executive desk, high-speed Internet access and two-line telephone and an entertainment center with cable television with on-demand movies and games. There is a luxurious, oversized Italian marble bathroom with brass appointments, and another two-line telephone. Smoking rooms are available on request.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Brailled elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Washington Court Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.8968 -77.0112
Area served
Washington, D.C.
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport Washington Dulles International Airport
Area description
The Washington Court Hotel is located in the distinctive Capitol Hill neighborhood only three blocks from the U.S. Capitol Building and 2 blocks from historic Union Station. Within a five-minute walk from the hotel is the U.S. Capitol Building, which is part of the National Mall...home to dozens of renowned monuments and museums. Less than 2 blocks away is historic Union Station, offering an impressive variety of shopping, dining, entertainment and transportation alternatives. The proximity from Union Station, the site of Metro, Amtrak and MARC stations provides easy and affordable transit to area airports and other cities, and makes arrival, departure and sight-seeing virtually hassle-free.

Nearby points of interest

  • National Postal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Union Station: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.3 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.4 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Union Station: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.3 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.4 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.6 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • National Archives: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • National Mall: 0.7 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.9 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 1 mi
  • National Theatre: 1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.1 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi

Dining

Federal City Bar
The Federal City Bar is the premiere place to unwind with a refreshing beverage, a fine cigar, a game of billiards, and the company of friends (old and new), in addition to exceptional service. The Federal City Bar features all your favorite cocktails, fine wines (by the bottle or glass), domestic and imported beers, and a vast assortment of classic martinis. The adjacent Club Room offers a smoker-friendly environment, with an extensive collection of premium cigars and top-quality billiards equipment. The Federal City Bar...where good nights are made on Capitol Hill.
Bistro 525
The Bistro 525 is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner - seven days a week. This distinctive dining establishment offers a variety of settings...from the "open" surroundings of the atrium lobby...to a more intimate, private area in the main dining room. Regardless of their seating preference, guests of the Bistro 525 enjoy exceptional cuisine and professional, attentive service. In the morning, choose a light continental breakfast, an extravagant omelet, or anything in between. At lunch, our weekday buffet offers a fast, fresh, and affordable option for people "on the go" (in addition to our customary luncheon menu). The dinner menu features a variety of steaks, seafood, pasta, and more...all skillfully prepared with the freshest, finest ingredients.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
With more than 18,000 square feet of flexible function space, The Washington Court Hotel is the most "meeting friendly" independent luxury hotel on Capital Hill. The hotel has served as the site of some of the city's most memorable business meetings and social occasions. The hotel's largest ballroom graciously accommodates up to 550 guests, and its meeting space is easily configured for up to eighteen breakout rooms. Additional gathering-related features include two executive boardrooms, the sky-lit Atrium Ballroom (perfect for special occasions), state-of-the-art A/V services, and exquisite cuisine and invaluable assistance from a dedicated team of experienced meeting professionals. No matter what the gathering, you will be "The Top of the Hill" at the Washington Court Hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (713)

Ratings and reviews for Washington Court Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
713 out of 713
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CALS
Philadelphia
Oct 16, 2012

Great Trip

We had a wonderful trip to DC and the hotel location was perfect for us. Close to the capital and transportation and close to the Smithsonian. The staff was extremely nice and provided great information when requested. We will stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the hop on hop off tour, we took the Trolley tour but the Dbl Decker bus looked fun too.

Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dand6583
Brooklyn
Oct 10, 2012

Good price and location

The congress house can be seem from this hotel, but there are not slipers, teeth brush, and other basic things. It only serves couple coffee and tea bags in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
D. Drizz
Pennsylvania
Oct 10, 2012

Bday getaway

Nice and clean hotel, but no fridge in the room. Don't try to check in early, because they won't be ready until 4 pm. I misplaced my valet ticket and had to wait 20 mins for valet parking to briyng me my car that I could see in their "parking lot". Checking out I had my valet ticket and still had to wait 15 mins. They charge you $50 to park your car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
onthegotravelgirl
Business
atl.ga
Oct 9, 2012

On the Hill

Great, friendly , clean. good location to my event.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

great location

Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CindyJ from Stillwater
Stillwater, MN
Sep 5, 2012

Nice hotel in a very convenient downtown DC location!

I booked this hotel after reading the reviews and I am glad I did! My husband and 18 yr old step son both said WOW! as soon as we entered the lobby and then they said it again when we entered our room with two double beds. The lobby area is not large but is well appointed with beautiful marble walls and floor and a comfortable lounge seating area. There was also a small bar area and a "club room" where there were two pool tables and some chairs. The guest room was modern contemporary decor with a 40" flatscreen TV #28 channels, including HBO, but no HD service though#. The bathroom had marble for the vanity, floor, and walls and a modern mirror with integrated lighting inside it. The large bathtub/shower area had sliding glass doors and a wide ledge around the tub so you can leave your shower/bath products in there. The toilet had a silent flush feature which was nice so as not to wake the others sleeping in the room during the night. The beds were very comfortable with nice bedding and lots of pillows #4 per bed plus a long body size/decorative pillow#. Even though official check-in time was 4:00 pm, the receptionist did not even blink an eye when we arrived at noon for our room. We got our room right away without any comment about the early checkin. The location of the hotel being in the downtown area is fantastic -- it was only a 5 minute walk to Union Station where there are stores, some restaurants, a large food court, an Amtrak train station, a Metro bus station, and a Redline Metro Rail stop. We were also only about a 15 minute walk from the US Capital, National Mall South End, and Chinatown. One day we walked to Union Station, took the Metro rail to the Whitehouse, and then walked from the White house to one end of the National Mall #Lincoln Memorial#, along the Mall to the other end #US Capitol#, stopping at the Smithsonian Air and Space Museum along the way #great place to see#, and then back to our hotel. Long day, long walk, tired legs, tender feet, but well worth it! We only ate our breakfasts at the hotel restaurant. We always had the American Buffet. It was okay, lots of fresh fruit, but no omelettes, and the "hot" food #french toast, bacon, sausage, potatoes, and scrambled eggs# was typically luke warm to cold and was not always kept replenished during the advertised breakfast hours #we usuallly ate around 9:30 am to 10:00 am and the buffet was served/open until 10:30 am#. Milk and juice were included with the buffet and you could get free refills which was nice. The only downside was the Internet Services provided by the hotel. There is free WI-FI service in the lobby area #which we used# but you had to pay to get WI-FI in your room #which we didn't need#. There was also a Business Center with three computers and a laptop connection and it cost $1.00 per minute, minimum $10 charge, to use one of the computers. There was also an addtional charge of $1.50 per printed page. The good news was that they provided a free service to use one of their Business Center computers to confirm and print your e-tickets for your flight. I found their WI-FI and Busines Center serivces to pretty pricey. We bought Redskins eTickets on-line and I needed to print them. I went to the Fed Ex Center just a few feet down the street inside the Hyatt Hotel and, using their business center computer, it only cost me $4.78 for about 4 minutes of internet time and 3 printed pages -- this would have cost me $14.50 at our hotel business center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You do not need a car to see the DC area. Save the parking fees and driving headaches. The Metro Rail, Metro Bus, and varous tour bus services get you to most any place you need to see. I certainly would not want to drive a car in DC -- the roads are crazily laid out, there is construction everywhere, and the drivers are aggressive.

Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karen50
Monroe, NJ
Aug 30, 2012

Great Location! Great Value!

The staff was very helpful, suggesting restaurants, way to get around etc. Room was very clean! We had a beautiful view of the Capital. Love the convenience to Union Square!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mixcom
Business
New York
Aug 27, 2012

Great Location; nice hotel

I enjoyed my stay but the Washington Court King room was a little small for what I've come to expect for DC hotels in the 4 star range. However, the price and convenience is just too hard to resist. There's a starbucks across the street and a decent restaurant inside the hotel. The main issue I had was check-in time was listed at 3pm. I got there at 2:45 and was told there woud be no rooms avilable until 4pm. I noticed this was most iikely due to the fact that my room wasn't cleaned the next day until after 4pm. I can back from meetings several times and no maid. Otherwise no issue with the place. I would stay there again given I'm able to get around DC pretty fast. I even walked to the train station from my hotel for the trip back home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Anything around the U.S. Capitol is a breeze to get to from the hotel. Parks, Union Station, memorials are all nearby making this a great location for someone who doens't know DC that well

Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Panon
Everett WA
Aug 25, 2012

Great my family was happy at this hotel

Great all was very close and the staff was very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hill Country Guy
Austin
Aug 19, 2012

Great Hotel Near the Mall and Capitol

The hotel was wonderful and the location was great for access to the Capitol and the Mall. Only small problem was the paid WIFI was horrible especially compared to the free guest WIFI. Other than that, marvelous!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to the Mall and see all the Smithsonian Museums in less than 15 minutes walk.

Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yuanyuan Chu
South Norwalk,CT
Aug 6, 2012

Good location, nice experience

This hotel locate new union station,capital, so it's very convenient if you arrive DC by train or bus. The room is clean and comfortable, it's a good choice to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top