$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 31, 2014 Check-out: Nov 1, 2014

Washington Court Hotel

4 stars
525 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
446 reviews
Great room

Staff was very helpful and nice. Rooms were clean and very nice . Great location up the block from... See full review

  • Qb finest
  • Aug 25, 2014
Family Overnight

Wonderful experience! Very friendly staff, clean, great service. They even agreed to allow us to... See full review

  • The G Clan
  • Aug 17, 2014
A chic, conveniently located D.C. hotel with views of the U.S. Capitol.

The glass entrance opens into a grand lobby filled with rich red and maroon hues, dark wood and natural light. The hotel is two blocks from Union Station's shopping, dining and transportation, three blocks from the U.S. Capitol, and a 10-minute walk from the National Mall. Rooms feature trendy decor, an ergonomic workspace, Italian marble bathrooms, and views of the Capitol, the Washington skyline, or the hotel's glass atrium. Stop by the hotel's Federal City Bar to grab a drink and some tasty bar fare or head to Bistro 525 for a more formal meal.

Highlights
  • Located near Union Station, the U.S. Capitol and the National Mall
  • Views of the U.S. Capitol from many rooms
  • More than 18,000 square feet of function space
  • High-speed Internet (costs $10.99 USD per 24 hours)
Location

The hotel is conveniently located between downtown D.C. and Capitol Hill. It is steps from Union Station shopping, dining, Metro and Amtrak. The U.S. Capitol is three blocks away. All rooms have high-speed Internet (fees apply).

Rooms

Spacious, chic rooms and suites have views of the U.S. Capitol, the Washington skyline or the hotel's glass atrium. An ergonomic chair and desk, along with high-speed Internet access (fees apply) provide guests with a healthy workspace. Modern art, LCD televisions, modern furniture and marble bathrooms contribute to the comfortable and stylish accommodations. Business travelers appreciate the two-line phones and daily newspapers.

Features

The location near downtown D.C. and tourist attractions draws business and leisure travelers. Guests appreciate the large spaces and natural lighting not always found in the city. Play a game of billiards at the on-site Federal City Bar, the perfect spot to go for happy hour and pub fare. Bistro 525 offers breakfast, lunch and dinner in a more formal setting. The fitness center has plenty of cardio equipment and weights.

Transportation
  • Union Station Metro and Train (9 minutes walking)
  • Reagan National Airport (15 minutes)
  • Dulles Washington International Airport (45 minutes)
Attractions
  • Union Station (0.3 mi/ 0.48 km)
  • U.S. Capitol (0.4 mi/ 0.64 km)
  • National Building Museum (0.4 mi/ 0.64 km)
  • Verizon Center (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Newseum (.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • U.S. Botanical Garden (.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • International Spy Museum (0.7 mi/ 1.13 km)
Business
  • Business center (fees apply)
  • More than 18,000 square feet of business space
  • Up-to-date audiovisual equipment
  • Two-line phones

Hotel Map

38.8968 -77.0112
Area served
Washington, D.C.
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport Washington Dulles International Airport
Area description
The Washington Court Hotel is located in the distinctive Capitol Hill neighborhood only three blocks from the U.S. Capitol Building and 2 blocks from historic Union Station. Within a five-minute walk from the hotel is the U.S. Capitol Building, which is part of the National Mall...home to dozens of renowned monuments and museums. Less than 2 blocks away is historic Union Station, offering an impressive variety of shopping, dining, entertainment and transportation alternatives. The proximity from Union Station, the site of Metro, Amtrak and MARC stations provides easy and affordable transit to area airports and other cities, and makes arrival, departure and sight-seeing virtually hassle-free.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Washington Court Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Washington Court Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double Room
Newly remodeled and beautifully appointed spacious guestroom with two double beds and spectacular views of the US Capitol Building (on request only), Washington sky line or the hotel's inner glass atrium. Room features a small sitting area with lounge chair & ottoman, comfortable workspace with an executive desk, high-speed Internet access and two-line telephone and an entertainment center with cable television with on-demand movies and games. There is a luxurious, oversized Italian marble bathroom with brass appointments, and another two-line telephone. Smoking rooms are available on request.
Executive Room
Newly remodeled with spectacular upgraded decor that features a King bed; spacious sitting area with sofa; lounge chair and ottoman; book collection and other personal touches and an entertainment center with 27inches cable television with on-demand movies and games. Business travelers will enjoy a comfortable work space with an executive desk with high-speed internet access and a two-line telephone. Luxurious and expansive Italian marble bath with brass appointments; and another two-line telephone. Considered our top-of-the-line non suite accommodations with many featuring breathtaking views of the US Capitol Building. Smoking rooms available upon request. 425 Square feet.
Deluxe Room
Newly remodeled and beautifully appointed spacious guestroom with a King bed and spectacular views of the US Capitol Building (on request only), Washington sky line or the hotel's inner glass atrium. Room features a small sitting area with lounge chair & ottoman, comfortable workspace with an executive desk, high-speed Internet access and two-line telephone and an entertainment center with cable television with on-demand movies and games. There is a luxurious, oversized Italian marble bathroom with brass appointments, and another two-line telephone. Smoking rooms are available on request.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • National Postal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Union Station: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.3 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.4 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Union Station: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.3 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.4 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.6 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • National Archives: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • National Mall: 0.7 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.9 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 1 mi
  • National Theatre: 1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.1 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi

Dining

Federal City Bar
The Federal City Bar is the premiere place to unwind with a refreshing beverage, a fine cigar, a game of billiards, and the company of friends (old and new), in addition to exceptional service. The Federal City Bar features all your favorite cocktails, fine wines (by the bottle or glass), domestic and imported beers, and a vast assortment of classic martinis. The adjacent Club Room offers a smoker-friendly environment, with an extensive collection of premium cigars and top-quality billiards equipment. The Federal City Bar...where good nights are made on Capitol Hill.
Bistro 525
The Bistro 525 is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner - seven days a week. This distinctive dining establishment offers a variety of settings...from the "open" surroundings of the atrium lobby...to a more intimate, private area in the main dining room. Regardless of their seating preference, guests of the Bistro 525 enjoy exceptional cuisine and professional, attentive service. In the morning, choose a light continental breakfast, an extravagant omelet, or anything in between. At lunch, our weekday buffet offers a fast, fresh, and affordable option for people "on the go" (in addition to our customary luncheon menu). The dinner menu features a variety of steaks, seafood, pasta, and more...all skillfully prepared with the freshest, finest ingredients.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
With more than 18,000 square feet of flexible function space, The Washington Court Hotel is the most "meeting friendly" independent luxury hotel on Capital Hill. The hotel has served as the site of some of the city's most memorable business meetings and social occasions. The hotel's largest ballroom graciously accommodates up to 550 guests, and its meeting space is easily configured for up to eighteen breakout rooms. Additional gathering-related features include two executive boardrooms, the sky-lit Atrium Ballroom (perfect for special occasions), state-of-the-art A/V services, and exquisite cuisine and invaluable assistance from a dedicated team of experienced meeting professionals. No matter what the gathering, you will be "The Top of the Hill" at the Washington Court Hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (446)

Ratings and reviews for Washington Court Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
446 out of 446
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Island, NY
Aug 20, 2009

Great getaway to DC

This was our 2nd anniversary getaway weekend, and we couldn't have chosen a better hotel! A beautiful location, excellent, knowledgeable staff, and a wonderful room were highlights of the trip. We had breakfast at the Bistro the first morning--tasty but pricey, to the tune of nearly $20 for the buffet for one person (who eats that much??), but we discovered a great grill across the street near Starbucks that serves breakfast hot and fast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

On weekends, parking is free on the street, which is where we ended up. Just be sure to park with the hotel if you're staying a weekday or 2--it ends up being cheaper than feeding all those quarters to the hungry DC meters!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy In PC
Business
Park City, Utah
Aug 19, 2009

Great Location Great Staff

Great Hotel; Great Location. [...] at the front desk was amazing!! He was very friendly, great suggestions on where to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a bike!! It makes getting around a lot faster with less blisters.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Aug 18, 2009

Great location for touring

My husband and i drove to Washington, DC for the first time and found the hotel location to be perfect. We stayed for 2 nights to enjoy sight seeing/touring. If you are driving to DC, please note that parking regulations cease at around 6:30pm or 7pm Friday night through Saturday and Sunday. If you arrive early on Friday you will need to feed the meter (There is only a two hour parking limit). There are other locations where you can park your car but it may be a little pricey for a day. Since we arrived early on Friday like at 1pm we left our car with the hotel for about 6 hours and they gave us a discount where we only paid $18 dollars as opposed $24:) Our check in was at 4pm and we were able to check in once we arrived to drop off our things which was another plus:)After we picked up the car and the parking regulations were no longer in effect we found a parking spot right in front of the hotel. The hotel was very close to various locations. We were two blocks away from Union Station where there are many shops and places to eat. It was also a walking distance from Capitol Hill where we started our tour through "The Mall". The staff were very friendly at the hotel and the rooms were very nice and clean. After our long walk however it would have been nice to relax by a pool which this hotel did not have. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to tour the Museums. All museums are free on the Mall. You can also go to Union station were you will find quick bites or dinner as well as shopping (clothes, Jewelry, shoes etc). The National Zoo was very nice but you will need to drive about 17 minutes from the Hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bill the Actuary
Business
Wildwood, New Jersey
Aug 18, 2009

I could see the Capitol from my room

I have visited Washington many times. This is the largest hotel room I have ever stayed in in DC. Also one of the most comfortable. I was asked at registration whether I would like a room on a lower floor or an upper floor--a nice gesture. I asked for a room as high up as available and got a room on the top floor with a beautiful view of the Capitol. The very attractive entrance and lobby inspired in me high expectations of my stay--which were met. The staff was very professional. Union Station is a short (five to ten minutes) walk away and well worth visiting. I was so enchanted with my stay that i almost phoned my wife (who was working) and told her to call in sick and come on down to DC and join me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

At Union Station, one can sign up for a bus tour of DC and get on and off the bus at each sight (buses run every 20 minutes). It's 2 and a half hours if you don't get off anywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ft. Lauderdale, Fla
Aug 17, 2009

Very Nice Stay

Hotel was very convenient for our stay Just a few blocks from Union Station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
va.
Aug 17, 2009

great location- excellent facility.

near Union Station and subway access. near the us capitol. Perfect base to have a great stay in DC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Beach, ca
Aug 16, 2009

washington court hotel

good location, room okay, rates good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Edie M.
Business
Connecticut
Aug 12, 2009

DIRTY! valet parking theives!

I booked two rooms well in advance, each with two double beds, adjacent if possible. I was spending a night in DC with my family of six plus a friend of my son on our way home from the beach. We arrived at 3p and were told rooms would be ready at 3:15, then 4pm. At 4pm we were asked to accept two different style rooms 3 floors apart which I did. One room had large stains (appeared to be blood) on carpet and the other had unflushed dirty toilet and smelled very strongly of smoke (my daughter has asthma). We asked to switch rooms and were told one could be switched, but not the smokey one. Several hours and complaints later that room was switched too. My daughters went to get in bed and the sheets were full of pubic hairs and makeup stains. Housekeeping came and advocated for my children and by midnight they had a clean room (third one they had been in!) When we picked up our cars from the $34 per night valet parking the next day, money that was left closed up in the console of one car (stupid mistake $140 of teenagers cashed paycheck)was stolen. Got my payment to the hotel refunded but not stolen cash. My only positive comment is great location close to mall. We really enjoyed the botanical garden and national art gallery.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LINCOLN, NEBRASKA
Aug 11, 2009

LEISURE TRIP

GREAT LOCATION WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE TO CAPITAL. UNION STATION ONLY 3 BLOCKS AWAY. THIS IS NEAREST METRO STATION. GREAT VIEW OF CAPITAL FROM ROOM. NEED TO REQUEST CAPITAL VIEW. TREATED VERY WELL BY ALL HOTEL STAFF,ESPECIALLY DOORMEN AND BELL HOPS. HOUSEKEEPING WAS VERY EFFICIENT. ONLY DRAWBACK WAS ELECTRICAL SOCKETS IN BATHROOM IN NEED OF UPDATING.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

CAPITAL CITY BREWERY RESTAURANT IS IN POSTAL MUSEUM AND ONLY 3 BLOCKS AWAY. ALSO MANY EATING ESTABLISHMENTS IN UNION STATION.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eastern CT
Aug 11, 2009

Good Value

Rooms are comfortable and quiet. Internet and Wireless are not free. Neither is parking. But it is close to Union Station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Starbucks and the "Billy Goat" across the street. Union station is also worth the walk and you can get most of the tours from there, too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top