$136 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Washington Court Hotel

4 stars
525 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
458 reviews
Family Overnight

Wonderful experience! Very friendly staff, clean, great service. They even agreed to allow us to... See full review

  • The G Clan
  • Aug 17, 2014
Great Stay for 1st time in DC

Great view and close distance to everything a first time trip to D.C. requires. See full review

  • Marcus1911
  • Jul 30, 2014
A chic, conveniently located D.C. hotel with views of the U.S. Capitol.

The glass entrance opens into a grand lobby filled with rich red and maroon hues, dark wood and natural light. The hotel is two blocks from Union Station's shopping, dining and transportation, three blocks from the U.S. Capitol, and a 10-minute walk from the National Mall. Rooms feature trendy decor, an ergonomic workspace, Italian marble bathrooms, and views of the Capitol, the Washington skyline, or the hotel's glass atrium. Stop by the hotel's Federal City Bar to grab a drink and some tasty bar fare or head to Bistro 525 for a more formal meal.

Highlights
  • Located near Union Station, the U.S. Capitol and the National Mall
  • Views of the U.S. Capitol from many rooms
  • More than 18,000 square feet of function space
  • High-speed Internet (costs $10.99 USD per 24 hours)
Location

The hotel is conveniently located between downtown D.C. and Capitol Hill. It is steps from Union Station shopping, dining, Metro and Amtrak. The U.S. Capitol is three blocks away. All rooms have high-speed Internet (fees apply).

Rooms

Spacious, chic rooms and suites have views of the U.S. Capitol, the Washington skyline or the hotel's glass atrium. An ergonomic chair and desk, along with high-speed Internet access (fees apply) provide guests with a healthy workspace. Modern art, LCD televisions, modern furniture and marble bathrooms contribute to the comfortable and stylish accommodations. Business travelers appreciate the two-line phones and daily newspapers.

Features

The location near downtown D.C. and tourist attractions draws business and leisure travelers. Guests appreciate the large spaces and natural lighting not always found in the city. Play a game of billiards at the on-site Federal City Bar, the perfect spot to go for happy hour and pub fare. Bistro 525 offers breakfast, lunch and dinner in a more formal setting. The fitness center has plenty of cardio equipment and weights.

Transportation
  • Union Station Metro and Train (9 minutes walking)
  • Reagan National Airport (15 minutes)
  • Dulles Washington International Airport (45 minutes)
Attractions
  • Union Station (0.3 mi/ 0.48 km)
  • U.S. Capitol (0.4 mi/ 0.64 km)
  • National Building Museum (0.4 mi/ 0.64 km)
  • Verizon Center (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Newseum (.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • U.S. Botanical Garden (.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • International Spy Museum (0.7 mi/ 1.13 km)
Business
  • Business center (fees apply)
  • More than 18,000 square feet of business space
  • Up-to-date audiovisual equipment
  • Two-line phones

Hotel Map

38.8968 -77.0112
Area served
Washington, D.C.
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport Washington Dulles International Airport
Area description
The Washington Court Hotel is located in the distinctive Capitol Hill neighborhood only three blocks from the U.S. Capitol Building and 2 blocks from historic Union Station. Within a five-minute walk from the hotel is the U.S. Capitol Building, which is part of the National Mall...home to dozens of renowned monuments and museums. Less than 2 blocks away is historic Union Station, offering an impressive variety of shopping, dining, entertainment and transportation alternatives. The proximity from Union Station, the site of Metro, Amtrak and MARC stations provides easy and affordable transit to area airports and other cities, and makes arrival, departure and sight-seeing virtually hassle-free.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Washington Court Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Washington Court Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double Room
Newly remodeled and beautifully appointed spacious guestroom with two double beds and spectacular views of the US Capitol Building (on request only), Washington sky line or the hotel's inner glass atrium. Room features a small sitting area with lounge chair & ottoman, comfortable workspace with an executive desk, high-speed Internet access and two-line telephone and an entertainment center with cable television with on-demand movies and games. There is a luxurious, oversized Italian marble bathroom with brass appointments, and another two-line telephone. Smoking rooms are available on request.
Executive Room
Newly remodeled with spectacular upgraded decor that features a King bed; spacious sitting area with sofa; lounge chair and ottoman; book collection and other personal touches and an entertainment center with 27inches cable television with on-demand movies and games. Business travelers will enjoy a comfortable work space with an executive desk with high-speed internet access and a two-line telephone. Luxurious and expansive Italian marble bath with brass appointments; and another two-line telephone. Considered our top-of-the-line non suite accommodations with many featuring breathtaking views of the US Capitol Building. Smoking rooms available upon request. 425 Square feet.
Deluxe Room
Newly remodeled and beautifully appointed spacious guestroom with a King bed and spectacular views of the US Capitol Building (on request only), Washington sky line or the hotel's inner glass atrium. Room features a small sitting area with lounge chair & ottoman, comfortable workspace with an executive desk, high-speed Internet access and two-line telephone and an entertainment center with cable television with on-demand movies and games. There is a luxurious, oversized Italian marble bathroom with brass appointments, and another two-line telephone. Smoking rooms are available on request.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • National Postal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Union Station: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.3 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.4 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Union Station: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.3 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.4 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.6 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • National Archives: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • National Mall: 0.7 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.9 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 1 mi
  • National Theatre: 1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.1 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi

Dining

Federal City Bar
The Federal City Bar is the premiere place to unwind with a refreshing beverage, a fine cigar, a game of billiards, and the company of friends (old and new), in addition to exceptional service. The Federal City Bar features all your favorite cocktails, fine wines (by the bottle or glass), domestic and imported beers, and a vast assortment of classic martinis. The adjacent Club Room offers a smoker-friendly environment, with an extensive collection of premium cigars and top-quality billiards equipment. The Federal City Bar...where good nights are made on Capitol Hill.
Bistro 525
The Bistro 525 is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner - seven days a week. This distinctive dining establishment offers a variety of settings...from the "open" surroundings of the atrium lobby...to a more intimate, private area in the main dining room. Regardless of their seating preference, guests of the Bistro 525 enjoy exceptional cuisine and professional, attentive service. In the morning, choose a light continental breakfast, an extravagant omelet, or anything in between. At lunch, our weekday buffet offers a fast, fresh, and affordable option for people "on the go" (in addition to our customary luncheon menu). The dinner menu features a variety of steaks, seafood, pasta, and more...all skillfully prepared with the freshest, finest ingredients.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
With more than 18,000 square feet of flexible function space, The Washington Court Hotel is the most "meeting friendly" independent luxury hotel on Capital Hill. The hotel has served as the site of some of the city's most memorable business meetings and social occasions. The hotel's largest ballroom graciously accommodates up to 550 guests, and its meeting space is easily configured for up to eighteen breakout rooms. Additional gathering-related features include two executive boardrooms, the sky-lit Atrium Ballroom (perfect for special occasions), state-of-the-art A/V services, and exquisite cuisine and invaluable assistance from a dedicated team of experienced meeting professionals. No matter what the gathering, you will be "The Top of the Hill" at the Washington Court Hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (458)

Ratings and reviews for Washington Court Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
458 out of 458
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 7, 2010

Pleasantly surprised

Though I lived in DC for 3 years, I never heard of this hotel, so I wasn't exactly sure what I'd find, especially because the rates were so reasonable. I was very pleasantly surprised. It was very nice, clean and comfortable. Room and bathroom were spacious. Exercise room wasn't over the top, but sufficient. Breakfast buffet had good variety and everything was fresh; restaurant service at breakfast was great. Great location. Front desk wasn't overly friendly, but who really cares? I didn't have any problems. Bar/dinner service was a bit slow, probably because it was a quiet night with only one staff person on. Did not like that I had to pay to use the Internet in the business center (minimum charge of $13). Most other hotels I have stayed in no longer charge for that. Otherwise, very pleasant stay and a very reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbus, Ohio
Jan 5, 2010

Luxury at cheap price

I had a very good experience at Washington Court Hotel and will suggest it to anyone who wants good service at cheap price. Its much more worth then what you spend on booking for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
howarja
Bowling Green, ky
Dec 31, 2009

short DC family trip

quick check in. Friendly staff. Short walk to the US Capital and long walk to the rest of the mall, as it's a long walk, no matter what, from one end to the other. Parking garages are close by, but be careful with how much they cost. They may tell you one thing and then when you go to pay they'll tell you something completely different - that's what happened to us. A quiznos is accessible through the back of the hotel, which is a better choice if you're frugal. The hotel restaurant is pretty expensive but the food is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A+ Teacher
Hanover, PA
Dec 31, 2009

Surprising View!

We'd decided to take a weekend getaway to DC. When we got to DC we checked our bags at the hotel so we could go see museums. We had no problem finding the hotel from Union Station Metro (so we could avoid parking - the fees are nuts no matter where you stay). We checked bags with NO FEE. We left for 4 hours to see musems. We were able to check in 20 minutes early after hopping back on the metro to go to the Holocaust Museum. The bed had Memory Foam pillows and was a very comfortable king sized bed. The view was a pleasant surprise! We were on the top floor and from our window we had a GREAT VIEW of the Capitol Building which is beautiful in the day, but lit up wonderfully at night! The Concierge was able to answer questions about museum hours. We had a drink in the lounge. While pricey, it was not unexpectedly so. There were couches and chairs and a TV, so I sipped wine and watched some of the bowl games. There was also at least one pool table. (There is other entertainment around the corner from the hotel at two Irish bars and at Capitol City Brewery.) We got a Washington Post newspaper in the morning. Checkout wasn't until noon, so we relaxed and watched the news on the flat screen LCD television. We couldn't figure out how to use the coffee maker (and there were no mugs) but we buzzed across the street for Starbucks instead. We probably could have called for instructions and mugs if we persisted. There was a blow dryer provided, Q-tips, Cotton balls, and the usual shampoos and soaps. The shower was spacious, even if the shower head did not emit a lot of water. Checkout was a breeze and involved simply returning room keys and walking out. Overall, it was a pleasant experience. I'll never forget being able to see the Capitol Building from my room, and the closeness of the Union Station Metro was a blessing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

TONS of eating! Union Station is full of food! Eat at Au Bon Pain for Breakfast. In the Postal Museum (around the corner) there is a great Brewery - Capitol City Brewery. There are two Irish Pubs around the corner! There's a Starbucks across the street! If you want great Asian food, don't be afraid to take the Metro in Union Station to Chinatown. The metro is a great, easy, inexpensive way to see the city. (Two all day passes cost something like $15 and you can go anywhere!)

Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GoGatorman
Franklin, North Carolina
Dec 28, 2009

What a Place

This is a SUPER place to stay in D.C....Close and within walking distance to everything...Capitol, Union Station, all the museums, great places to eat, theatres, downtown...WHAT A PLACE...I 100% recommend the Washington Court Hotel...Friendly staff, super clean rooms, great bathroom and a paper everyday..You can't beat it...Thanks, and I'll be back...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking your vehicle, (secured in hotel) during the week, is an extra $34.00 per day but worth it..Street parking in D.C., on weekends, is free...

Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Claudia - Diva
Baltimore, MD
Dec 14, 2009

BIG BiG BiG Fun

My party checked in late but Registration staff was helpful, and pleasant. Also when I called housekeeping for more towels, I received the towels within fives minutes of the call. Very excellent experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Dec 7, 2009

Excellent comfortable hotel Staff

Excellent comfortable hotel Staff are very helpfull Rooms are clean and kept in very good condition well worth a stay two blocks from Unioin Station where you can get to the Marta or tour buses

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago IL
Dec 2, 2009

Fantastic stay!

[...] The rooms were great! We had the deluxe king size bed room. The furniture is modern. Room and bathroom are good sizes with good distribution where I didn't feel I was in a shoebox.The dining facilities had excellent delicious food and service! We stayed in the hotel lobby the whole evening after our business meetings and later moved to the bar area and enjoyed delicious food and wine.This will definitely be a staple on my frequent trips to DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Miss PA
Selinsgrove, PA
Dec 1, 2009

Wonderful location, atmosphere and staff

Appreciated the staff at registration and check out. The doormen and valet were very attentive and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take Metro from Union Station to Dupont Circle. We ate at the Heritage India restaurant; excellent service and food. 1337 Connecticut Ave NW

Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY
Nov 30, 2009

very nice

the hotel is high class but i think i went during a good season so it was unexpensive, but it reali looks like a very expensive place. the breakfast was good, service was good, and a beautiful lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

located in downtown so its pretty close to the policital buildings and museums

Back to menu Return to top

Change search