$96 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Washington Court Hotel

4 stars
525 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
458 reviews
Awesome

It was a great experience overall. Awesome hotel, awesome amenities, clean, and great staff. See full review

  • Kash
  • Dec 20, 2014
Nice place

It was a nice place. Got a very cheap price during the Thanksgiving. See full review

  • Nealds007
  • Dec 8, 2014
A chic, conveniently located D.C. hotel with views of the U.S. Capitol.

The glass entrance opens into a grand lobby filled with rich red and maroon hues, dark wood and natural light. The hotel is two blocks from Union Station's shopping, dining and transportation, three blocks from the U.S. Capitol, and a 10-minute walk from the National Mall. Rooms feature trendy decor, an ergonomic workspace, Italian marble bathrooms, and views of the Capitol, the Washington skyline, or the hotel's glass atrium. Stop by the hotel's Federal City Bar to grab a drink and some tasty bar fare or head to Bistro 525 for a more formal meal.

Highlights
  • Located near Union Station, the U.S. Capitol and the National Mall
  • Views of the U.S. Capitol from many rooms
  • More than 18,000 square feet of function space
  • High-speed Internet (costs $10.99 USD per 24 hours)
Location

The hotel is conveniently located between downtown D.C. and Capitol Hill. It is steps from Union Station shopping, dining, Metro and Amtrak. The U.S. Capitol is three blocks away. All rooms have high-speed Internet (fees apply).

Rooms

Spacious, chic rooms and suites have views of the U.S. Capitol, the Washington skyline or the hotel's glass atrium. An ergonomic chair and desk, along with high-speed Internet access (fees apply) provide guests with a healthy workspace. Modern art, LCD televisions, modern furniture and marble bathrooms contribute to the comfortable and stylish accommodations. Business travelers appreciate the two-line phones and daily newspapers.

Features

The location near downtown D.C. and tourist attractions draws business and leisure travelers. Guests appreciate the large spaces and natural lighting not always found in the city. Play a game of billiards at the on-site Federal City Bar, the perfect spot to go for happy hour and pub fare. Bistro 525 offers breakfast, lunch and dinner in a more formal setting. The fitness center has plenty of cardio equipment and weights.

Transportation
  • Union Station Metro and Train (9 minutes walking)
  • Reagan National Airport (15 minutes)
  • Dulles Washington International Airport (45 minutes)
Attractions
  • Union Station (0.3 mi/ 0.48 km)
  • U.S. Capitol (0.4 mi/ 0.64 km)
  • National Building Museum (0.4 mi/ 0.64 km)
  • Verizon Center (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Newseum (.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • U.S. Botanical Garden (.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • International Spy Museum (0.7 mi/ 1.13 km)
Business
  • Business center (fees apply)
  • More than 18,000 square feet of business space
  • Up-to-date audiovisual equipment
  • Two-line phones

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Washington Court Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Washington Court Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double Room
Newly remodeled and beautifully appointed spacious guestroom with two double beds and spectacular views of the US Capitol Building (on request only), Washington sky line or the hotel's inner glass atrium. Room features a small sitting area with lounge chair & ottoman, comfortable workspace with an executive desk, high-speed Internet access and two-line telephone and an entertainment center with cable television with on-demand movies and games. There is a luxurious, oversized Italian marble bathroom with brass appointments, and another two-line telephone. Smoking rooms are available on request.
Executive Room
Newly remodeled with spectacular upgraded decor that features a King bed; spacious sitting area with sofa; lounge chair and ottoman; book collection and other personal touches and an entertainment center with 27inches cable television with on-demand movies and games. Business travelers will enjoy a comfortable work space with an executive desk with high-speed internet access and a two-line telephone. Luxurious and expansive Italian marble bath with brass appointments; and another two-line telephone. Considered our top-of-the-line non suite accommodations with many featuring breathtaking views of the US Capitol Building. Smoking rooms available upon request. 425 Square feet.
Deluxe Room
Newly remodeled and beautifully appointed spacious guestroom with a King bed and spectacular views of the US Capitol Building (on request only), Washington sky line or the hotel's inner glass atrium. Room features a small sitting area with lounge chair & ottoman, comfortable workspace with an executive desk, high-speed Internet access and two-line telephone and an entertainment center with cable television with on-demand movies and games. There is a luxurious, oversized Italian marble bathroom with brass appointments, and another two-line telephone. Smoking rooms are available on request.
Deluxe Queen
321 square foot elegantly appointed guest room with one Queen bed; comfortable work space with an executive desk; high-speed internet access and two-line telephone and an entertainment center with 37 inch LCD television with on-demand movies and games. Luxurious, Italian marble bathroom.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • National Postal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Union Station: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.3 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.4 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Union Station: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.3 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.4 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.6 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • National Archives: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • National Mall: 0.7 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.9 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 1 mi
  • National Theatre: 1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.1 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi

Dining

Federal City Bar
The Federal City Bar is the premiere place to unwind with a refreshing beverage, a fine cigar, a game of billiards, and the company of friends (old and new), in addition to exceptional service. The Federal City Bar features all your favorite cocktails, fine wines (by the bottle or glass), domestic and imported beers, and a vast assortment of classic martinis. The adjacent Club Room offers a smoker-friendly environment, with an extensive collection of premium cigars and top-quality billiards equipment. The Federal City Bar...where good nights are made on Capitol Hill.
Bistro 525
The Bistro 525 is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner - seven days a week. This distinctive dining establishment offers a variety of settings...from the "open" surroundings of the atrium lobby...to a more intimate, private area in the main dining room. Regardless of their seating preference, guests of the Bistro 525 enjoy exceptional cuisine and professional, attentive service. In the morning, choose a light continental breakfast, an extravagant omelet, or anything in between. At lunch, our weekday buffet offers a fast, fresh, and affordable option for people "on the go" (in addition to our customary luncheon menu). The dinner menu features a variety of steaks, seafood, pasta, and more...all skillfully prepared with the freshest, finest ingredients.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
With more than 18,000 square feet of flexible function space, The Washington Court Hotel is the most "meeting friendly" independent luxury hotel on Capital Hill. The hotel has served as the site of some of the city's most memorable business meetings and social occasions. The hotel's largest ballroom graciously accommodates up to 550 guests, and its meeting space is easily configured for up to eighteen breakout rooms. Additional gathering-related features include two executive boardrooms, the sky-lit Atrium Ballroom (perfect for special occasions), state-of-the-art A/V services, and exquisite cuisine and invaluable assistance from a dedicated team of experienced meeting professionals. No matter what the gathering, you will be "The Top of the Hill" at the Washington Court Hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (458)

Ratings and reviews for Washington Court Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
458 out of 458
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pharr, TX
Jul 2, 2011

great location

hotel personnel were easy to talk to and they were always willing to help out; room cleanliness was the best, location is perfect, easy to get to Union Station, Capitol walking distance also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Station has everything you would want and for all pocket books and it's a short distance from hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Jun 29, 2011

Hidden Fees for parking

Hotel location was GREAT!! Three blocks to the Capitol Building. There were a couple of issues that we encountered during our stay. 1. I had booked my trip, and paid in advance, but somehow the front desk ommitted the PAID notification, and during the night slipped a bill(for less than what I paid) under my door. 2. There was also hidden parking fees that were not included or mentioned when I booked the room. I understand that parking in a Metro area is difficult, but charging 43.00 dollars on top as a hidden fee is UNCONSTITUTIONAL!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Book your tour in advance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jun 28, 2011

good location

The lobby of the hotel is great. However, the room is old. The business center is expensive for printing (1.5 dollor per page). I went to the airport for printing the boarding pass.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Viko
Business
Margate City,NJ
Jun 27, 2011

Good location,clean and nice room

Location is perfect,close to everything.Staff is very friendly.Parking rate was very exspensive $43.00 and one of the valey guy don't know how to drive manuel because my car wasn't automatic and I was waiting 25 minutes for somebody who know how to drive manuel car to get my car at check out time!lol

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Camp Hill, PA
Jun 14, 2011

Excellent location!!

The location of the hotel was perfect for walking everywhere (if you like to walk). From the 14th floor where we were, we could see the Capitol Building in its glory perfectly. When we first got into our room, within 5 minutes we got a call from the front desk asking if everything was satisfactory. That was a great start. The room was spacious and comfortable, although the street sounds were kind of loud, even on the 14th floor. But if you walk enough during your stay, you will sleep like a baby and it may not bother you (it didn't bother us). Parking onsite is pretty expensive (valet only), but very secure and anytime we needed access to our car, they were always accommodating and took us down to the garage. The staff was all very kind and helpful. The in-room amenities were so-so. The coffee maker and coffee/tea were in the bathroom, so if it was occupied, you had no access to it. But the bathroom itself was huge!! The toilet was nearly silent, unlike every other hotel I've stayed in, which is great for those middle-of-the-night trips... no waking the others. And there was no active venting fan in the bathroom, but there was also no steam on the mirror so there has to be some venting. All in all, a very nice, very quiet bathroom. The TV was okay, but we weren't there to watch TV. The only negative I had was that the Weather channel was not local, so if we wanted the weather for the day, we had to wait for the local news or go to the lobby for the free WiFi. Again, not a big deal since we were there to walk around the capitol. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to visit DC. Maybe you can find other parking options to save the cost of that, but the hotel and staff were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're a "burger-and-fries" person, there is a small restaurant across the street from the hotel that is super cheap and has great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Romancer
Business
norfolk, va
Jun 13, 2011

Room 1609

Very Friendly Staff, nice clean room, comfortable bed, excellent bathroom. Girlfiend says she saw a ghost in room (while sleeping) and was scared, but I was liked the room and the location was only a few walking blocks to D.C. lawn. No water in the vending machine on our floor, but had some on floor below. Only thing hotel could use is a pool. Internet is 10.00 extra

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

5.00 breakfast directly across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Doc Pop
Business
Lynbrook, NY
Jun 12, 2011

MIxed Feelings

Good Stuff: 1) Room was large, clean, comfortable. 2) Bathroom was spacious. 3) Lobby was inviting and comfortable. 4) Location was good (2 blocks from Union Station, 4 blocks from the Capital). Bad Stuff: 1) No safe in the room. My wife was very uncomfortable leaving her jewelry unlocked. 2) No Conceigage(sorry about the spelling). Instead we were suppose to ask the people at the registration desk but they continually gave us wrong information; on restaurants, on the metro, on entertainment. Very frustrating!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Carmine's Italian Restaurant - serving family-style portions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
katiusa
Business
WA
Jun 12, 2011

Excellent location!!

The location of this hotel can not get any better!!! Just a block away from the Capitol and from the Union Station!!! Even the Double Decker Bus stops at the hotel just next to the Washington Court Hotel! The lobby and rooms are looking very inviting, pleasant and the staff were very friendly. We did not have the chance to dine in the hotel's restaurant so I can not comment about that. Conclusion: I would recommend this hotel to anybody visiting Washington DC for pleasure or even business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
windham, me
Jun 5, 2011

amazing location

The very first thing I noticed but Washington Court, being my first experience with a hotel of this caliber, they couldn't do enough to be helpful. I arrived on my pride and joy Harley, they made sure my bike was safe and secure. The second thing I noticed, they inquired the reason for my visit. They anticipated that I needed to visit the Concert that evening and I'm gratful. I will be back to DC and will return to Washington Court. The combination was memorable and worth repeating. Mike

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A wonderful place to stay with children, in close proximity to the history of this great nation. memorable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nats fan
Business
east of I-95
Jun 1, 2011

take me out to the ballpark

the worst wifi experience anywhere anytime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top