$96 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Washington Court Hotel

4 stars
525 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
455 reviews
Nice place

It was a nice place. Got a very cheap price during the Thanksgiving. See full review

  • Nealds007
  • Dec 8, 2014
Great spot for family weekend visit

This hotel is in a great location to experience the Washington mall area. We just parked the car... See full review

  • Cathoward
  • Nov 30, 2014
A chic, conveniently located D.C. hotel with views of the U.S. Capitol.

The glass entrance opens into a grand lobby filled with rich red and maroon hues, dark wood and natural light. The hotel is two blocks from Union Station's shopping, dining and transportation, three blocks from the U.S. Capitol, and a 10-minute walk from the National Mall. Rooms feature trendy decor, an ergonomic workspace, Italian marble bathrooms, and views of the Capitol, the Washington skyline, or the hotel's glass atrium. Stop by the hotel's Federal City Bar to grab a drink and some tasty bar fare or head to Bistro 525 for a more formal meal.

Highlights
  • Located near Union Station, the U.S. Capitol and the National Mall
  • Views of the U.S. Capitol from many rooms
  • More than 18,000 square feet of function space
  • High-speed Internet (costs $10.99 USD per 24 hours)
Location

The hotel is conveniently located between downtown D.C. and Capitol Hill. It is steps from Union Station shopping, dining, Metro and Amtrak. The U.S. Capitol is three blocks away. All rooms have high-speed Internet (fees apply).

Rooms

Spacious, chic rooms and suites have views of the U.S. Capitol, the Washington skyline or the hotel's glass atrium. An ergonomic chair and desk, along with high-speed Internet access (fees apply) provide guests with a healthy workspace. Modern art, LCD televisions, modern furniture and marble bathrooms contribute to the comfortable and stylish accommodations. Business travelers appreciate the two-line phones and daily newspapers.

Features

The location near downtown D.C. and tourist attractions draws business and leisure travelers. Guests appreciate the large spaces and natural lighting not always found in the city. Play a game of billiards at the on-site Federal City Bar, the perfect spot to go for happy hour and pub fare. Bistro 525 offers breakfast, lunch and dinner in a more formal setting. The fitness center has plenty of cardio equipment and weights.

Transportation
  • Union Station Metro and Train (9 minutes walking)
  • Reagan National Airport (15 minutes)
  • Dulles Washington International Airport (45 minutes)
Attractions
  • Union Station (0.3 mi/ 0.48 km)
  • U.S. Capitol (0.4 mi/ 0.64 km)
  • National Building Museum (0.4 mi/ 0.64 km)
  • Verizon Center (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Newseum (.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • U.S. Botanical Garden (.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • International Spy Museum (0.7 mi/ 1.13 km)
Business
  • Business center (fees apply)
  • More than 18,000 square feet of business space
  • Up-to-date audiovisual equipment
  • Two-line phones

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Washington Court Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Washington Court Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double Room
Newly remodeled and beautifully appointed spacious guestroom with two double beds and spectacular views of the US Capitol Building (on request only), Washington sky line or the hotel's inner glass atrium. Room features a small sitting area with lounge chair & ottoman, comfortable workspace with an executive desk, high-speed Internet access and two-line telephone and an entertainment center with cable television with on-demand movies and games. There is a luxurious, oversized Italian marble bathroom with brass appointments, and another two-line telephone. Smoking rooms are available on request.
Executive Room
Newly remodeled with spectacular upgraded decor that features a King bed; spacious sitting area with sofa; lounge chair and ottoman; book collection and other personal touches and an entertainment center with 27inches cable television with on-demand movies and games. Business travelers will enjoy a comfortable work space with an executive desk with high-speed internet access and a two-line telephone. Luxurious and expansive Italian marble bath with brass appointments; and another two-line telephone. Considered our top-of-the-line non suite accommodations with many featuring breathtaking views of the US Capitol Building. Smoking rooms available upon request. 425 Square feet.
Deluxe Room
Newly remodeled and beautifully appointed spacious guestroom with a King bed and spectacular views of the US Capitol Building (on request only), Washington sky line or the hotel's inner glass atrium. Room features a small sitting area with lounge chair & ottoman, comfortable workspace with an executive desk, high-speed Internet access and two-line telephone and an entertainment center with cable television with on-demand movies and games. There is a luxurious, oversized Italian marble bathroom with brass appointments, and another two-line telephone. Smoking rooms are available on request.
Deluxe Queen
321 square foot elegantly appointed guest room with one Queen bed; comfortable work space with an executive desk; high-speed internet access and two-line telephone and an entertainment center with 37 inch LCD television with on-demand movies and games. Luxurious, Italian marble bathroom.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • National Postal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Union Station: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.3 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.4 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Union Station: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.3 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.4 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.5 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.6 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • National Archives: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • National Mall: 0.7 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.9 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 1 mi
  • National Theatre: 1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.1 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi

Dining

Federal City Bar
The Federal City Bar is the premiere place to unwind with a refreshing beverage, a fine cigar, a game of billiards, and the company of friends (old and new), in addition to exceptional service. The Federal City Bar features all your favorite cocktails, fine wines (by the bottle or glass), domestic and imported beers, and a vast assortment of classic martinis. The adjacent Club Room offers a smoker-friendly environment, with an extensive collection of premium cigars and top-quality billiards equipment. The Federal City Bar...where good nights are made on Capitol Hill.
Bistro 525
The Bistro 525 is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner - seven days a week. This distinctive dining establishment offers a variety of settings...from the "open" surroundings of the atrium lobby...to a more intimate, private area in the main dining room. Regardless of their seating preference, guests of the Bistro 525 enjoy exceptional cuisine and professional, attentive service. In the morning, choose a light continental breakfast, an extravagant omelet, or anything in between. At lunch, our weekday buffet offers a fast, fresh, and affordable option for people "on the go" (in addition to our customary luncheon menu). The dinner menu features a variety of steaks, seafood, pasta, and more...all skillfully prepared with the freshest, finest ingredients.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
With more than 18,000 square feet of flexible function space, The Washington Court Hotel is the most "meeting friendly" independent luxury hotel on Capital Hill. The hotel has served as the site of some of the city's most memorable business meetings and social occasions. The hotel's largest ballroom graciously accommodates up to 550 guests, and its meeting space is easily configured for up to eighteen breakout rooms. Additional gathering-related features include two executive boardrooms, the sky-lit Atrium Ballroom (perfect for special occasions), state-of-the-art A/V services, and exquisite cuisine and invaluable assistance from a dedicated team of experienced meeting professionals. No matter what the gathering, you will be "The Top of the Hill" at the Washington Court Hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (455)

Ratings and reviews for Washington Court Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
455 out of 455
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Susinovoa91
Business
virginia beach, va
Mar 26, 2012

Not satisfied

Was supposed to check in @ 4:00, got there at 4:50 to let me know the room "wasnt ready". I had to wait till 6pm! Not to mention the lady had a bad attitude! It was a surprise for my significant other, so i had to tell him that we were in Washington DC (we drove from Virginia), blind folded the whole trip... so basically my surprise was ruined plus it was raining. Oh and the valet parking people that are supposed to help you with your bags, NO...they never appeared or even opened the door for us. Once i got to my room, i was dissapointed at the views. I'd called to make sure i get a room with a good view (city view or capitol view) they had assured me i'd get it and NO. my view was the top of a roof and a tall building, i couldnt even see the street. Not fun at all. Not worth what i paid AT ALL!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JediMasterMatt
Business
Bethlehem, PA, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Washington (DC) Weekend!

The Washington Court Hotel is a 1st class hotel. The location is perfect if you want to start your sightseeing at the Capitol and work your way down the National Mall. If your not keen on all the walking, the hotel is conveniently located between two Metro (subway) stations. Wonderful stay, looking forward to my next stay @ this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
m massachusetts
Business
massachusetts
Mar 26, 2012

good restaurant

Diverse menu, better than the average hotel restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't use the iPhone's directions to walk from Union Station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
crestny
Business
Long Island, New York, USA
Feb 27, 2012

over rated

Not very clean, rooms need some work, restaurant is guesing game, they open it or not as they wish (same goes for bufet breakfast) internet at rooms not free and slow most expensive parking I have seen in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B Mommy
Business
Sumter, South Carolina
Feb 27, 2012

Most Awesome Birthday Present Ever!!!

My daughter and I took a two-day jaunt to Washington, D.C. to visit the Smithsonian Museums for her 22nd birthday present. She took care of all of the logistics and found that the Washington Court Hotel met our major needs of price and location. Once we arrived, we also found that they had an outstanding staff and lovely, immaculate rooms as well. We enjoyed ourselves thoroughly and found that the time spent at the hotel was the perfect conclusion to our Museum adventures. We will definitely recommend this establishment to our friends, and we will stay here again when we return in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Armando.a
Business
Brasil
Jan 23, 2012

Family trip

Good value and good location. Internet paid at the room or free at the lobby (bad connection).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant at the Union Station: BSmiths. Good place and good food at reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Leslie from NC
Business
Cary, NC, USA
Jan 17, 2012

We loved it!

We truly enjoyed our trip to DC and couldn't beat the stay. We rode Amtrak from NC which put us off at Union Station, 5 minutes from the hotel. We were able to walk 15 minutes to all of the Smithsonian Museums and a quick trip to the Verizon Center. Our concierge, Sam, helped us with routes and quick advice for restaurants, pubs and sports bars. The hotel staff greeted us every time we left and returned to the hotel. We would definitely book again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out The Dubliner for fish and chips and a Smithwicks!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rbva
Business
Virginia
Jan 15, 2012

Business

It was OKAY. They charged outrageous for internet. There wasn't even a fridgerator in the hotel room which was very inconvienent. Other then that, the staff was very helpful, the lobby was extremely spacious. The hotel is old, and you can EASILY tell that. The walls was very thin, I could easily hear the neighbors, but luckily they weren't obnoxious. The location was fanTASTIC! Right near the capitol building, right near the union station. There were cabs sitting out front waiting for people. The price for breakfast was steep, and overall there wasn't a lot of amenties that would keep me coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you make all of your dinner reservations a head of time! Nothing like being stranded, walking in downtown DC, looking for food, and no one to take you in.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Jan 8, 2012

New years eve getaway

I was in the hotel for a 2 day visit for new years eve. Hotel was very little occupied and some of the upper floors I was told were in renovation. Due to the holiday it was not work going on. The room I got was at 4th floor not what I expected (with the Capitol view) but quiet, nice, clean. Location was in the proximity of the restaurant we had new years eve reservation and of the "Mall"; Capitol is within 10 minutes walking distance. This is the second time I used this hotel; everything is good just a bit pricey and hotel parking is expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

All parking in the area is expensive. You may want to check out the street parking around. Usually it is no charge after 10PM and Sunday is free.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Contrigor
Business
Campeche, México
Jan 5, 2012

Great new year´s week

We did not spent too much time at hotel but everything we experienced there was great. Preety close from Metro station and sightseeing services. Helpful and kind staff. We defnitively would come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close CVS on Massachusetes Avenue for cheap dinner or breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top