$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 6, 2015 Check-out: Jun 7, 2015

Washington Court Hotel

4 stars
View map of 525 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Washington Court Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
514 out of 514
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sasha P
Business
Somerset, NJ
May 6, 2013

Great Hotel

The Washinging Court Hotel is a beautiful hotel with great staff! I would go back again and again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark JJ
Business
Newport News, VA
Apr 21, 2013

Very good but missing details

The Washington Court Hotel is perfectly located a few blocks from the Capitol and Union Station. A covenient share a bike stand is a block away. The arrival process and entrance is very impressive and gives the feeling of a 5 star Manhattan hotel. The staff was large and very polite and professional. The main entrance and atrium is very large and very very impressive. The hotel became less impressive once we arrived in our room. The bathtub/shower was not well maintained. There was rust on the fan vent grill, the faucet leaked constantly and the faucet and fixtures needed upgraded as they were old and the gold colol was wearing off. The hotel is also located less than a block from a very active fire station. Apparantaly it is necessary to use sirens at three AM when there is no traffic on the road. Overall I do recommend this hotel and the value for the cost was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

D.C. bike share. You pick up a share a bike then ride to wherever you are going, drop it off in another rack then pick up another bike when ready to keep moving. There are dozens and dozens of drop/pick up location but we did find an insufficient numer of bikes at one point. During peak times trucks are driving around refilling empty bike racks so they know to keep this popular travel method available. Helmets are not included and D.C. has a zone where you are not allowed to ride on the sidewalk and must use the busy streets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
McKnight Trio
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Apr 7, 2013

Excellent Hotel close to the Capitol

We were very impressed with this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It is close to the capitol and convenient to get to the national mall. The room was clean, comfortable, and in excellent condition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The West Wing Cafe is close by and is an excellent place to eat. Most menu options are $5 - $8 and are delicious.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tired Mom 1964
Business
New Jersey
Apr 6, 2013

Family and Business friendly

Equipped to handle family and business travelers. We particularly appreciated their logical luggage and car retrieval system for travelers arriving and departing at unusual times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Art & Soul at the Liaison Hotel across the street. The Washington Court is a more sedate establishment with a less ambitious restaurant. We enjoyed eating nearby at an adventurous and buzzy establishment. More importantly, we appreciated being able to get away from the hubbub afterwards and rest at a quieter hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
StephenSS
Business
Pittsburgh
Apr 6, 2013

Great spot by the capitol!

Wonderful staff and service. Easy check in, baggage check and parking!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Professional Mommy
Business
Upstate NY
Apr 5, 2013

Not for families

The hotel itself is just okay - pictures look nicer than reality. Worn and in need of some TLC. Location is great but if you have small children I'd look elsewhere - we requested a Pack n Play several times and it never came (finally gave up), the bathroom door is very easy for little hands to lock (requiring a call and 20 minute wait for maintenance to come unlock it) and despite best efforts to keep children quiet, we got several complaints of noise - including one at bedtime when all were quiet in bed. They either need to segregste families with kids to one area or institute a no-children policy. The doors need slow-closing hinges installed, right now they just slam quickly if you don't catch it - our 2 year old unfortunately got his finger caught in it at one point. The icing on the cake was the erroneous $70 charges in adult movies we were charged for but never rented, requiring a 20 minute discussion with the front desk before being removed. Will not be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leila413
Business
NY, NY
Apr 3, 2013

Fantastic family getaway

Clean, elegant rooms. High floors have a stunning view of the capitol. Superb staff--concierge helped us to plan the whole stay. Minutes from union station--walk, take metro or cab to all attractions. Taking one point off because there is no wireless in the room, and breakfast is not included--fork out $$ for in room connection. Free in lobby (which is beautiful). Everything else makes up for it. Other than that, just perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short, five minute walk to union station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lorrin
Business
Los Angles
Mar 30, 2013

Close to Union Station has some visitor advantages, some disadvantages

Not having been to Washington DC in 25 years, I wasn't sure what the best location would be for a Spring break vacation with our grandson. I chose the Washington Court because it is close to Union Station and the Capitol building (and related congressional buildings plus the Supreme Court & Library of Congress). The Union Station location was good because we picked up our hop on/hop off tour there. Although we planned to use the subway, we never did but Union Station would have been good for that too. We didn't have time to visit all the nearby sites we had planned to visit but our Union Station location did not appear to be the best with respect to being close to many of DC's visitor attractions. I don't think it's a big deal if you're using a tour or the subway but it's out of the way for a lot of walking. There don't appear to be a lot of nearby restaurants either. The staff was great. Friendly, competent. The room was ok. Reasonably spacious and well appointed. The bathtub had a big repaired ding in it and the drain was very slow. The breakfast buffet was ok but nothing special. The room cost was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Interactive Flight Simulator ride at the Air & Space Museum is great for the kids. We have the non-interactive simulator at our California Science Center in Los Angeles (which is also available at the Museum) but the interactive is much better and more popular. Hint: do not go on it right after lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anne31
Business
Glen Head NY
Mar 26, 2013

Quick Weekend Get-Away in Comfortable Spot

Visiting son in college for the weekend and after having tried a few different hotels in DC area, was very pleased with Washington Court. While a well established hotel, it does have 'good bones'. Beds very comfortable, bathroom spacious, welcoming and bright lobby, and fun bar. The one negative is that a room service tray was left for two days along our hall way. Otherwise, comfortable and staff was professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. Bob C
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 12, 2013

Visiting my son

At the last minute I decided to extend a flight layover in Washington DC, to allow for a short weekend visit with my son. He now works in DC and I wanted a convenient place for a quick overnight stay. By going online I was able to get a fantastic last minute deal on this four star hotel. Although my room was not available upon my arrival, everything about the hotel was incredible. A beautiful and comfortable room, just two blocks from Union Station. You walk out of the hotel and immediately see the majestic U.S. Capitol just a few blocks away. I highly recommend the Washington Court Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The U.S. Capitol and Union Station are just a few blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top