$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Washington Court Hotel

4 stars
View map of 525 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Washington Court Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
475 out of 475
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tired Mom 1964
Business
New Jersey
Apr 6, 2013

Family and Business friendly

Equipped to handle family and business travelers. We particularly appreciated their logical luggage and car retrieval system for travelers arriving and departing at unusual times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Art & Soul at the Liaison Hotel across the street. The Washington Court is a more sedate establishment with a less ambitious restaurant. We enjoyed eating nearby at an adventurous and buzzy establishment. More importantly, we appreciated being able to get away from the hubbub afterwards and rest at a quieter hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
StephenSS
Business
Pittsburgh
Apr 6, 2013

Great spot by the capitol!

Wonderful staff and service. Easy check in, baggage check and parking!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Professional Mommy
Business
Upstate NY
Apr 5, 2013

Not for families

The hotel itself is just okay - pictures look nicer than reality. Worn and in need of some TLC. Location is great but if you have small children I'd look elsewhere - we requested a Pack n Play several times and it never came (finally gave up), the bathroom door is very easy for little hands to lock (requiring a call and 20 minute wait for maintenance to come unlock it) and despite best efforts to keep children quiet, we got several complaints of noise - including one at bedtime when all were quiet in bed. They either need to segregste families with kids to one area or institute a no-children policy. The doors need slow-closing hinges installed, right now they just slam quickly if you don't catch it - our 2 year old unfortunately got his finger caught in it at one point. The icing on the cake was the erroneous $70 charges in adult movies we were charged for but never rented, requiring a 20 minute discussion with the front desk before being removed. Will not be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leila413
Business
NY, NY
Apr 3, 2013

Fantastic family getaway

Clean, elegant rooms. High floors have a stunning view of the capitol. Superb staff--concierge helped us to plan the whole stay. Minutes from union station--walk, take metro or cab to all attractions. Taking one point off because there is no wireless in the room, and breakfast is not included--fork out $$ for in room connection. Free in lobby (which is beautiful). Everything else makes up for it. Other than that, just perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short, five minute walk to union station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lorrin
Business
Los Angles
Mar 30, 2013

Close to Union Station has some visitor advantages, some disadvantages

Not having been to Washington DC in 25 years, I wasn't sure what the best location would be for a Spring break vacation with our grandson. I chose the Washington Court because it is close to Union Station and the Capitol building (and related congressional buildings plus the Supreme Court & Library of Congress). The Union Station location was good because we picked up our hop on/hop off tour there. Although we planned to use the subway, we never did but Union Station would have been good for that too. We didn't have time to visit all the nearby sites we had planned to visit but our Union Station location did not appear to be the best with respect to being close to many of DC's visitor attractions. I don't think it's a big deal if you're using a tour or the subway but it's out of the way for a lot of walking. There don't appear to be a lot of nearby restaurants either. The staff was great. Friendly, competent. The room was ok. Reasonably spacious and well appointed. The bathtub had a big repaired ding in it and the drain was very slow. The breakfast buffet was ok but nothing special. The room cost was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Interactive Flight Simulator ride at the Air & Space Museum is great for the kids. We have the non-interactive simulator at our California Science Center in Los Angeles (which is also available at the Museum) but the interactive is much better and more popular. Hint: do not go on it right after lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anne31
Business
Glen Head NY
Mar 26, 2013

Quick Weekend Get-Away in Comfortable Spot

Visiting son in college for the weekend and after having tried a few different hotels in DC area, was very pleased with Washington Court. While a well established hotel, it does have 'good bones'. Beds very comfortable, bathroom spacious, welcoming and bright lobby, and fun bar. The one negative is that a room service tray was left for two days along our hall way. Otherwise, comfortable and staff was professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. Bob C
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 12, 2013

Visiting my son

At the last minute I decided to extend a flight layover in Washington DC, to allow for a short weekend visit with my son. He now works in DC and I wanted a convenient place for a quick overnight stay. By going online I was able to get a fantastic last minute deal on this four star hotel. Although my room was not available upon my arrival, everything about the hotel was incredible. A beautiful and comfortable room, just two blocks from Union Station. You walk out of the hotel and immediately see the majestic U.S. Capitol just a few blocks away. I highly recommend the Washington Court Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The U.S. Capitol and Union Station are just a few blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
East Coast Gal
Business
New York, NY
Mar 7, 2013

Great Location, Average Stay, Not great staff

Stayed here for a conference on site. First room we got smelled of smoke even though the hotel has a no-smoking policy. The front desk staff were quick to change this for us. Rooms were spacious. Our comforters had some stains on it though. No free wifi in the rooms. Seems like something that every hotel should have nowadays. Bar staff made an inappropriate comment that detracted us from going back to the bar the second night. Overall, great location but would probably pick a different hotel the next time we're in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Restaurants don't open until 11 or 12 on weekends!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Linda 49 forever
Business
South Carolina
Feb 4, 2013

Quick trip to DC

Staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. Hotel is ideally located near Union Station and the Capital. Easy walk to the Mall and Museums! Would stay again in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Washington Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Imahawk
Business
Des Moines
Jan 23, 2013

DC business trip

As always, a polite and friendly staff welcomed me. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top