$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

W Washington D.C.

5 stars
515 15th Street NW, 515 15th Street NW, Washington, DC 20004
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
45 reviews
Girls Weekend

It was awesome! Everything we wanted was right in the hotel...spa, good food and nightlife. Oh and... See full review

  • LolaM888
  • Jun 23, 2014
Best 1st experience ever !

Even though our flight came in super late the first night, everyone took care of us as if we were... See full review

  • Fightermom54
  • Aug 16, 2013
Historic Washington DC hotel with a famous neighbor
The W Washington DC Hotel is located right next door to the White House. The property is also steps from the National Aquarium, Lafayette Park and the Corcoran Gallery of Art. Guests find fabulous views of the city from the rooftop bar and terrace of the W Washington DC Hotel. The hotel’s signature restaurant offers top-notch cuisine. The 317 rooms all have the highest standard of decor and offer modern conveniences such as iPod docking stations and LCD televisions.
3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Located next to the White House and easily accessible Washington DC attractions
  • Oldest hotel in the city with stunning architecture with a cool modern twist
  • Fabulous rooftop bar and terrace offering stunning views of the area
W Washington D.C. Rooms
All of the rooms at the W Washington DC Hotel offer stylish decor and amenities, making the hotel ideal for leisure and business travelers alike. Modern conveniences include iPod docking stations, DVD players, CD players and direct-dial phones. Tea and coffee-making facilities and mini-bars are also available in every room at the W Washington DC Hotel. Personal care items, such as toiletries, are complimentary and iron and ironing board are standard in each room. Children?s cots or cribs and tea/coffee maker are also available on request. Housekeeping services and laundry services are available to all guests at the W Washington DC Hotel.
Things to Do:
  • National Aquarium (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • White House (0.2 mi/0.3 km) 
  • Lafayette Park (0.3 mi/0.5 km) 
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts (0.4 mi/0.6 km) 
  • National Museum of American History (0.4 mi/0.6 km) 
  • DAR Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km) 
  • Ford's Theater (0.4 mi/0.7 km) 
  • Washington D.C. Madame Tussauds (0.4 mi/0.7 km) 
  • Washington Monument (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W Washington D.C. also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

W Washington D.C. Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Porters
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Room
Safe
Telephone
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • National Aquarium: 0.1 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.2 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.2 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.2 mi
  • Blair House: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.1 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.2 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.2 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.2 mi
  • Blair House: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.4 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.6 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.6 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • National Archives: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.7 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.7 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.7 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.7 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.7 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.7 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.7 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.8 mi

Dining

POV
Soak in views of the capital city, the White House, and the nation’s most important landmarks. From classic to cosmic cocktails, partake in pure, refreshing drinks to change your perception of libation.
Living Room
Where do you lounge? Enter the Living Room, where we’ve knocked down the walls of traditional lobby design to create a place where you can open your mind and feel alive while indulging in cocktail caucusing.
Pinea
Savor imaginative, elegant cuisine served in an approachable style. Pinea is inspired by the traditions of southern Europe and the flavors of the Mediterranean.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (45)

Ratings and reviews for W Washington D.C.

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 45
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.9

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MustangMike
Business
DC
Sep 10, 2013

Fancy/sleazy

This place is very overpriced. There were multiple orders of room service dishes sitting on the floor outside of other rooms in the hallway all night and into the morning. The room itself was tiny but comfortable. The lighting in the room felt like a red-light district. There were weird red LED lights all along the headboard of the bed. I paid $237 for one night at what I thought was going to be one of the classiest hotels in town. The whole stay was off-putting and weird. It definitely disappointed me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hamilton is great for happy hour and/or dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Buckeye Traveler
Business
Columbus Ohio
Nov 14, 2011

DC November 2011

A quick drive from DCA and just around the corner from the White House. The views from the roof top bar were outstanding. However I thought the price of the room was expensive for the size of the room and available amentities. There was no clock or radio in the room, and the sundries and wine were way overpriced, you would think for the price of the room the small bottle of wine or water would be complimentary. The bathroom door came off the hinge and locked in my wife until maintenance showed up, the spa pricing was rediclious but the staff was pleasant. Housekeeping failed to replenish lotions, shampoo's, TP etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a liquor store next block over, so forget the wine in the room. They have complimentary Acura drop off service but better book early.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Beijing CN
Apr 8, 2010

A hotel too freaky for me

The location was great, but the interior design was not to my taste at all. The service was great though. All and all I'll give it a average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Apr 11, 2010

Let down :(

We came to town from Baltimore for one evening in DC and to run in a the Cherry Blossom 10-miler race the next morning. The best part about the hotel was the location and the POV rooftop lounge for Sunday lunch with amazing views. The staff was friendly, just not that professional. Everything was roped off, so you had to continuously explain why you wanted to get to the elevators. There were three 4x4 elevators that were extremely slow and one was out of service. The friendly concierge recommended lunch at a cafe around the corner which sounded great. Unfortunately when we got there, the secret service had it all blocked off and we could not get in with having a reservation. Making it an early night of 11pm for the 7am race start, we had to muffle the beating club music coming from the roof top bar with the TV all night. $250 per night, $50 valet parking, $15 for wifi, $21 for room service of 1 banana and coffee and absolutely no cell phone service equaled a big let down. If I did it again, I would stay somewhere else and make a lunch reservation at the POV.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

POV rooftop lounge

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pj new travlet
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 27, 2010

great location, but...

The location of this hotel is excellent for the closeness to all of the sights of DC but the rooms are small and everything in the mini frig was for sale. A bottle of water on the night stand had a $9.00 tag on it which for me was somewhat off putting. Very friendly staff, very accomadating. We happened to get a room where the TV wasn't working properly and even though a technician came promptly the problem could not be resolved before we left. The walls are not that thick because we heard voices from the room next to us. They are changing the decor we were told because we had a throw on the bed, though pretty in color, shed all over the sheets. The location, close walking distance to the Visitor Center and the White House, is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are there to see the sight, its great, close. Eat out. Visit the Roof.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trevor R
Business
Adelaide, Australia
Oct 23, 2011

great location

The "W" is well located, comfortable rooms and trendy but old and tired. We enjoyed our stay because of the outstanding sevice and local knowlege of your concierge John. He organised our tours, entertainment venues, great restaurants and train to New York. Nothing was to much trouble. Thanks "W" for employing such a wonderful USA ambassador.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Georgetown

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amesie
Business
New York, NY
Apr 8, 2013

Great view, great staff

The staff was so helpful and amazing, and we were within walking distance of everything--the capitol building, white house, monuments, etc. The bars were really fun, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Get up early to do the cherry blossom walk, grab a cup of coffee, beat the crowds, take a deep breath and enjoy before it gets elbow to elbow.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NatNat11
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 2, 2013

Fabulous Location!!!

This was a great choice for a first time visit to D.C. in terms of location. You are right in the middle of the Mall and a stones throw away from the White House. Overall, the W staff had great customer service and catered to every need. The POV bar on the roof was a great weekend hot spot as well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Go to the P.O.V. bar. Fabulous people watching and amazing views of the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maura Ann
Business
Phila
Apr 7, 2014

Cherry Blossom Festival Trip

The W was perfect for a romantic getaway! We were walking distance to many festivities and had a wonderful time! The only downside was how crowded the family room was at night. The POV rooftop bar turns into a club at night and a lot of people come that are not staying at the hotel. When we returned from dinner Saturday night the line was out the door to get onto the elevator, so we went to the front desk to see if we could take the stairs up since we weren't going to the club, we wanted to go to our room. We were told there was no stair entrance and we had to get in line, which as a guest was very upsetting. We ended up cutting the line and told the elevator attendant we wanted to go straight to our room, and he let us go. Overall it was a great hotel, but I wouldn't recommend unless you enjoy the nightlife it offers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great for the White House and museums!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rdss
Business
Washington, DC
Mar 14, 2010

Great weekend stay!

The W Washington is very well located accross for the Treasury and White House. The hotel itself is very stylish and fun, not stuffy. We liked the fitness center, a little small but still nice. The rooftop bars have great views. The rooms are well designed and fun though just a bit tight on space. All in all, a fun place to stay for a night or two.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Founding Fathers on the other side of White House and access to GW University and Lisner Auditorium.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top