$204 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 20, 2015 Check-out: Jun 22, 2015

W Washington D.C.

5 stars
View map of 515 15th Street NW, 515 15th Street NW, Washington, DC 20004

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
56 reviews
Great location

You can't get better location! Almost everything historical we wanted to see was walking distance,... See full review

  • Carla C.
  • Mar 21, 2015
Girls Weekend

It was awesome! Everything we wanted was right in the hotel...spa, good food and nightlife. Oh and... See full review

  • LolaM888
  • Jun 23, 2014
Historic Washington DC hotel with a famous neighbor
The W Washington DC Hotel is located right next door to the White House. The property is also steps from the National Aquarium, Lafayette Park and the Corcoran Gallery of Art. Guests find fabulous views of the city from the rooftop bar and terrace of the W Washington DC Hotel. Pinea offers top-notch cuisine that is inspired by the traditions of Southern Europe and the flavors of the Mediterranean. Pinea's hidden gem, Root Cellar Whiskey Bar, is located in the lower level of the restaurant. A collection of some of the world's best whiskeys, award-winning scotches, rare bourbons, and local ryes line the brick archways of the bar while a cozy fire flickers nearby. Happy hour, from 5-8pm, features merenda and select sips for half price. The 317 rooms all have the highest standard of decor and offer modern conveniences such as iPod docking stations and LCD televisions.
3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Located next to the White House and easily accessible Washington DC attractions
  • Oldest hotel in the city with stunning architecture with a cool modern twist
  • Fabulous rooftop bar and terrace offering stunning views of the area
W Washington D.C. Rooms
All of the rooms at the W Washington DC Hotel offer stylish decor and amenities, making the hotel ideal for leisure and business travelers alike. Modern conveniences include iPod docking stations, DVD players, CD players and direct-dial phones. Tea and coffee-making facilities and mini-bars are also available in every room at the W Washington DC Hotel. Personal care items, such as toiletries, are complimentary and iron and ironing board are standard in each room. Children?s cots or cribs and tea/coffee maker are also available on request. Housekeeping services and laundry services are available to all guests at the W Washington DC Hotel.
Things to Do:
  • National Aquarium (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • White House (0.2 mi/0.3 km) 
  • Lafayette Park (0.3 mi/0.5 km) 
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts (0.4 mi/0.6 km) 
  • National Museum of American History (0.4 mi/0.6 km) 
  • DAR Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km) 
  • Ford's Theater (0.4 mi/0.7 km) 
  • Washington D.C. Madame Tussauds (0.4 mi/0.7 km) 
  • Washington Monument (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W Washington D.C. also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

W Washington D.C. Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Porters
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Room
Safe
Telephone
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • National Aquarium: 0.1 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.2 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.2 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.2 mi
  • Blair House: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.1 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.2 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.2 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.2 mi
  • Blair House: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.4 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.6 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.6 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • National Archives: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.7 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.7 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.7 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.7 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.7 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.7 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.7 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.8 mi

Dining

POV
Soak in views of the capital city, the White House, and the nation’s most important landmarks. From classic to cosmic cocktails, partake in pure, refreshing drinks to change your perception of libation.
Living Room
Enter the Living Room, where we’ve knocked down the walls of traditional lobby design to create a place where you can open your mind and feel alive while indulging in a cocktail.
Pinea
Savor imaginative, elegant cuisine served in an approachable style. Pinea is inspired by the traditions of southern Europe and the flavors of the Mediterranean. Chef Barry Koslow’s merenda menu features such sharable dishes as house-made charcuterie.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for W Washington D.C.

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 56
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
5
Value:
3.7

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Checking In Please
Business
Miami, Florida
Mar 31, 2010

Go Elsewhere! Not worth it!

Please if you are a business traveler, do NOT stay at this hotel. I arrived at the hotel on a Wednesday night and the entire lobby was one big club scene. Nobody helped me bring my bags to the front desk or even to my room. The music was so loud I had to scream my information to the receptionist so that she could hear me. The rooms are not what I expected a four star hotel to have- orange lights on the headboard, water that seeps out from the shower, very little lighting in the room, and people running up and down the halls. If you come back in the afternoons or at night, you have to get past a bouncer to be able to get to the elevator and even then they close off one elevator for the bar, making the other 2 overcrowded and slow. The hotel charges you for the daily paper and yet it is never delivered to your room. Housekeeping is done in the late afternoon, around 3 or 4 PM, and the day you leave they knock on your door at 8 AM. This hotel charges a very high price yet the only thing going for them is the location. Do yourself a favor and go elsewhere!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Checking In Please
Business
Miami, Florida
Mar 31, 2010

Go Elsewhere! Not worth it!

Please if you are a business traveler, do NOT stay at this hotel. I arrived at the hotel on a Wednesday night and the entire lobby was one big club scene. Nobody helped me bring my bags to the front desk or even to my room. The music was so loud I had to scream my information to the receptionist so that she could hear me. The rooms are not what I expected a four star hotel to have- orange lights on the headboard, water that seeps out from the shower, very little lighting in the room, and people running up and down the halls. If you come back in the afternoons or at night, you have to get past a bouncer to be able to get to the elevator and even then they close off one elevator for the bar, making the other 2 overcrowded and slow. The hotel charges you for the daily paper and yet it is never delivered to your room. Housekeeping is done in the late afternoon, around 3 or 4 PM, and the day you leave they knock on your door at 8 AM. This hotel charges a very high price yet the only thing going for them is the location. Do yourself a favor and go elsewhere!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wicanpi
Business
Lincoln, NE
May 16, 2011

A Block from the White House

The W Washington DC is located in a historic building and has been uniquely decorated with hip, modern furniture and art. Right off the entrance is a bar and a large, super comfortable seating area. There is a roof-top lounge that also has very comfortable seating and excellent service. The Steakhouse Restaurant on the lobby-level offers a so-so menu, but the wait staff is well trained, which makes the experience better than it would have been otherwise. Room service is good. The room I had was small and the bed was saggy, but the bedding was soft and comfortable. My room was the only quiet place in the hotel. Everywhere else, loud music and loud voices seemed acceptable. Even though I enjoyed my stay for the most part and it's convenient, I probably won't request this hotel in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wicanpi
Business
Lincoln, NE
May 16, 2011

A Block from the White House

The W Washington DC is located in a historic building and has been uniquely decorated with hip, modern furniture and art. Right off the entrance is a bar and a large, super comfortable seating area. There is a roof-top lounge that also has very comfortable seating and excellent service. The Steakhouse Restaurant on the lobby-level offers a so-so menu, but the wait staff is well trained, which makes the experience better than it would have been otherwise. Room service is good. The room I had was small and the bed was saggy, but the bedding was soft and comfortable. My room was the only quiet place in the hotel. Everywhere else, loud music and loud voices seemed acceptable. Even though I enjoyed my stay for the most part and it's convenient, I probably won't request this hotel in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Romantic Ricardo
Business
Middle America
Apr 5, 2014

Great Location

Positives: location is fantastic; staff are very courteous and helpful; room was clean and well-kept. Negatives: additional cost for in-room internet (quality luxury hotels shouldn't be charging additional for this); rooms on 10th floor are EXTREMELY loud on Friday and Saturday nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Otis
Business
Bath, UK
Jul 25, 2010

W Hotels, Washington DC

Great location right in the heart of DC and one block from the National Press Centre (where my conference was located). Check out the view from the POV roof terrace bar. Friendly and efficient service, although the Living Room gets a bit too busy and a bit too funky to be relaxing in the evenings but other than that I'd recommend it highly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Grab a Starbucks and breakfast in the park overlooking the White House. Just watch the world go by.

Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nicknameschnichname
Business
AZ
Apr 27, 2012

I am sure a standard room would be better!

I had asked for a double room and the only one available was the ADA compliant room. The staff was very courteous trying to accomodate since the hotel was booked but the room was (appropriately)funky: low rack in the closet meant only 1/3 of it was usable, no shelves in bathroom meant no blowdryer--first one didnt work, then brought a new one, the clock display was so dim it couldnt be read (clock was replaced but was still not user-friendly). The rest of the hotel made up for the room, but it was a bit of a disappointment considering the reputation of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hamilton!!! Ate there two days in a row. Noisy, but go with enough people and there are tiny alcoves which are fabulous.

Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gussie Fink Nottle
Business
Chicago
Apr 5, 2013

Great location, excellent staff

The exceptional parts of this hotel are the lobby and staff. The lobby has preserved the original detail (including the original, bank-like check-in counter), adding modern touches like beard and hair silhouettes of our most memorable Presidents (Chester A Arthur is unquestionably the best). The staff who checked me in and out couldn't have been more welcoming. My interior-view king room was on the small side and cluttered with items for purchase. Some may find this convenient but I found it detracted from the contemporary-retro style.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Massachusetts Leann
Business
Carver, Massachusetts
Oct 5, 2013

Fun decore; perfect location!

I was so sad to check out after just one night at the W DC. I loved to style and the location! There was a lot of street noise in the room, but given the location, it's to be expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Don't miss the rooftop bar!

Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
mid Michigan
May 4, 2010

business preferred

fast in and out - excellent staff but the "little extras" for sale in room were way too expensive to be tempted to use

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top