$197 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

W Washington D.C.

5 stars
515 15th Street, NW, 515 15th Street, NW, Washington, DC 20004
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
45 reviews
Girls Weekend

It was awesome! Everything we wanted was right in the hotel...spa, good food and nightlife. Oh and... See full review

  • LolaM888
  • Jun 23, 2014
Best 1st experience ever !

Even though our flight came in super late the first night, everyone took care of us as if we were... See full review

  • Fightermom54
  • Aug 16, 2013
Historic Washington DC hotel with a famous neighbor
The W Washington DC Hotel is located right next door to the White House. The property is also steps from the National Aquarium, Lafayette Park and the Corcoran Gallery of Art. Guests find fabulous views of the city from the rooftop bar and terrace of the W Washington DC Hotel. The hotel’s signature restaurant offers top-notch cuisine. The 317 rooms all have the highest standard of decor and offer modern conveniences such as iPod docking stations and LCD televisions.
3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Located next to the White House and easily accessible Washington DC attractions
  • Oldest hotel in the city with stunning architecture with a cool modern twist
  • Fabulous rooftop bar and terrace offering stunning views of the area
W Washington D.C. Rooms
All of the rooms at the W Washington DC Hotel offer stylish decor and amenities, making the hotel ideal for leisure and business travelers alike. Modern conveniences include iPod docking stations, DVD players, CD players and direct-dial phones. Tea and coffee-making facilities and mini-bars are also available in every room at the W Washington DC Hotel. Personal care items, such as toiletries, are complimentary and iron and ironing board are standard in each room. Children?s cots or cribs are also available on request. Housekeeping services and laundry services are available to all guests at the W Washington DC Hotel.
Things to Do:
  • National Aquarium (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • White House (0.2 mi/0.3 km) 
  • Lafayette Park (0.3 mi/0.5 km) 
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts (0.4 mi/0.6 km) 
  • National Museum of American History (0.4 mi/0.6 km) 
  • DAR Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km) 
  • Ford's Theater (0.4 mi/0.7 km) 
  • Washington D.C. Madame Tussauds (0.4 mi/0.7 km) 
  • Washington Monument (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
Policies and fees
The restaurant at W Washington DC is closed for renovation until mid-September. POV Rooftop Lounge and Terrace is also closed until September 5. In-room dining is available as usual and food service is offered at the W Living Room.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.8966 -77.0337
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, (DCA), 4.00, MI; Baltimore Washington International Airport, (BWI), 33.00, MI; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 26.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W Washington D.C. also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

W Washington D.C. Rooms

Cozy
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
24 hour security
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Doorman
Video checkout
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • National Aquarium: 0.1 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.2 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.2 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.2 mi
  • Blair House: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.1 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.2 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.2 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.2 mi
  • Blair House: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.4 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.6 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.6 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • National Archives: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.7 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.7 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.7 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.7 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.7 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.7 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.7 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (45)

Ratings and reviews for W Washington D.C.

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maura Ann
Phila
Apr 7, 2014

Cherry Blossom Festival Trip

The W was perfect for a romantic getaway! We were walking distance to many festivities and had a wonderful time! The only downside was how crowded the family room was at night. The POV rooftop bar turns into a club at night and a lot of people come that are not staying at the hotel. When we returned from dinner Saturday night the line was out the door to get onto the elevator, so we went to the front desk to see if we could take the stairs up since we weren't going to the club, we wanted to go to our room. We were told there was no stair entrance and we had to get in line, which as a guest was very upsetting. We ended up cutting the line and told the elevator attendant we wanted to go straight to our room, and he let us go. Overall it was a great hotel, but I wouldn't recommend unless you enjoy the nightlife it offers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great for the White House and museums!

Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DC Business Traveler
DC
Jul 16, 2009

The W

The W was a significant change from its former self the Hotel Washington. While the hotel is very focused on being trendy and has some amazing features (the shower is particularly nice), but had some issues that drove me a bit crazy. For example, the phones did not work in the room at all (you would dial and always get a busy signal), the lights were very odd, and some of the features you would expect from a nicer hotel weren't there (mini blowdryer, no supply of toiletries if you forgot some, etc). Overall though very clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Otis
Business
Bath, UK
Jul 25, 2010

W Hotels, Washington DC

Great location right in the heart of DC and one block from the National Press Centre (where my conference was located). Check out the view from the POV roof terrace bar. Friendly and efficient service, although the Living Room gets a bit too busy and a bit too funky to be relaxing in the evenings but other than that I'd recommend it highly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Grab a Starbucks and breakfast in the park overlooking the White House. Just watch the world go by.

Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Serious Tourist
Cocoa, FL
Aug 30, 2010

Great Hotel, Great Location

The great location and excellent staff more than made up for its negative points. The rooms were immaculate and comfortable. The down side: Common amenities are available only if you ask for them. The popular bar on the roof funnels through the same small lobby as the hotel guests. It was a great value and I will definitely stay there when ever I am in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the very impressive history of the adjoining hotel. Eat lunch at the nearby bakery and dinner at the Old Ebbitts Grill. Use the metro to get around and save your feet.

Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trevor R
Adelaide, Australia
Oct 23, 2011

great location

The "W" is well located, comfortable rooms and trendy but old and tired. We enjoyed our stay because of the outstanding sevice and local knowlege of your concierge John. He organised our tours, entertainment venues, great restaurants and train to New York. Nothing was to much trouble. Thanks "W" for employing such a wonderful USA ambassador.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Georgetown

Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nicknameschnichname
Business
AZ
Apr 27, 2012

I am sure a standard room would be better!

I had asked for a double room and the only one available was the ADA compliant room. The staff was very courteous trying to accomodate since the hotel was booked but the room was (appropriately)funky: low rack in the closet meant only 1/3 of it was usable, no shelves in bathroom meant no blowdryer--first one didnt work, then brought a new one, the clock display was so dim it couldnt be read (clock was replaced but was still not user-friendly). The rest of the hotel made up for the room, but it was a bit of a disappointment considering the reputation of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hamilton!!! Ate there two days in a row. Noisy, but go with enough people and there are tiny alcoves which are fabulous.

Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gussie Fink Nottle
Business
Chicago
Apr 5, 2013

Great location, excellent staff

The exceptional parts of this hotel are the lobby and staff. The lobby has preserved the original detail (including the original, bank-like check-in counter), adding modern touches like beard and hair silhouettes of our most memorable Presidents (Chester A Arthur is unquestionably the best). The staff who checked me in and out couldn't have been more welcoming. My interior-view king room was on the small side and cluttered with items for purchase. Some may find this convenient but I found it detracted from the contemporary-retro style.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amesie
New York, NY
Apr 8, 2013

Great view, great staff

The staff was so helpful and amazing, and we were within walking distance of everything--the capitol building, white house, monuments, etc. The bars were really fun, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Get up early to do the cherry blossom walk, grab a cup of coffee, beat the crowds, take a deep breath and enjoy before it gets elbow to elbow.

Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NatNat11
Dallas, TX
Jul 2, 2013

Fabulous Location!!!

This was a great choice for a first time visit to D.C. in terms of location. You are right in the middle of the Mall and a stones throw away from the White House. Overall, the W staff had great customer service and catered to every need. The POV bar on the roof was a great weekend hot spot as well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Go to the P.O.V. bar. Fabulous people watching and amazing views of the city.

Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Massachusetts Leann
Business
Carver, Massachusetts
Oct 5, 2013

Fun decore; perfect location!

I was so sad to check out after just one night at the W DC. I loved to style and the location! There was a lot of street noise in the room, but given the location, it's to be expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Don't miss the rooftop bar!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search