$191 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

W Washington D.C.

5 stars
View map of 515 15th Street NW, 515 15th Street NW, Washington, DC 20004

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
49 reviews
Great location

You can't get better location! Almost everything historical we wanted to see was walking distance,... See full review

  • Carla C.
  • Mar 21, 2015
Girls Weekend

It was awesome! Everything we wanted was right in the hotel...spa, good food and nightlife. Oh and... See full review

  • LolaM888
  • Jun 23, 2014
Historic Washington DC hotel with a famous neighbor
The W Washington DC Hotel is located right next door to the White House. The property is also steps from the National Aquarium, Lafayette Park and the Corcoran Gallery of Art. Guests find fabulous views of the city from the rooftop bar and terrace of the W Washington DC Hotel. Pinea offers top-notch cuisine that is inspired by the traditions of Southern Europe and the flavors of the Mediterranean. Pinea's hidden gem, Root Cellar Whiskey Bar, is located in the lower level of the restaurant. A collection of some of the world's best whiskeys, award-winning scotches, rare bourbons, and local ryes line the brick archways of the bar while a cozy fire flickers nearby. Happy hour, from 5-8pm, features merenda and select sips for half price. The 317 rooms all have the highest standard of decor and offer modern conveniences such as iPod docking stations and LCD televisions.
3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Located next to the White House and easily accessible Washington DC attractions
  • Oldest hotel in the city with stunning architecture with a cool modern twist
  • Fabulous rooftop bar and terrace offering stunning views of the area
W Washington D.C. Rooms
All of the rooms at the W Washington DC Hotel offer stylish decor and amenities, making the hotel ideal for leisure and business travelers alike. Modern conveniences include iPod docking stations, DVD players, CD players and direct-dial phones. Tea and coffee-making facilities and mini-bars are also available in every room at the W Washington DC Hotel. Personal care items, such as toiletries, are complimentary and iron and ironing board are standard in each room. Children?s cots or cribs and tea/coffee maker are also available on request. Housekeeping services and laundry services are available to all guests at the W Washington DC Hotel.
Things to Do:
  • National Aquarium (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • White House (0.2 mi/0.3 km) 
  • Lafayette Park (0.3 mi/0.5 km) 
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts (0.4 mi/0.6 km) 
  • National Museum of American History (0.4 mi/0.6 km) 
  • DAR Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km) 
  • Ford's Theater (0.4 mi/0.7 km) 
  • Washington D.C. Madame Tussauds (0.4 mi/0.7 km) 
  • Washington Monument (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W Washington D.C. also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

W Washington D.C. Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Porters
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Room
Safe
Telephone
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • National Aquarium: 0.1 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.2 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.2 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.2 mi
  • Blair House: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.1 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.2 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.2 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.2 mi
  • Blair House: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.4 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.6 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.6 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • National Archives: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.7 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.7 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.7 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.7 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.7 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.7 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.7 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.8 mi

Dining

Pinea
Savor imaginative, elegant cuisine served in an approachable style. Pinea is inspired by the traditions of southern Europe and the flavors of the Mediterranean. Chef Barry Koslow’s merenda menu features such sharable dishes as house-made charcuterie.
Living Room
Where do you lounge? Enter the Living Room, where we’ve knocked down the walls of traditional lobby design to create a place where you can open your mind and feel alive while indulging in cocktail caucusing.
POV
Soak in views of the capital city, the White House, and the nation’s most important landmarks. From classic to cosmic cocktails, partake in pure, refreshing drinks to change your perception of libation.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for W Washington D.C.

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 49
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.9

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
luisvfire
Business
Miami,FL.
Aug 22, 2010

heaven on earth

great service, the staff was very friendly and they lived up to their motto WHATEVER WHENEVER

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hotel offered "the Acura experience" it provided a free ride to anywhere in the city within a 5 mile radius. awesome!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brazerc
Business
Whitman ma
Jul 24, 2012

Perfect

Hotel amenities are first class. Very modern hotel with a staff that will meet every need you have! Beautiful rooftop bar with professional bartenders.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Use the concierge.save money on attractions and the hassles of lines.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Secret Squirrel
Business
Central VA
Aug 28, 2012

Outstanding Service

As a SPG member, we were immediately identified and offered an upgraded room and two free drink coupons for the bar as it was my birthday. The employee behind the check-in counter was incredibly friendly and seemed genuinely interested in making sure we had a perfect stay. She pointed out services of the hotel based on our plans. Upon reaching out room, there was a quick follow-up knock at the door. A manager had brought my wallet and cellphone up to the room personally as I had left it on the counter during check-in. The rooftop bar, with it's incredible view of the White House and Washington Monument, was a nice surprise. The complimentary Acura car service saved us a taxi ride and allowed us to arrive at the Kennedy Center for our show in style. Drinks at the rooftop afterwards and a little dancing at the POV Club on the roof were a great end to the evening. The Premium King room had an awesome view of the Treasury Building, the White House, and 15th Street down to the National Mall. The room was a bit small for the money; however, this we didn't spend much time in the room. It was comfortable, including the bed; but the bathroom configuration is a bit strange with the vanity out in the room and the toilet/shower encased in a frosted glass room within the room. We did have a hard time finding switches for some of the lights in the room which we never did get to go bright. We should have asked. All in all, our stay was very pleasant and we will be using this hotel again in future visits to DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Old Ebbitts Grill is only one block from the hotel and is a great value for fine dining and drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cindy School Teacher
Business
Boston
Feb 28, 2013

Amazing Staff!

I needed assistance with my reservation and the manager Tom was a Godsend. He was patient, courteous, helpful, and sensitive to my needs. I would recommend the W chain in general and most specifically the W in Washington DC!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nette Girl
Business
New Orleans
Jul 1, 2013

DC Trip

The hotel was in great location. The décor of the hotel is super cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nmddmd
Business
pittsburgh, pa
Jul 11, 2011

Awesome Hotel!!

Only stayed one night. Wish we could have stayed longer. We arrived around noon, several hours before the set check-in time, and the staff didn't even bat an eye, just set us up with our room. The room was gorgeous, ultra modern, very sleek, but still extremely functional. Loved the lemon-sage line of soaps they provided. At night the upper floor turns into a swanky bar. There was a crush of people trying to get in and up the elevators, but all you had to do was wave your room key and you were let right in the door and right onto the elevator. Extremely close to the White House, the Washington Monument, etc. Will definitely be staying here again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Mar 29, 2010

Excellent hotel with great service

Great location. The service was excellent and superb. The Rooftop Bar had a great view but it was too crowded and there was not enough space to stand even.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maura Ann
Business
Phila
Apr 7, 2014

Cherry Blossom Festival Trip

The W was perfect for a romantic getaway! We were walking distance to many festivities and had a wonderful time! The only downside was how crowded the family room was at night. The POV rooftop bar turns into a club at night and a lot of people come that are not staying at the hotel. When we returned from dinner Saturday night the line was out the door to get onto the elevator, so we went to the front desk to see if we could take the stairs up since we weren't going to the club, we wanted to go to our room. We were told there was no stair entrance and we had to get in line, which as a guest was very upsetting. We ended up cutting the line and told the elevator attendant we wanted to go straight to our room, and he let us go. Overall it was a great hotel, but I wouldn't recommend unless you enjoy the nightlife it offers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great for the White House and museums!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trevor R
Business
Adelaide, Australia
Oct 23, 2011

great location

The "W" is well located, comfortable rooms and trendy but old and tired. We enjoyed our stay because of the outstanding sevice and local knowlege of your concierge John. He organised our tours, entertainment venues, great restaurants and train to New York. Nothing was to much trouble. Thanks "W" for employing such a wonderful USA ambassador.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Georgetown

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amesie
Business
New York, NY
Apr 8, 2013

Great view, great staff

The staff was so helpful and amazing, and we were within walking distance of everything--the capitol building, white house, monuments, etc. The bars were really fun, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Get up early to do the cherry blossom walk, grab a cup of coffee, beat the crowds, take a deep breath and enjoy before it gets elbow to elbow.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top