$183 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

W Washington D.C.

5 stars
515 15th Street, NW, F St. Between 14th and 15th Street, Washington, DC 20004
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
60 reviews
Girls Weekend

It was awesome! Everything we wanted was right in the hotel...spa, good food and nightlife. Oh and... See full review

  • LolaM888
  • Jun 23, 2014
Best 1st experience ever !

Even though our flight came in super late the first night, everyone took care of us as if we were... See full review

  • Fightermom54
  • Aug 16, 2013
Historic Washington DC hotel with a famous neighbor
The W Washington DC Hotel is located right next door to the White House. The property is also steps from the National Aquarium, Lafayette Park and the Corcoran Gallery of Art. Guests find fabulous views of the city from the rooftop bar and terrace of the W Washington DC Hotel. The hotel’s signature restaurant offers top-notch cuisine. The 317 rooms all have the highest standard of decor and offer modern conveniences such as iPod docking stations and LCD televisions.
3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Located next to the White House and easily accessible Washington DC attractions
  • Oldest hotel in the city with stunning architecture with a cool modern twist
  • Fabulous rooftop bar and terrace offering stunning views of the area
W Washington D.C. Rooms
All of the rooms at the W Washington DC Hotel offer stylish décor and amenities, making the hotel ideal for leisure and business travelers alike. Modern conveniences include iPod docking stations, DVD players, CD players and direct-dial phones. Tea and coffee-making facilities and mini-bars are also available in every room at the W Washington DC Hotel. Personal care items, such as toiletries, are complimentary and iron and ironing board are standard in each room. Children’s cots or cribs are also available on request. Housekeeping services and laundry services are available to all guests at the W Washington DC Hotel.
Things to Do:
  • National Aquarium (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • White House (0.2 mi/0.3 km) 
  • Lafayette Park (0.3 mi/0.5 km) 
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts (0.4 mi/0.6 km) 
  • National Museum of American History (0.4 mi/0.6 km) 
  • DAR Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km) 
  • Ford's Theater (0.4 mi/0.7 km) 
  • Washington D.C. Madame Tussauds (0.4 mi/0.7 km) 
  • Washington Monument (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

Hotel Map

38.8966 -77.0337
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, (DCA), 4.00, MI; Baltimore Washington International Airport, (BWI), 33.00, MI; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 26.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W Washington D.C. also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

W Washington D.C. Rooms

Cozy
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
24 hour security
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Doorman
Video checkout
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • National Aquarium: 0.1 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.2 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.2 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.2 mi
  • Blair House: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.1 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.2 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.2 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.2 mi
  • Blair House: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.4 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.6 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.6 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • National Archives: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.7 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.7 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.7 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.7 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.7 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.7 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.7 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (60)

Ratings and reviews for W Washington D.C.

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 60
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Carolina85
Hollywood, Ca
Apr 19, 2014

Don't go unless your a celebrity

I was so excited to stay at this hotel because of its proximity to the White House. Arrived early checked in ... Was treated rudely by the check in girl! Once I made it up to my room I found all kinds of hair on the bedding!! There was also a paper covering some sort of alarm/light.... Looked super schetchy! I complained to a manager but he was ruder than the girl at the check in desk! I figured out that this hotel is known for hosting celebs and the uber flashy rich "hip" crowds...explained the snotty, rude treatment .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Checking In Please
Business
Miami, Florida
Mar 31, 2010

Go Elsewhere! Not worth it!

Please if you are a business traveler, do NOT stay at this hotel. I arrived at the hotel on a Wednesday night and the entire lobby was one big club scene. Nobody helped me bring my bags to the front desk or even to my room. The music was so loud I had to scream my information to the receptionist so that she could hear me. The rooms are not what I expected a four star hotel to have- orange lights on the headboard, water that seeps out from the shower, very little lighting in the room, and people running up and down the halls. If you come back in the afternoons or at night, you have to get past a bouncer to be able to get to the elevator and even then they close off one elevator for the bar, making the other 2 overcrowded and slow. The hotel charges you for the daily paper and yet it is never delivered to your room. Housekeeping is done in the late afternoon, around 3 or 4 PM, and the day you leave they knock on your door at 8 AM. This hotel charges a very high price yet the only thing going for them is the location. Do yourself a favor and go elsewhere!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MustangMike
DC
Sep 10, 2013

Fancy/sleazy

This place is very overpriced. There were multiple orders of room service dishes sitting on the floor outside of other rooms in the hallway all night and into the morning. The room itself was tiny but comfortable. The lighting in the room felt like a red-light district. There were weird red LED lights all along the headboard of the bed. I paid $237 for one night at what I thought was going to be one of the classiest hotels in town. The whole stay was off-putting and weird. It definitely disappointed me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hamilton is great for happy hour and/or dinner.

Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pj new travlet
Chicago, IL
Apr 27, 2010

great location, but...

The location of this hotel is excellent for the closeness to all of the sights of DC but the rooms are small and everything in the mini frig was for sale. A bottle of water on the night stand had a $9.00 tag on it which for me was somewhat off putting. Very friendly staff, very accomadating. We happened to get a room where the TV wasn't working properly and even though a technician came promptly the problem could not be resolved before we left. The walls are not that thick because we heard voices from the room next to us. They are changing the decor we were told because we had a throw on the bed, though pretty in color, shed all over the sheets. The location, close walking distance to the Visitor Center and the White House, is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are there to see the sight, its great, close. Eat out. Visit the Roof.

Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Beijing CN
Apr 8, 2010

A hotel too freaky for me

The location was great, but the interior design was not to my taste at all. The service was great though. All and all I'll give it a average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richmond, VA
Nov 23, 2010

Function sacrificed for style/minimalism

The functions of the room were ridiculous. It was very apparent they were going for a very stylistic minimalistic kind of look. But with that they sacrificed a lot of function for common everyday tasks. When the bellhop brought our bags he mentioned we should receive some kind of reward for being able to turn on all the lights, saying that is the first thing every guest calls the operator for. The room had full length mirrors but they were in the closet which doors could only barely open leaving a user very little ability to get a full glimpse of themselves. The service and staff were very good and they are the only reason I would not rate this place as a two star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Buckeye Traveler
Columbus Ohio
Nov 14, 2011

DC November 2011

A quick drive from DCA and just around the corner from the White House. The views from the roof top bar were outstanding. However I thought the price of the room was expensive for the size of the room and available amentities. There was no clock or radio in the room, and the sundries and wine were way overpriced, you would think for the price of the room the small bottle of wine or water would be complimentary. The bathroom door came off the hinge and locked in my wife until maintenance showed up, the spa pricing was rediclious but the staff was pleasant. Housekeeping failed to replenish lotions, shampoo's, TP etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a liquor store next block over, so forget the wine in the room. They have complimentary Acura drop off service but better book early.

Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wicanpi
Business
Lincoln, NE
May 16, 2011

A Block from the White House

The W Washington DC is located in a historic building and has been uniquely decorated with hip, modern furniture and art. Right off the entrance is a bar and a large, super comfortable seating area. There is a roof-top lounge that also has very comfortable seating and excellent service. The Steakhouse Restaurant on the lobby-level offers a so-so menu, but the wait staff is well trained, which makes the experience better than it would have been otherwise. Room service is good. The room I had was small and the bed was saggy, but the bedding was soft and comfortable. My room was the only quiet place in the hotel. Everywhere else, loud music and loud voices seemed acceptable. Even though I enjoyed my stay for the most part and it's convenient, I probably won't request this hotel in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore, MD
Apr 11, 2010

Let down :(

We came to town from Baltimore for one evening in DC and to run in a the Cherry Blossom 10-miler race the next morning. The best part about the hotel was the location and the POV rooftop lounge for Sunday lunch with amazing views. The staff was friendly, just not that professional. Everything was roped off, so you had to continuously explain why you wanted to get to the elevators. There were three 4x4 elevators that were extremely slow and one was out of service. The friendly concierge recommended lunch at a cafe around the corner which sounded great. Unfortunately when we got there, the secret service had it all blocked off and we could not get in with having a reservation. Making it an early night of 11pm for the 7am race start, we had to muffle the beating club music coming from the roof top bar with the TV all night. $250 per night, $50 valet parking, $15 for wifi, $21 for room service of 1 banana and coffee and absolutely no cell phone service equaled a big let down. If I did it again, I would stay somewhere else and make a lunch reservation at the POV.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

POV rooftop lounge

Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pj new travlet
Chicago, IL
Apr 27, 2010

great location, but...

The location of this hotel is excellent for the closeness to all of the sights of DC but the rooms are small and everything in the mini frig was for sale. A bottle of water on the night stand had a $9.00 tag on it which for me was somewhat off putting. Very friendly staff, very accomadating. We happened to get a room where the TV wasn't working properly and even though a technician came promptly the problem could not be resolved before we left. The walls are not that thick because we heard voices from the room next to us. They are changing the decor we were told because we had a throw on the bed, though pretty in color, shed all over the sheets. The location, close walking distance to the Visitor Center and the White House, is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are there to see the sight, its great, close. Eat out. Visit the Roof.

Back to menu Return to top