$177 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 27, 2014 Check-out: Nov 30, 2014

W Washington D.C.

5 stars
515 15th Street NW, 515 15th Street NW, Washington, DC 20004
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
45 reviews
Girls Weekend

It was awesome! Everything we wanted was right in the hotel...spa, good food and nightlife. Oh and... See full review

  • LolaM888
  • Jun 23, 2014
Best 1st experience ever !

Even though our flight came in super late the first night, everyone took care of us as if we were... See full review

  • Fightermom54
  • Aug 16, 2013
Historic Washington DC hotel with a famous neighbor
The W Washington DC Hotel is located right next door to the White House. The property is also steps from the National Aquarium, Lafayette Park and the Corcoran Gallery of Art. Guests find fabulous views of the city from the rooftop bar and terrace of the W Washington DC Hotel. The hotel’s signature restaurant offers top-notch cuisine. The 317 rooms all have the highest standard of decor and offer modern conveniences such as iPod docking stations and LCD televisions.
3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Located next to the White House and easily accessible Washington DC attractions
  • Oldest hotel in the city with stunning architecture with a cool modern twist
  • Fabulous rooftop bar and terrace offering stunning views of the area
W Washington D.C. Rooms
All of the rooms at the W Washington DC Hotel offer stylish decor and amenities, making the hotel ideal for leisure and business travelers alike. Modern conveniences include iPod docking stations, DVD players, CD players and direct-dial phones. Tea and coffee-making facilities and mini-bars are also available in every room at the W Washington DC Hotel. Personal care items, such as toiletries, are complimentary and iron and ironing board are standard in each room. Children?s cots or cribs and tea/coffee maker are also available on request. Housekeeping services and laundry services are available to all guests at the W Washington DC Hotel.
Things to Do:
  • National Aquarium (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • White House (0.2 mi/0.3 km) 
  • Lafayette Park (0.3 mi/0.5 km) 
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts (0.4 mi/0.6 km) 
  • National Museum of American History (0.4 mi/0.6 km) 
  • DAR Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km) 
  • Ford's Theater (0.4 mi/0.7 km) 
  • Washington D.C. Madame Tussauds (0.4 mi/0.7 km) 
  • Washington Monument (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

Hotel Map

38.8966 -77.0337
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 4.83, KM; Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 41.84, KM;
Area description
City Center, Urban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W Washington D.C. also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

W Washington D.C. Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Porters
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Room
Safe
Telephone
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • National Aquarium: 0.1 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.2 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.2 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.2 mi
  • Blair House: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.1 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.2 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.2 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.2 mi
  • Blair House: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.4 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.6 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.6 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • National Archives: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.7 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.7 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.7 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.7 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.7 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.7 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.7 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.8 mi

Dining

POV
Soak in views of the capital city, the White House, and the nation’s most important landmarks. From classic to cosmic cocktails, partake in pure, refreshing drinks to change your perception of libation.
Living Room
Where do you lounge? Enter the Living Room, where we’ve knocked down the walls of traditional lobby design to create a place where you can open your mind and feel alive while indulging in cocktail caucusing.
Pinea
Savor imaginative, elegant cuisine served in an approachable style. Pinea is inspired by the traditions of southern Europe and the flavors of the Mediterranean.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (45)

Ratings and reviews for W Washington D.C.

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Secret Squirrel
Central VA
Aug 28, 2012

Outstanding Service

As a SPG member, we were immediately identified and offered an upgraded room and two free drink coupons for the bar as it was my birthday. The employee behind the check-in counter was incredibly friendly and seemed genuinely interested in making sure we had a perfect stay. She pointed out services of the hotel based on our plans. Upon reaching out room, there was a quick follow-up knock at the door. A manager had brought my wallet and cellphone up to the room personally as I had left it on the counter during check-in. The rooftop bar, with it's incredible view of the White House and Washington Monument, was a nice surprise. The complimentary Acura car service saved us a taxi ride and allowed us to arrive at the Kennedy Center for our show in style. Drinks at the rooftop afterwards and a little dancing at the POV Club on the roof were a great end to the evening. The Premium King room had an awesome view of the Treasury Building, the White House, and 15th Street down to the National Mall. The room was a bit small for the money; however, this we didn't spend much time in the room. It was comfortable, including the bed; but the bathroom configuration is a bit strange with the vanity out in the room and the toilet/shower encased in a frosted glass room within the room. We did have a hard time finding switches for some of the lights in the room which we never did get to go bright. We should have asked. All in all, our stay was very pleasant and we will be using this hotel again in future visits to DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Old Ebbitts Grill is only one block from the hotel and is a great value for fine dining and drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nette Girl
Business
New Orleans
Jul 1, 2013

DC Trip

The hotel was in great location. The décor of the hotel is super cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amesie
Business
New York, NY
Apr 8, 2013

Great view, great staff

The staff was so helpful and amazing, and we were within walking distance of everything--the capitol building, white house, monuments, etc. The bars were really fun, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Get up early to do the cherry blossom walk, grab a cup of coffee, beat the crowds, take a deep breath and enjoy before it gets elbow to elbow.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gussie Fink Nottle
Business
Chicago
Apr 5, 2013

Great location, excellent staff

The exceptional parts of this hotel are the lobby and staff. The lobby has preserved the original detail (including the original, bank-like check-in counter), adding modern touches like beard and hair silhouettes of our most memorable Presidents (Chester A Arthur is unquestionably the best). The staff who checked me in and out couldn't have been more welcoming. My interior-view king room was on the small side and cluttered with items for purchase. Some may find this convenient but I found it detracted from the contemporary-retro style.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Antares
Business
London, UK
Mar 14, 2013

Efficient City Center Hotel

Very professional and sleek, the W trades standard "family" amenities like swiming pool and children facilities for ultra hi-end yet modern looks, comfortable rooms, friendly staff , fantastic bars and award winning location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Living room bourbons

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cindy School Teacher
Business
Boston
Feb 28, 2013

Amazing Staff!

I needed assistance with my reservation and the manager Tom was a Godsend. He was patient, courteous, helpful, and sensitive to my needs. I would recommend the W chain in general and most specifically the W in Washington DC!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Secret Squirrel
Business
Central VA
Aug 28, 2012

Outstanding Service

As a SPG member, we were immediately identified and offered an upgraded room and two free drink coupons for the bar as it was my birthday. The employee behind the check-in counter was incredibly friendly and seemed genuinely interested in making sure we had a perfect stay. She pointed out services of the hotel based on our plans. Upon reaching out room, there was a quick follow-up knock at the door. A manager had brought my wallet and cellphone up to the room personally as I had left it on the counter during check-in. The rooftop bar, with it's incredible view of the White House and Washington Monument, was a nice surprise. The complimentary Acura car service saved us a taxi ride and allowed us to arrive at the Kennedy Center for our show in style. Drinks at the rooftop afterwards and a little dancing at the POV Club on the roof were a great end to the evening. The Premium King room had an awesome view of the Treasury Building, the White House, and 15th Street down to the National Mall. The room was a bit small for the money; however, this we didn't spend much time in the room. It was comfortable, including the bed; but the bathroom configuration is a bit strange with the vanity out in the room and the toilet/shower encased in a frosted glass room within the room. We did have a hard time finding switches for some of the lights in the room which we never did get to go bright. We should have asked. All in all, our stay was very pleasant and we will be using this hotel again in future visits to DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Old Ebbitts Grill is only one block from the hotel and is a great value for fine dining and drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brazerc
Business
Whitman ma
Jul 24, 2012

Perfect

Hotel amenities are first class. Very modern hotel with a staff that will meet every need you have! Beautiful rooftop bar with professional bartenders.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Use the concierge.save money on attractions and the hassles of lines.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nicknameschnichname
Business
AZ
Apr 27, 2012

I am sure a standard room would be better!

I had asked for a double room and the only one available was the ADA compliant room. The staff was very courteous trying to accomodate since the hotel was booked but the room was (appropriately)funky: low rack in the closet meant only 1/3 of it was usable, no shelves in bathroom meant no blowdryer--first one didnt work, then brought a new one, the clock display was so dim it couldnt be read (clock was replaced but was still not user-friendly). The rest of the hotel made up for the room, but it was a bit of a disappointment considering the reputation of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hamilton!!! Ate there two days in a row. Noisy, but go with enough people and there are tiny alcoves which are fabulous.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Jan 1, 2012

Birthday

The staff made my experience memorable, as they were kind and friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Buckeye Traveler
Business
Columbus Ohio
Nov 14, 2011

DC November 2011

A quick drive from DCA and just around the corner from the White House. The views from the roof top bar were outstanding. However I thought the price of the room was expensive for the size of the room and available amentities. There was no clock or radio in the room, and the sundries and wine were way overpriced, you would think for the price of the room the small bottle of wine or water would be complimentary. The bathroom door came off the hinge and locked in my wife until maintenance showed up, the spa pricing was rediclious but the staff was pleasant. Housekeeping failed to replenish lotions, shampoo's, TP etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a liquor store next block over, so forget the wine in the room. They have complimentary Acura drop off service but better book early.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top