$225 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

W Washington D.C.

5 stars
View map of 515 15th Street NW, 515 15th Street NW, Washington, DC 20004

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W Washington D.C.

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MustangMike
Business
DC
Sep 10, 2013

Fancy/sleazy

This place is very overpriced. There were multiple orders of room service dishes sitting on the floor outside of other rooms in the hallway all night and into the morning. The room itself was tiny but comfortable. The lighting in the room felt like a red-light district. There were weird red LED lights all along the headboard of the bed. I paid $237 for one night at what I thought was going to be one of the classiest hotels in town. The whole stay was off-putting and weird. It definitely disappointed me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hamilton is great for happy hour and/or dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fightermom54
Business
Augusta, GA
Aug 16, 2013

Best 1st experience ever !

Even though our flight came in super late the first night, everyone took care of us as if we were presidential. The location was wonderful, the best location in town. Everything you need is in walking distance, and the White House is literally right next to the hotel. The Acura service was excellent, beautiful cars to take us wherever we wanted to go in a 5 mile radius. The restaurant suggestions were awesome, especially the "Georgia Brown" restaurant their food was AMAZING! The hotel staff were very wonderful, they weren't afraid to actually hold a conversation with you, very nice people. They greet you every time you come in the door and lobby. Omg it's so much I can say about our 1st time experience to Washington D.C., even the big bus tour that the city has is awesome that the best tour line everybody should take you hop on hop off all day. Overall this experience was awesome, magnificent, if I come again I'm staying at the W.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NatNat11
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 2, 2013

Fabulous Location!!!

This was a great choice for a first time visit to D.C. in terms of location. You are right in the middle of the Mall and a stones throw away from the White House. Overall, the W staff had great customer service and catered to every need. The POV bar on the roof was a great weekend hot spot as well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Go to the P.O.V. bar. Fabulous people watching and amazing views of the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nette Girl
Business
New Orleans
Jul 1, 2013

DC Trip

The hotel was in great location. The décor of the hotel is super cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amesie
Business
New York, NY
Apr 8, 2013

Great view, great staff

The staff was so helpful and amazing, and we were within walking distance of everything--the capitol building, white house, monuments, etc. The bars were really fun, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Get up early to do the cherry blossom walk, grab a cup of coffee, beat the crowds, take a deep breath and enjoy before it gets elbow to elbow.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gussie Fink Nottle
Business
Chicago
Apr 5, 2013

Great location, excellent staff

The exceptional parts of this hotel are the lobby and staff. The lobby has preserved the original detail (including the original, bank-like check-in counter), adding modern touches like beard and hair silhouettes of our most memorable Presidents (Chester A Arthur is unquestionably the best). The staff who checked me in and out couldn't have been more welcoming. My interior-view king room was on the small side and cluttered with items for purchase. Some may find this convenient but I found it detracted from the contemporary-retro style.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Antares
Business
London, UK
Mar 14, 2013

Efficient City Center Hotel

Very professional and sleek, the W trades standard "family" amenities like swiming pool and children facilities for ultra hi-end yet modern looks, comfortable rooms, friendly staff , fantastic bars and award winning location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Living room bourbons

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cindy School Teacher
Business
Boston
Feb 28, 2013

Amazing Staff!

I needed assistance with my reservation and the manager Tom was a Godsend. He was patient, courteous, helpful, and sensitive to my needs. I would recommend the W chain in general and most specifically the W in Washington DC!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Secret Squirrel
Business
Central VA
Aug 28, 2012

Outstanding Service

As a SPG member, we were immediately identified and offered an upgraded room and two free drink coupons for the bar as it was my birthday. The employee behind the check-in counter was incredibly friendly and seemed genuinely interested in making sure we had a perfect stay. She pointed out services of the hotel based on our plans. Upon reaching out room, there was a quick follow-up knock at the door. A manager had brought my wallet and cellphone up to the room personally as I had left it on the counter during check-in. The rooftop bar, with it's incredible view of the White House and Washington Monument, was a nice surprise. The complimentary Acura car service saved us a taxi ride and allowed us to arrive at the Kennedy Center for our show in style. Drinks at the rooftop afterwards and a little dancing at the POV Club on the roof were a great end to the evening. The Premium King room had an awesome view of the Treasury Building, the White House, and 15th Street down to the National Mall. The room was a bit small for the money; however, this we didn't spend much time in the room. It was comfortable, including the bed; but the bathroom configuration is a bit strange with the vanity out in the room and the toilet/shower encased in a frosted glass room within the room. We did have a hard time finding switches for some of the lights in the room which we never did get to go bright. We should have asked. All in all, our stay was very pleasant and we will be using this hotel again in future visits to DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Old Ebbitts Grill is only one block from the hotel and is a great value for fine dining and drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Washington D.C.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brazerc
Business
Whitman ma
Jul 24, 2012

Perfect

Hotel amenities are first class. Very modern hotel with a staff that will meet every need you have! Beautiful rooftop bar with professional bartenders.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Use the concierge.save money on attractions and the hassles of lines.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top