$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

3 stars
1733 N Street NW, Washington, DC 20036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
56 reviews
Highly recommended

Great room, close to all the action, friendly and helpful staff. See full review

  • Smkm
  • Nov 30, 2014
overnight stay

I always have a great experience at the topaz. Richie is very attentive and courteous. I love how... See full review

  • J in DC
  • Sep 28, 2014
Stay just minutes away from Dupont Circle and D.C. attractions

Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel is an ideal choice for those looking for a modern and relaxed holiday experience. The location offers a compromise for those wishing to live among the 18th century buildings of Dupont Circle district, but have the easiest possible access to all the areas, monuments and buildings that make D.C. a leading tourist destination. To satisfy all tastes and needs, Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel offers an eclectic range of rooms, with some featuring in-room exercise facilities. As with many Kimpton group hotels, Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel is pet friendly, making it an ideal place to stay for those who would rather travel with their pets. For those who suffer from cat, dog or other animal allergies, pet-free rooms are readily available. For visiting business parties or events, 1,360 square feet of meeting space is available for bookings.

3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Fashionable location, very near to historic district of Dupont Circle

  • Design aimed for those looking for a calm and relaxing experience with the standard Kimpton comforts

  • Pet friendly hotel, but has pet-free rooms for allergy sufferers

Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel features large rooms for traveling singles and couples, with 375 square feet of space to lounge in after a busy day exploring the exciting surrounds. Standard room features include high-speed wireless Internet access that is complimentary for all guests, morning coffee and tea, free evening wine tasting hour, and in-room spa service for unwinding without having to the room. In keeping with the hotel's relaxed vibe, each room has simple, yet luxurious, furnishings with light shades, plush beds and sofas. The Yoga and Energy rooms offer extra fitness facilities for those who wish to stay in shape in the comfort of their room. Queen rooms provide an extra bed, making them great for families or groups who wish to stay together.

Things to Do:
  • Dupont Circle (2 blocks)

  • White House (0.7mi/1.1km)

  • Jefferson Memorial (3.16mi/5.1km)

  • Lincoln Memorial (1.8mi/2.9km)

Policies and fees
  • Check in 3:00 pm

  • Check out 12:00 pm

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room with 1 king bed 375 square feet ihome animal print bathrobes
Accessible Queen Deluxe Room
Accessible Queen Deluxe Room with 1 queen bed 375 sqft communication features avail
Accessible Queen Roll In Shwr
Accessible Queen Deluxe Roll In Shower with 1 queen bed 375 sqft communication features avail
Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Deluxe Room with 1 Queen bed 375 square feet ihome animal print bathrobes
Deluxe Yoga King Room
Deluxe Yoga King Room with 1 King Bed 375 sq ft with separate yoga area and equipment
Queen Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Queen Deluxe Room 2queen beds 392 square feet
Serenity Suite
Serenity Suite with 1 king bed 475 sq ft separate living room area
Deluxe Energy King Room
Deluxe Energy King Room with 1 king bed 375 square feet exercise equipment in room
Accessible QQ Dlx Roll In Shwr
Accessible Queen Queen Dlx Roll In Shwr with 2 queen beds 392 sqft communication feature avail

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
In room movies
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • National Geographic Society: 0.2 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.9 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.2 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.9 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1 mi
  • Department of State: 1.1 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.2 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.2 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1.2 mi

Dining

Topaz Lounge
Topaz Bar - voted best happy hour in DC - is a favorite local hot spot with an innovative cocktail menu and culinary bites to pair.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 56
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
West Pacific Traveler
Business
San Fransisco
Dec 7, 2014

Good but not great

I stayed for three nights here for the conference at K street. Location is great, and you can walk to K street or Mass Ave very easily. And, if you do not have any breakfast plan, just walk two minutes to get Starbucks. Room is spacious. But bathroom is not so new. Weakness of this hotel is reception. I do not blame the small size of the lobby, but a lack of friendly atmosphere there. I did not feel anything as four star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alice Giordano
Business
New York, NY
Jun 21, 2014

In and out

The hotel is what you pay for. I stayed here because of its location and the only thing I regret is ordering room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelforwork
Business
Denver, co
Jun 6, 2014

DuPont work trip

I like Kimpton hotels a lot, I usually stay at The Rouge but decided to try Topaz this time. They gave me a room located next to the employee exit and a supply closet, needless to say it was a bit noisy, but the window overlooked at eye level the employee lot. So the curtains had to be drawn at all times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Clarkson Family
Business
Rochester, NY
Jan 9, 2014

Great Stay

This hotel is located in the middle of a neighborhood which adds to the feeling of being safe. Everything you really need is within walking distance. The hotel was clean, with lovely decor, and the staff made you feel like you were part of their family. While I was there, we had record breaking cold temperatures of 2 degrees. The thermostat in my room was set at 72 and I was toasty warm. I typically set my thermostat at 80 and am still cold, so I was delighted that I could be comfortable and not run up their heating bill. The rooms are very spacious. One of the largest rooms I have ever had. I have spent the night in hotels that were triple the price of what i paid at this hotel and did not enjoy it as much as I did this one. One more tip is to try their menu. Although it is limited, the food is absolutely delicious and will keep you coming back for more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I tried many of the restaurants around the hotel and all of them were fantastic. I didn't have a bad meal the whole week I was there. Dirty Martini has great food and so does Bertuccis. No matter where you go in that area, I don't think you will make a bad choice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ithaca Filmworks
Business
Ithaca, NY
Oct 30, 2013

Nice boutique hotel, but pricey.

Clean and neat hotel. Excellent location... Quiet street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CathyI
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Jul 26, 2013

Great for Business

Lovely hotel, in heart of DC, close to everything. Loved checking in and getting complimentary glass of Sangria (or Red or White) wine during evening happy hour. Room was clean; bed was comfy; staff was great. Would stay here every time I come to DC if I could!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CityTraveler13
Business
Denver, CO
Jan 27, 2013

Excellent location near Dupont Circle

Tucked away on a quiet street near Dupont Circle, this hotel is close to shops, restaurants and many other amenities, and only a few blocks away from several Metro stops. It is a great place to stay for business or pleasure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DIYMarketerd
Business
Cleveland
Jan 19, 2013

Feel like a part of the neighborhood

I absolutely loved this place! I've always wanted to stay at a Kimpton and now that I have, I can see why people love them so much. I chose the Kimton because of the location and the price, but I will come back to the Topaz because of the staff. From the first hello to my good bye, the staff was unbelievably friendly - and I mean authentically friendly not just professionally friendly. No matter what time of the day or night, it's clear that the folks at the Topaz are committed to their guests' best experience. A great example of this is an evening where we asked for directions to the metro. Nthey gave us easy directions and when we were on the way, the same guy was right behind us and walked us to the metro. Then I mentioned, in passing, that I would have liked a coffee maker in the room and when I came back from the dinner- guess what was there? The coffee maker! And did I mention the price? It was excellent especially for the location. The hotel is located in a nice quiet street where you will feel like part of the neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 5, 2011

Hidden Gem

Located on a primarily residential street near Dupont Circle (which has a Metro Station), and a $20 cab ride away from Reagan Airport. Had a wonderful standard spacious room with 2 comfy qn beds which included a separate office area with large desk, a separate walkthrough dressing area and a remodeled bathroom with vessel sink. Clean shower with large attached containers of shampoo, conditioner and body wash. Free internet service if you sign up with their service (free) which also gets you a $10 credit towards the mini-bar fridge yummy contents. Breakfast available in small restaurant area off lobby but was not included with room charge. Had free wine tasting in lobby in early evening - not sure how often that happens. Safe neighborhood, OK for unaccompanied female to walk around at night. Walked to Smithsonian Museums, but may want to take cab - was about 2 miles or so. Staff was extremely pleasant, very helpful, and seemed to really enjoy working there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norwalk, CT
Jan 31, 2011

Great Business Location

On this trip I had meetings in the Dupont Circle area of town, so I decided to stay at the Topaz Hotel,a Kimpton Hotel. The Hotel is situiated in a quiet residential street off of the hustle and bustle 17th Street. It is typical of a boutique hotel... a warm cozy feel to it. The staff was welcoming and helpful in finding directions and recommending local area restaurants. Restaurants are only a few blocks away and if you enjoy a steak dinner, Smith & Wollensky's is 3 blocks away. The one downside to this hotel is that there is no fitness center...this can be a dissapointment to those who workout while on the road. In addition, they are in the midst of rennovation, completing one floor at a time. The rennovation will result in a nice modernization of the facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Smith & Wollensky"s and several nice restaurants are close by...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top