$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 31, 2014 Check-out: Nov 1, 2014

Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

3 stars
1733 N Street NW, Washington, DC 20036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
51 reviews
overnight stay

I always have a great experience at the topaz. Richie is very attentive and courteous. I love how... See full review

  • J in DC
  • Sep 28, 2014
Kimpton did it again!

I booked the room on a whim after deciding to stay in DC longer than expected. I've stayed in other... See full review

  • Miss Sparkle
  • Sep 1, 2014
Stay just minutes away from Dupont Circle and D.C. attractions

Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel is an ideal choice for those looking for a modern and relaxed holiday experience. The location offers a compromise for those wishing to live among the 18th century buildings of Dupont Circle district, but have the easiest possible access to all the areas, monuments and buildings that make D.C. a leading tourist destination. To satisfy all tastes and needs, Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel offers an eclectic range of rooms, with some featuring in-room exercise facilities. As with many Kimpton group hotels, Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel is pet friendly, making it an ideal place to stay for those who would rather travel with their pets. For those who suffer from cat, dog or other animal allergies, pet-free rooms are readily available. For visiting business parties or events, 1,360 square feet of meeting space is available for bookings.

3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Fashionable location, very near to historic district of Dupont Circle

  • Design aimed for those looking for a calm and relaxing experience with the standard Kimpton comforts

  • Pet friendly hotel, but has pet-free rooms for allergy sufferers

Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel features large rooms for traveling singles and couples, with 375 square feet of space to lounge in after a busy day exploring the exciting surrounds. Standard room features include high-speed wireless Internet access that is complimentary for all guests, morning coffee and tea, free evening wine tasting hour, and in-room spa service for unwinding without having to the room. In keeping with the hotel's relaxed vibe, each room has simple, yet luxurious, furnishings with light shades, plush beds and sofas. The Yoga and Energy rooms offer extra fitness facilities for those who wish to stay in shape in the comfort of their room. Queen rooms provide an extra bed, making them great for families or groups who wish to stay together.

Things to Do:
  • Dupont Circle (2 blocks)

  • White House (0.7mi/1.1km)

  • Jefferson Memorial (3.16mi/5.1km)

  • Lincoln Memorial (1.8mi/2.9km)

Policies and fees
  • Check in 3:00 pm

  • Check out 12:00 pm

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.9072 -77.0397
Nearby airports
Washington National Airport, (DCA), 5.00, MI, NW; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 27.00, MI, W; Baltimore/Washington International Airport, (BWI), 33.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room with 1 king bed 375 square feet ihome animal print bathrobes
Accessible Queen Deluxe Room
Accessible Queen Deluxe Room with 1 queen bed 375 sqft communication features avail
Accessible Queen Roll In Shwr
Accessible Queen Deluxe Roll In Shower with 1 queen bed 375 sqft communication features avail
Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Deluxe Room with 1 Queen bed 375 square feet ihome animal print bathrobes
Deluxe Yoga King Room
Deluxe Yoga King Room with 1 King Bed 375 sq ft with separate yoga area and equipment
Queen Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Queen Deluxe Room 2queen beds 392 square feet
Serenity Suite
Serenity Suite with 1 king bed 475 sq ft separate living room area
Deluxe Energy King Room
Deluxe Energy King Room with 1 king bed 375 square feet exercise equipment in room
Accessible QQ Dlx Roll In Shwr
Accessible Queen Queen Dlx Roll In Shwr with 2 queen beds 392 sqft communication feature avail

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
In room movies
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • National Geographic Society: 0.2 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.9 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.2 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.9 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1 mi
  • Department of State: 1.1 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.2 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.2 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1.2 mi

Dining

Topaz Lounge
Topaz Bar - voted best happy hour in DC - is a favorite local hot spot with an innovative cocktail menu and culinary bites to pair.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (51)

Ratings and reviews for Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Standish, ME
Aug 10, 2009

Topaz Hotel

Very nice hotel; great staff; very clean, comfortable room. Unfortunately there was no parking available for us on the first night because they were full. We chose that hotel because it said parking was available and they offered no alternatives other than finding an available spot on the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lstratton
Business
Rochester, NY
Jun 8, 2009

Topaz Hotel, June 2008

This was a great hotel stay. The staff (desk, bar, and housekeeping) were very attentive and friendly. The room was comfortable, clean, with an eclectic decor far more appealing than the ordinary hotel look. I particularly liked the touch of having a sofa! I appreciated that the hotel is making a commitment to green practices - particularly that linens are exchanged on request, that refillable bottles were used for shampoo, and that the room included recycling bins. I found the location very convenient, if a fairly solid walk, to the Conference Center, Mall, and restaurants. The neighborhood was charming and quiet. Great food in the bar/lounge. My only complaint is that the furniture in the lounge is not very comfy. I PARTICULARLY appreciated the free wifi - it is ridiculous that so many hotels charge exorbitant rates for wireless. I recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Apr 22, 2009

Great Location, Good Value

Had a pleasant experience at the hotel. Great location 2 blocks from Dupont Circle itself and the metro stop of the same name. Nice neighborhood feel to the area and tons of shops and restaurants within walking distance. The hotel staff was overall helpful and friendly. I arrived at noon on the day of arrival and was able to check in right away. Room was a good size and comfortable. Free high-quality wireless internet service was a particular bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tasty and reasonable Mediterranean restaurant called Levante's just a couple short blocks away. Has large outdoor dining area -- great place to spend a nice evening.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Walnut, CA
Aug 1, 2008

Great porperty; great location

The Topaz Hotel is a small, boutique property located on a quiet street, two blocks fro Dupont Circle. The rooms are both spacious and entertaining,i.e., the decor is modern and funky. The service is prompt and friendly, and the bar, with a small bar menu, is excellent. For the price, the Topaz is an excellent hotel and a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel next door has an excellent, full-service restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Naperville, IL
Jul 14, 2008

Fun for a girls weekend

The location of the Topaz hotel is great. It is walking distance from the Mall, the White House, and many of the other fun DC attractions. The accommodations were posh and trendy - we felt like very special people staying here. Parking is a little expensive, but it's worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Tons of bars and night clubs and restaurants nearby on 17th street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bronx, NY
Jul 13, 2008

Nice touches

The decor was funky, with bright colors that certainly made the room feel unique. The location is great--close to Dupont Circle with its many restaurants and metro entrance but on a quiet street of brownstones and other very residential-feeling buildings. I was disappointed not to try the morning Power Hour drinks, but we never could seem to make it up and out of the room in time (served 8-9 on weekdays and 9-10 on weekends). The bath products are really great and the high-quality teas were very welcome in the mornings after missing the Power Hour. In our room, there was a small sitting area with a fantastic purple sofa--the perfect spot for tea drinking. There was a 5-CD radio, but who brings CDs with them anymore? Overall it was quite pleasant. My only slightly negative impressions were that the common area looked a little worse for wear and the bar, which was so raved about, was actually quite dead (we were at the hotel on Friday and Saturday--perhaps the bar is more of a weekday post-work kind of place). If you're looking for a hotel with character and a pleasant staff, this is definitely a good choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kramerbooks and Afterwords Cafe is just a short walk from the hotel, off of Dupont Circle (1517 Conn. Avenue); it's a great local bookstore and has a happening bar and restaurant (with extensive brunch menu) at the back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn
Jun 30, 2008

Good weekend value

I love Kimpton hotels, but Topaz is not my favorite. It was comfortable and a great value for my money, but the decor was very strange and not at all in line with their zen objectives. It felt less sophisticated that other Kimpton hotels I've stayed at. Nevertheless, the room was large, comfortable, and quiet, and the hotel staff were friendly and generally helpful. And the location is great, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right in Dupont and near Adams Morgan, so lots of great dining options within a 5-15 minute walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Waltham
Jun 23, 2008

Topaz: Great location, fun decor and good value

We were very pleased with our stay at the Topaz. The room was spotless and in good condition--the carpet seemed nearly brand new. The bed was comfy and the linens were very nice. I enjoyed the complimentary robes--very cozy. My only quibble with the Topaz was that the A/C seemed a little unreliable on one night--we woke up and the room was warm/stuffy even though it was fine when we went to sleep. I think it was a building-wide problem as the lobby was warm that evening as well. The problem seemed to resolve though. Bathroom toiletries were very nice and we enjoyed the welcome treat for Kimpton InTouch members. The staff were very friendly and always welcomed us. I would recommend this hotel for sure. (We did not eat at the lounge--there are some good breakfast places nearby.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great breakfast: Luna Grill and Diner Great pizza: Pizzeria Paradiso A little farther away: Central Michel Richard for a great dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Dec 16, 2007

Unusual and nice

The Topaz was great. It is missing a few of the amenities found in large new buildings but the people that run it and the interesting decor made up for any problems. We were VERY PLEASED to find that housekeeping had found a bottle of champage we had in the room and placed it on ice for our return. We were running late to get back to the hotel and change for the Opera. We figured we would not be able to include that required bottle of bubbles in our plans for the evening but WOW! there it was on Ice and suitable glasses in the room as well! The thoughtfull action of someone in houskeeping had changed a harried return and rushed feeling into one of relaxed celebration again. We Loved them for that and gave them a toast. There was a little noise going on in the place during our visit that, had we retired early, could have been an issue - holiday parties and some telecom repairs. So if you need absolute quiet, request a room above the 2nd floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you walk, you are a couple blocks from Dupont Circle with lots of activities. If you use subways, you are a couple more blocks to several stations. If you use taxis, you are one block to a main road where we always found a ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 24, 2007

Great business amenities

It was a nice neighbourhood,friendly hotelservice,the rooms are very clean and pretty nice! Not far away from the metro-only a few min! Its a nice small hotel,but with many power I think! I would come everytime back,because you can trust this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top