Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1733 N Street NW, Washington, DC 20036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CityTraveler13
Business
Denver, CO
Jan 27, 2013

Excellent location near Dupont Circle

Tucked away on a quiet street near Dupont Circle, this hotel is close to shops, restaurants and many other amenities, and only a few blocks away from several Metro stops. It is a great place to stay for business or pleasure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cc4ever
Business
Williamsport, PA
Jan 28, 2013

great weekend

Great location in Dupont Circle area of DC, close to lots of wonderful restaurants and stores. The staff was very welcoming, friendly and helpful and made the stay that much nicer. Hotel was quite clean throughout and the room was spacious and comfortable. There was no complimentary breakfast, although we planned to eat breakfast out anyhow. That would have been disappointing if we hadn't. They did provide free newspapers, Wall St Journal and NYT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JenQ
Business
Redding, CT
Jan 28, 2013

Good central location

Topaz was clean. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The evening wine is an extra. The only thing I didn't like was the food I ordered one night. Located in the heart of DuPont Circle though, there were plenty of good restaurants to go eat at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DIYMarketerd
Business
Cleveland
Jan 19, 2013

Feel like a part of the neighborhood

I absolutely loved this place! I've always wanted to stay at a Kimpton and now that I have, I can see why people love them so much. I chose the Kimton because of the location and the price, but I will come back to the Topaz because of the staff. From the first hello to my good bye, the staff was unbelievably friendly - and I mean authentically friendly not just professionally friendly. No matter what time of the day or night, it's clear that the folks at the Topaz are committed to their guests' best experience. A great example of this is an evening where we asked for directions to the metro. Nthey gave us easy directions and when we were on the way, the same guy was right behind us and walked us to the metro. Then I mentioned, in passing, that I would have liked a coffee maker in the room and when I came back from the dinner- guess what was there? The coffee maker! And did I mention the price? It was excellent especially for the location. The hotel is located in a nice quiet street where you will feel like part of the neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kevinhaonuaa
Business
Brooklyn,New York
Jul 30, 2012

Really good choice

Located at a good place,the room is clean and comfortable.But parking is not that convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Around the hotel,a lot of places of interest.

Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Reoh
Business
Connecticut
Jul 6, 2012

Hotel was the best part of the vacation!

The staff was AMAZING!!! So friendly and helpful! The hotel was a 25 minute walk from the White House (so very close to everything you would want to see in DC). There were only two things that could have been better. The hallways and elevators couldn't keep up with the heat outside so it was pretty hot outside the room. Second, they have a "continental breakfast" but it's not free so plan to pay $20 or so for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christopher mark
Business
Highlands, NJ, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Great place

Had a very nice experience staying here for new years. It was in a great location. The leopard print robes were a wonderful accoutrement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brendan and Julie
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Dec 7, 2011

A great hotel near DuPont Circle.

Pros: Pet friendly, yet very clean! Pet services available, such as dog sitting and walking. Great location near DuPont Circle, walking distance to tons of restaurants and bars. Checked in almost 2 hours early, and was given a free upgrade to a king room. Super friendly staff available at all hours. Cons: Parking or using the valet service is not easy due to the tight one way street. Overnight parking with hotel via the valet service is a little pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a great dog park called Shaw park within walking distance. It has areas for small and large dogs.

Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 5, 2011

Hidden Gem

Located on a primarily residential street near Dupont Circle (which has a Metro Station), and a $20 cab ride away from Reagan Airport. Had a wonderful standard spacious room with 2 comfy qn beds which included a separate office area with large desk, a separate walkthrough dressing area and a remodeled bathroom with vessel sink. Clean shower with large attached containers of shampoo, conditioner and body wash. Free internet service if you sign up with their service (free) which also gets you a $10 credit towards the mini-bar fridge yummy contents. Breakfast available in small restaurant area off lobby but was not included with room charge. Had free wine tasting in lobby in early evening - not sure how often that happens. Safe neighborhood, OK for unaccompanied female to walk around at night. Walked to Smithsonian Museums, but may want to take cab - was about 2 miles or so. Staff was extremely pleasant, very helpful, and seemed to really enjoy working there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Aug 2, 2011

great location, great staff

Was in Dc for the weekend, chose the Topaz because it is right near Dupont Circle. The hotel was clean and the room was great. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top