$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1733 N Street NW, Washington, DC 20036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
J in DC
Family
DC
Feb 19, 2014

Stay here!!

you can't go wrong with a kimpton hotel!! I've stayed at them in three different states, and they were all awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Clarkson Family
Business
Rochester, NY
Jan 9, 2014

Great Stay

This hotel is located in the middle of a neighborhood which adds to the feeling of being safe. Everything you really need is within walking distance. The hotel was clean, with lovely decor, and the staff made you feel like you were part of their family. While I was there, we had record breaking cold temperatures of 2 degrees. The thermostat in my room was set at 72 and I was toasty warm. I typically set my thermostat at 80 and am still cold, so I was delighted that I could be comfortable and not run up their heating bill. The rooms are very spacious. One of the largest rooms I have ever had. I have spent the night in hotels that were triple the price of what i paid at this hotel and did not enjoy it as much as I did this one. One more tip is to try their menu. Although it is limited, the food is absolutely delicious and will keep you coming back for more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I tried many of the restaurants around the hotel and all of them were fantastic. I didn't have a bad meal the whole week I was there. Dirty Martini has great food and so does Bertuccis. No matter where you go in that area, I don't think you will make a bad choice.

Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ithaca Filmworks
Business
Ithaca, NY
Oct 30, 2013

Nice boutique hotel, but pricey.

Clean and neat hotel. Excellent location... Quiet street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
j0nnyb
Single
Gainesville, FL
Aug 5, 2013

Excellent location

The hotel had an excellent location and the staff were nice. The room was clean every day and beds were comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CathyI
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Jul 26, 2013

Great for Business

Lovely hotel, in heart of DC, close to everything. Loved checking in and getting complimentary glass of Sangria (or Red or White) wine during evening happy hour. Room was clean; bed was comfy; staff was great. Would stay here every time I come to DC if I could!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kftc
Couples
washington, dc
Jun 16, 2013

Made my wedding!

I stayed here with my betrothed for our wedding weekend. The staff was so wonderful -- accommodating our requests (put our flowers and cake in their fridge) and making a feel special (free champagne!). So comfortable and fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PAtravelers
Couples
Central PA
May 13, 2013

Great Location

Great location in Dupont Circle, within walking distance to many restaurants and bars, and just a short walk to the White House and other landmarks. Staff was very polite and helpful. Room was much larger than expected. Overall, we were very pleased with our stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Founding Farmers is a great restaurant and bar about a half a mile from the hotel, just a 10-15 min walk.

Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sunshine29
Friends
Baltimore, Maryland
Apr 10, 2013

Great Service

I stayed here for my birthday weekend and it was absolutely perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Dupont circle is only a few blocks away.

Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spider team
Couples
Philadelphia, pa
Jan 29, 2013

Good young couples getaway

This was a lovely hotel. It was in a great location close enough to everything you could want! This staff was wonderful and the room was clean and large! The only problem with this hotel, no vending machine or place to buy late night snacks, other than the mini bar which was super expensive! Overall, we had a great experience at this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kristabela
Couples
New York, NY
Jan 28, 2013

Great short getaway

The location is perfect and the hotel has a few small, but appreciated perks like free wine happy hour from 5-6, free power shots in the morning from 9-10 (things we missed but I'm sure guests that took advantage of them were happy) etc. Will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top