$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1733 N Street NW, Washington, DC 20036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
J in DC
Business
DC
Sep 28, 2014

overnight stay

I always have a great experience at the topaz. Richie is very attentive and courteous. I love how this company caters to people travelling with their dog(s) and gives discounts for driving hybrid vehicles!! With their new rewards program, I'm not staying at any other hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Miss Sparkle
Business
Virginia Beach
Sep 1, 2014

Kimpton did it again!

I booked the room on a whim after deciding to stay in DC longer than expected. I've stayed in other Kimpton Hotels, but hadn't heard of Topaz. It's an AMAZING hotel! The room was so spacious! Wonderful design, friendly staff and great location! I'll definitely return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Rosebar was a great hangout & just a quick walk away!

Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelertoDC
Business
NY, NY
Jun 23, 2014

Great Location, Nothing Great

Great value, great location but hotel is very old and nice modern furniture doesn't get rid of the old musty smell. Rooms are nice size but there are ZERO amenities. Room service menu is a bar menu - but worse -- all weird options. I couldn't find anything to decide on so I had to go out for food. Ok, I'd stay there again if the price was as low as it was this past weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alice Giordano
Business
New York, NY
Jun 21, 2014

In and out

The hotel is what you pay for. I stayed here because of its location and the only thing I regret is ordering room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelforwork
Business
Denver, co
Jun 6, 2014

DuPont work trip

I like Kimpton hotels a lot, I usually stay at The Rouge but decided to try Topaz this time. They gave me a room located next to the employee exit and a supply closet, needless to say it was a bit noisy, but the window overlooked at eye level the employee lot. So the curtains had to be drawn at all times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HPBColorado
Business
Denver, CO
Jun 5, 2014

Great, easy stay in a great, easy location

Close to the Dupont Circle Metro stop and with great amenities like evening wine reception, spacious room and friendly staff, this was the perfect stay for a quick trip to DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
J in DC
Business
DC
Feb 19, 2014

Stay here!!

you can't go wrong with a kimpton hotel!! I've stayed at them in three different states, and they were all awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Clarkson Family
Business
Rochester, NY
Jan 9, 2014

Great Stay

This hotel is located in the middle of a neighborhood which adds to the feeling of being safe. Everything you really need is within walking distance. The hotel was clean, with lovely decor, and the staff made you feel like you were part of their family. While I was there, we had record breaking cold temperatures of 2 degrees. The thermostat in my room was set at 72 and I was toasty warm. I typically set my thermostat at 80 and am still cold, so I was delighted that I could be comfortable and not run up their heating bill. The rooms are very spacious. One of the largest rooms I have ever had. I have spent the night in hotels that were triple the price of what i paid at this hotel and did not enjoy it as much as I did this one. One more tip is to try their menu. Although it is limited, the food is absolutely delicious and will keep you coming back for more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I tried many of the restaurants around the hotel and all of them were fantastic. I didn't have a bad meal the whole week I was there. Dirty Martini has great food and so does Bertuccis. No matter where you go in that area, I don't think you will make a bad choice.

Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ithaca Filmworks
Business
Ithaca, NY
Oct 30, 2013

Nice boutique hotel, but pricey.

Clean and neat hotel. Excellent location... Quiet street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
j0nnyb
Business
Gainesville, FL
Aug 5, 2013

Excellent location

The hotel had an excellent location and the staff were nice. The room was clean every day and beds were comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top