$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

3 stars
1733 N Street NW, Washington, DC 20036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
50 reviews
Kimpton did it again!

I booked the room on a whim after deciding to stay in DC longer than expected. I've stayed in other... See full review

  • Miss Sparkle
  • Sep 1, 2014
Great, easy stay in a great, easy location

Close to the Dupont Circle Metro stop and with great amenities like evening wine reception,... See full review

  • HPBColorado
  • Jun 5, 2014
Stay just minutes away from Dupont Circle and D.C. attractions

Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel is an ideal choice for those looking for a modern and relaxed holiday experience. The location offers a compromise for those wishing to live among the 18th century buildings of Dupont Circle district, but have the easiest possible access to all the areas, monuments and buildings that make D.C. a leading tourist destination. To satisfy all tastes and needs, Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel offers an eclectic range of rooms, with some featuring in-room exercise facilities. As with many Kimpton group hotels, Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel is pet friendly, making it an ideal place to stay for those who would rather travel with their pets. For those who suffer from cat, dog or other animal allergies, pet-free rooms are readily available. For visiting business parties or events, 1,360 square feet of meeting space is available for bookings.

3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Fashionable location, very near to historic district of Dupont Circle

  • Design aimed for those looking for a calm and relaxing experience with the standard Kimpton comforts

  • Pet friendly hotel, but has pet-free rooms for allergy sufferers

Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel features large rooms for traveling singles and couples, with 375 square feet of space to lounge in after a busy day exploring the exciting surrounds. Standard room features include high-speed wireless Internet access that is complimentary for all guests, morning coffee and tea, free evening wine tasting hour, and in-room spa service for unwinding without having to the room. In keeping with the hotel's relaxed vibe, each room has simple, yet luxurious, furnishings with light shades, plush beds and sofas. The Yoga and Energy rooms offer extra fitness facilities for those who wish to stay in shape in the comfort of their room. Queen rooms provide an extra bed, making them great for families or groups who wish to stay together.

Things to Do:
  • Dupont Circle (2 blocks)

  • White House (0.7mi/1.1km)

  • Jefferson Memorial (3.16mi/5.1km)

  • Lincoln Memorial (1.8mi/2.9km)

Policies and fees
  • Check in 3:00 pm

  • Check out 12:00 pm

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.9072 -77.0397
Nearby airports
Washington National Airport, (DCA), 5.00, MI, NW; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 27.00, MI, W; Baltimore/Washington International Airport, (BWI), 33.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room with 1 king bed 375 square feet ihome animal print bathrobes
Accessible Queen Deluxe Room
Accessible Queen Deluxe Room with 1 queen bed 375 sqft communication features avail
Accessible Queen Roll In Shwr
Accessible Queen Deluxe Roll In Shower with 1 queen bed 375 sqft communication features avail
Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Deluxe Room with 1 Queen bed 375 square feet ihome animal print bathrobes
Deluxe Yoga King Room
Deluxe Yoga King Room with 1 King Bed 375 sq ft with separate yoga area and equipment
Queen Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Queen Deluxe Room 2queen beds 392 square feet
Serenity Suite
Serenity Suite with 1 king bed 475 sq ft separate living room area
Deluxe Energy King Room
Deluxe Energy King Room with 1 king bed 375 square feet exercise equipment in room
Accessible QQ Dlx Roll In Shwr
Accessible Queen Queen Dlx Roll In Shwr with 2 queen beds 392 sqft communication feature avail

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
In room movies
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • National Geographic Society: 0.2 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.9 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.2 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.9 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1 mi
  • Department of State: 1.1 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.2 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.2 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1.2 mi

Dining

Topaz Lounge
Topaz Bar - voted best happy hour in DC - is a favorite local hot spot with an innovative cocktail menu and culinary bites to pair.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christopher mark
Highlands, NJ, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Great place

Had a very nice experience staying here for new years. It was in a great location. The leopard print robes were a wonderful accoutrement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kftc
washington, dc
Jun 16, 2013

Made my wedding!

I stayed here with my betrothed for our wedding weekend. The staff was so wonderful -- accommodating our requests (put our flowers and cake in their fridge) and making a feel special (free champagne!). So comfortable and fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PAtravelers
Central PA
May 13, 2013

Great Location

Great location in Dupont Circle, within walking distance to many restaurants and bars, and just a short walk to the White House and other landmarks. Staff was very polite and helpful. Room was much larger than expected. Overall, we were very pleased with our stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Founding Farmers is a great restaurant and bar about a half a mile from the hotel, just a 10-15 min walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sunshine29
Baltimore, Maryland
Apr 10, 2013

Great Service

I stayed here for my birthday weekend and it was absolutely perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Dupont circle is only a few blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spider team
Philadelphia, pa
Jan 29, 2013

Good young couples getaway

This was a lovely hotel. It was in a great location close enough to everything you could want! This staff was wonderful and the room was clean and large! The only problem with this hotel, no vending machine or place to buy late night snacks, other than the mini bar which was super expensive! Overall, we had a great experience at this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JenQ
Redding, CT
Jan 28, 2013

Good central location

Topaz was clean. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The evening wine is an extra. The only thing I didn't like was the food I ordered one night. Located in the heart of DuPont Circle though, there were plenty of good restaurants to go eat at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kristabela
New York, NY
Jan 28, 2013

Great short getaway

The location is perfect and the hotel has a few small, but appreciated perks like free wine happy hour from 5-6, free power shots in the morning from 9-10 (things we missed but I'm sure guests that took advantage of them were happy) etc. Will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cc4ever
Williamsport, PA
Jan 28, 2013

great weekend

Great location in Dupont Circle area of DC, close to lots of wonderful restaurants and stores. The staff was very welcoming, friendly and helpful and made the stay that much nicer. Hotel was quite clean throughout and the room was spacious and comfortable. There was no complimentary breakfast, although we planned to eat breakfast out anyhow. That would have been disappointing if we hadn't. They did provide free newspapers, Wall St Journal and NYT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CityTraveler13
Business
Denver, CO
Jan 27, 2013

Excellent location near Dupont Circle

Tucked away on a quiet street near Dupont Circle, this hotel is close to shops, restaurants and many other amenities, and only a few blocks away from several Metro stops. It is a great place to stay for business or pleasure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DIYMarketerd
Business
Cleveland
Jan 19, 2013

Feel like a part of the neighborhood

I absolutely loved this place! I've always wanted to stay at a Kimpton and now that I have, I can see why people love them so much. I chose the Kimton because of the location and the price, but I will come back to the Topaz because of the staff. From the first hello to my good bye, the staff was unbelievably friendly - and I mean authentically friendly not just professionally friendly. No matter what time of the day or night, it's clear that the folks at the Topaz are committed to their guests' best experience. A great example of this is an evening where we asked for directions to the metro. Nthey gave us easy directions and when we were on the way, the same guy was right behind us and walked us to the metro. Then I mentioned, in passing, that I would have liked a coffee maker in the room and when I came back from the dinner- guess what was there? The coffee maker! And did I mention the price? It was excellent especially for the location. The hotel is located in a nice quiet street where you will feel like part of the neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kevinhaonuaa
Brooklyn,New York
Jul 30, 2012

Really good choice

Located at a good place,the room is clean and comfortable.But parking is not that convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Around the hotel,a lot of places of interest.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search